Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What changes have you made to adapt to recessionary times?

• 14-01-2011 12:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

so seeing a post by someone remembering old times and saying what they have done to adapt to recessionary times i am wondering what you have done to adapt?

I take money of all my bills every week, 10 off gas, 10 off esb, etc, after 2 months thats 80e off each ,and by the time they come in they are usually paid

bought a v cheap house(that needed a bit of work and iv 35 years to do it)

i save for what i want.( Example atm my tvs bust and im using an old portable from 10 years ago that my dad had in the attic. I have money saved away for a rainy day about 1500 but thats for a rainy day, and i do want a nice tv, so im savin 10e a week towards it. I might find a decent tv for about 250 and it will take a few months but ill live)

We used to get the "3 meats for 10e" offer at tesco on a thursday evening, Now We go to tesco on a Monday night and get the reduced meat(that out of date the next day) and we freeze it, and its grand. They had salmon at 80c a packet a month ago and they mormally about 3.99 each. Normally have to fight to get into the aisle but it knocks a good bit off ur shopping

Theres other stuff but want to hear others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I have no job. Therefore I am f*cked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I stopped going to work as my job no longer exists. I visit my post office a lot more than I used to. I talk about the weather more cos I've **** all else to talk about. I stopped buying quilted bog roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Got the landlord to reduce the rent or we would have moved somewhere cheaper.

Rang sky and our broadband provider to cancel and they gave us retention deals (which I knew they would, had no real intention of cancelling, if ever you need sky and broadband it's when your unemployed)

Shop in Lidl, Dunnes, Tesco and Londis to get their best offers, tbh it doesn't cost a lot more per week to eat well and have a few treats.

Gave up the smokes a bit over a week ago and can see the money building up big time, don't feel like drinking either without them so even more money not spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

I've just given up...

/heads to PI...

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

Gave up the smokes a bit over a week ago and can see the money building up big time, don't feel like drinking either without them so even more money not spent.
    Another thing i forgot to put in, we drink at home now instead of going out. Hmmmm 4e for a cheap bottle of plonk on sale, or 4.00 for 1 glass in a pub

Hmmmmm

ps- well done on giving up the fags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Shop around supermarkets for best offers.

Shop more regularly for fresh food items thereby cutting down on waste

When supermarkets have special offers for household items buy in bulk.

Avoid convenience stores as much as possible.

Buy own brand labels for most things.

Turn off lights in rooms I am not in.

Don't buy Irish newspapers( well haven't done for some years now) way too expensive,

Avoid retail stores as much as possible and buy online instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Buy the larger packs because more economical.

Stop buying **** I won't need or might only use once or twice.

Stop eating outside, or atleast not as much as before.

Buy the larger packs because more economical.

Not always imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭fletch...

Down graded the car (i hate it)
    I dont bother with newspapers, news is on internet.
    Im a very regular customer at my local garage as i only buy the very minimum amount of petrol, i know exactly how much il use getting to my usual places.
    Always awear of what deals are on in shops and offy's.
    Sleep with a hat on due to it being cold.

Also i notice i been wearing tracky bottoms alot more often for being lazy around the house, not like me at all.
    It is 1am now and ive just woke up, sleeps are way out of synch with thems working peoples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Rarely go the pub or eat out anymore.

Keep doors closed and have turned down the heating as a result.

Watch out for off licence offers (including Tescos, Dunnes etc off sales).

Cancelled Sky and switched over to the basic NTL package.

Switched from O2 bill pay to pre-pay and saving a wad.

I've gone back to servicing the car, plus smaller jobs like doing the brakes etc myself.

Thankfully for this year thats about it, but the budget is very tight. A family member owes me a almost a thousand Euro and its killing me and has really caused a bit of hardship I shouldn't have had to deal with.

I've to budget for the increase in my son's college fee's, but if I've to starve he'll get through college as I come from a background where few got the chance of third level education.

