Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Tips

• 20-12-2010 12:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭

So the postman will get a 20 and so will the bin men. Everyone else can fook off there is a recession.

Who do you tip and how much ?

Who gives you a tip in your job and how much ?

Why do you tip the postman and the binman :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

[QUOTE=Ronin247;69651430]So the postman will get a 20 and so will the bin men. Everyone else can fook off there is a recession.[/QUOTE]

Nah. "They're lucky to have jobs.", etc.
    Why do you tip the postman and the binman :confused:

They always ring twice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Why do you tip the postman :confused:

Because, he's a fúcking good postman. Will drop my post off at my job all Summer long. He's never grumpy, always has a kind word and is mighty craic to boot. He's an asset to the community and if a waitress can score a twenty from people she will never see again i dont see why the man who's serving you all year cant be looked after.

No, you dont have to, and he probably wont expect it, but it's nice to be nice instead of being a moany hole all the time (not you, poeple in general ;))

AH answer: Post man gets a tip because he's a roide and maybe that will swing it in my favour

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 506 ✭✭✭common sense brigade

I tip my postman 20 Euro because he is very good and goes the extra mile and always leaves parcels in my shed for me as opposed to me having to go in and collect at sorting office. Also do the same for the Binmen as they have a hard job out in all weathers and often take away a bit extra than they should have to. Its simply manners that were instilled in me from my Grandmother. We didnt have much growing up, but we always gave something at Christmas to the Postman and Binman. I think the less people have the more they are inclined to give. Also donate to St Vincent De Paul every Christmas as they are wonderful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

What i do is, hang around the nearest petrol station on xmas eve and fill up old peoples cars for them. Theyre always generous with tips...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Postman goes out of his way when parcels etc come and no one home,he will bring it round to my dads house even if it is out of the way.One of the reasons I love living in Ireland.

If you seen the amount of sh*t I put in my bin, get on top and jump up and down to make more fit in and they always take it,even if I leave an extra bag on top.Binmen save me having to put a bin out every week.Saves 100+ per year well worth a 20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

he is very good and goes the extra mile and always leaves parcels in my shed

You must have a huge back garden.

bonerm wrote: »

Ba-dum-tish.

Actually I do, I have an acre of garden and woodland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

themadchef wrote: »
    Because, he's a fúcking good postman. Will drop my post off at my job all Summer long. He's never grumpy, always has a kind word and is mighty craic to boot. He's an asset to the community and if a waitress can score a twenty from people she will never see again i dont see why the man who's serving you all year cant be looked after.

No, you dont have to, and he probably wont expect it, but it's nice to be nice instead of being a moany hole all the time (not you, poeple in general ;))

AH answer: Post man gets a tip because he's a roide and maybe that will swing it in my favour

If you can afford to be lashing out 20 euro tips to people who are simply doing their job, good for you. Think you'll find the vast majority of folks are not in a position to be so generous.
    Ok if im out for a meal with a few people in a restaurant i'l gladly contribute a few euros to a tip. But thats as far as i go with the whole tipping thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

The bin men can fcuk off "im not taking that the lid is over an inch open" it's not the 80's anymore and I paid for my fcuking bins to be collected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭La Haine

Honestly haven't really got it this year - but without doubt I'll go without a couple of pints to slip my posty a few quid in a card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Dropping a score...no thanks! But I will be leaving a tin of roses out for them as a thank you! It also means they just may let ya away with the thing over flowing.

Sure I remember when the bin men used to call in for their crimbo prezys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Postwoman can piss off. She destroyed the gate at the front of our house last year with her van and crashed into the tractor in the yard another day. Old postman was a convicted pedo and the one in a neighboring parish is being investigated for robbing stuff from the post at the moment. As far as I know it's a substantial haul too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Postwoman can piss off. She destroyed the gate at the front of our house last year with her van and crashed into the tractor in the yard another day. Old postman was a convicted pedo and the one in a neighboring parish is being investigated for robbing stuff from the post at the moment. As far as I know it's a substantial haul too!

Where the fcuk do you live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ronin247 wrote: »
    Nobody and nuthin.
    I tip my postman 20 Euro because he is very good and goes the extra mile
    There is no extra mile to your house, if it's 30 miles to your house it's the postmans job to deliver that parcel 30 miles.

To be fair the postmen in Ireland are class, one turned up to my door after work in the evening because he couldn't get me during the day. It's he's own fault his a nice person I'm not going to pay him for it.

krudler wrote: »
    Where the fcuk do you live?

Kilkenny, I know some weird rant to have isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I tip my postman 20 Euro because he is very good and goes the extra mile.

If my postman went an extra mile beyond my house and dumped the post, the only tip he'd get would be the end of my boot up his arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Oh, people actually do this?! I always thought my parents were just a bit mental!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Novella wrote: »
    Oh, people actually do this?! I always thought my parents were just a bit mental!

