Australia Do What It Does Best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

The male reporter who broke this SENSATIONAL, DISGUSTING and DISTURBING story was doing a fairly good impression of Joe Duffy himself.

i love how his surname is murphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

The male reporter who broke this SENSATIONAL, DISGUSTING and DISTURBING story was doing a fairly good impression of Joe Duffy himself.

Were we watching a different video?

Mild enough stuff tbh.

If Irish nationals are screaming or causing nuisance they should be fined and warned.

If they're involved in assault or come to the attention of the police a second time they should be deported, common sense imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

prinz wrote: »
    Perhaps if more people had spoken up you woudln't have to have seen "far worse things".
    Yeah, but I'm not an old moanbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

I was over in Australia for 3 weeks last year and was out most nights (Sydney/Melbourne) and apart from one night I saw fights breaking out every night. I was out in various different places(Bondi, Kings Cross, Oxford St, CBD, North Fitzroy, South Yarra)and was pretty shocked at the amount of street fighting going on. Dont know what nationalities the people fighting where but passers by were not really batting an eyelid at the goings on. I was getting used to seeing it myself after the first week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

I seen nothing in that video that doesn't resemble any given night in a town, city or village throughout Ireland or the UK.

It's a case of ineffective and incompetent policing - nothing else.

And if the Ozzies think they're fellow countrymen and women are the definition of acceptable behaviour when in other parts of the world, then they're sadly uninformed. This sort of incident is everywhere and labeling it an "Irish thing" is quite narrow-minded and insulting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Yeah, but I'm not an old moanbag.

Sums up Ireland tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

No surprises at who started this thread :rolleyes:

Xavi6 wrote: »
    No surprises at who started this thread :rolleyes:
    Thats one of the cool things about boards. It displays who started the thread so theres no surprises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Thats one of the cool things about boards. It displays who started the thread so theres no surprises.

If you see the thread on the front page then you only see who posted in it last until you hover over it. Then the OP is revelled in all its glory (or fail, depending on the thread).

So close to smart arsed reply perfection yet so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

From the moon, Bondi Junction's a little dot. From the ground, it's a huge mess! Like Dante meets Bosch in a crack lounge!

Xavi6 wrote: »
    If you see the thread on the front page then you only see who posted in it last until you hover over it. Then the OP is revelled in all its glory (or fail, depending on the thread).

So close to smart arsed reply perfection yet so far.
    History will judge us both.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 156 ✭✭Cranky Mc Funhouse

I think there's one thing we can all agree on and that is that violence always works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I seen nothing in that video that doesn't resemble any given night in a town, city or village throughout Ireland or the UK.

And if the Ozzies think they're fellow countrymen and women are the definition of acceptable behaviour when in other parts of the world, then they're sadly uninformed. This sort of incident is everywhere and labeling it an "Irish thing" is quite narrow-minded and insulting.

It's strange how, had it happened here, most people wouldn't hesitate in saying "lock the scumbags up", but as it happened in Sydney, the perps are victims of Ozzie racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,532 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's strange how, had it happened here, most people wouldn't hesitate in saying "lock the scumbags up", but as it happened in Sydney, the perps are victims of Ozzie racism.

People are racist.

Australians are not racist.

Therefore Australians are not people, but some sort of vermin.

What we need is to introduce some sort of predator that eats Australians. That approach always works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

If it was happening in my back garden I'd be giving out as well, lets face it its likely to be Irish louts, probably mixed in with some other nationalities but Australia attracts the loutish loud mouthed idiots from Irish society that think they can drink until the end of time and be fine.

One of the reasons I've avoided doing the "Oz thing" is because I know exactly the type of Irish that go over there and there exactly the type I avoid here.*

*No offense to anyone who's been I know thats a generalisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Let's face the facts. We are scum bags. Every negative stereotype about us is true. Once we learn to accept it we will be much happier.....WHAT!? THEMS FIGHTING WORDS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Foreigners caught doing a crime that will lead to jail time should be deported for at least 10 years, that goes for Irish in Australia too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

It's the polices fault people lack respect for alcohol, themselves and others?