Trying to get oversea's again this year, Lebanon or wherever I can get my ass.. Its hard leaving the kids, but its worth a few quid and has to be done. I was oversea's one year when three lads (with families) were killed and swore I'd never serve oversea's for money - but needs must, and I have to go.

I'm lucky, I have a secure job. But my tummy turns when I read here about the guys who are unemployed, or when I see a student has dropped out of Judo because of job losses they can no longer afford to attend.

Sh*t, I'm lucky as hell and really appreciate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I changed my underwear there last week.

I might just do it again next week.

These ones still have a bit of give in them.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Not always imo

I check it if its more economical first. Usually it is.
    Also you get offers like buy 2 get 1 free on large coke bottles and such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I've stopped taxing my car and I not going to pay the TV licence ever again

Senna wrote: »
    I've stopped taxing my car and I not going to pay the TV licence ever again
    Is this something you'ld want to say on the internet?

Unless of course you dumped your car and TV...

Is this something you'ld want to say on the internet?

Your edit confused me, now i'm confused, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭namelessguy

Stopped getting the bus to work and started cycling. Saving of €16 a week.*

*Once the annual commuter ticket expires and the bike is paid off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭fletch...

or a big box of 240 lyons teabags for 6e, 2 giant bags of dorito's for 3e. The local shops home made bread rules over all other bread.
    Also a big pot of stew can feed a family and lasts longer.

dear god, i remember when i was younger and had not a care in the world, now im posting things like this :mad:

Thats the thing to do.

What I have noticed on two items I buy, Kitchen Towels 8pk, cheaper to buy 4pks of two.

Locozade Sport pack of four is 4.14 or you can buy them individually for 1 Euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Light my cigars with matches now rather than $100 bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Down to my last pair of jeans and the bollix is about to fall out of them. Also, gave up wearing glasses after the last time I sat on them. That was 3 months ago. If the headaches continue I'll have the swipe some money from somewhere :mad:

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Down to my last pair of jeans and the bollix is about to fall out of them. Also, gave up wearing glasses after the last time I sat on them. That was 3 months ago. If the headaches continue I'll have the swipe some money from somewhere :mad:

Go into a hotel and tell them you lost your glasses here last weekend, they always have a few pairs lying behind reception. Keep going to different hotels until one of them hands you a pair that suits your eyesight.

I also have pretty much stopped buying clothes.

I have about 3 pairs of jeans a good amount of shirts/t-shirts, a couple of warm jackets for winter, few hoodies and so I really don't need to buy any more clothes than I've already got. I've got more than enough.

I don't get it why (especially women) have to go and buy new clothes every few months. And when people go on a mad shopping spree every time there is a sale. Like how many clothes does a person need! People, learn to resist the temptation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

i decided to get myself a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭sherdydan

Rarely go the pub or eat out anymore.

Keep doors closed and have turned down the heating as a result.

Watch out for off licence offers (including Tescos, Dunnes etc off sales).

Cancelled Sky and switched over to the basic NTL package.

Switched from O2 bill pay to pre-pay and saving a wad.

I've gone back to servicing the car, plus smaller jobs like doing the brakes etc myself.

Thankfully for this year thats about it, but the budget is very tight. A family member owes me a almost a thousand Euro and its killing me and has really caused a bit of hardship I shouldn't have had to deal with.

I've to budget for the increase in my son's college fee's, but if I've to starve he'll get through college as I come from a background where few got the chance of third level education.

Trying to get oversea's again this year, Lebanon or wherever I can get my ass.. Its hard leaving the kids, but its worth a few quid and has to be done. I was oversea's one year when three lads (with families) were killed and swore I'd never serve oversea's for money - but needs must, and I have to go.

I'm lucky, I have a secure job. But my tummy turns when I read here about the guys who are unemployed, or when I see a student has dropped out of Judo because of job losses they can no longer afford to attend.

Sh*t, I'm lucky as hell and really appreciate it.

