Christmas Tips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

There must be 400 houses in my estate. If the postie and binmen get a 10'er from at least HALF the houses then that's 2 GRAND. ...and that's just one estate.
    How much do you reckon they pocket each Christmas. Must be a tidy sum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I'd tip them in the hope that they don't sneeze or spunk on my food if I plan to return. That's why.

You essentially tip them (postmen/bin men) for doing their job.
    Do you tip street cleaners?

how do you know your postman isn't sneezing or spunking on your mail?? :pac:

you are still tipping the waiter for doing their job too! it's their job to bring you your food, its the postmans job to bring you your mail....i fail to see the difference between the service aspects.

if the street cleaners cleaned my property then yeah i would! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 381 ✭✭brennarr

I never see my postman or binman. How do ye guys tip them?

brennarr wrote: »
    I never see my postman or binman. How do ye guys tip them?

i call to their house knock a few times and leave a "please come to this address between 9am and 4pm to collect your tip" note! :pac:

i kid i kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

how do you know your postman isn't sneezing or spunking on your mail?? :pac:

you are still tipping the waiter for doing their job too! it's their job to bring you your food, its the postmans job to bring you your mail....i fail to see the difference between the service aspects.

if the street cleaners cleaned my property then yeah i would! :D

I tip them for the reasons I gave, not because they bring me my food.
    My postman probably is sneezing and spunking on my mail. He/they also never bother to make an attempt to deliver packages to me.

You might say this is because I don't tip them, well it isn't.
    I live in an apartment block, therefore I am anon to them and they make no effort because of it, that's the default.
    I wouldn't see them in order that we could strike up a relationship whereby I can bribe them to do their job.
    I also find the sorting/package holding offices pretty unhelpful.

The binman doesn't come into your apartment and empty the bins.
    The street cleaners may well clean outside your house/apartment.
    Chase them down and give them monies. :pac::P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...a waiter could be earning more than you or working less hours than you but you would still tip them for bringing you your meal!
    Aaa... no. Thats what they are paid in wages, to do!

I don't mind tipping those who go the extra mile occasionally but tipping the bin-men/postman/waiter/etc for doing their basic job every day is getting a bit much.
    On that applied further broad principle, every staff member then would (with every visit) have to be tipped, be it in a clothes shop, the local favourite chipper, the staff at Dunnes till counters and on and on... For aren't they just doing what they are being wage paid for too! ...But hell, lets tip them anyway!

Like I said, for those that go the EXTRA mile, no problem, they should be thanked occasionally, even in tips, but lets not run away with ourselves and start tipping folk that are just doing their basic job!
    Isn't that why part of the ordinary bill is such a charge, because their wages are also included in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd tip them in the hope that they don't sneeze or spunk on my food if I plan to return. That's why.
    Unless you tip up front or are a very regular customer of a place tipping after you've had your food in the hope they won't spit in your food is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

ScumLord wrote: »
    Unless you tip up front or are a very regular customer of a place tipping after you've had your food in the hope they won't spit in your food is pointless.

I don't disagree. People tip upfront?

Biggins wrote: »
    On that principle, every staff member then would (with every visit) have to be tipped, be it the staff at Dunnes till counters and on and on...

eh nope!

i worked in dunnes they have a 'handy' "no handling cash on the shop floor" rule so you cannot accept tips!

i could have made a fortune but only for that rule! :(

The street cleaners may well clean outside your house/apartment.
    Chase them down and give them monies.

Damn you! :( the guilt of unfairly excluding them is now eating me alive!!! :(

now, how to find out if there is a street cleaner that works outside! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Tip the postman? The guy who's never bothered to bring a parcel? We've often caught him slipping the "collect your package at the depo" note and upon confronting him he'll come out with some bollocks like "no room in the van". In Galway that bloody depo is a bitch to get to if you don't have a car.

I don't get this argument of tipping a public service, I mean the guy down clearing the **** in sewers provides a vital service but I doubt many of you will be tracking him down to give him a score.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I don't tip at all.
    Now if the postman or binman was not being paid a salary and a guaranteed pension, maybe then I'd have a think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

As the Flutt might say, I'd give them the tip of my size 10 in the onion bag!:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 506 ✭✭✭common sense brigade

Its once a year. Its Christmas. For those who don't tip that's fine your entitled to not tip. For those of you who do, its a nice thing to do. It seems to me the people on here who do not tip, are implying that the rest of us are idiots. If it makes you feel better to think we are morons and throwing money away then good for you. I personally think displaying a little human kindness at Christmas time is nice. And before you all start jumping in with what about donating to charity. I donate to St.Vincent De Paul every year and always will do.I like my postman and bin men and want to tip them so I will. I will also tip the taximen i get over the Christmas period, and the waiter's and waitress'. I Work hard for my money and will spend it how I see fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i wont be tipping anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Biggins wrote: »
    Aaa... no. Thats what they are paid in wages, to do!

I don't mind tipping those who go the extra mile occasionally but tipping the bin-men/postman/waiter/etc for doing their basic job every day is getting a bit much.
    On that applied further broad principle, every staff member then would (with every visit) have to be tipped, be it in a clothes shop, the local favourite chipper, the staff at Dunnes till counters and on and on... For aren't they just doing what they are being wage paid for too! ...But hell, lets tip them anyway!

Like I said, for those that go the EXTRA mile, no problem, they should be thanked occasionally, even in tips, but lets not run away with ourselves and start tipping folk that are just doing their basic job!
    Isn't that why part of the ordinary bill is such a charge, because their wages are also included in it?

I agree. If a waiter goes above and beyond to make your dining experience a pleasure then it's right to tip him/her. It works both ways though. If the waiter is a miserable/incompetent/retarded/surly/ugly wanker then you should have the right to bate the head off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

We always leave €20 in an envelope for the bin men. They always come at around 8am, give or take 15 minutes, so at about 7.30am last year on the bin collection day before Christmas, my mam sellotaped the envelope to the back of the bin and put it against the wall so no one would see it while walking by (we live on a quiet country road anyway). When the binmen arrived, my mam ran out to make sure they got the envelope, and it was gone! Got in touch with some of the neighbours and the exact same thing happened. In the space of about half an hour, someone had pinched about 4 or 5 envelopes of cash from wheely bins! Bastids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Another important point is that my local postman is ex foreign legion and also holds a black belt in some martial art (can't remember off the top of my head but there are stories of him escorting rowdy young lads out of the pub by they're little finger) the man is made out of awesome, bastard got enough as it is. If terrorists ever attack our town I expect he'll be the man to sort it all out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

We always leave €20 in an envelope for the bin men. They always come at around 8am, give or take 15 minutes, so at about 7.30am last year on the bin collection day before Christmas, my mam sellotaped the envelope to the back of the bin and put it against the wall so no one would see it while walking by (we live on a quiet country road anyway). When the binmen arrived, my mam ran out to make sure they got the envelope, and it was gone! Got in touch with some of the neighbours and the exact same thing happened. In the space of about half an hour, someone had pinched about 4 or 5 envelopes of cash from wheely bins! Bastids!

God that's shocking, where was this?

I sense handy money here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

You essentially tip them (postmen/bin men) for doing their job.
    Do you tip street cleaners?

Id never eat out if i knew that someone had spunked into it

Pun intended :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

themadchef wrote: »
    Because, he's a fúcking good postman. Will drop my post off at my job all Summer long. He's never grumpy, always has a kind word and is mighty craic to boot. He's an asset to the community and if a waitress can score a twenty from people she will never see again i dont see why the man who's serving you all year cant be looked after.

