Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the worst pain you have ever had?

• 17-01-2011 12:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭

Right lads and lasses I just got my tooth out this morning due to the fact I have an abscess from hell on it and boy the amount of bloody pain is unreal n 8 solpadine capsules later pain still there so what's been your worst experience of pain ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Cramp in me gooch!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

My heart was broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Listening to a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

I've been punched in the head repeatedly and it comes nowhere near as close to the pain caused by Crohn's disease! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭bungler

Bank manager that keeps looking for money.

or

Catching my foreskin in my jeans and not been able to get it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

My second childbirth, face was like this so it was:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Had a lot of bad pains either migraine or other severe body pains. One of which was in my side the other around my waist. All of which were unrelated to each other. Thought it was a burst appendix but turned out to be something else but was still in agony for a week with it. Once I got it sorted in hospital I was fine. Took a while to recover though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭bungler

Dan133269 wrote: »
    I've been punched in the head repeatedly and it comes nowhere near as close to the pain caused by Crohn's disease! ;)

Can you doctor not try pain killers instead?:p

Just remembered my actual worst pain. Got pinned against a bar in a cattle crush by a bull when I was around 15, couldn't breath and it was a wonder I wasn't killed by snapping ribs or anything. anyway the bar at my back came out of the hole in the wall where it was fixed and I fell on the ground so the bull just ran out over me. He had me dead to rights for a couple of minutes and I'm slightly nervous around cattle now, and that's not a good thing for a farmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Stood on an upturned plug, the pain

Or the time I was kicked in the balls

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Broken wrist, fell very awkwardly on it playing football, all the players near to me said they heard it crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Dislocated knee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Just remembered my actual worst pain. Got pinned against a bar in a cattle crush by a bull when I was around 15, couldn't breath and it was a wonder I wasn't killed by snapping ribs or anything. anyway the bar at my back came out of the hole in the wall where it was fixed and I fell on the ground so the bull just ran out over me. He had me dead to rights for a couple of minutes and I'm slightly nervous around cattle now, and that's not a good thing for a farmer.

I can imagine. The sight of a bull scares me. I'd run for the hills if I saw one that could be any bit dangerous. You were very lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Tonsils, adenoids and part of soft palate removed 3years ago...nasty.

I can imagine. The sight of a bull scares me. I'd run for the hills if I saw one that could be any bit dangerous. You were very lucky.

To be honest I was stupid, I was standing between a trailer to the mart and his only way out. I was kicked in the head by a bullock about a year before and it didn't make me think twice but this lad was just nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Gotta be tooth pain...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 RRaff

My brother dying in a crash in Spain then my sister dying 11 months later with breast cancer. That year sucked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

RRaff wrote: »
    My brother dying in a crash in Spain then my sister dying 11 months later with breast cancer. That year sucked!
    You win :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Toothace for me too, was practically in tears...and that was only last year! :o

Almost as bad was when I was playing football and got smacked right in the face by one of those horrible rock hard yellow-ish old skool footballs. Apparently going by my teammates I was sent hurtling backwards into the air....instant nosebleed, in total agony - yet hilarious for those watching :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Dislocated patella playing GAA. Worse than the excruciating pain was looking down and seeing my kneecap had relocated to the side of my leg.

Bollox of an injury as well as, like with many dislocations, it has the potential to reoccur - and it has fully lived up to this promise.

EDIT: Scrap that - standing on on upturned plug in the middle of the night was on another level entirely. It's just so unfair and unexpected. You get up groggy, wanting nothing more than the simple pleasure of emptying your bladder, then out of nowhere you're thrown into a realm of torment that makes a stint in Hades seem like a day trip to Alton Towers in comparison.

Can't believe that wasn't the first thing to come to mind. Repressed memory, most likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Denny M wrote: »
    Broken wrist, fell very awkwardly on it playing football, all the players near to me said they heard it crack.

Think mine would be the same. Some scumbag knackers beat the crap out of me outside a night club a few years back.

I fainted in casualty, because of the pain. That was bloody sore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭pagancornflake

The pain I am experiencing right now as a matter of fact. I have a cavity in my front tooth and I exposed it to a mouthful of hot coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I went to a dentist to start getting work done. She drilled into a bad tooth to see if it could be filled or if it needed a root canal. It was bad so it needed a root canal so she put a temp filling in until it could be done. The pain crept on slowly but by the Friday I was in excruciating pain. I couldn't sleep and pain killers did absolutely nothing. The only thing that would help was cold water so I was awake for 2 days holding cold water in my mouth to ease the pain. I nodded off every so often but seconds later I woke up in unbearable agony and took more water in my mouth.

By Monday I was near insane from the constant agony and lack of sleep. I got an emergency appointment with a different dentist. She took out the temp filling and was horrified that not only was it a cheap plastic filling but it was sitting directly on a nerve, that's why the pain killers did nothing, she said morphone was the only thing that might help.

What followed made the weekend of the most insane torturous pain seem like fluffy kittens. She removed the temp filling and in an effort to save the tooth she tried to remove the nerve. I was given anesthetic so thought I was ok. She got a long sharp tweezers type thing and leaned into the cavity and began to pick and pull at the nerve. Every single touch off the nerve made me almost pass out. I almost kicked her when I jumped each time. I can honestly say I do not know how I would handle that kind of pain again. It was sharp and deep and felt from my temples to my toes.

She removed most of it and put back on a softer leather filling and told me to go home and see how I felt. Once the novacaine wore off I was back to the excruciating agony, which now felt like nothing compared to getting an open nerve tweezed and tugged. But I went back and told her to remove the tooth. So she numbed me up, got he giant pliers, braced herslf against my leg and ripped the fooker out of my head and even with 3 hits of novacaine the second the tooth was pulled I felt the biggest release of pressure and pain I've ever had and I felt normal for the first time in 3 days. Went promptly home and slept for 2 days and tried to forget that ordeal.

Kidney stones.
    2 of them to be exact last year, felt like giving birth to them TBH.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Lego bricks and feet = FÚCK!!!!!!

I broke a punching machine before............not that I threw a great punch but I went for a haymaker, skimmed the bottom of the punch bag and my hand kept travelling until it smashed the machine. My hand was squirting blood, was inflammed but at least it wasn't broken. The next few days though was utter pain.

Plus getting the foreskin of me willy removed and the ensuing stinging pain of whenever I pissed for 2 weeks was unbearable. Was like I had dipped it in Salt & Vinegar and was pissing acid. :(

I had my hand torn open where the skin flopped off from the middle of it right up to the side of my middle finger. Strangely the incident or the healing process didn't hurt :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

sinus pain. I think there was a vacuum in my cheek sinus. The only thing that worked for it was nurofen plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

was painting kitchen & had rashers frying on pan,when finishing painting I fell of the ladder & landed on frying pan,Rasher got grafted to me ass...

Then one other occasion I slipped on a Banana & landed on dog sh1t,face down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

was painting kitchen & had rashers frying on pan,when finishing painting I fell of the ladder & landed on frying pan,Rasher got grafted to me ass...

Then one other occasion I slipped on a Banana & landed on dog sh1t,face down.

Oh my god you poor thing but that is so funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Getting a tooth taken out due to overcrowding when I was a kid. I pain from the injection was say bad my mums hand was sore for the rest of the day from me crushing it holding it so tight. Mum found me a new dentist after that one.

Steping on a up turned rusty nail that was in a plank of wood, although the nail passed through the sole of my trainners and between my big and second toe, the thought that it had gone through my foot was pain enough.

Sinus pain for me as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

jackie1974 wrote: »
    Oh my god you poor thing but that is so funny :D

aye,quiet painful,but I'm not sure if it were actually the physical pain or just the painfulness of seeing dog poop going straight into me gob following the slip....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Almost as bad was when I was playing football and got smacked right in the face by one of those horrible rock hard yellow-ish old skool footballs. Apparently going by my teammates I was sent hurtling backwards into the air....instant nosebleed, in total agony - yet hilarious for those watching :mad:

This hapened to me minus the nose bleed. Never did quite recall what happened between that moment just before impact, and half the lads coming over to see if I was okay, with me lying flat on my face.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭BMF Plint

NothingMan wrote: »
    I went to a dentist to start getting work done. She drilled into a bad tooth to see if it could be filled or if it needed a root canal. It was bad so it needed a root canal so she put a temp filling in until it could be done. The pain crept on slowly but by the Friday I was in excruciating pain. I couldn't sleep and pain killers did absolutely nothing. The only thing that would help was cold water so I was awake for 2 days holding cold water in my mouth to ease the pain. I nodded off every so often but seconds later I woke up in unbearable agony and took more water in my mouth.

By Monday I was near insane from the constant agony and lack of sleep. I got an emergency appointment with a different dentist. She took out the temp filling and was horrified that not only was it a cheap plastic filling but it was sitting directly on a nerve, that's why the pain killers did nothing, she said morphone was the only thing that might help.

What followed made the weekend of the most insane torturous pain seem like fluffy kittens. She removed the temp filling and in an effort to save the tooth she tried to remove the nerve. I was given anesthetic so thought I was ok. She got a long sharp tweezers type thing and leaned into the cavity and began to pick and pull at the nerve. Every single touch off the nerve made me almost pass out. I almost kicked her when I jumped each time. I can honestly say I do not know how I would handle that kind of pain again. It was sharp and deep and felt from my temples to my toes.

She removed most of it and put back on a softer leather filling and told me to go home and see how I felt. Once the novacaine wore off I was back to the excruciating agony, which now felt like nothing compared to getting an open nerve tweezed and tugged. But I went back and told her to remove the tooth. So she numbed me up, got he giant pliers, braced herslf against my leg and ripped the fooker out of my head and even with 3 hits of novacaine the second the tooth was pulled I felt the biggest release of pressure and pain I've ever had and I felt normal for the first time in 3 days. Went promptly home and slept for 2 days and tried to forget that ordeal.

I was left with that type of pain for 7 months. 2 dentists said my tooth couldn't be pulled because the tooth was massive and had a hooked root so if the pulled it the tooth would take half my jaw with it.. I went to the doctor to get something decent for the pain and he thought i was having a brain hemorrhage cos i was so out of sorts. he gave me zydol for the pain and it helped a little.. the only real relief i got was from stuff called bonzai black out of a head shop that fookin stuff put me asleep in no time at all. but then the bastards closed the head shops and the normal bud done nothing.. all that time i was waiting for an appointment in Dublin and heard nothing so i ended up paying €750 to get some other dental surgeon to get it out.. Man the relief was unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Kidney stones.
    2 of them to be exact last year, felt like giving birth to them TBH.:pac:

If you haven't experienced kidney stones you haven't a clue about pain. I recall flying from San Fransisco to Boston doubled up, with no pain killers. It's like being repeatedly kicked in the balls while someone jabs you in the sides with a red hot poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

NothingMan wrote: »

Fcuk I felt that:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭hubba

Top Three:
    1. Abcess under the tooth
    2. Strep throat - so painful I could not swallow my saliva or speak. I was just about to go through having it lanced (anything to end the agony) but it miraculously decided to heal itself.
    3. Jumped off a bed in youthful exuberance and landed on an upturned poker tongs - the upturned blunt prong was driven right into my heel.
    These are top three and it must be noted that I also was knocked down by a car which broke my leg, and scalded my arm from shoulder to wrist but the above three were worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Duggy747 wrote: »

I broke a punching machine before............not that I threw a great punch but I went for a haymaker, skimmed the bottom of the punch bag and my hand kept travelling until it smashed the machine. My hand was squirting blood, was inflammed but at least it wasn't broken. The next few days though was utter pain.
    Those contraptions have no place in any establishment that serves drink.

Friend was telling me about a mate of his, whom I don't know, who had a similar mishap with a punching machine. The machine was situated - badly, in hindsight - just to the right of the bar. Eager to impress, he stood himself a good distance from the target, took a short run up, and went swing a big right hook. But the booze caused him to miss a step, the momentum of the hook turned him 90 degrees to his left, and in an attempt to regain his balance he staggered along the entire length of the bar, knocking every drink off in the process, before landing in a broken heap amidst a pile of glass. Apparently, it was beyond anything you'd see in a slapstick comedy.

The last time I was in Coppers (and I mean "last" in every sense of the word) I noticed they had a punching machine there. Know your audience, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

stimpson wrote: »

If you haven't experienced kidney stones you haven't a clue about pain. I recall flying from San Fransisco to Boston doubled up, with no pain killers. It's like being repeatedly kicked in the balls while someone jabs you in the sides with a red hot poker.

Childbirth is like being repeatedly kicked in the vagina while someone screams push at you so kinda similar :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Slipped disc. Nothing else has ever even come close to the pain that caused, valium plus pain killing injections only slightly numbed it, 2 weeks of total agony, preceeded by and followed by maybe 4 months of intense discomfort either side. Also it can come back at any time, hasn't yet thank god!
    Torn ligaments a couple of times, that's no laughing matter either, but maybe a fifth as severe as the disc thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Has to be earaches, sooooo painful.

Was plagued with them as a child, even suffering a perforated eardrum at one stage:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

Kidney stone. The undisputed king of pain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Snapping my femur (Largest bone in the body).. Couldn't walk for around 8 months.. That was true pain, wouldn't wish it on anyone.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

gum infection. Couldn't eat, barely drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Worst pain I was every in was when I ended up with cracked ribs after Judo training. Felt ok that night, but **** me it was terrible the next day. Took 15 minutes to get out of bed, couldn't sit up and couldnt roll over. Some how managed to sit up a small bit and slide off the bed very slowly. Every time I laughed, sneezed or coughed it was agony. And pain killers did feck all for me.

And to add insult to injury, it was only my second ever Judo class :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

The worst physical pain for me was either the week I had shingles or the time as a kid I was trying to fill a hot water bottle and poured boiling water on my foot. After those it would be cracking a rib.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

jackie1974 wrote: »
    Childbirth is like being repeatedly kicked in the vagina while someone screams push at you so kinda similar :D

Apparently ladies who have experienced both think stones are worse. The upside to stones is that you don't have to save for their college fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭oompaloompa

had operation last week removing tumour from my head through roof of my mouth, my whole mouth was sliced open from behind teeth to back of throat, tonsils removed to make space and a hole drilled up back of mouth to drain fluid from skull. believe me... I win!

I assume the prize for this is morphine??? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Cook my sock

Nipple piercing. or when I broke my wrist and had to get a steel plate in. or toothaches, them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Paper cut on my EYE BALL.

Which caused recurrent corneal erosion. Very painful

Had my eye stabbed with a needle 18 times to try to get the cornea outer membrane to re-attach to the inner one.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Recurrent_corneal_erosion

from wiki:
    Recurrent corneal erosion is a disorder of the eyes characterized by the failure of the cornea's outermost layer of epithelial cells to attach to the underlying basement membrane (Bowman's layer). The condition is excruciatingly painful because the loss of these cells results in the exposure of sensitive corneal nerves.