This is the type of story I like hearing, it annoys me endlessly when people just give out about whats going on and make out that there life is terrible. I know so many people who "cant get a job" but when i suggest a vacancy somewhere i get "I dont want to work there" as a response.

good man Thatcher Puny Stalker, and hell weve had times like this before in this country, theyl be over in probably not as long as people think!

edit: just re-read that there and i sound a little condescending.... I didnt mean to, honest!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Got rid of one car - sharing the remaining car now.
    Always shopped in Aldi, Asian stores and Pennies, so no difference there.
    But 3 for 10 meats in Tesco and freeze most of it.
    Sharing one mobile - the other half only uses his to answer calls now.
    Never go out anymore - drink at home, if at all.
    Use the washing machine at night (cheaper)
    Getting free view channels in instead of sky.
    Don't go to the cinema anymore, wait till it comes out on DVD.
    Got rid of the land line and broadband - pay as you go dongle thingy now.
    Um...can't think of anymore...I'm sure there's more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

I've decided to clean the house more often??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Stop eating outside, or atleast not as much as before.

Dont you get cold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Nothing. Was skint before the recession and still skint now! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Millicent wrote: »
    Nothing. Was skint before the recession and still skint now! :D
    Same as myself. The fabled celtic tiger did not visit me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I sleep all day, so don't spend any money. Don't go to the pub/clubs. Don't have people over for dinner anymore.

This will have to change when I go back to college at the end of the month. Dreading that as it's a 50 mile round trip 5 days a week. That's a lot of petrol. Don't bring any money with me, if I have to stay late for any reason I just go hungry until I get home.

Ah well, it will be worth it when I have the degree, students are meant to live in poverty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

sherdydan wrote: »
    edit: just re-read that there and i sound a little condescending.... I didnt mean to, honest!!!

Nah, it didn't come across like that at all.

I know what its like to live through a recession, I was lucky enough to get into the army in 1985.

My son is old enough, and wise enough to know whats going on but I try shelter my 15yr old daughter from most of it, she got her Ugg's & Converse for Christmas (the Ugg's were ordered online from Australia, saved a packet) and she still hits Dad's wallet for concert tickets & teen nights at The Wright Venue.

She's having a ball, she's a 'happy go-lucky' luck and I love it.

A few things saved me, I have a tiny mortage and didn't carry too much personal debt into this recession (except my car loan), and although my wages have been slashed to the bone (they really have) I won't be fired or made redundent & my pension is still secure (I think).

It annoys me when government tell me prices have fallen back to 2007, 2003, 1999 (or whatever it will be this week) levels - they haven't their flying bollox and I wish the government would just give the people what we want - do the decent thing, fall on your own sword and get the fvcking hell out of office you lying, cheating shower of fvcking bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

In Ireland I had nothing
    No Job, car,social life

But in the last month
    Moved into new appartment with pool, gym etc.
    Bought car
    Bought new laptop
    Out every weekend
    Man I Love Australia

Sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I've always paid my bills when I receive them and never bought anything I couldn't afford. So nothing has changed for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Look in Bargain Alerts more often.
    Check out special offers from Aldi/Lidl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Only finished college and got a job as the recession started.
    I also have no dependents, no debt and as far as graduate pay levels are now, quite a reasonable salary.

So I haven't had to change anything thankfully. I've money for all the bills, couple of nights out, a couple of decent meals out and a bit left over to save.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭finnegan2010

I still am lucky enough to have a job for now anyhow.
    Cutbacks i made were mainly on "enjoyment" end of things

My after work drinks 5pm - 7pm on Fridays (40.00) not these days now I Might have one in the pub leave after 40 mins and then head home with a few cans from offy

Newspapers everyday (only get once a week if even now) use dailymail.co.uk i know the shame!

Going Out BIG CHANGES ever friday and saturday i was out at least 130 per weekend on piss ups... Not anymore, A night out now would be a few drinks in the house first.... Then when your bored and you need a change of venue or a little atmosphere ill head out about 11 ish ( Sorry Mr Pub Guy but i musts cos me brokes):P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

What changes have I made to adapt to recessionary times?