Incompetent policing is unacceptable but ineffective is as a result of lack of resources.

I believe in a society which grants the citizen a high degree of personal freedom but if you want to behave like a fool in public, you should be prepared to suffer the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ejmaztec wrote: »

You could turn that on its head too.. if it was happening here and Australian people were implicated as being the main cause of trouble you'd have people calling that a racist suggestion, but since the generalisation is about the Irish there's nothing at all wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

that video was awful soft,if they think thats bad they should come to my house during rag week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

that video was awful soft,if they think thats bad they should come to my house during rag week

jaysus... The hard man has spoken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,532 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

PMT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Wow, you're as cool as ice!

I remember there was similar coverage of English stag nights in Temple Bar when Dublin became popular for overseas visitors in the late 90's or so. There is also a similar attitude towards Australians in London. And I'm sure people in resorts in places like Spain have a simialr attitude towards the "Ibiza Uncovered" type crowds. it's very easy to generalise about na entire nationality.
    Having said that there seems to be a growing unmannered scumbag element in Ireland, little a$$holes with a sense of entitlement that think pouring drink down their necks give them somethign to be proud off, a few deportations might sort out potential trouble makers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I read this is comments sections. Reminds me of reading threads about Polish etc. :pac:

send in immigration, most of them are visa overstayers, taking jobs from australians in the construction industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

We've been getting away with this for a long time. Surprised it took them this long to cop on to us being pissheads like this. People that go over and stay in Bondi for the whole time, are only really there for the craic. The people who dont go there to stay for the majority of their year, you'll find, are the ones that'll do more travelling and leave less of a mess behind! :p
    That goes for both UK and Irish backpackers, as well as a few other nationalities. You get Aussies goin out there too, but most locals would go into the city, where the same thing would happen with them, only coz they're Aussie, theres not as much to complain about, ie "them foreigners!".
    There's pockets of places like that all over Australia. In Perth ya have Northbridge, and in Melbourne you have St Kilda. Brisbane has Fortitude Valley. All have huge backpackers populations so all the negative backpacker stuff would be concentrated in them areas and more noticeable.
    But yeah, in general, the muppets that go over there find themselves with some new found freedom that they dunno what to do with, so go on a mad one, and then might get into an odd fight here or there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The people being interviewed were asked where the troublemakers were from and they answered honestly. The Irish music was a bit unnecessary though.

I agree that there's a lot of Irish people who are drunken louts. I've often seen puke all over the streets and shops vandalised on a Saturday night. A couple of years ago a gang of drunks rang my doorbell at four AM. When I didn't answer they kicked the door. When I still didn't answer they spat all over it. They were there for about five minutes hawking up phlegm and spitting it all over my door.

I love the way people here moan when the Irish are discriminated against but applaud the French for discriminating against Muslims wearing burqas. Apparently other countries should let the Irish away with murder but discriminate against everyone else.

jaysus... The hard man has spoken.
    i think you took what i said out of context.
    come to my house during rag week look out the window you will see a fight at least every 90 seconds seen two people getting stabbed too.
    i am not a student

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Fking Austrians..

fontanalis wrote: »
    Wow, you're as cool as ice!

I remember there was similar coverage of English stag nights in Temple Bar when Dublin became popular for overseas visitors in the late 90's or so. There is also a similar attitude towards Australians in London. And I'm sure people in resorts in places like Spain have a simialr attitude towards the "Ibiza Uncovered" type crowds. it's very easy to generalise about na entire nationality.
    Having said that there seems to be a growing unmannered scumbag element in Ireland, little a$$holes with a sense of entitlement that think pouring drink down their necks give them somethign to be proud off, a few deportations might sort out potential trouble makers.
    what???:confused: