Australia Do What It Does Best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

what???:confused:

Apologies, I took your post about fighting at rag week the wrong way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

"Drunkenness, fighting, destruction of property: are these really the qualities we associate with the Irish?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Were we watching a different video?

Mild enough stuff tbh.

If Irish nationals are screaming or causing nuisance they should be fined and warned.

If they're involved in assault or come to the attention of the police a second time they should be deported, common sense imo.

Didn't really think I needed to point out I was being sarcastic.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

You could turn that on its head too.. if it was happening here and Australian people were implicated as being the main cause of trouble you'd have people calling that a racist suggestion, but since the generalisation is about the Irish there's nothing at all wrong with that.

If Australians were implicated here as being responsible for causing trouble, only a few ignorant Australians would see the criticism as racism. One person in the Bondi clip said that most of the people were Irish, and that was the only mention. I don't see that as a generalisation.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

People, people, for those who have never lived in Australia, this is a program called 'A current affair' .

It is the most unintentionally hilarious tabloid 'chasing a pedophile down the street with a stick' lame excuse for journalism. I mean Australian TV on the whole is dross but this one takes the biscuit.

There was one story where a heavy man in an electric wheelchair rolled over a girls toe. They harassed the man in his home until he apologised, literally camping outside a disabled man's house. It was bizarre.

The only good thing about that show is that it gives The Chaser's War on Everything great fodder for comedy:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

I mean Australian TV on the whole is dross but this one takes the biscuit.

That may be the case, but for anyone who's ever watched the series Underbelly will know that its one of the best crime series ever made (well for me anyway), especially series 1, I was hooked so credit where its due and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Didn't really think I needed to point out I was being sarcastic.....

Mea Culpa.

Read your post, didn't quite process it.:eek:

Thinky was taking some time off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

lol JONJO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

White people in Australia are foreign too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

prinz wrote: »
    Of course on boards no one ever criticises foreigners, say Spanish students, for acting the bollix.

Noooo ! ..don't criticise them.....just give them a stiff brogue in the cones...much more effective :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

ejmaztec wrote: »
    If Australians were implicated here as being responsible for causing trouble, only a few ignorant Australians would see the criticism as racism. One person in the Bondi clip said that most of the people were Irish, and that was the only mention. I don't see that as a generalisation.

The diddly-ie music in the backround and the focusing in on the irish flag didn't help either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Gaudizeit

Sure the heat over there drives them loo laa. They all go troppo at one stage, and kill a kangaroo. Poor skip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

I wish those mulleted, singlet wearing, racist, bogan Australians would stop stereotyping me. When I visited there last year one of them threw the spoiler from a limo at me boomerang style, another one of them stuck my mates mohawk to a timber column with his throwing knife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

sollar wrote: »
    The diddly-ie music in the backround and the focusing in on the irish flag didn't help either

The flag must have been flying there because the place was full of Germans.

... and perhaps the Australians like traditional Irish music for historical reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I've never been to Australia so can't make any comment on the validity of this particular report but it would not surprise me in the slightest it it turns out to be correct.

From my own experiences the number of times i've seen irish people abroad make a holy show of themselves while getting absolutely legless is staggering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I love the way they put music under it to sex up the violence.

it would be better if the put music to the violence in the sex

orourkeda wrote: »
    it would be better if the put music to the violence in the sex

I plan to have violent sex with the hole in the CD that I burn that music on to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

I plan to have violent sex with the hole in the CD that I burn that music on to.
    Think you'd be more at home with a floppy disc brenno. (Do you mind if Pighead calls you Brenno? And more to the bucking point do you mind if he insinuates you struggle to reach states of erectility?)

Pighead wrote: »
    Think you'd be more at home with a floppy disc brenno. (Do you mind if Pighead calls you Brenno? And more to the bucking point do you mind if he insinuates you struggle to reach states of erectility?)

Not at all. Knock yourself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Perhaps these gurriers should get the boot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Waestrel

i spent 2 years in oz and to be honest the Irish attracted to the Working holiday scheme are the very dregs of our society. There was a handful i knew you genuinely used it as an opportunity to go travelling, adventure, etc, but for most it was a year long beach holiday, boozin, drugs and fightin' away from the watchful eyes back home. Not only is it a total waste of a great opportunity, it does serious damage to our reputation there. Its got to the point where most "decent" educated irish i know have zero interest in going to oz, leaving it to the reprobates and wasters to represent us there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭thisguy

Jaysus lads Australia looks like some craic, cant wait to get out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Funny how the reporter is called Damian Murphy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Ah Jonjo. You are just lucky I cant search back far enough to repost your comments about foreigners in Ireland.

Then again though, when you were in Australia you werent exactly "taking their jobs" were you.

Anyway, you made a bit of a mistake there, you quoted ACA. FFS Thats like believing in the Daily Mail.

Secondly, the Irish in Australia didnt follow this lads advice and get him to organise it for them.

Ah ACA at its best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

donvito99 wrote: »
    Funny how the reporter is called Damian Murphy...

Is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

first of all.....its not bloody racist, most aussies come from irish or english decent, so its not bloody racist, that word is mis used so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Reporting sensationlist ignorant anti-foreign anti-Irish rubbish.
    This was talked about on Joe Duffy, the Irish embassy has already made a complaint.
    Once again it shows how ignorant and racist the vast majority of australians are.
    http://aca.ninemsn.com.au/investigations/8194474/street-fight-central
    Hot Topics: Donate to the Queensland floods appeal | Justin Bieber | Daily deals and discounts at Cudo

Ooh. Justin Beiber and discounts at Cudo. What a brilliant site.
    biko wrote: »
    Foreigners caught doing a crime that will lead to jail time should be deported for at least 10 years, that goes for Irish in Australia too.
    After they serve their time.

White people in Australia are foreign too.

No, they are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Myself and 2 mates are going travelling in ausgust/september eneding up in Australia around xmas time. Our intention is to completely avoid bondi/coogee but we have friends over there who consistently say you get "sucked" into the irish bondi thing for various reasons-one being that its one of the few places near beaches that is affordable to live in (dunno how true that is). Part of me thinks they are being lazy and its the easy option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Lirange

bonerm wrote: »
    Australia = The Western Worlds dumping ground 1770-2011.

The world's dumping ground for hot chicks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Jumpy wrote: »
    Is it?

a report slating the irish, when the reporter himself has the most irish name you can get.

son of a convict :P