What's the worst pain you have ever had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭user1842

Had my big toenail ripped off when I was younger. Worst pain I have ever experienced.

O ya also when I was a kid, my GP was taking blood, he slipped and gabbed the needle into my arm and it scraped off my bone. To this day I can still feel that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Alright I'm after thinking of a funny one from a few years ago. Myself and a lad from home were throwing darts in the local. I threw and then when I was retrieving my darts the other gobshíte pinned my hand to the board, wasn't too sore so I just laughed and got tetanus shot the following day. The shot would've been unreal if he meant it, went in between bones and all.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Alright I'm after thinking of a funny one from a few years ago. Myself and a lad from home were throwing darts in the local. I threw and then when I was retrieving my darts the other gobshíte pinned my hand to the board, wasn't too sore so I just laughed and got tetanus shot the following day. The shot would've been unreal if he meant it, went in between bones and all.:)

This is why I avoid dart boards or the general vicinity of one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Bubs99

1: Extreme paralysing period pain as a teen

2: Recovery of wisdom tooth

3: Agonising migraine and muscle pain (post seizure)

4: Gastronomy problems (ended up in A&E)

5: Punched in the face and head repeatedly

(this list is NOT in order of severity of pain)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Fractured elbow, looked just like ---> this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I had two massive blood clots in my brain (still there, but much, much smaller) which stopped blood/oxygen flow and caused so much pressure in my skull it temporarily damaged cranial nerves (eyes didn't work!).

It felt like something was about explode, which is funny, because that's exactly what was happening.

On a scale of 1-10 I'd rate it at about 5trillion.

Hurt when I was sitting down, hurt laying down, couldn't stand up, opening my eyes hurt, closing them hurt more, talking was right out. Massive amounts of painkiller to induce sleep was about all they could do for me until the Heprin started doing it's thing and letting the blood flow again.

Most painful 2 months of my life. 2 surgeries and 17 months later and I'm pretty much grand again though =D

Thank you Neurology and ENT @ St. Vincents University Hospital :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 506 ✭✭✭common sense brigade

Been through Natural Childbirth with an episiotomy and a Broken Heart. The Broken Heart was more painful.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Sinus infection. It actually felt like that was a woman giving birth while kicking a Guy in the balls in my head. I ended up burning the skin on top of my nose and temples, just to release the pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

man the f*ck up.

yiz are all pussy whipped to within an ich of your lives

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Another thoughtful and articulate post from orourkeda...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭awesom_o

1. Broken tailbone. Its basically a nice word for a broken arse. I don't know what was sorer, being in agony trying to just SIT on the jacks or the nurse giving me a 'taking care of you buttocks' pamphlet.

2. Fractured ribs. I was drunk. Don't know how it happened. But.. it hurt like hell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Seaneh wrote: »
    Another thoughtful and articulate post from orourkeda...

Ahhhhhhhhhh.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Besides childbirth, would have to say gallstones, coupled with severe pancreatitis.

Every inhaled breath felt like a belt made of barbed wire was squeezing through my upper abdomen. Went to A&E and was told it was gastroenteritis, sent home with painkillers.....a week later, the oul pancreas got inflamed. Had to call an ambulance after nearly passing out a couple of times and vomiting steadily for 2 hours, hardly able to breathe. Had to beg the doctor on call for morphine.

Correct diagnosis was finally made and out came the gall bladder. Excruciating that was :(

I also got discharged from A&E after their wonderful diagnosis of gastroenteritis. :rolleyes:

About two weeks later landed back in another A&E, three hours and four morphine injections later still no pain relief so they got the horse tranquilliser strength stuff out and hooked me up to it. Then put me on a trolley outside A&E for 24 hours because of overcrowding.

Happy days... :(

You haven't felt pain until there's a gallstone running amok in your system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Doctor_Socks

Testicular Torsion! Feels like someone has an incredibly firm grasp of your sack and is trying to twist and pull it off you!! Even after injections of morphine I still couldn't speak in my regular pitch from the pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Liberalbrehon

1)headache from viral meningitis - like head is about to explode
    2)ingrown toenail removed - why did God put so many nerves in the big toe!
    3)impacted tooth removed
    4)wisdom teeth removed
    5)hernia operation

still here, pain is transitory, suffering is eternal (especially with FF in power!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

GOUT :mad:

The king of diseases and the disease of kings.

I've broken a leg, an ankle. My right wrist twice, left once and ribs two or three times and none would cause a blip on the radar compared to gout.

Closest thing I'd compare to it is 'glue ear', it plagued me as a child. Then rared its ugly head again about eight years ago, when my ear drum perforated there was immediate pain relief.. Two gromit's later and I'm grand again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I’ve broken/fractured loads of bones but the only pain I can remember making me cry was when I put my back out a few years ago. Never want to feel that pain ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭keaves

ahhhh what a perfect thread for me right now; just had a filling and I swear to god the needle was the size of a table knife!!!! took at least 30 seconds for her to pull the whole thing out of my jaw!

but without a doubt glandular fever!!!! I wanted to die! was bed bound for at least 4 weeks and lost over a stone, mostly muscle mass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Tearing my ankle ligaments and calf muscle while playing astro,the laughing gas in the ambo was class though!

the laughing gas in the ambo was class though!

Oh, that warm, woozy feeling you get just before you go under from the anaesthetic is heavenly. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

Cracked a tooth and didn't know which one. Accidentally had wron tooth removed. Smoked with open wound, had both a cracked tooth (with an absys or whatever they're called), and an infected open wound side by side. It was NASTY. More painful than the many broken bones/face smashes I've suffered in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

GOUT :mad:

Was just about to post that. Extremely sore. Get a couple of attacks a year.

keaves wrote: »
    but without a doubt glandular fever!!!! I wanted to die! was bed bound for at least 4 weeks and lost over a stone, mostly muscle mass!

I lost a stone in a week and a half in hospital once, and it was muscle mass for me too. I looked an absolute state, it was not good weight loss, you could tell by looking at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

first day of school,......end result, got my two front teeth through my lip:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

Saturday when I strained my back... have to go see the doctor in 45 mins :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Liberalbrehon

Watching a loved one in pain especially a child is hard to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I broke my nose, my jaw and knocked out my four front teeth when I fell on my face once. Ouch doesn't even cover it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭billlumbergh

When i was around 16 i was working in a coffee shop; I was bringing down a pot of black coffee to a fella sitting up at the bar. Just as i said 'now sir here's your coffee' or whatever, he spun around knocking it onto my boobs!!! i screamed in pain, it hurt so so much. another customer, who turned out to be a nurse, brought me into the bathroom and started pouring water on my scalded boobs, when i looked down the skin was sliding down with the water, i nearly had a stroke:eek:
    Then the ambulance came and i had lots and lots of painkillers and was talking nonsense about piercings with the ambulance crew:p
    In and out of hospital for a month, lots of painful dressing changes.
    Never had a pain like it since! Thank F**k!
    And my boobs healed up a treat :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

When i was around 16 i was working in a coffee shop; I was bringing down a pot of black coffee to a fella sitting up at the bar. Just as i said 'now sir here's your coffee' or whatever, he spun around knocking it onto my boobs!!! i screamed in pain, it hurt so so much. another customer, who turned out to be a nurse, brought me into the bathroom and started pouring water on my scalded boobs, when i looked down the skin was sliding down with the water, i nearly had a stroke:eek:
    Then the ambulance came and i had lots and lots of painkillers and was talking nonsense about piercings with the ambulance crew:p
    In and out of hospital for a month, lots of painful dressing changes.
    Never had a pain like it since! Thank F**k!
    And my boobs healed up a treat :o

that coulda been a disaster story right there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Going a week without coffee. Not great. Otherwise, my head hitting a pavement after flying off a bike. No lasting damage thankfully.