Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do you sign your posts?

• 28-12-2010 4:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

Why?

Well firstly I won't call out DeVore who does this as I don't want a site ban :eek:
    Oops, the damage may be done

But realy, I see your username by your post, why do you sign it?
    Is it attention seeking? I already know your username and I know the top posters in several forums. Signing it makes no difference

Regards

feelingstressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

Not everyone does it in fairness.

Regards

Balfie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

True enough, not everyone but a sizable minority do

I'd like to read their reasons why :)

Regards

feelingstressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I don't know.

Excellent contribution there ^^^

I also do not know so started this thread

True enough, not everyone but a sizable minority do

I'd like to read their reasons why :)

Regards

feelingstressed

Ya know, it wasn't funny the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I always presumed it was just a habit maintained by the older posters. Apparently it was quite the done thing in the long long ago, in an age when people were known to make markings, not by typing but by scratching symbols, by applying some form of pigment or dye containing liquid, on a type of dried cellulose pulp. Apparently back in this somewhat forgotten time, usernames as we know them, were not automatically generated on posts, and so, it was considered necessary to conclude a pigment cellulose post by manually adding ones username to the post script to identify oneself. Such is my understanding.

Degag wrote: »
    Ya know, it wasn't funny the first time.

If this thread was started before I'm happy for a mod to lock it.

I'm not trying to be funny, admittedly I am not funny at all but it's a decent thread for AH I reckon

Excellent contribution there ^^^

I also do not know so started this thread
    Well smartarse, since you signed 2 of your 3 posts in this thread, perhaps you could tell us?

Nothing smartarse about my above post, I don't know the reason so started a thread.

If you've no interest you can flame the OP or you know, you can read threads you do have an interest in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

Jaysus ya leave for 5 mins an this turns into beirut.. Calm down people..

Nothing smartarse about my above post, I don't know the reason so started a thread.

If you've no interest you can flame the OP or you know, you can read threads you do have an interest in :)
    I give up.:rolleyes:

A rolleyes, fair play and thank you for your quality contribution

Me, I don't know everything on every subject so I post on the threads I have an interest in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I don't do it on Boards, but sometimes I will out my Christian name at the end of a text I send, to people who know me. Does feel weird, but still I do it from time to time.

A rolleyes, fair play and thank you for your quality contribution

Me, I don't know everything on every subject so I post on the threads I have an interest in
    Jaysus, i don't know what's wrong. You asked why people signed their name to their posts while signing your own username to your post twice. I said it wasn't very funny - which it wasn't - to which you replied it wasn't supposed to be funny. That would suggest to me that you normally sign your username to your posts and hence should be able to answer your own question - and of course you were being a smartarse - which is fine, this is AH, you're supposed to be a smartarse:)

Accepted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Jaysus.:pac:

Degag, obviously his signing of his name in this thread was meant as a joke. Stop trollin the guy, sure he said it wasnt a funny joke, but he also meant his thread was not meant to be a joke. He was talking about the thread not the actual sig.:)

What a random thread that would be.. someone who regularly posts a signature at the end of his posts starting a thread asking why people do it.

Mental. :pac:

I too wonder why people sign their names at the end of their posts, can come off as pretentious.

I couldnt help it, I hate when threads quickly dive into a flamewar and end up locked before any decent discussion goes on, all due to a simple misunderstanding.

Buts thats the nature of online communication.

Thank you Sisko, I could not have summed it up better
    that would suggest to me that you normally sign your username to your posts and hence should be able to answer your own question

If I normally signed my posts I would not have started this thread ;)

and of course you were being a smartarse - which is fine, this is AH, you're supposed to be a smartarse:)

Not my intention but if it seems that way, so be it

ok this makes no sense but some how your post I was replying to has appeared below mine :confused:

Now it looks like I'm replying to myself :P

No, you are blameless Sisko

I deleted my post, tidied it up for spelling then posted it again, you just posted again before I did

I'm the weirdo, not you :p

The hell? Just edit it next time :p

Or let me guess, you hate it when that 'this post was last edited on bla bla' crap appears under your post is it?

I do, I hate having the edited text under my posts :p

I usually delete and post again, even for a simple spelling mistake

That's future serial killer talk, feck I wouldnt mess with this guy Degag.

They start off deleting their own posts, only a few steps more till they're deleting people!

Sisko wrote: »

That's future serial killer talk, feck I wouldnt mess with this guy Degag.

True, I added smilies :) to my replies and got aggression in return. :(
    But sorted in the end :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Ha, well, if the thread wasn't meant to be funny, its doing a good job at it anyhow!
    OP, I've no idea but I am now, curious to.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Whatever happend to Lump?