No, you dont have to, and he probably wont expect it, but it's nice to be nice instead of being a moany hole all the time (not you, poeple in general ;))

AH answer: Post man gets a tip because he's a roide and maybe that will swing it in my favour

If he's half as good as you're making him out to be, he'll probably decline the tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭TobyZiegler

Seems to be a bit of a countryside v town thing. A few of my colleagues who live in rural areas mentioned tipping the postman today at work. I had never heard of it before but the way they spoke about the postman they obviously know his name and say that he is very good about making the effort to leave parcels with neighbours etc etc.

In bigger towns you are unlikely to know your postman at all and he is unlikely to be as accomodating to you.

I personally dont tip anyone extra at Christmas. St. Vincent de PAul get any extra I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Whatever about the postman / binman, if that TV License Inspector won't stop calling around I'd love to give him a personal tip:

*Kick up the arse*

TV Inspector: "Hey!!......"
    Me: "If you value your life you won't call around here again!"
    TV Inspector: "........"
    Me: "Oh......and Merry Christmas............yeeeeeeeeew cúnt!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 506 ✭✭✭common sense brigade

Seems to be a bit of a countryside v town thing. A few of my colleagues who live in rural areas mentioned tipping the postman today at work. I had never heard of it before but the way they spoke about the postman they obviously know his name and say that he is very good about making the effort to leave parcels with neighbours etc etc.
    This is so True! I lived in a big town and it was an uncommon thing to tip the postman. I am now living in a rural area. My postman actually opens the front door if I dont answer and comes in and shouts hello. We dont lock our doors when we are home. Its actually really old fashioned and lovely. He is full of all the gossip about everyone on the road including us I would say. ha In the beginning Pat Mustard came to mind!!!!joke
    St. Vincent de PAul get any extra I have
    Fair Play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

c_man wrote: »
    I mean the guy down clearing the **** in sewers provides a vital service but I doubt many of you will be tracking him down to give him a score.

You could flush it down the jacks, he's probably get it then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

ScumLord wrote: »
    Another important point is that my local postman is ex foreign legion and also holds a black belt in some martial art (can't remember off the top of my head but there are stories of him escorting rowdy young lads out of the pub by they're little finger) the man is made out of awesome, bastard got enough as it is. If terrorists ever attack our town I expect he'll be the man to sort it all out.
    Didn't he used to be a cook on a ship and hang around with a stripper? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

I'm all for tipping binmen.

Last year as it was coming up to xmas and a particularly cold morning, I got up early and when i saw him at my bin I told him he should have gone to school and earned a proper education for himself. Then wouldn't have to be emptying other people's rubbish...Gotta love the way xmas brings out the best in all of us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Your postman probably out earns you and works fewer hours.

HA! I can confirm that this isn't true. My father retired from being a postman 3 years ago. He got up at 4 in the morning and didn't get home until around half 4 in the afternoon, he worked all the overtime he could to make ends meet.

And I can confirm that he does tip our postman because he knows what its like and knows he will appreciate the gesture. Its nice to be nice!

Merry Christmas everybody!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

If he's half as good as you're making him out to be, he'll probably decline the tip.

Why would declining the tip make him a good postman?

Would it not just make him a tad stupid?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

Your postman probably out earns you and works fewer hours.

Oh really?
    Yeah, so you'd rather trade in a desk job to be up at 5am, out in the freezing cold and rain and snow to deliver whatever crap you order, having every dog in the place chase you down while the owners goes "oh, isn't she cute, she'll do nothing to ya". Then after working 8 hours (at least 8, yes 8 hours... a full working day!), if you are lucky (and given the times, yes, you are lucky if there is any overtime!!!) if you get to go back in the afternoon or that night for overtime doing a collection or extra sorting or something and work anything up to another 8 hours just to make some sort of a decent wage. 4 hours sleep, rinse and repeat.

Get a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I'll tip the binmen when they start collecting the black bin more than once a month.

Stupid morons are always coming up with some stupid reason not to collect it, like the lid being open 1-2 inches (because they hadn't collected in in 3 weeks and it was very full), or the bin wasn't close enough to the path edge, or they couldn't read the bin label clearly....etc.