Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Australia Do What It Does Best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Once again it shows how ignorant and racist the vast majority of australians are.

And you are not any of those things, why...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

This is pretty mild, nothing worse than you'd see in the Daily mail about Romanians or the like, and on top of that the comments on the site from Australians are calling out the news site for targeting Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Have they got a point? I have seen and heard plenty of similar stories from elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

The biggest complainer on that report was an American. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Australians suffering from obnoxious drunk foreigners.

Ha ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Australia = The Western Worlds dumping ground 1770-2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

This has been in the Australian news for a while, some pissed up Irish back-packers making a name for themselves and embarassing the people at home.

Of course, if they ever wanted to go for residency there, they'll have a criminal record going against them when they apply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

I have to say a lot of Irish Backpackers are a disgrace over there especially in Sydney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Nelson Muntz

Reporting sensationlist ignorant anti-foreign anti-Irish rubbish.
    This was talked about on Joe Duffy, the Irish embassy has already made a complaint.
    Once again it shows how ignorant and racist the vast majority of australians are.
    http://aca.ninemsn.com.au/investigations/8194474/street-fight-central

Sounds like you have some sort of agenda.

If you go to any place full of backpackers from any country & add loads of alcohol, you will get the same result.

I'm sure nothing would be said if temple bar was turned into a cage fight every weekend :rolleyes:

Of course on boards no one ever criticises foreigners, say Spanish students, for acting the bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I have to say a lot of Irish Backpackers are a disgrace over there especially in Sydney.

Have to agree. I was on hols there a few years back and Bondi Junction was well rough. The "Tea Gardens" seemed to be all celtic jerseys and black eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

To be totally fair about this, Australia is half full of loutish sunburned drunken "backpackers" from Ireland.

The majority of whom are not "backpacking" but have just moved to a big city in Australia to hang out with, drink with (and yes fairly frequently fight with) other Irish "backpackers".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

is it just me or is the only thing in that video australian bouncers fighting on the streets with everyone?

It so strange these people go to the other side of the world. When they get there they wear their county's GAA jersey and hang out mainly with people from their county. Rarely would they talk to a "foreigner". If you talk to a lot of them they say Ireland has too many foreigners and they say this without a hint of irony. Muppets

flas wrote: »
    is it just me or is the only thing in that video australian bouncers fighting on the streets with everyone?

They obviously didn't want anyone to feel left out, so attacked as many as they could, even passers-by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Yeah I noticed that. I also noticed the age of these guys fighting, these were not the student backpacker group, they look like adults in their late 20s/early 30s getting into fights.

I turned off video just before the end, but I was surprised there was no mention of the hotel owners or attempts to get a comment from the managers of these bars/hotels. Not the best journalism to be fair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Agreed 100% was over there last summer and the Cock and Bull as mentioned in the article was a real hole, Quickly got my coat and left after one drink, the entire area around Bondi Junction is a dumping ground for those Irish who's idea of a year in Australia revolves around drinking heavily, time on the beach and a phone call home for a bailout to keep them going.

A small minority of idiots, giving the rest of us a bad rep. It is just the pommies down there stirring crap at the same time against the Irish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Yes and even the Police said 7/9 of the assaults reported were for bouncers fighting with the police, so why was the report not about this?
    Oh no because that would take away from targeting foreigners like the Irish and the Lebanese.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Agreed 100% was over there last summer and the Cock and Bull as mentioned in the article was a real hole, Quickly got my coat and left after one drink, the entire area around Bondi Junction is a dumping ground for those Irish who's idea of a year in Australia revolves around drinking heavily, time on the beach and a phone call home for a bailout to keep them going.

A small minority of idiots, giving the rest of us a bad rep. It is just the pommies down there stirring crap at the same time against the Irish.

You had a coat in Australia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I love the way they put music under it to sex up the violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

I'm sure nothing would be said if temple bar was turned into a cage fight every weekend :rolleyes:

Ehh........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Reporting sensationlist ignorant anti-foreign anti-Irish rubbish.
    This was talked about on Joe Duffy, the Irish embassy has already made a complaint.
    http://aca.ninemsn.com.au/investigations/8194474/street-fight-central

The male reporter who broke this SENSATIONAL, DISGUSTING and DISTURBING story was doing a fairly good impression of Joe Duffy himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Australia should build an island and send all these foreign louts and criminals to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Hells Belle

At the side of that page there's an article about a lady in a burqa who wouldn't take it off for a policeman - have a look at the comments there, just goes to show the level of intelligence of the posters on that site.

they have its called Christmas Island

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

You had a coat in Australia?

I was there in July in their Mid-Winter and just a light evening jacket, I am a bit more refined than a T-Shirt and flip flops!