Ignore people that use the word recessionary.

- I buy diesel with all my 2,5,10 cents at the end of the week.
    - Sold all the crap I dont need on ebay, I hardly have anything left.
    - Fit about a skip worth of rubbish into a wheelie bin and get it collected every two weeks.
    - Look out for offers on things like washing up liquid, bleach etc. Get the milk in the vegetable shop down the road that does 2 litres for 99cent, it sells out by about 10am each morning.
    - Take my reg off or tape over a number for the toll bridge, feck it not like they're stuck.
    - I attempted to grow my own vegetables, but they didnt want to grow for me.
    - Id get my own chickens and stuff too but no where to keep them.

Well done. You're stealing, and driving the cost up for everyone else. Hope you feel good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Those cheap glasses you get in heatons or lidi/aldi are pretty good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Well done. You're stealing, and driving the cost up for everyone else. Hope you feel good.

For the toll bridge? The one thats robbing everyone for years, Samir Wrong Gent is dead right.

No changes

robbie7730 wrote: »
    For the toll bridge? The one thats robbing everyone for years, Samir Wrong Gent is dead right.

Is he fúck! Paying for motoring is all part of the motoring. If you can't afford to do it, don't do it. Don't steal from everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Do you not think it's a bit of a double standard we have to pay car tax, which with out your not suppose to be on the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭dumb_parade

I figured out what a tracker mortgage is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 anonBul

Stopped being bulimic. Not binging really cuts down on the food bills.
    Also cuts the cost cleaning of supplies and air freshners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Is he fúck! Paying for motoring is all part of the motoring. If you can't afford to do it, don't do it. Don't steal from everyone else.

Well i steal from no one. But the toll bridge prices are not governed by cars that dont pay for whatever reason, unlike car insurance maybe. If a car crosses the bridge it has no actual real cost to the toll bridge. How does some cars not paying affect the price for everyone else?

What about some people who wrongly get charged when never crossed it saint Sofiz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Let's see:

I shop in supermarkets and get buy cheap but not tasteless food. Dunnes pasta and egg-fried rice......mmmmm.

I buy fags

Rent + ESB

I don't go out at all in Galway considering I'm working full-time (unpaid) and I like to relax on the weekends so I treat myself to some cans and a Subway every Friday.................which will be today :D

Don't have TV, just 20mb internet which costs me €13 a month (sharing with 2 others).

Nothing has changed for me, always haven't been a big spender. Only difference this time is that I'm on the dole and I don't save very much but I always have enough dosh to do something if the moment came.

Plus work were nice enough to give me a cheque for €250 when I came back after the Xmas break. :pac: Still, haven't cashed it yet............first thing I'm buying is something luxury like............branded bread!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

• Have re-jigged all the bills - e.g. gas now with flogas, leccy with bord gais etc.
    • Renegotiated with UPC & got a great deal which meant I could cancel the landline also.
    • Recycling the hell out of what I can to cut down on bin charges.
    • Use "Home Payments" for most bills, although this costs me about €200 a year, they front money for large bills like house insurance etc & spread the cost over the year.
    • Shopping in aldi.
    • Changed all bulbs to cfl where I could. Including the security floodlights
    • Have just ordered intelliplugs for the TVs - bye bye standby (they're very cheap on ebay).
    • Transferred my tax credits to the wife while I'm out of work (gives her about an extra €35 takehome, which was mostly knocked out by our swindling crooked government, but at least we're not worse off.
    • Only use the car when we have to.
    • Have cut down on going to the cinema, there's "alternative" entertainment options being used now.

That's about it really. Did what we could. Nowhere else to go on saving money, hope it doesn't get too much worse otherwise we're in serious ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Cut back on heading out. Cut back on spending all my wages on a saturday night heading out or buying Xbox games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mr kr0nik

The boy only cleans the chimney once a week now.

But seriously, I now try to do as much DIY around the house as I can. At the moment I think I'm up as I haven't had to have anyone around to fix what I've done.

I'm also only shaving every second day.