Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Raekwon wrote: »
    So in other words Irish girls are ultra fussy prudes while British women are basically out and out slappers :p

Btw I'm not sure why you added that clip of the lad from Cork on the UK show, the accent alone would of gotten him a date no bother. Here's another Irish fella on the UK show, not surprisingly he got a date also, those UK ladies love the accent! The question is, would they have gotten dates on the Irish show?

ah here he would have got a date in Ireland no problem aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

caseyann wrote: »
    ah here he would have got a date in Ireland no problem aswell.

You never know, he did seem quite cocky and he reminded me of that tall handsome guy on the last Irish show who nearly ended up with a blackout but was saved by the burlesque dancer (who was fit btw!) in the last round.

He would have done very well on the UK show!

You never know, he did seem quite cocky and he reminded me of that tall handsome guy on the last Irish show who nearly ended up with a blackout but was saved by the burlesque dancer (who was fit btw!) in the last round.

He would have done very well on the UK show!

I dont know why that happened.Remind what his character was like so i can try and see why they did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

there's no way in hell that jamie guy would've gotten a date on the irish show. the second he started singing all the lights would've been out.
    if he played something, maybe, but singing, nooooooo!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I still want to see the reversed version!

I dont know why that happened.Remind what his character was like so i can try and see why they did that.

He was the very first guy on the new series, he was tall (even taller then Foley), well dressed with a shaven head and without sounding 'ghey' he was probably the closest thing to an Irish Calvin Klein model as you'd get yet. But because he was cocky and possibly quite arrogant all of the lights bar one went out, but then again his timing was awful, if he was the very last contestant instead of being the very first one then it would of been a very different situation entirely.
    there's no way in hell that jamie guy would've gotten a date on the irish show. the second he started singing all the lights would've been out.
    if he played something, maybe, but singing, nooooooo!!

True, plus he was too short (a big no-no for the hypocritical, vertical challenged women of Ireland) plus his choice of clothes would have been slated like every other bloke that goes on the show. Finally he was from Cork.........that never ends well!
    Liam Byrne wrote:
    I still want to see the reversed version!

That will never happen in Ireland. Blokes are made to look like buffoons on TV every single day and nobody bats an eyelid but once a women even gets the slightest bit of abuse the sexiest card gets played and there's uproar. Gender equality my arse! :rolleyes:

He was the very first guy on the new series, he was tall (even taller then Foley), well dressed with a shaven head and without sounding 'ghey' he was probably the closest thing to an Irish Calvin Klein model as you'd get yet. But because he was cocky and possibly quite arrogant all of the lights bar one went out, but then again his timing was awful, if he was the very last contestant instead of being the very first one then it would of been a very different situation entirely.

Oh yeah he is the one who had a ex gf already.And then his friend saying he burns the bridges of his exs.I think thats one of the main reasons lights went out.They obviously weren't listening to the ex saying he stayed friends with his ex gf's.Unless some of those girls dont like the whole ex gf mate thing.
    Other than that i cant see any reason why they did turn the lights out when they looked liked they fancied him.

Yeah that's what I mean and it's been mentioned on this thread countless times, the majority of Irish women are like that, they are looking for absolute perfection while they are far from perfect themselves. In my opinion they are total hypocrites.

To be honest with you Raekwon,i dont know what they are looking for.Perhaps some of them dont know either and going with their gut feelings on the men they see.Rather than jumping in and giving one a chance.Also in the long run,you and i both know each guy is only going to pick the one he finds the best looking unless he is stuck with two at the end and has no choice but to pick one.
    So there is no real hypocrites on the show.
    It wouldnt surprise me if they thought they werent good enough for him,because most women have a inferiority complex they hide with snipe remarks and bravado and if too good looking feel threatened.Unlike the girl who is a dancer as she has to be confident in herself to do that kind of work.
    Although the one fleur really took it low,hole in your sock.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

what people fail to realise is this show is a far far greater insult to Irish women than Irish men.....I know it's not necessarily representative but they are coming off as really horrible people on it......I know it's the nature of the show to make people justify why they like/dislike somebody based on very superficial traits and in a short timescale but they carry it off with such a lack of charm, guile and wit that it really paints a rather depressing picture for young Irish lads on the pull out there

...thankfully there are many fine decent interesting Irish women out there who'd rather eat their own arms than appear on the show, go for these gals lads because disabled or not they're a much better standard of women and you'll have a better time with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭brianblaze

donfers wrote: »
    ...thankfully there are many fine decent interesting Irish women out there who'd rather eat their own arms than appear on the show, go for these gals lads because disabled or not they're a much better standard of women and you'll have a better time with them

Do you personally know all the girls from the show!? Because I'm assuming you know none of them? The majority are bang on, and did the show for a laugh, which it was... You're all reading far too much into a tv show.

I was on the show, I have talked to a lot of the girls who have been on the show, and there were no Prima Donnas, nobody thought they'd get famous out of it, and nobody was there to just be a b*tch to a bunch of fellas.