Stinicker wrote: »
    I was there in July in their Mid-Winter and just a light evening jacket, I am a bit more refined than a T-Shirt and flip flops!
    It can get a little chilly alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Shock horror. People living beside a busy nightclub/bar, popular with tourists, may witness loutish behaviour. I used to live beside a nightclub and seen far worse things than what was reported in this video. Bunch of moanbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

In all fairness this type of behavior is typical of most Irish towns at the weekend. Its a part of our culture that I find embarrassing. Having said that this video was out of line targeting the Irish as I doubt everyone involved in the scuffles were Irish.

Shock horror. People living beside a busy nightclub/bar, popular with tourists, may witness loutish behaviour. I used to live beside a nightclub and seen far worse things than what was reported in this video. Bunch of moanbags.

Perhaps if more people had spoken up you woudln't have to have seen "far worse things".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

The male reporter who broke this SENSATIONAL, DISGUSTING and DISTURBING story was doing a fairly good impression of Joe Duffy himself.

i love how his surname is murphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Were we watching a different video?

Mild enough stuff tbh.

If Irish nationals are screaming or causing nuisance they should be fined and warned.

If they're involved in assault or come to the attention of the police a second time they should be deported, common sense imo.

prinz wrote: »
    Perhaps if more people had spoken up you woudln't have to have seen "far worse things".
    Yeah, but I'm not an old moanbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I was over in Australia for 3 weeks last year and was out most nights (Sydney/Melbourne) and apart from one night I saw fights breaking out every night. I was out in various different places(Bondi, Kings Cross, Oxford St, CBD, North Fitzroy, South Yarra)and was pretty shocked at the amount of street fighting going on. Dont know what nationalities the people fighting where but passers by were not really batting an eyelid at the goings on. I was getting used to seeing it myself after the first week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

I seen nothing in that video that doesn't resemble any given night in a town, city or village throughout Ireland or the UK.

It's a case of ineffective and incompetent policing - nothing else.

And if the Ozzies think they're fellow countrymen and women are the definition of acceptable behaviour when in other parts of the world, then they're sadly uninformed. This sort of incident is everywhere and labeling it an "Irish thing" is quite narrow-minded and insulting.

Yeah, but I'm not an old moanbag.

Sums up Ireland tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

No surprises at who started this thread :rolleyes:

Xavi6 wrote: »
    No surprises at who started this thread :rolleyes:
    Thats one of the cool things about boards. It displays who started the thread so theres no surprises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Thats one of the cool things about boards. It displays who started the thread so theres no surprises.

If you see the thread on the front page then you only see who posted in it last until you hover over it. Then the OP is revelled in all its glory (or fail, depending on the thread).

So close to smart arsed reply perfection yet so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

From the moon, Bondi Junction's a little dot. From the ground, it's a huge mess! Like Dante meets Bosch in a crack lounge!

Xavi6 wrote: »
    If you see the thread on the front page then you only see who posted in it last until you hover over it. Then the OP is revelled in all its glory (or fail, depending on the thread).

So close to smart arsed reply perfection yet so far.
    History will judge us both.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 156 ✭✭Cranky Mc Funhouse

I think there's one thing we can all agree on and that is that violence always works.

I seen nothing in that video that doesn't resemble any given night in a town, city or village throughout Ireland or the UK.

And if the Ozzies think they're fellow countrymen and women are the definition of acceptable behaviour when in other parts of the world, then they're sadly uninformed. This sort of incident is everywhere and labeling it an "Irish thing" is quite narrow-minded and insulting.

It's strange how, had it happened here, most people wouldn't hesitate in saying "lock the scumbags up", but as it happened in Sydney, the perps are victims of Ozzie racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's strange how, had it happened here, most people wouldn't hesitate in saying "lock the scumbags up", but as it happened in Sydney, the perps are victims of Ozzie racism.

People are racist.

Australians are not racist.

Therefore Australians are not people, but some sort of vermin.

What we need is to introduce some sort of predator that eats Australians. That approach always works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

If it was happening in my back garden I'd be giving out as well, lets face it its likely to be Irish louts, probably mixed in with some other nationalities but Australia attracts the loutish loud mouthed idiots from Irish society that think they can drink until the end of time and be fine.

One of the reasons I've avoided doing the "Oz thing" is because I know exactly the type of Irish that go over there and there exactly the type I avoid here.*

*No offense to anyone who's been I know thats a generalisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Let's face the facts. We are scum bags. Every negative stereotype about us is true. Once we learn to accept it we will be much happier.....WHAT!? THEMS FIGHTING WORDS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Foreigners caught doing a crime that will lead to jail time should be deported for at least 10 years, that goes for Irish in Australia too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

It's the polices fault people lack respect for alcohol, themselves and others?

Incompetent policing is unacceptable but ineffective is as a result of lack of resources.

I believe in a society which grants the citizen a high degree of personal freedom but if you want to behave like a fool in public, you should be prepared to suffer the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ejmaztec wrote: »

You could turn that on its head too.. if it was happening here and Australian people were implicated as being the main cause of trouble you'd have people calling that a racist suggestion, but since the generalisation is about the Irish there's nothing at all wrong with that.