Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derek Mooney - what a plank

• 03-01-2011 5:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Link
    RTÉ presenter Derek Mooney has apologised to a cancer sufferer after asking her if she was having a bad hair day.

The TV host mistook a turban worn by audience member Máiréad Lynch from Dublin as a novelty hat during the live Millionaire Raffle Draw on New Year’s Eve.

She was at the show supporting her boyfriend Stephen McGinn, who was picked to help with the draw.

After introducing Stephen to the audience, Mooney asked him who he was with and turning towards Máiréad, asked: “Why is she wearing that little thing on her head? Is it a bad hair day, Máiréad?”

A stunned Máiréad replied: “You could say that, yeah.”

Mooney has apologised for the gaffe, saying he thought she was wearing a novelty hat like most other people in the audience.

His own brother David died from cancer three years ago at the age of 44.

Gobsh*te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Easy mistake to make tbh. Not like he was being malicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

He deserves the sack or a stoning at least! :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

It's not something Derek Mooney would do. It was definetly a mistake on his behalf, and I would take his apology seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

BYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Kelda09

Ah for christ sake, he made a mistake, he didn't deliberately go out there to upset or insult anyone!! We all get the odd case of Foot in Mouth from time to time! I am no fan of Derek Mooney,but I don't think this needs to be made into a huge deal. After all how would you feel if you had cancer and then all this attention was brought on you, the woman prob just want's to forget about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Oooh! I'd say he didn't mean it really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

A mistake.

And he's apologised.

How does that make him a plank :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If she had Cancer or not - for gawd sake, a bloke should NEVER insult a womans hair - even if it is bad!
    To do so, is just asking for trouble! He should have know that.
    Its part of lession 101 on females! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Another nothing story.

So fúcking what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

BYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!

*waves both hands jazz hand style*

Byyyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Biggins wrote: »
    If she had Cancer or not - for gawd sake, a bloke should NEVER insult a womans hair - even if it is bad!

Sometimes i actually think you're a woman, Biggins :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭annieire

I think it was a genuine mistake and he has apologised.....move on.

Kiera wrote: »
    Sometimes i actually think you're a woman, Biggins :D
    LOL :pac:
    Naa... just too long married and a lot of experience of deal with the female species! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Rosicky7 wrote: »

Oh for pity's sake, they are all wearing silly hats. Easy mistake to make.

That poor woman now has more attention drawn to her by the person who YT'd the clip and the OP posting it in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Easy mistake to make. Although in general Derek Mooney is a total plank, where do RTE find these eejits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Of all those twats at RTÉ, Mooney is by far the most tolerable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

WindSock wrote: »
    Easy mistake to make.

That's what I said. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Biggins wrote: »

But he's gay,which negates his need to know anything about females.

dubtom wrote: »
    But he's gay...
    :mad:

I think he seems sound enough. Im sure he was mortified when someone mentioned her illness. Don't think the guy has a bad word to say about anyone.

This is a bit of a silly thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Frada wrote: »

No, you added 'tbh' at the end. My sentance finished after 'make'.
    Frada wrote: »
    Easy mistake to make tbh.
    Easy mistake to make.

That's what I said tbh :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

*goes to start a facebook group to get him sacked anyways*

Ah it is an easy mistake to make in all fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

I didnt see that, bit hungover.

Or else i have you blocked :D

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Link

Gobsh*te.

Overreaction much?
    TBF I dont think I have ever seen someone in Ireland wear a turban,she could have chosen a more discreet hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Be careful there Ted, or some of the girls might get offended.

Of course . . . . . . . All the girls have lovely bottoms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Pfsh. I was expecting a lot more from the clip and the moral indignation that came before it. Simple mistake, the girl seemed non-plussed from it. Mooney is a typical insipid RTE robot, but he didn't really do anything wrong here. End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

Idiotic comment by Mooney though I think he's genuinely an inoffensive type. That old bollíx Gay Byrne showed himself to be a proper smug plank the night he rang the woman who had won the car as a prize. Because she wasn't jumping up and down with joy and licking his hole he gets all smart arséd with her cause she was very quiet on the phone - turned out she had just lost her daughter! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Easy mistake to make tbh. Not like he was being malicious.

I'm not a fan of his shows, but I find it hard to imagine the guy being malicious to anyone. Met him too, and he seemed a genuinely nice fellah - not just near live mikes.

Genuine unmalicious mistake.
    We've all made them, including I too many times.
    Mountain out of a molehill...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Squiggle wrote: »
    That old bollíx Gay Byrne showed himself to be a proper smug plank the night he rang the woman who had won the car as a prize. Because she wasn't jumping up and down with joy and licking his hole he gets all smart arséd with her cause she was very quiet on the phone - turned out she had just lost her daughter! :rolleyes:

That didn't happen that way at all. I saw it. Gay Byrne didn't get smug, he in fact was a consumate pro during that phone call and didn't get 'smart arsed' as you say.

Perhaps you're thinking of the time Pat Kenny tore up tickets to the Toy Show on the Late Late because some woman didn't want them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

No, you added 'tbh' at the end. My sentance finished after 'make'.

I pre-empted making a mistake by saying nothing at all in this thread tbh:mad:

Until now, damn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    That didn't happen that way at all. I saw it. Gay Byrne didn't get smug, he in fact was a consumate pro during that phone call and didn't get 'smart arsed' as you say.

Perhaps you're thinking of the time Pat Kenny tore up tickets to the Toy Show on the Late Late because some woman didn't want them?

Yeah I saw that too many years ago. Gaybo didn't react in any "smug" way at all. I remember Seamus Heaney broke into an impromtu poem which was lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Compared with:

1. Pat Kenny to Dawn French

2. Marty Morrissey to Mrs Barrett

3. Joe Kinnear to everyone

it was very in-offensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Firstly I think Mooney is experienced enough to know not to question why somebody is wearing a hat.. The poor girl did actually look quite ill, I'm surprised he didnt cop on... Though like the others said, the fact that everybody else was wearing a silly xmas had many have given him a false sense of security when asking the question..

Either way, he came out with a full genuine apology today, and took full responsibility for "engaging his mouth before using his brain"... Wouldnt it be great if others took responsibility for their actions..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Fair play to her, didn't bat an eyelid and as an aside; she looks really well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

Very much a non-story. Although there does seem to be a ridiculous trend of being pass-remarkable about people's looks in the media these days. But as for this story, I definately don't wanna hear moooooooooore....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

non-story, nice lookin girl tho, that's bout all caught my attention... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Good to see he finally came out...

and apologised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Nope I remember both of theses instances. Gay was a complete tool before he realised the womans daughter had died and then he tried to cover his arse. Kenny was a knob on the night he tore up the tickets. The attitude from both of them towards the prize winners was how dare you not be excited about winning a prize from the late late ! Smug prícks the pair of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I have to admit i got some comfort on hearing this smug git finally got his just deserts in the media today. Sorry for the individual at the receiving end of his cringe inducing sense of humor which the nation must endure awaiting drive time on Radio 1. This guy is a complete prick who has as much talent as a three legged hamster, it amazes me how the **** he achieved so much success.

It will be interesting to see how he handles this debacle on his show this week, no doubt he will go on the Hysterical defense just when his sexuality was questioned a few months back and his outburst at a lady who questioned the motivations behind a recent show dealing with two long lost siblings. This guy hates criticism and it further amazes me that someone who is supposed to be impartial is permitted to vent is opinions of anger at any descent!

Absolute gob****e

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Dempo1 wrote: »
    I have to admit i got some comfort on hearing this smug git finally got his just deserts in the media today. Sorry for the individual at the receiving end of his cringe inducing sense of humor which the nation must endure awaiting drive time on Radio 1. This guy is a complete prick who has as much talent as a three legged hamster, it amazes me how the **** he achieved so much success.

It will be interesting to see how he handles this debacle on his show this week, no doubt he will go on the Hysterical defense just when his sexuality was questioned a few months back and his outburst at a lady who questioned the motivations behind a recent show dealing with two long lost siblings. This guy hates criticism and it further amazes me that someone who is supposed to be impartial is permitted to vent is opinions of anger at any descent!

Absolute gob****e
    He merely apologised genuinely and personally and moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Wow, we nearly all agree. We should quit while we are ahead.