And this is coming from someone who stood on the stage and got the 'stupid reasons' given to him for why some of them turned off their lights... It's a TELEVISION SHOW, it's not real life! The idea is to entertain, or cause debate, which it clearly does, which is awesome. But all this rubbish some people here are spouting off about people they don't know, and making assumptions based on absolutely no foundations, or insulting their physical appearance, really annoy me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭ScareGilly

brianblaze wrote: »
    Do you personally know all the girls from the show!? Because I'm assuming you know none of them? The majority are bang on, and did the show for a laugh, which it was... You're all reading far too much into a tv show.

I was on the show, I have talked to a lot of the girls who have been on the show, and there were no Prima Donnas, nobody thought they'd get famous out of it, and nobody was there to just be a b*tch to a bunch of fellas.

And this is coming from someone who stood on the stage and got the 'stupid reasons' given to him for why some of them turned off their lights... It's a TELEVISION SHOW, it's not real life! The idea is to entertain, or cause debate, which it clearly does, which is awesome. But all this rubbish some people here are spouting off about people they don't know, and making assumptions based on absolutely no foundations, or insulting their physical appearance, really annoy me!

Who did you take out? :rolleyes:

I agree with you,i personally know at least six of the girls that were on the show and they are great girls.

ScareGilly wrote: »

I opted for a mirror, because clearly I'm only in it because I love myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 no01dolly

BrianBlaze you are some fella for one fella, not a truer word spoken, :P your a trouper!!!

I actually do know 2 of the girls that went on it and they're exactly the type of people I'd expect to go on the show

the only questions I have to the people who are defending the show (seems to be only the contestants themselves or their friends) is this:

why would anyone appear on a show (great craic or not) that makes them look like complete effing cretins?

and

if you decide to appear on a tv show on prime time tv in front of 300,000 people then don't get all uppity and self-righteous when people have a go at you - that's the nature of the media and you are fair game if you put yourself in the public eye like that, if you can't deal with it or get hyper-sensitive when some randomer calls you a muppet THEN DON'T GO ON AN EFFING TV SHOW THAT WILL MAKE YOU LOOK LIKE A MUPPET (regardless of if you may be one or not)

I have no problem with scrutinizing something, I just think the insults about how people look was uncalled for. Also some of these coming from the people saying the show was entirely shallow etc etc...

And I'd be telling people not to call other people ugly/ fat etc if I'd been on the show or not. That's called manners.

I have no problem with scrutinizing something, I just think the insults about how people look was uncalled for. Also some of these coming from the people saying the show was entirely shallow etc etc...

And I'd be telling people not to call other people ugly/ fat etc if I'd been on the show or not. That's called manners.

I agree with you, the physical comments are out of order

but again I'd say if any of the girls had complexes about their looks or gave a shoite what some stranger thinks then don't go on it because unless there were 30 glamour models up there it's the nature of the beast (tv) that lads are going make a few nasty comments (not saying it's right, just saying it's inevitable) about the girls on it, especially when they are doing the exact same thing on the show itself

donfers wrote: »
    I agree with you, the physical comments are out of order

but again I'd say if any of the girls had complexes about their looks or gave a shoite what some stranger thinks then don't go on it because unless there were 30 glamour models up there it's the nature of the beast (tv) that lads are going make a few nasty comments (not saying it's right, just saying it's inevitable) about the girls on it, especially when they are doing the exact same thing on the show itself

I don't recall any of them ever calling a bloke ugly?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I don't recall any of them ever calling a bloke ugly?

Not to theor faces, behind there back....sure, guarantee they were thinking it.

I opted for a mirror, because clearly I'm only in it because I love myself

Quoted for truth :rolleyes:

Not to theor faces, behind there back....sure, guarantee they were thinking it.

So they had more tact than the people insulting them on here.

Tact = fake, hypocrite + liar. Cowardly too...afraid of public backlash to actually say what their thinking. People always trot out the being polite, tact and sunrdy other excuses to hide what they really think.

And this thread is STILL in the wrong frrum!! :mad:

Tact = fake, hypocrite + liar. Cowardly too...afraid of public backlash to actually say what their thinking. People always trot out the being polite, tact and sunrdy other excuses to hide what they really think.

And this thread is STILL in the wrong frrum!! :mad:

Public backlash? It's a tongue-in-cheek dating show, not Oireachtas Report

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 shinners xx

Does anyone else think this series isn't as good as the first????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Check out Nick Carter from the Backstreet Boys.

I think there's a better chance of Olwyn eating him than breaking him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I'm disappointed in Cheryl :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I felt sorry for the young fella,but fair play to him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Elysium

Olwyn is Hilarious!! ..Defo the star of the show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

Does Skater Boy know one of the girls? Did anyone else notice him sort of saying something over to them as the camera seemed to go off him after the final round?