Packers 2010 thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Thats a very good point.... I blamed Rogers for poor concentration in the main Conference thread, but you could be right about McCarthy's play calling.

After moving the chains with good quick mid-length plays we switched to a lot of outside receiver wide passes.

Of course a lot of credit has to go to a ferocious Chicago defense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Remember the 2003 Panthers being called the "Cardiac Cats" due to their tendency to take games to the wire?

I think the "Cardiac Pack" would be fairly apt for Green Bay this year tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Best of luck in the big one guys. I'll be donning my Aaron Rodgers jersey for the occasion ;)

Tom_Brady wrote: »
    Best of luck in the big one guys. I'll be donning my Aaron Rodgers jersey for the occasion ;)

As will I haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭jman0war

Great job Packers!
    NFC Championship game, at Soldier Field?
    Wow, bragging rights for the next 70 years.
    I thought it was very sportmanlike not do the trophy presentation on the field.

It was trench warfare and a game about toughness.
    And all week all we heard was how tough the Bears were.
    Aaron Rogers took mighty hit, he was obviously affected, but remained.
    Fair play.

I believe Cutler got injured in the 1st quarter, when the Bears where in their own end zone. If you remember the Pack nearly got a saftey but he got rid of the ball. Came down awkwardly after being hit from like, 3 different directions.

Great job by the Packers punting unit, at least in coverage.
    But i think we need some serious coaching in punt receiving.
    For feck sake if you're going to let the ball bounce grand, but get AWAY from it. Felt we got lucky there wasn't another turnover like the Eagles game.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Just hoping the Packers win the superbowl now. Would be fitting (in an ironic sort of way) to win the superbowl the season that Favre retires!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Well done Pack

Should have had it wrapped in the 1st Q

Made it a lot harder than it should have been.

'D' was awesome.

Steelers will provide tough opposition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Rick_

Grrr, my own stupid fault for coming on here! I taped the AFC game last night and am going to watch it tonight, but now I know who won... :mad:

Still, the Packers won so we're in the Superbowl anyway, first time since 1998. Hopefully, we'll be lifting Lombardi in a fortnight too...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭spillit67

The only thing the Pack lack on offense is an effective tight end weapon (scary when I think that Finley will be back next year.:eek:). Excellent QB, great receivers and a good running combo established (Starks is a very good all round back and pacy whilst Kuhn is the type of lump every team imo should have for goal line situations). McCarthy started off so well yesterday calling plays I'm really not sure what he was upto after a while. It does seem to be a theme with him though from what I see of the Pack.

If you can shut down Pitt's running game I think you will win comfortably.

spillit67 wrote: »
    The only thing the Pack lack on offense is an effective tight end weapon (scary when I think that Finley will be back next year.:eek:). Excellent QB, great receivers and a good running combo established (Starks is a very good all round back and pacy whilst Kuhn is the type of lump every team imo should have for goal line situations). McCarthy started off so well yesterday calling plays I'm really not sure what he was upto after a while. It does seem to be a theme with him though from what I see of the Pack.

Add Finley and Grant to make a three headed rush attack of Grant, Starks and Kuhn to what is already a SB team and it becomes very scary indeed

and yeah, i hope they do it, if anything the Steelers are due a SB loss, the spoilt fúckers

spiralism wrote: »
    Add Finley and Grant to make a three headed rush attack of Grant, Starks and Kuhn to what is already a SB team and it becomes very scary indeed

and yeah, i hope they do it, if anything the Steelers are due a SB loss, the spoilt fúckers

Well no team goes a season uninjured to be fair and the strength for them this year could be a weakness the next if other injuries/age catches them. They have a scary good roster to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭jman0war

Well no team goes a season uninjured to be fair and the strength for them this year could be a weakness the next if other injuries/age catches them. They have a scary good roster to be fair.
    They have a young team.

This game gives decades of bragging rights, as jman0war states. I think we can lose this fixture for years to come (not that I hope we do, mind, beating the Bears is always sweet) and if they start to gloat you can just say 'Championship at Soldier Field', or maybe 'BJ Raji'.

I just hope Mike Ditka was there!

talking about tight ends... Quarless didn't really get too much thrown at him

And on the Bears side Greg Olsen got fcuk all.

Bring back Bubba Franks or Mark Chmura :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Great video from NFC championship game.

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-films-sound-efx/09000d5d81df0485/Sound-FX-NFC-Championship

Got to say NFL films is in a different league to any other sport when it comes to producing these film pieces. It delivers every single week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭rich1874

cooker3 wrote: »
    Great video from NFC championship game.

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-films-sound-efx/09000d5d81df0485/Sound-FX-NFC-Championship

Got to say NFL films is in a different league to any other sport when it comes to producing these film pieces. It delivers every single week.

Sheer quality, greg jennings is my new hero...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭cheesehead

A local Green Bay gas (petrol) station sign boasts: "Open 365 days a year!"

And it usually is, except this year. This year it will be closed Sunday, February 6th. Oh, it was open on Christmas, New Year's and Easter. But it's closed this Sunday. That's the mentality.

http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/news/story?id=6079827

Getting up at 5:45am to catch the game at 6:30.
    Early night for me.
    Come on pack, do it for Woodson, do it for Driver and do it Vince Lombardi.
    GO PACK GO.

Bears fan here but I have to say; Congrats to the Pack. I'm lookin forward to us takin the World Champs on twice next year.

I must say, even though I'm a Bears fan. I'm delighted for Rodgers. A lovely guy it had to be said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Congrats folks. You guys have a truly special player at QB.

Feels good, doesn't it? :P

congrats lads! delighted for ye, there's only one America's Team really and it's not the one who normally inhabits JerryField..

Oh man, that was amazing

The third quarter was pure torture, it felt like we were losing. So many drops, injuries. I really had a bad feeling about things then.
    But we showed heart and determination and came through adversity just like we had all season.
    Amazing, just amazing. I was literally shaking at the end.
    Superbowl champions.

Man it's 11am and don't know what to do with myself, feel like exploding.

World champions. Yeah!

Tom_Brady wrote: »
    Congrats folks. You guys have a truly special player at QB.

Feels good, doesn't it? :P

It feels pretty awesome.
    Future is so bright for us. We really shouldn't have won it this year considering what happened.
    We will put a strong bid in for retaining it if there is no strike but screw next season. Today is all that matters. Champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭cheesehead

Nothing to say really. Simply outstanding! Just returned from St. Brendan's Pub in Green Bay and the atmosphere was....electric!

By the power vested in me by the State of Wisconsin and the City of Green Bay, I hereby pronounce the following Boards.ie posters as honorary Cheeseheads:

FlutterinBantam, Cooker3, Paddy C, skeleton boy, spank inferno, Conor74, Pherekydes, me-skywalker, Sea Devils, and those who support in spirit.

Know your support was felt here in Green Bay and the City thanks you!

cheesehead wrote: »
    Nothing to say really. Simply outstanding! Just returned from St. Brendan's Pub in Green Bay and the atmosphere was....electric!

By the power vested in me by the State of Wisconsin and the City of Green Bay, I hereby pronounce the following Boards.ie posters as honorary Cheeseheads:

FlutterinBantam, Cooker3, Paddy C, skeleton boy, spank inferno, Conor74, Pherekydes, me-skywalker, Sea Devils, and those who support in spirit.

Know your support was felt here in Green Bay and the City thanks you!

Jaysus!!!

Much appreciated there, we were delighted to ride the season and may I thank Green Bay and its team and citizens for the fcuking roller coaster but safe and sound ride we enjoyed and endured this season.

Let's not do a 'denver' next season and well done to all.

It was one great night. Still recovering. The past few weeks have been like everything you could ask for but could never imagine all coming to pass, to beat the Bears and Giants in must win games, to beat the 1, 2 and 3 seeds on the road, to clinch the Championship in Chicago, to go on and beat the Steelers in the Superbowl...you couldn't have made it up or thought it was possible. I remember weeks back saying 'ah well, it was a good season, beating the Vikings twice is always nice'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

cooker3 wrote: »
    Oh man, that was amazing

The third quarter was pure torture, it felt like we were losing. So many drops, injuries. I really had a bad feeling about things then.
    But we showed heart and determination and came through adversity just like we had all season.
    Amazing, just amazing. I was literally shaking at the end.
    Superbowl champions.

Man it's 11am and don't know what to do with myself, feel like exploding.

World champions. Yeah!

Oh yeah.. got abuse onf Facebook for the whole 'World Champs' bit at the end of my drunken post but well worth it they dont support no team tahts a world champ haha.

You right about hte 3rd quater it actually felt like we were behind by 10 or something thats how much the momentum had swung and we couldnt get anythign goin on O or D!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Just wanna say congratulations, lads. I was green and gold last night.

Rodgers is at the beginning of a HOF career, Matthews too. The future is bright.

I've been hard on you guys, lately. I didn't take the Favre thing too well. but it's hard not to be won over by a team spirit like that. well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,299 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Interesting stat:

Packers went the entire season and NEVER trailed by more than 7 pts. Last team to manage it was the '62 Lions.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Interesting stat:

Packers went the entire season and NEVER trailed by more than 7 pts. Last team to manage it was the '62 Lions.

Yeah but don't you know Packers can't win the close games, yet another game goes by when we don't win within 4 points :pac: