Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biceps - Arm Curls

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Chin ups , Inverted rows .bicep curls etc there all curls . They all move at the elbow joint .

What is the heaviest Curl out of them

Bw chin up or 12kg Bicep curl

Answer Chin up

What is going to make the muscle grow bigger the heavier curl or lighter curl

Answer

Heavier Curl .

Wow. It's a late comer, but definite contender for thread of 2010.

What association do you hold your accreditation with? I'm just curious so I never try to speak to one of your kind again.

Tell Charles I said hello.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Jay Farrant CPT

Hanley wrote: »
    Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahaha

You may as well just leave now and never come back.
    How can you say Your not using your biceps when dead lift ???
    You need good grip strength . Next time you dead lift just look at your biceps . There be pooping out . Your holding 200kgs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭dantes87

Can I just ask the CPT does his accreditation actually give him an knowledge of training sufficient to lecture those with many years of actual experience?

By the way he should check people's(Hanley's) logs before he calls them out :rolleyes:

I know many physios and their training seems to be almost exclusively in rehab and prehab, not sports performance.

Remmy wrote: »
    He is also an elite gymnast who spent upwards of 3-4 hours a day every day for years doing ring work and different gymnastics from about age 10..

YES EXCACTLY AND WHERE DO YOU THINK HE STARTED ?

mastering his bodyweight or 12kg Bicep curls !!!

dantes87 wrote: »
    Can I just ask the CPT does his accreditation actually give him an knowledge of training sufficient to lecture those with many years of actual experience?

By the way you should check people's(Hanley's) logs before he calls them out :rolleyes:

I know many physios and their training seems to be almost exclusively in rehab and prehab, not sports performance.

Certified Personal Trainer
    Specialist Exercise Therapy
    Army Physical Training Instructor
    Former Army Boxer and football player

I have qualifications and experience .

And If H doesn't know that you use your biceps when performing deadlifts then sorry he doesn't know anything .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Are you actually kidding?

The guy is amongst the most genetically gifted human beings in existence. He made it to the olympics, he survived brutal training regimes and probably spent 4-6 hours per day 5-6x per week training under some of the best coaches and nutritionists in the world.

How many hours of exclusively bodyweight training do you think it took him to get arm development like that?

Do you not agree that olympic level gymnasts are predisposed to greater levels of muscularity than most?
    How can you say Your not using your biceps when dead lift ???
    You need good grip strength . Next time you dead lift just look at your biceps . There be pooping out . Your holding 200kgs .

Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight.... I actually don't even know how to answer that.

Maybe I'll train my triceps by just holding a locked out bench so.

Thanks for your input. Revolutionary.

By the way he should check people's(Hanley's) logs before he calls them out :rolleyes:

I assume CPT stands for 'Certified Personal Trainer' from the NSCA.

And please don't tell people to check my log. The back track is far more fun to watch once the hole is too deep to climb out of.

And If H doesn't know that you use your biceps when performing deadlifts then sorry he doesn't know anything .

You forgot your 200kg TBDL.

Yea, Hanley should bow to your superior knowledge.:pac:

Fair enough, I thought CPT was Phsio Therapist, my bad.

You forgot your 200kg TBDL.

Yea, Hanley should bow to your superior knowledge.:pac:

205kg. It's the little things that count :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

cc87 wrote: »

He is certainly doing a great job at promoting himself here! ''next class we will be teaching how do tear your biceps off your arms when you deadlift and get super swole in the process, 3 inch gains on your gunz guaranteed when they reattach the tendon!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

You are a joke.

edit: Wasn't Darragh Hayes in ABS for a while...?

What qualifictaions have you got ?

Yes ISSA
    Dont forget the 12 week Army Pti Cadre . and the fact that I was an Athlete for 4 years .

He is certainly doing a great job at promoting himself here! ''next class we will be teaching how do tear your biceps off your arms when you deadlift and get super swole in the process, 3 inch gains on your gunz guaranteed when they reattach the tendon!:D

Using your arms to deadlift would be a brutally effective way to create a savage peak in your biceps. It probably would be up around your shoulder by time you were done, but hey, a peak's a peak, right?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Let's say hypothetically speaking i was <5 foot tall, and a woman of slim build, who through no fault of my own lost both my legs. (in a big shopping centre at christmas or something). I had been ~35 kg, having lost the aforementioned legs i am now 23kg.
    My question is, how many bags of microwave popcorn can i eat before i explode?

Hanley wrote: »
    205kg. It's the little things that count :D

I can't boast here, I'm not much better.
    But I realise how weak and inexperienced I am

Listen guys stick to your Bicep curls . Thats all I have to say and Ill stick to my weighted chins ....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

discus wrote: »
    You are a joke.

Zee post not zee poster [/backseat modding]

What qualifictaions have you got ?

Yes ISSA
    Dont forget the 12 week Army Pti Cadre . and the fact that I was an Athlete for 4 years .

Im not claiming any knowledge

ISSA.....online only right? No practical?

Being good in the army means little outside it.

Ive been an athlete for ten years, I dont think it made me a good trainer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Listen guys stick to your Bicep curls . Thats all I have to say and Ill stick to my weighted chins ....:D

i used to just do chins then i added curls and my biceps got bigger... explain tat one?

I can't boast here, I'm not much better.
    But I realise how weak and inexperienced I am

Im know deadlift King . Its my weakest Lift as are BB squats .

Answer me a question guys how many of you do this as a living ?

How many have you ave been a Pro / Semi pro Athlete ?

And how many of you are actually qualified in Health and fitness ?

No offence but the majority of qualifications with regards to health and fitness mean nothing.

I have a few and i know most of them are useless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Lads leave him alone.

Certs mean absolutely **** all.

I'm probably the least knowledgeable person on the entire internet, but i'm "qualified".

Means nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Answer me a question guys how many of you do this as a living ?

just because you do it for a living doesnt make you an expert

How many have you ave been a Pro / Semi pro Athlete ?

just because youve been an athlete doesnt make you an expert

And how many of you are actually qualified in Health and fitness ?

just because you are qualified doesnt make you an expert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭finty

A 12kg DB Is not heavy .
    Ovbiously you dont deadlift .

Your Grip strength is a major factor when dead lifting .
    Your brachioradialis is connected to your bicep brachii at the elbow joint . , Have you ever done a 200kg Dead lift . Trust me your Biceps get worked. (Isometric Contraction)

I Think you need to go back to school and learn how your body functions my friend . You clearly dont know what your talking about .

Brachioradialis has very little to do with grip strength. It flexes the elbow.

Grip strength is down to the superficial and deep flexors of the forearm and while brachioradialis is in the forearm its insertion is into the end of the radius thus not crossing into the hand and having little effect on the ability to maintain grip.

I would say no effect but dont want to come across as some sort of expert in something I'm not :)

As for your comments on a curl being useless, well they makes as much sense as your point about grip strength

Im not claiming any knowledge

ISSA.....online only right? No practical?

Being good in the army means little outside it.

Ive been an athlete for ten years, I dont think it made me a good trainer.

It was all practical 18 week full time course in Cardiff.(Wales)
    That was both Certs.
    Army PTI cadre is a 12 week course on health and fitness. But with a little more added . You get thrashed as well as learning to become a fitness instructor.

You should have learned something in 10 years ?

I was competing at a very high level for 2 years and spent allot of time with very highly qualified instructors . Even more so than ISSA LOL

I do agree tho that Quals mean **** and experience does count for allot.

So dont think that just because I'm saying I have a qual I know everything . Beacon I dont but I do have experience and do this as a full time job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

Jesus ****ing h christ....

its got everything from personal abuse to back seat modding...

Yis are all lucky im too sick and weak to pick up the ban hammer...