- John

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

What the fudge is happening in this thread??

'cause

- boneyarsebogman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I never noticed before now,
    regards God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Maybe people are just trying to be polite,

Yours hopefully realies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I really don't know. It seems very pointless to sign off on every single post.

I don't get why they don't just stick it in their signature and be done with it. :confused:

It really serves no purpose with usernames and signatures and looks more than a bit daft, but sure who cares.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

This is Just talking about Usernames,yeah? Because I think ilts pretty cool when people sign posts with their real name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭AntiMatter

pajero12 wrote: »
    This is Just talking about Usernames,yeah? Because I think ilts pretty cool when people sign posts with their real name!

I can dig that.

Regards

Virgil Arturo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I think its a style or character thing. I've seen it on other forums too. Sometimes you see it where people have animals in their name they make an animal noise in their post or something. I think some people do it to be 'in character' - scofflaw comes to mind there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

liah wrote: »

I don't get why they don't just stick it in their signature and be done with it. :confused:

i did :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

I sign my name just to be polite. It never occurred to me that it might be regarded as being pretentious.:eek:
    I'm just showing my age, I suppose.:D

Noreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 de Lehman Bruddars

smugly and pretentiously,

de Lehman Bruddars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I don't sign off on mine. I just use the mother-in-law's face as my sig picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I don't do it on Boards, but sometimes I will out my Christian name at the end of a text I send, to people who know me. Does feel weird, but still I do it from time to time.

Same here, I'll usually sign off on texts with the Christian name especially if it's the first one I send. For me it's just a manners thing, but here on Boards well that's what the username is for. So I see no need for a signature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Obviously an attempt to set themselves apart in most cases. I guess it does to an extent, as would having a really annoying laugh or a pair of cross-eyes.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I have a friend that signs off EVERY text with the letter 'C'.

His name is Cillian.

No idea why. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Huh, the texting thing is interesting. Never done it and never realized not doing it could be bad manners! Though perhaps it's a generational thing, and I've only really had a mobile for 4 years.

The way I look at it is, texting and forums and the like are basically just discussions. While they may not be verbal, they're still back and forth and at a relatively consistent pace. You wouldn't say your name after you stop talking in real life when you're conversing, so why do it on a forum or in a text? :confused:

It's not like a letter or an email which aren't really instant communication and tend to encompass a lot of things at once. It isn't as much like a live conversation, so it makes sense to sign those for etiquette purposes.

I dunno. I'm probably just weird.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Do people add their names in emails if they have an automatic signature? I'm never sure as it seems kind of rude not to but repetitive to do so.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

I do it most of the time, suppose its just a habbit I got used to :pac:

Nick :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Whatever happend to Lump?

- John

Lump sat alone in a boggy marsh
    Totally motionless except for her heart
    Mud flowed up into Lump's pajamas
    She totally confused all the passing piranhas

Lump lingered last in line for brains
    And the ones she got were sort of rotten and insane
    Small thing's so sad that birds could land
    Is Lump fast asleep or rocking out with the band?

Cordially

PeeDee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Not sure myself OP, I just thought the cool people done it and that I wasnt cool enough to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭gerbear1

I see a few people do it and it p*sses me off. It's not a letter, there's no need to do it. I always thought some people thought it looked cool (no idea why). On Facebook I saw somebody writing a comment to a status and at the end signed it off with their name. Obviously they know who wrote the comment, the sign off is completely pointless!

Wow, life isn't bad when these are the things that annoy me.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Why?

Well firstly I won't call out DeVore who does this as I don't want a site ban :eek:
    Oops, the damage may be done

But realy, I see your username by your post, why do you sign it?
    Is it attention seeking? I already know your username and I know the top posters in several forums. Signing it makes no difference

Regards

feelingstressed

Yup

liah wrote: »
    You wouldn't say your name after you stop talking in real life when you're conversing

:eek:genius:D
    I'm going to try this for a week !!!!!not really but someone should :P
    Do people add their names in emails if they have an automatic signature? I'm never sure as it seems kind of rude not to but repetitive to do so.

I never use an automatic signature because i use one email account for various different things - work, personal etc etc. I see no need to subject friends to my professional qualifications etc with every email (thou one of my friends does this.....and my how we slag him :D)

Lump sat alone in a boggy marsh
    Totally motionless except for her heart
    Mud flowed up into Lump's pajamas
    She totally confused all the passing piranhas

Lump lingered last in line for brains
    And the ones she got were sort of rotten and insane
    Small thing's so sad that birds could land
    Is Lump fast asleep or rocking out with the band?

Cordially

PeeDee.

Awesome I just had to listen to it after reading the lyrics!!
    Enjoy people's: