Why do you sign your posts?

• 28-12-2010 05:37AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭

Why?

Well firstly I won't call out DeVore who does this as I don't want a site ban :eek:
    Oops, the damage may be done

But realy, I see your username by your post, why do you sign it?
    Is it attention seeking? I already know your username and I know the top posters in several forums. Signing it makes no difference

Regards

feelingstressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

Not everyone does it in fairness.

Regards

Balfie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

True enough, not everyone but a sizable minority do

I'd like to read their reasons why :)

Regards

feelingstressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

I don't know.

Excellent contribution there ^^^

I also do not know so started this thread

True enough, not everyone but a sizable minority do

I'd like to read their reasons why :)

Regards

feelingstressed

Ya know, it wasn't funny the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I always presumed it was just a habit maintained by the older posters. Apparently it was quite the done thing in the long long ago, in an age when people were known to make markings, not by typing but by scratching symbols, by applying some form of pigment or dye containing liquid, on a type of dried cellulose pulp. Apparently back in this somewhat forgotten time, usernames as we know them, were not automatically generated on posts, and so, it was considered necessary to conclude a pigment cellulose post by manually adding ones username to the post script to identify oneself. Such is my understanding.

Degag wrote: »
    Ya know, it wasn't funny the first time.

If this thread was started before I'm happy for a mod to lock it.

I'm not trying to be funny, admittedly I am not funny at all but it's a decent thread for AH I reckon

Excellent contribution there ^^^

I also do not know so started this thread
    Well smartarse, since you signed 2 of your 3 posts in this thread, perhaps you could tell us?

Nothing smartarse about my above post, I don't know the reason so started a thread.

If you've no interest you can flame the OP or you know, you can read threads you do have an interest in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

Jaysus ya leave for 5 mins an this turns into beirut.. Calm down people..

Nothing smartarse about my above post, I don't know the reason so started a thread.

If you've no interest you can flame the OP or you know, you can read threads you do have an interest in :)
    I give up.:rolleyes:

A rolleyes, fair play and thank you for your quality contribution

Me, I don't know everything on every subject so I post on the threads I have an interest in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I don't do it on Boards, but sometimes I will out my Christian name at the end of a text I send, to people who know me. Does feel weird, but still I do it from time to time.

A rolleyes, fair play and thank you for your quality contribution

Me, I don't know everything on every subject so I post on the threads I have an interest in
    Jaysus, i don't know what's wrong. You asked why people signed their name to their posts while signing your own username to your post twice. I said it wasn't very funny - which it wasn't - to which you replied it wasn't supposed to be funny. That would suggest to me that you normally sign your username to your posts and hence should be able to answer your own question - and of course you were being a smartarse - which is fine, this is AH, you're supposed to be a smartarse:)

Accepted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Jaysus.:pac:

Degag, obviously his signing of his name in this thread was meant as a joke. Stop trollin the guy, sure he said it wasnt a funny joke, but he also meant his thread was not meant to be a joke. He was talking about the thread not the actual sig.:)

What a random thread that would be.. someone who regularly posts a signature at the end of his posts starting a thread asking why people do it.

Mental. :pac:

I too wonder why people sign their names at the end of their posts, can come off as pretentious.

I couldnt help it, I hate when threads quickly dive into a flamewar and end up locked before any decent discussion goes on, all due to a simple misunderstanding.

Buts thats the nature of online communication.

Thank you Sisko, I could not have summed it up better
    that would suggest to me that you normally sign your username to your posts and hence should be able to answer your own question

If I normally signed my posts I would not have started this thread ;)

and of course you were being a smartarse - which is fine, this is AH, you're supposed to be a smartarse:)

Not my intention but if it seems that way, so be it

ok this makes no sense but some how your post I was replying to has appeared below mine :confused:

Now it looks like I'm replying to myself :P

No, you are blameless Sisko

I deleted my post, tidied it up for spelling then posted it again, you just posted again before I did

I'm the weirdo, not you :p

The hell? Just edit it next time :p

Or let me guess, you hate it when that 'this post was last edited on bla bla' crap appears under your post is it?

I do, I hate having the edited text under my posts :p

I usually delete and post again, even for a simple spelling mistake

That's future serial killer talk, feck I wouldnt mess with this guy Degag.

They start off deleting their own posts, only a few steps more till they're deleting people!

Sisko wrote: »

That's future serial killer talk, feck I wouldnt mess with this guy Degag.

True, I added smilies :) to my replies and got aggression in return. :(
    But sorted in the end :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Ha, well, if the thread wasn't meant to be funny, its doing a good job at it anyhow!
    OP, I've no idea but I am now, curious to.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Whatever happend to Lump?

- John

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

What the fudge is happening in this thread??

'cause

- boneyarsebogman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I never noticed before now,
    regards God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Maybe people are just trying to be polite,

Yours hopefully realies