have you ever stole money from your kids xmas cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

If you were stuck for money at the time and the money was for food etc, I see no problem in it

Otherwise you should have put the money in a savings acount for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Nothing wrong with that at all as long as the money was put to good use. Might feel differently if you spent it down in the pub or at the bookies or something! People saying it's stealing from your kids need to get a grip :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Such behaviour I think is also one of the qualifying tests for Dáil Eireann membership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

dollyk wrote: »
    .....was i so wrong....:confused:

Depends, because you never stated what your situation was.

If times were tough, christmas was costly more than what you and your husband could afford .... then nothing wrong with it. You were making christmas more christmas by using that money.

If times werent tough and you could afford christmas. Then yes. Its wrong. You used your kids present money to pay for things instead of letting little johnny buy the Power Rangers action figure that would of made him that bit more happy. After all. The toy wasnt coming out of your pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ran out of cash at my wedding afters at about 3AM so ripped open a card and paid for a gigantic round with the money therein. And was spotted by new mother-in-law doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

If it was a case that you were buying food that you couldn't afford yourself, then no it's fine.

But I know I'd be pissed off if I gave one of my nephews money in a card and my sibling took the money, bought "additional presents" and presented them to the kid as their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

what would you have said if they took money from your cards :mad: or if someone took your money when you were their age..

course they're going to laugh it off now that they've got older and they never missed it - but it was their money - they could have gone out and gone to a concert or even on the lash - that was their money to spend on themselves - and you took that from them :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I can understand this if times were so hard that you had to stay away from the pub and the bookies. It would be terrible if the children could buy the toys that they realy wanted from santa, with the money from auntie Mary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

theg81der wrote: »
    Can`t believe anyone would do this! If you can`t afford kids eh...don`t have them pretty simple to me.

Please God may I never see the day when I have to take money of my children (when I can eventually afford to have them)!

This would involve an extremely unlikely scenario, over which I would have no control, -death, destruction, end of our econmic system as we know it etc

Oh come on, circumstances change. God knows we all know that n this day and age. People lose jobs, get sick.

OP, if you were using the money for the children and using it in a way to benefit them then fair enough, especially if they were just going to spend it all on sweets when they needed school shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Can`t believe anyone would do this! If you can`t afford kids eh...don`t have them pretty simple to me.

Please God may I never see the day when I have to take money of my children (when I can eventually afford to have them)!

This would involve an extremely unlikely scenario, over which I would have no control, -death, destruction, end of our econmic system as we know it etc

If you dont have kids how can you say for sure you would not do this.

The OP spent the money on the kids.

It's not the crime of the century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

anyhow we all got talking and i said how i used to take some of the money that their aunts, uncles etc from their xmas cards and buy foodstuff and extra presents:for xmas with it
    If times were really tough I could see why you might take money to buy food but it seems wrong to buy presents. If you spent the money on presents for your kids then you were taking the credit for buying a present that was really from their aunt or uncle. If you bought presents for your brothers or sisters then you were just giving them back their own money.

If you needed money that badly maybe you could have just been honest and asked your brothers and sisters for a loan.

Just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If you spent the money on presents for your kids then you were taking the credit for buying a present that was really from their aunt or uncle.
    Unless some jolly fat bas*ard wearing red took the credit ;)

OP, what you did was wrong, but f**k the family. They would rather spoil your kids than help you out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Did your kids even know they had received these gifts from their relatives?
    If not, I can understand why your family might be a bit peeved - the kids thinking their aunties/uncles had never bothered to give them a Christmas prsent.

Seems a bit dishonest on your part, if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It's not exactly murder but would never do it myself.
    You know yourself it was wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Well I think the fact that the OP posted "stole money" in the title is an admission of wrong-doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

My tight uncles and aunts never gave us any presents at x-mas..w**kers. My parents would borrow money from me when I was in my early and late teens and then borrowed a huge sum of money off me when I finished college.

Dead beats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

well i could afford my children when i has them and got married, and if their loving father had not fecked off with his super single lover, then times would not have been so bad at xmas, The cards may i say were from their fathers sisters and brothers because they knew he missed most of the maintenance payments , so we need basics like food and normal things .SPECIALLY AT XMAS. so i took money from their cards to provide this, as it was imo my job to provide these thigs in any way i could.

kinda naive of you tbh, thinking "If you can`t afford kids eh...don`t have them pretty simple to me. " A lot can happen between conception and birth.

Silly question to ask on here really, most of them are knobs or those with f all are wannabe knobs who pretend they are well to do :rolleyes:

And of course times are so different now.
    my older sons all have good jobs and have their own homes, of course i would go mad :eek::D:D if they took any money from the cards that i send my grandchildren.
    To be fair i buy clothes and other stuff i know is needed.
    As they are not as needy as their fathers or mothers were,
    So a lot of mixed replys here, but i have to state.
    I had 6 children under 8. And in fairness they didnt realise what money meant.
    So i took money and left a pound or two, bought food and toys,
    But told them, oh look at what auntie nora/joan/etc, bought you for xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Job loss, business failure, sudden onset of either physical or mental disease in either yourself or your partner, having a special needs child after two 'normal' children who costs far more than you'd bargained for, your partner upping and leaving you, bank run, savings fund collapse........

