What changes have you made to adapt to recessionary times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

sherdydan wrote: »
    edit: just re-read that there and i sound a little condescending.... I didnt mean to, honest!!!

Nah, it didn't come across like that at all.

I know what its like to live through a recession, I was lucky enough to get into the army in 1985.

My son is old enough, and wise enough to know whats going on but I try shelter my 15yr old daughter from most of it, she got her Ugg's & Converse for Christmas (the Ugg's were ordered online from Australia, saved a packet) and she still hits Dad's wallet for concert tickets & teen nights at The Wright Venue.

She's having a ball, she's a 'happy go-lucky' luck and I love it.

A few things saved me, I have a tiny mortage and didn't carry too much personal debt into this recession (except my car loan), and although my wages have been slashed to the bone (they really have) I won't be fired or made redundent & my pension is still secure (I think).

It annoys me when government tell me prices have fallen back to 2007, 2003, 1999 (or whatever it will be this week) levels - they haven't their flying bollox and I wish the government would just give the people what we want - do the decent thing, fall on your own sword and get the fvcking hell out of office you lying, cheating shower of fvcking bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

In Ireland I had nothing
    No Job, car,social life

But in the last month
    Moved into new appartment with pool, gym etc.
    Bought car
    Bought new laptop
    Out every weekend
    Man I Love Australia

Sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I've always paid my bills when I receive them and never bought anything I couldn't afford. So nothing has changed for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Look in Bargain Alerts more often.
    Check out special offers from Aldi/Lidl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Only finished college and got a job as the recession started.
    I also have no dependents, no debt and as far as graduate pay levels are now, quite a reasonable salary.

So I haven't had to change anything thankfully. I've money for all the bills, couple of nights out, a couple of decent meals out and a bit left over to save.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭finnegan2010

I still am lucky enough to have a job for now anyhow.
    Cutbacks i made were mainly on "enjoyment" end of things

My after work drinks 5pm - 7pm on Fridays (40.00) not these days now I Might have one in the pub leave after 40 mins and then head home with a few cans from offy

Newspapers everyday (only get once a week if even now) use dailymail.co.uk i know the shame!

Going Out BIG CHANGES ever friday and saturday i was out at least 130 per weekend on piss ups... Not anymore, A night out now would be a few drinks in the house first.... Then when your bored and you need a change of venue or a little atmosphere ill head out about 11 ish ( Sorry Mr Pub Guy but i musts cos me brokes):P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

What changes have I made to adapt to recessionary times?

Ignore people that use the word recessionary.

- I buy diesel with all my 2,5,10 cents at the end of the week.
    - Sold all the crap I dont need on ebay, I hardly have anything left.
    - Fit about a skip worth of rubbish into a wheelie bin and get it collected every two weeks.
    - Look out for offers on things like washing up liquid, bleach etc. Get the milk in the vegetable shop down the road that does 2 litres for 99cent, it sells out by about 10am each morning.
    - Take my reg off or tape over a number for the toll bridge, feck it not like they're stuck.
    - I attempted to grow my own vegetables, but they didnt want to grow for me.
    - Id get my own chickens and stuff too but no where to keep them.

Well done. You're stealing, and driving the cost up for everyone else. Hope you feel good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Down to my last pair of jeans and the bollix is about to fall out of them. Also, gave up wearing glasses after the last time I sat on them. That was 3 months ago. If the headaches continue I'll have the swipe some money from somewhere :mad:
    Those cheap glasses you get in heatons or lidi/aldi are pretty good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Well done. You're stealing, and driving the cost up for everyone else. Hope you feel good.

For the toll bridge? The one thats robbing everyone for years, Samir Wrong Gent is dead right.

No changes

robbie7730 wrote: »
    For the toll bridge? The one thats robbing everyone for years, Samir Wrong Gent is dead right.

Is he fúck! Paying for motoring is all part of the motoring. If you can't afford to do it, don't do it. Don't steal from everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Do you not think it's a bit of a double standard we have to pay car tax, which with out your not suppose to be on the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭dumb_parade

I figured out what a tracker mortgage is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 anonBul

Stopped being bulimic. Not binging really cuts down on the food bills.
    Also cuts the cost cleaning of supplies and air freshners.

Is he fúck! Paying for motoring is all part of the motoring. If you can't afford to do it, don't do it. Don't steal from everyone else.

Well i steal from no one. But the toll bridge prices are not governed by cars that dont pay for whatever reason, unlike car insurance maybe. If a car crosses the bridge it has no actual real cost to the toll bridge. How does some cars not paying affect the price for everyone else?

What about some people who wrongly get charged when never crossed it saint Sofiz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Let's see:

I shop in supermarkets and get buy cheap but not tasteless food. Dunnes pasta and egg-fried rice......mmmmm.

I buy fags

Rent + ESB

I don't go out at all in Galway considering I'm working full-time (unpaid) and I like to relax on the weekends so I treat myself to some cans and a Subway every Friday.................which will be today :D

Don't have TV, just 20mb internet which costs me €13 a month (sharing with 2 others).

Nothing has changed for me, always haven't been a big spender. Only difference this time is that I'm on the dole and I don't save very much but I always have enough dosh to do something if the moment came.

Plus work were nice enough to give me a cheque for €250 when I came back after the Xmas break. :pac: Still, haven't cashed it yet............first thing I'm buying is something luxury like............branded bread!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

• Have re-jigged all the bills - e.g. gas now with flogas, leccy with bord gais etc.
    • Renegotiated with UPC & got a great deal which meant I could cancel the landline also.
    • Recycling the hell out of what I can to cut down on bin charges.
    • Use "Home Payments" for most bills, although this costs me about €200 a year, they front money for large bills like house insurance etc & spread the cost over the year.
    • Shopping in aldi.
    • Changed all bulbs to cfl where I could. Including the security floodlights
    • Have just ordered intelliplugs for the TVs - bye bye standby (they're very cheap on ebay).
    • Transferred my tax credits to the wife while I'm out of work (gives her about an extra €35 takehome, which was mostly knocked out by our swindling crooked government, but at least we're not worse off.
    • Only use the car when we have to.
    • Have cut down on going to the cinema, there's "alternative" entertainment options being used now.

That's about it really. Did what we could. Nowhere else to go on saving money, hope it doesn't get too much worse otherwise we're in serious ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Cut back on heading out. Cut back on spending all my wages on a saturday night heading out or buying Xbox games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mr kr0nik

The boy only cleans the chimney once a week now.

But seriously, I now try to do as much DIY around the house as I can. At the moment I think I'm up as I haven't had to have anyone around to fix what I've done.

I'm also only shaving every second day.

iMax wrote: »
    • Have re-jigged all the bills - e.g. gas now with flogas, leccy with bord gais etc.
    • Renegotiated with UPC & got a great deal which meant I could cancel the landline also.
    • Recycling the hell out of what I can to cut down on bin charges.
    • Use "Home Payments" for most bills, although this costs me about €200 a year, they front money for large bills like house insurance etc & spread the cost over the year.
    • Shopping in aldi.
    • Changed all bulbs to cfl where I could. Including the security floodlights
    • Have just ordered intelliplugs for the TVs - bye bye standby (they're very cheap on ebay).
    • Transferred my tax credits to the wife while I'm out of work (gives her about an extra €35 takehome, which was mostly knocked out by our swindling crooked government, but at least we're not worse off.
    • Only use the car when we have to.
    • Have cut down on going to the cinema, there's "alternative" entertainment options being used now.
    That's about it really. Did what we could. Nowhere else to go on saving money, hope it doesn't get too much worse otherwise we're in serious ****.

Good ideas alright, although the inteliplugs use almost as much in standby as an LCD tv would, so might not be much saving using on tv`s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I have made no changes whatsoever, which explains why i'm in considerable debt! (f'ucking credit cards!)
    I'm adopting the brian cowen approach, i'm just going to ignore the whole thing until someone smarter than me fixes it, these things are cyclical, boom -bust - boom - bust. It has always been this way and will always be this way. I'm only in my thirties and i remember us going from poverty to riches back to poverty, if i live to my 70's i can guaranteee we'll be rich again and broke again in that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Millicent wrote: »
    Nothing. Was skint before the recession and still skint now! :D

This more or less.

robbie7730 wrote: »
    Well i steal from no one. But the toll bridge prices are not governed by cars that dont pay for whatever reason, unlike car insurance maybe. If a car crosses the bridge it has no actual real cost to the toll bridge. How does some cars not paying affect the price for everyone else?

What about some people who wrongly get charged when never crossed it saint Sofiz?

People who are wrongly charged are refunded/account credited. Things happen. People alter their numberplates to that of other peoples. It's not a nice thing to have happen to you.

The people in charge of the bridge have a set minimum amount that they expect to make, due to estimates, budgets and forecasts.

If this doesn't meet the estimate, but the volume is the same, of course they are going to put up their prices. Example. 10 vehicles paying €9 is €90. They want their €90. So if 10 cars are crossing, and 1 is not paying, how are they going to make their €90? But charging the 9 that do pay €10.

Just because they provide a service, and not a product doesn't mean that stealing isn't taking place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Let's see:

I shop in supermarkets and get buy cheap but not tasteless food. Dunnes pasta and egg-fried rice......mmmmm.

I buy fags

Rent + ESB

I don't go out at all in Galway considering I'm working full-time (unpaid) and I like to relax on the weekends so I treat myself to some cans and a Subway every Friday.................which will be today :D

Don't have TV, just 20mb internet which costs me €13 a month (sharing with 2 others).

Nothing has changed for me, always haven't been a big spender. Only difference this time is that I'm on the dole and I don't save very much but I always have enough dosh to do something if the moment came.

Plus work were nice enough to give me a cheque for €250 when I came back after the Xmas break. :pac: Still, haven't cashed it yet............first thing I'm buying is something luxury like............branded bread!!

What!!!
    I think you need to review your definition of nice!
    Why do you work for free? (i'm not being an assholen by the way, i'm just baffled!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

Reduced my Sky HD subscription from €91 to €40 a month.
    Got rid of health insurance for me and my partner and joined the Hospital Saturday Fund instead. Down from €170 per month to €48.

Dont go out for lunch any more and instead bring in sandwiches and the leftovers from dinner. Thats saving us approx €200 a month.

On top of that I only go out now every second or third Saturday rather than every week. We also go to Asda once a month and bulk buy.

I also no longer have a credit card and instead use my Visa Debit card.

I reckon in total we are saving €450 a month but since the new tax cuts we are both down €100 per month in out take home pay so that has reduced our savings to €250 a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭shefra

gazzer wrote: »
    Reduced my Sky HD subscription from €91 to €40 a month.
    Got rid of health insurance for me and my partner and joined the Hospital Saturday Fund instead. Down from €170 per month to €48.

Dont go out for lunch any more and instead bring in sandwiches and the leftovers from dinner. Thats saving us approx €200 a month.

On top of that I only go out now every second or third Saturday rather than every week. We also go to Asda once a month and bulk buy.

I also no longer have a credit card and instead use my Visa Debit card.

I reckon in total we are saving €450 a month but since the new tax cuts we are both down €100 per month in out take home pay so that has reduced our savings to €250 a month.
    What is the Hospital Saturday Fund?

People who are wrongly charged are refunded/account credited. Things happen.
    Fine if you happen to check through all your accounts to check if an extra crossing has been charged and likely you wont remember or notice it if using it every day, or have a few cars or vans on an account, so absolutely no doubt they make money for non crossings.
    The people in charge of the bridge have a set minimum amount that they expect to make, due to estimates, budgets and forecasts.

If this doesn't meet the estimate, but the volume is the same, of course they are going to put up their prices. Example. 10 vehicles paying €9 is €90. They want their €90. So if 10 cars are crossing, and 1 is not paying, how are they going to make their €90? But charging the 9 that do pay €10.

Non paying cars would be a very tiny percentage, non readable reg`s or whatever reason, so small i can not see how this would be factored into prices. When toll was 80 irish pence the vat came in, this should of brought it to 96 pence, but rounded to a pound thus robbing everyone crossing, but that was ok of course was it not? Then the euro change, the 1 pound should of been €1.27 but of course, round up to the more convienent €1.30 for yet more ripping off. Maybe this was to make up for the 1 or 2 cars that failed to pay? O wait, it was barriers then, so that was difficult to manage (cross without paying).
    Just because they provide a service, and not a product doesn't mean that stealing isn't taking place.

True, but you think if every single car that ever crossed it had paid that it would now be cheaper? I would say the percentage that `did not pay through deliberate avoidance would be less than the ones where the reg was genuinely not read properly. And the number of mistakingly charged crossings which were never refunded because it was not noticed by the users would be higher than the ones that deliberately avoided paying.

Also, how many companys can charge double for a service when paid a few seconds late? A fair few euro is made from late payments fees, far far more than they ever lose from the tiny number of deliberate altered plates. So the idea these payment avoiders make it more expensive for everyone else is a bit much.

Anyway back to recessionary posts, which is me ignored now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭rokossovsky

Sold me old gaff at the top of the market. Downsized the house and spent money on insulation during the re fit. Showed the kids (adults) the door, had the cat put down, got her tits done and bought a boat. Still shop in Aldi/Lidl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

shefra wrote: »
    What is the Hospital Saturday Fund?

http://www.hsf.eu.com/ireland