If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

[CoD Black Ops] - MegaBitch thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭jimbling

Leeg17 wrote: »
    1. As annoying as it may be, I'd give the other team credit for using CUAV against my blackbird, instead of constantly running out from their spawn like headless chickens constantly.

2. Shoot it down?

1) Absolutely, hence my further comments about how good it was to use it.

2) hmmm, lol, I try and shoot all air support, but never think of taking down spy planes and counter spy planes. No idea why not... must start doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

jimbling wrote: »
    1) Absolutely, hence my further comments about how good it was to use it.

2) hmmm, lol, I try and shoot all air support, but never think of taking down spy planes and counter spy planes. No idea why not... must start doing that.

Didn't read it properly sorry :p

Spy Planes and Counter Spy planes I run along with Napalm constantly (might switch for higher if I'm playing well). Most of the lads I play with run at least a spy plane, which is nearly always running when we play. You can get unlucky with higher killstreaks, but UAV is just as helpful sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭jimbling

Spy Planes and Counter Spy planes I run along with Napalm constantly (might switch for higher if I'm playing well). Most of the lads I play with run at least a spy plane, which is nearly always running when we play. You can get unlucky with higher killstreaks, but UAV is just as helpful sometimes.

Ya, agree.... spy plane is the best killstreak (effort vs reward). I have never not had it on.

It amazes me that in team games hardly anybody uses it. Selfish fckers just rely on others to put them up and go for the high kill streaks. (This is understandable if they get them regularly, but most dont). I've been in a lot of games recently where I'm the ONLY person putting up spy planes :mad:

UAV is arguably the best killstreak in the game if you want to win. People on my team using RC cars wreck my head because while that might get 1 kill (not on me though as I only use Flak Jacket :) ) a spy plane could be worth 5 kills/less deaths to your team and since killstreaks don't stack up there is no real disadvantage to using it. I have about 3 times as many spy planes as any other killstreaks as do most of the people i play with.

Also there was a contract for counter spy planes the other day so that probably led to an increase in people using them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator
    knife maker

jugger0 wrote: »
    The gun damage in this game is piss poor in fairness, i may aswell be throwing hamsters at them for all the damage it does, distance shooting is shoite, especially with AR's :mad:
    trowing hamsters :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Counter-spyplane is another beast of a kill streak. I usually have that or spyplane on. Mercenary TDM is terrible for beaches trying to run high killstreaks yet never even coming close to them.

I love counter-spyplane so much. You can run riot in their spawns :pac:

Effs those biaches up real bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Liam O wrote: »
    UAV is arguably the best killstreak in the game if you want to win. People on my team using RC cars wreck my head because while that might get 1 kill (not on me though as I only use Flak Jacket :) ) a spy plane could be worth 5 kills/less deaths to your team and since killstreaks don't stack up there is no real disadvantage to using it. I have about 3 times as many spy planes as any other killstreaks as do most of the people i play with.

Also there was a contract for counter spy planes the other day so that probably led to an increase in people using them...

UAV is awesome in blops, if you get 3 people running it as a streak you'll have on up the entire match almost, i was in a lobby the other night where two kids were saying how they had b52, chopper gunner and gunship as their streaks :rolleyes: needless to say not one of those was called in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Every one that plays with me knows i run the uav , while it is good its usless against those that run the ghost perk , In tdm last night 5 out of 6 of the opposition were running ghost .
    I'm also coming across it more and more in Dom , a team full of ghost users , we have all three flags and they are hiding in bushes with ghost pro , just not wanting to be found , so while uav can be useful it can also be useless , making the blackbird imo the best killstreak of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Weren't you the individual who commented that I was a noob or scrub for shooting down air support? :D

I still do shoot down air support. There was a game recently(Saturday?) where I was on my own and shot down over 10 enemy supports within 5 minutes.

I'm just frustrated due to the fact everybody I play with rarely gets their chopper shot down. I never had great luck with chopper gunners even in MW2.

In the last few prestiges my choppers have last a max of 10 seconds and have circled away from the enemy. I'm not fussed about people obviously trying to take it down it's just the fact I can't have one go around fully every once in a while when others continually go unscathed for the most part.

Any of the lads Iplay with regularly how unfortunate I'am with the higher killstreaks lately. Dogs included. 1 kill from 2 sets of dogs :rolleyes:
    I said you were probably a bad player because you cannot deny it's usually bad players who shoot down air support. I've heard that you're quite a strong player which is fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

NufcNavan wrote: »
    I said you were probably a bad player because you cannot deny it's usually bad players who shoot down air support. I've heard that you're quite a strong player which is fair enough.

I'm a bad player i shoot down airsupport , most of the people i play with always have a strela as a secondary as well.

Must be why my w/l ratio is so rubbish......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I rather play with some one who takes down airsupport than someone who runs around killing

More respect for actual teamwork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Prevention is better than correction, if you're raping the other team there will be no need to take down any airsupport. I really hate attack choppers tho, REALLLY REALLLY ****ING ANOYING !!! especially when you dont have strela's unlocked, i use them all the time for 2 reasons.

1. People dont shoot them down, i've had AC's get 10+ kills before.

and

2. They shoot at the highest threat, if someone is trying to shoot it down it will switch to them, if not it will try to take out the next biggest threat... whoevers top of the scoreboard on the other team (This is why i hate it so much, pretty much every attack chopper thats called in will always find a way to kill me !).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Headshot wrote: »
    I rather play with some one who takes down airsupport than someone who runs around killing

More respect for actual teamwork

Someone who does both though ;) All the better!
    I must stick the strella on as a seconday on all my classes as I rarely have a need for a secondary pistol.. I usually pick up a gun before I run out of ammo (which doesn't happen alot as I use dualmags :cool:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I usually have Strelas as my secondary for the simple reason that shooting something down your guaranteed a decent amount of exp and you're helping your team. Even something as basic as a spy plane will give you 150exp and just might make the difference between a teammate getting killed or said teammate getting an extra few kills since they now can't locate him and possibly calling in a killstreak which helps you.

Someone who's good at killwhoring and is actually raping the opposing team to a point where they can't get a long enough run to get a good killstreak in I don't mind, but I hate the little prick who sits in the corner going for a high k/d but is in actual fact doing nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭jetpack101

Shammy wrote: »
    I'm a bad player i shoot down airsupport , most of the people i play with always have a strela as a secondary as well.

RMD wrote: »
    I usually have Strelas as my secondary for the simple reason that shooting something down your guaranteed a decent amount of exp and you're helping your team. Even something as basic as a spy plane will give you 150exp and just might make the difference between a teammate getting killed or said teammate getting an extra few kills since they now can't locate him and possibly calling in a killstreak which helps you.

Someone who's good at killwhoring and is actually raping the opposing team to a point where they can't get a long enough run to get a good killstreak in I don't mind, but I hate the little prick who sits in the corner going for a high k/d but is in actual fact doing nothing.

I always use the Strelas to take down anything in the air. It really helps the team. Even more so when there is 2 on the team. The first one activates the flairs while the second one (from the other player) is already inbound.

I got called some really nasty stuff one night when I spent the entire game shooting there crap down :D
    All that hard work to get your kill streak only to have it shot down before it's of any use.

I have also manage to shoot down care package choppers on a number of occasion. When you do this they drop the care package just outside the map.... Its funny as **** to see the guy standing looking through the fence at his care package like a little school boy waiting for his mammy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator
    knife maker

Shammy wrote: »

went to unlock my Ghost Pro perk last night . shoot down 25 enemy aircraft , 2 games of CTF keerching:D

playing against aload of americans , they did not like it one little bit , 4 chopper gunners in one round did not even get a shot off.every one of them had spy plane .
    really enjoyed myself last night plus the new maps out soon , im starting to change my mind about this game .

almanu wrote: »
    went to unlock my Ghost Pro perk last night . shoot down 25 enemy aircraft , 2 games of CTF keerching:D

playing against aload of americans , they did not like it one little bit , 4 chopper gunners in one round did not even get a shot off.every one of them had spy plane .
    really enjoyed myself last night plus the new maps out soon , im starting to change my mind about this game .

demolition is great for shooting down spy planes, nearly everyone uses them, myself and Lee were terrors for ruining air support on MW2, anything that went up, was shot down :D it was always a laugh taking out two harriers or a harrier and pavelow with one sting, kaboom! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

I do enjoy locking onto the chopper gunners before they have even gotten close to the map..

take them out before they have even gotten to unload a single shot!

Yea so it turns out i dunno how to embed a youtube video on boards!! *sigh*

cheers Leeg.. was about to do it before but couldnt for the life of me figure it out!! lol!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

krudler wrote: »
    demolition is great for shooting down spy planes, nearly everyone uses them, myself and Lee were terrors for ruining air support on MW2, anything that went up, was shot down :D it was always a laugh taking out two harriers or a harrier and pavelow with one sting, kaboom! :pac:

The big race to see who could suicide and shoot it down first :D:D
    And Tallon complaining in a vid about me/you who joined a game and shot down chopper lol.

"Ith_mo_Spas mistakes were made.
    Krudler89 mistakes were made."

Hyper - Paste the letters after the v= of the video url inside the

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Ade_LFC_Alves mistakes were made is a recurring theme in Black Ops :o

Had a terrific game of Sabotage in my first prestige where I went 70-5 with 4 plants and 2 defuses(?).
    4 of my deaths were by my own Napalm for goodness sake! :pac:

"Krudler89mistakes were made..

..then swiftly rectified by ruining the enemy air support, go team!"*

* may not display on anyone elses game except mine :pac:

The big race to see who could suicide and shoot it down first :D:D
    And Tallon complaining in a vid about me/you who joined a game and shot down chopper lol.

"Ith_mo_Spas mistakes were made.
    Krudler89 mistakes were made."

Hyper - Paste the letters after the v= of the video url inside the

ha, any map where the two of us would just be bombing around with stingers out looking for a clear shot, stupid mountain on Afghan :pac:, i cant remember what map it was on once, might have been Karachi, dunno if you remember but there was a harrier up and it took may 5 stingers to take it down, both of ours kept missing "what the fcuk?! this thing is invincible!" :pac: think we both ran out and just started firing at it instead, I chucked a throwing knife at it too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,428 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Looks like there's little scummers got 15th prestige hack and using lag switch :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I know f-all bout computers/X Box hacks... anyone care to explain whats happenin in that vid? Whats lag switch?

Looks like there's little scummers got 15th prestige hack and using lag switch :(

that is insane!! looks fecking crazy!!

He must be sooooo impressed with himself! GRR!

These **** need to be beaten!! I'm hoping you reported then snake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

IPAM wrote: »
    I know f-all bout computers/X Box hacks... anyone care to explain whats happenin in that vid? Whats lag switch?

From Wiki

In the peer-to-peer gaming model, lagging is what happens when the stream of data between one or more players gets slowed or interrupted, causing movement to stutter and make opponents behave erratically. By using a lag switch, a player is able to disrupt upload from the console to the server, while their own console queues up the actions performed. The goal is to gain advantage over another player without reciprocation; opponents slow down or stop moving, allowing the lag switch user to easily out-maneuver them. From the opponents' perspective, the player using the device may appear to be teleporting, invisible or invincible, while the opponents suffer delayed animations and fast-forwarded game play, delivered in bursts.[3] Some gaming communities refer to this method as "tapping".

If your next question is "But why?" .... I got nothing.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Just to quote myself from 2 days ago.

__

Also in the 2 lobbies I was in briefly, 2 guys who were 15th prestige, the 15th prestige background, coloured clan tag but had less than half a day played!

Reported their mutha ****ing ass.

I've played 3matches today. 4 15th prestige players, 3 of which had under 5 hours played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

gimli2112 wrote: »
    From Wiki

In the peer-to-peer gaming model, lagging is what happens when the stream of data between one or more players gets slowed or interrupted, causing movement to stutter and make opponents behave erratically. By using a lag switch, a player is able to disrupt upload from the console to the server, while their own console queues up the actions performed. The goal is to gain advantage over another player without reciprocation; opponents slow down or stop moving, allowing the lag switch user to easily out-maneuver them. From the opponents' perspective, the player using the device may appear to be teleporting, invisible or invincible, while the opponents suffer delayed animations and fast-forwarded game play, delivered in bursts.[3] Some gaming communities refer to this method as "tapping".

If your next question is "But why?" .... I got nothing.

Thanks for that :)

The why is obvious... they're w***ers!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

whenever i see a 15th prestige i always check the combat record to see if they're legit. Thankfully all the guys i've run into have had 12+ days played.