Derek Mooney - what a plank

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Genuine unmalicious mistake.
    We've all made them, including I too many times.
    Mountain out of a molehill...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Squiggle wrote: »
    That old bollíx Gay Byrne showed himself to be a proper smug plank the night he rang the woman who had won the car as a prize. Because she wasn't jumping up and down with joy and licking his hole he gets all smart arséd with her cause she was very quiet on the phone - turned out she had just lost her daughter! :rolleyes:

That didn't happen that way at all. I saw it. Gay Byrne didn't get smug, he in fact was a consumate pro during that phone call and didn't get 'smart arsed' as you say.

Perhaps you're thinking of the time Pat Kenny tore up tickets to the Toy Show on the Late Late because some woman didn't want them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

WindSock wrote: »
    No, you added 'tbh' at the end. My sentance finished after 'make'.

That's what I said tbh :mad:

I pre-empted making a mistake by saying nothing at all in this thread tbh:mad:

Until now, damn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    That didn't happen that way at all. I saw it. Gay Byrne didn't get smug, he in fact was a consumate pro during that phone call and didn't get 'smart arsed' as you say.

Perhaps you're thinking of the time Pat Kenny tore up tickets to the Toy Show on the Late Late because some woman didn't want them?

Yeah I saw that too many years ago. Gaybo didn't react in any "smug" way at all. I remember Seamus Heaney broke into an impromtu poem which was lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭baalthor

Compared with:

1. Pat Kenny to Dawn French

2. Marty Morrissey to Mrs Barrett

3. Joe Kinnear to everyone

it was very in-offensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,717 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Firstly I think Mooney is experienced enough to know not to question why somebody is wearing a hat.. The poor girl did actually look quite ill, I'm surprised he didnt cop on... Though like the others said, the fact that everybody else was wearing a silly xmas had many have given him a false sense of security when asking the question..

Either way, he came out with a full genuine apology today, and took full responsibility for "engaging his mouth before using his brain"... Wouldnt it be great if others took responsibility for their actions..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Fair play to her, didn't bat an eyelid and as an aside; she looks really well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

Very much a non-story. Although there does seem to be a ridiculous trend of being pass-remarkable about people's looks in the media these days. But as for this story, I definately don't wanna hear moooooooooore....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

non-story, nice lookin girl tho, that's bout all caught my attention... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Good to see he finally came out...

and apologised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Squiggle

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Nope I remember both of theses instances. Gay was a complete tool before he realised the womans daughter had died and then he tried to cover his arse. Kenny was a knob on the night he tore up the tickets. The attitude from both of them towards the prize winners was how dare you not be excited about winning a prize from the late late ! Smug prícks the pair of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I have to admit i got some comfort on hearing this smug git finally got his just deserts in the media today. Sorry for the individual at the receiving end of his cringe inducing sense of humor which the nation must endure awaiting drive time on Radio 1. This guy is a complete prick who has as much talent as a three legged hamster, it amazes me how the **** he achieved so much success.

It will be interesting to see how he handles this debacle on his show this week, no doubt he will go on the Hysterical defense just when his sexuality was questioned a few months back and his outburst at a lady who questioned the motivations behind a recent show dealing with two long lost siblings. This guy hates criticism and it further amazes me that someone who is supposed to be impartial is permitted to vent is opinions of anger at any descent!

Absolute gob****e

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Dempo1 wrote: »
    I have to admit i got some comfort on hearing this smug git finally got his just deserts in the media today. Sorry for the individual at the receiving end of his cringe inducing sense of humor which the nation must endure awaiting drive time on Radio 1. This guy is a complete prick who has as much talent as a three legged hamster, it amazes me how the **** he achieved so much success.

It will be interesting to see how he handles this debacle on his show this week, no doubt he will go on the Hysterical defense just when his sexuality was questioned a few months back and his outburst at a lady who questioned the motivations behind a recent show dealing with two long lost siblings. This guy hates criticism and it further amazes me that someone who is supposed to be impartial is permitted to vent is opinions of anger at any descent!

Absolute gob****e
    He merely apologised genuinely and personally and moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Wow, we nearly all agree. We should quit while we are ahead.