Packers 2010 thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Terrific display from the D... Bishop and Peprah have stepped up.

Win against the Cowgirls would end the first bit of the season nicely before the bye week.

Penalties were almost non existent which tells it all.

How do people rate McCarthy?

Gotta say that, as I started supporting them in the miserable days when Gregg and Infante were head coaches, and the Bears were a phenomenon, so it' still almost exciting to see them have a winning season, or beat the Vikings or Bears along the way. But maybe I'm underestimating them and I should be expecting playoffs every season now Rodgers is firmly established.

Mccarthy needs to have a good ride in to the end of the season to survive.

Locals are getting restless, but the win in the 'Lands and vs the Vikes have taken the pressure off.

Need to put away the Cowboys to relax for the bye week.

A loss here would make things awkward... very awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭cheesehead

Well summarized - totally agree Flutterin.

It's interesting - with no NFL team looking totally dominant this year, there's definitely a "what if" kind of feeling developing here in Green Bay. While many games remain to be played, one is beginning to hear "if only Finley,Grant, etc... didn't go down, we would be in the driver's seat for the playoffs (and beyond) kind of talk.

As an aside, having been raised in the NYC metro area and transplanting to Green Bay later in life, I've found one of the biggest regional differences between the Upper Midwest and NYC area lies in the area of conflict aversion. NYC, obviously, is much more "in-your-face". If people "gotta a problem with youse", you know about it. Here in the Upper Midwest, it's much more conflict averse. I'm not saying one approach is better than the other, it's just very different.

Consequently, the year the Giants last won the Super Bowl (2007), many in the NYC area were loudly calling for Tom Coughlin's (Giants coach) head before the Giants went on a tear and ultimately won it all. Here in the Upper Midwest, the locals are much less vocal. Look at what's happening with the Vikings (another Upper Midwest team) - if Childress was coaching in New York, I dare say he would be gone by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,299 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Cowboys got pwned.

Total wipe out.

First game I could actually enjoy, cocooned in the certainty that they could not blow this one.

Well done..... same again in the HHH:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I said a few weeks ago after beating Favre and the Vikings in Lambeau that it could be the turning point of the season...starting to look like it now, fair play to ye....delighted as the pack are my second team haha!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭cheesehead

The Packers gave up very good value (giving the Patriots a second round pick and two third round picks) in trading up to get Clay Matthews and an extra fifth round pick.

While Packers GM (Ted Thompson) loves building through the draft, he obviously saw something in Matthews he liked. Looking like fairly sound analysis at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,299 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Mark Tauscher is the latest to go on IR. How many's that? 11 or 12? :eek:

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Mark Tauscher is the latest to go on IR. How many's that? 11 or 12? :eek:

I'm afraid the Tauscher's career at GB is finito, more or less.

Gave great service for 10 years at RT but father time and Brian Bulaga have caught up.

Won't harm the Packers too much.

I see they re-signed Havner. You can never have too many TE's. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭cosatron

will we have a chance without a decent running back. i watched the rams and 49er's last nite and i thought steven jackson was class, he can run, catch and block. if we had him, i think he would ease the pressure on rodgers. what are peoples expectations. nfc championship game against the giants would be nice and beat them.

Brandon Jackson doesn't get the praise he deserves.

He is not stellar but he's good, give the guy a chance.

I have seen a lot worse carrying for the Pack:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I see they re-signed Havner. You can never have too many TE's. :D

I was disappointed when we let him go. I liked what he did in latter half of last season. Hopefully he does something similar.

Didn't see cowboys game and not going to see Vikings game. If we win Sunday than it's bye Vikings and Favre.
    Massive game, wish I could see it :(

Absolutely massive..... hope the Pack have the bottle to win.

Will need all their players at best form as the Vikes are a good team.

Packers D will be vital especially the secondary.

Absolutely massive..... hope the Pack have the bottle to win.

Will need all their players at best form as the Vikes are a good team.

Packers D will be vital especially the secondary.

They have good players but currently they are far from a good team. Their season is pretty much over already. This is their and Favres last harrah but if we can get ahead early I think they will likely implode and Favre could have 1 of his stinkers.
    We should win, let's hope we can deliver.

We focking did deliver!!!

Awesome display... no penalties, or did I miss one..... awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Great win.... especially as it was away from home!

It will be a fairly tough run in for the rest of the season though.
    I'm confident we can get top spot in the division though

I didn't see it but awesome scoreline if nothing else. IT sounds like the match went as I hoped.
    It's between us and the bears and with the general weakness of NFC this year we definitely can be looking at getting number 1 or 2 seed.
    I still doubt we will get beyond divisional round or possibly NFC championship but considering the incredible amount of injuries we had that's progress for the year.

Things are settling down now though... time to stop playing the injury card maybe.

OL is settled and good apart from Finlay at TE, and Tauscher at RT out, in good shape.

Backfield is performing well despite Ryan grant being out.

DL is solid

LBs some great step ups even with Barnett and Poppinga out

Secondary has been a revelation, could even could let AL Harris go.

So all in all, I would say apart from the Finlay threat at TE we are good to go

against any team.

In the Georgia Dome next Sun 12 E 13 C on the Sky coverage.

Should be a cracker:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Rick_

Rodgers fumbles the first time this season on the 1 yard line, the Falcons return it for a TD.

10-3 to the Falcons at half time. Come on Rodgers! Bring it back! It should be 10-3 Packers!

lack of a running game cost dearly, no penetration on the ground.

Pack unlucky got a bad call on the Gonzalez 'catch' and had basically no luck.

Good game though.

Pack unlucky got a bad call on the Gonzalez 'catch' and had basically no luck.

Was surprised they let that slip.

Another "what might have been" game for the Pack.

Penalties and calls hurt at crucial times.

Shame about Rogers fumble in the 1st quater.
    that 4th Down TD in the 4th Quater..... sweet moment.... he must have ice in his veins!

Its not the easiest run-in to the end of the season.
    I fear we may only make it to post season as a wildcard.

Can't complain. They both played well. Falcons squeaked it. Rodgers played brilliantly again. 147 straight attempts without an int. Pity about the lost fumble.

He is now the NFL career passer rating leader (tied with Rivers).

Can't complain. They both played well. Falcons squeaked it. Rodgers played brilliantly again. 147 straight attempts without an int. Pity about the lost fumble.

He is now the NFL career passer rating leader (tied with Rivers).

Packers running game terrible.Wouldn't be happy there, otherwise few complaints.

What is it with Brandon J. never seem to get up a head of steam, and gets nailed in the backfield on his heels.

Packers running game terrible.

Looks like the running game just got a significant boost! Maybe Starks is the real deal. I'd say he'll be getting a few shots over the next few weeks.

Rodgers and the receivers? Bloody super. Rodgers and Jennings are two hot players right now. Who loves Donald Driver? :D

Next up: Detroit.

Looks like the running game just got a significant boost! Maybe Starks is the real deal. I'd say he'll be getting a few shots over the next few weeks.

Rodgers and the receivers? Bloody super. Rodgers and Jennings are two hot players right now. Who loves Donald Driver? :D

Next up: Detroit.

Steady up now,hopefully Starks will be the man, but wayyyy too early to judge.

Watch Detroit, in their own house will be tough to beat.

Packers will need to be 100% concentrating.

If they are only only one result.... Pack win.

What did you think of the kit we were playing in against the 49'rs?
    I thought it looked great!

Very retro.

No, not for me, brown and blue? Fashion crime. Even if the green and gold is a bit garish.