You'd better decide here and now not to have children because you cannot cover every eventuality.
    my sisters nearly had a stroke, and said they didnt realise
    The cards may i say were from their fathers sisters and brothers

This doesn't gel. Why would your own sisters be so unhappy that they would stop speaking to you over a 'crime' committed against other people? They might get a bit het up in case you did the same to them but I could hardly see them cold shouldering because of something you did to third parties especially third parties of the in-law sort.

For myself, I have borrowed from my kids but only to provide them with what they need, if that makes sense and usually with their permission. They are well aware of how things stand with my finances and they usually get it back plus some. My parents borrowed from us as kids.

Unless you have been in the situation you cannot know the utter inner relief that you feel when one of the kids get handed a twenty by someone when things are very tight. There is nothing like the feeling of that tight knot of anxiety that rests behind your breastbone loosening slightly - much better than the prospect of hookers and coke! :D

View Post

I meant my sisters were trying to say they didnt realise that i had a need to do this, now some of them are saying " oh had you asked we would have helped "
    LOIKE REALLY....i was 29 with 6 young children... and no income :eek:
    So now they have decided PMSL, not to speak to me because i didnt allow them help " their nieces and nephews. sorry but thats bollix.

View Post

I meant my sisters were trying to say they didnt realise that i had a need to do this, now some of them are saying " oh had you asked we would have helped "
    So now they have decided PMSL, not to speak to me because i didnt allow them help " their nieces and nephews. sorry but thats bollix.

Did you work at all when you were raising the kids? Maybe they thought you weren't working out of choice and could afford not to? Didn't realise you were stuck.

If my brother or sister didn't tell me I wouldn't know their financial situation and frankly wouldn't care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

View Post

Ah ok, I get you now.

I do know what you mean. I expect people to understand my situation. I make no secret of it because to do that would sow seeds of shame somewhere in my psyche. Even though my family do know, some members who should know better because they have been broke too in their time don't actually seem too realise/remember and make comments like get a massage if you're stressed!!:eek: If I need a massage I come on here, post something stupid and then I get stomped all over. AH'ers might not be dainty Japanese girl types but they sure can work those kinks out.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Did you work at all when you were raising the kids? Maybe they thought you weren't working out of choice and could afford not to? Didn't realise you were stuck.

If my brother or sister didn't tell me I wouldn't know their financial situation and frankly wouldn't care
    No i didnt work when they were young, it was not from laziness,
    but a lack of child care, now adays its different,
    and as i was not classed as a lone parent " i was married "
    so classed as a deserted wife .
    but i was not a D/W, as my husband sometimes gave me wages.
    But i was never a dead beat, I went to work as my kids got older,
    they all done well in school, so they are well adjusted I.MO

No i didnt work when they were young, it was not from laziness,
    but a lack of child care, now adays its different,
    and as i was not classed as a lone parent " i was married "
    so classed as a deserted wife .
    but i was not a D/W, as my husband sometimes gave me wages.
    But i was never a dead beat, I went to work as my kids got older,
    they all done well in school, so they are well adjusted I.MO

Then your vindicated. Forget 'em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

You know OP you would have got nicer answers if you didn't firstly say it was your family that was upset, then wait for a few posts to say you were a single parent, then wait a few more posts to say your family were pissed that you didn't ask for help. There's no reason to get sarky with posters when you're asking their opinion on one scenario and then adding vital information later on :rolleyes: That's like me saying "I just kicked a guy in the nuts, am I wrong?" then getting pissed off when people say yes you are in the wrong and then I add "well he was trying to rape me at the time", like don't tell the story and then add the vital info later, it's just irritating.

curlzy wrote: »
    You know OP you would have got nicer answers if you didn't firstly say it was your family that was upset, then wait for a few posts to say you were a single parent, then wait a few more posts to say your family were pissed that you didn't ask for help. There's no reason to get sarky with posters when you're asking their opinion on one scenario and then adding vital information later on :rolleyes: That's like me saying "I just kicked a guy in the nuts, am I wrong?" then getting pissed off when people say yes you are in the wrong and then I add "well he was trying to rape me at the time", like don't tell the story and then add the vital info later, it's just irritating.

Rape or no rape, kicking a guy in the balls in uncalled for... And women think child birth hurts! JOKING!!!

curlzy wrote: »

oh i didnt mean it to come across like that, why i wrote my post i thought it came across as , well the way i see it, . then further down i realise that people dont see it like i do, the only time i answered a bit sarky, was to the " i wouldnt have kids if i couldnt afford them quote ". I dont mean to come across as being smart with any of the posters tbh, maybe im not great at expressing what i mean on paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,070 ✭✭✭✭noodler

humberklog wrote: »
    Harsh, very harsh. 6 happy kids kept happy is a job well done regardless if hook or by crook. Kids can be overly gifted easily by relations and it's the parents job to moderate that.

That argument is BS to me in this case.

Simply return the money rather than syphon it off if you feel that strongly.

When I give my nephews, littles brothers or cousins money it is for them and them alone - it is money I worked for with them in mind and would be furious to think someone stole it rather than simply telling me they thought it was too much.

If you were in such desperate financial straits then maybe you could 'force' the kids to save it and pay them back at a later date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭smokie2008

As Miley use to say.... "Weeell holy god"