My parents used to tip the bin men in the 80's and up until we had to start paying for them.I PAY for my bins to be collected and I wouldn't say 370 euro a year is cheap so I will not be tipping them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Kilkenny, I know some weird rant to have isn't it?

Sounds like some postman related sitcom, ring RTE, it could be the next Father Ted

There is no extra mile to your house, if it's 30 miles to your house it's the postmans job to deliver that parcel 30 miles.
    The extra mile is a figure of speech. I meant the postman leaves packages in the shed for us, when he does not have to do that. He is very nice and helpful all year around. Has often rang me and delivered packages to my work also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Me: "Hang on, I've a tip for you"
    PostWoman: "Oh really? Why thanks ver........."
    Me: "A stitch in time saves nine!"
    PostWoman: "Eh...............oh!"
    Me: "Right, now get off my property.............and stop bringing me bills, dammit!"

The extra mile is a figure of speech. I meant the postman leaves packages in the shed for us, when he does not have to do that. He is very nice and helpful all year around. Has often rang me and delivered packages to my work also.

Oh dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Ronin247 wrote: »
    So the postman will get a 20 and so will the bin men. Everyone else can fook off there is a recession.

Who gives you a tip in your job and how much ?

i will be giving a tip to the postman, we don't have a binman, and i dropped a tin of roses to staff in a retail shop that have been really good to me all year!

at the end of the day they are providing a service and last time i checked the service industry is usually tipped?

restaurants, hotels...etc

if you cannot afford to then fair enough, but i would rather be nice and it is Christmas!

and for the most part they really do appreciate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Your postman probably out earns you and works fewer hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Never seen our postman in five years - I get parcels delivered to work so I don't have to go the sorting office, so he can shag off.

Wouldn't tip binmen in a million years, paying 10.50 a go to empty the black bin and 5.25 for the brown one, that's 200 a year or more on getting the bins collected by the poor ol' binmen who are on a half day three days a week.

They can bugger off too.

Also
    BAH HUMBUG!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

This Thread reminds me of this :D

3 Dustbin Men, the driver and two other men, are going on their rounds asking for christmas bonuses which they do yearly.

They stop at the first house and one man runs in and a women gives him £5. They move on to another house and a bloke gives him £6.

They pull up to the next house and the man runs in knocks on the door and a women answers and says "oh yes..come upstairs with me"..without reply he goes up and she gives him a good shagging! Once they are finished she says now go and get your mate and tell him to come in for his 'bonus'. He goes out, tells his mate "go in get your bonus, she'll show you a bloody good time, one hell of a bonus!" He goes in, she shows him upstairs and true to her word he gets a good shagging.

When their finished she says "go and get your driver and send him in for his bonus", off he goes and says to the driver- "driver its your turn now, go on my son its one hell of a christmas bonus" so of he goes. He steps in the door very excited and instead of taking him upstairs she takes reaches for her purse and pulls out £5 and gives it to him. He says "what the hell is this, you give my two friends the time of their life and you give me this?!"

She turns round and explains "I had strict instructions from my husband, he said 'give a fiver to the driver and fcuk the other two!!!'"

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Your postman probably out earns you and works fewer hours.

that may be true but then i work indoors where it is nice and cosy, where the postman is out in whatever weather is thrown at them.

and its not about what they earn its the fact that a:it's christmas, and b:the postman( or binman if it applies in your case) provide us with a service!

a waiter could be earning more than you or working less hours than you but you would still tip them for bringing you your meal!

I'd tip them in the hope that they don't sneeze or spunk on my food if I plan to return. That's why.

You essentially tip them (postmen/bin men) for doing their job.
    Do you tip street cleaners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

There must be 400 houses in my estate. If the postie and binmen get a 10'er from at least HALF the houses then that's 2 GRAND. ...and that's just one estate.
    How much do you reckon they pocket each Christmas. Must be a tidy sum.

I'd tip them in the hope that they don't sneeze or spunk on my food if I plan to return. That's why.

how do you know your postman isn't sneezing or spunking on your mail?? :pac:

you are still tipping the waiter for doing their job too! it's their job to bring you your food, its the postmans job to bring you your mail....i fail to see the difference between the service aspects.

if the street cleaners cleaned my property then yeah i would! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭brennarr

I never see my postman or binman. How do ye guys tip them?

brennarr wrote: »
    I never see my postman or binman. How do ye guys tip them?

i call to their house knock a few times and leave a "please come to this address between 9am and 4pm to collect your tip" note! :pac:

i kid i kid

how do you know your postman isn't sneezing or spunking on your mail?? :pac:

you are still tipping the waiter for doing their job too! it's their job to bring you your food, its the postmans job to bring you your mail....i fail to see the difference between the service aspects.

if the street cleaners cleaned my property then yeah i would! :D

I tip them for the reasons I gave, not because they bring me my food.
    My postman probably is sneezing and spunking on my mail. He/they also never bother to make an attempt to deliver packages to me.

You might say this is because I don't tip them, well it isn't.
    I live in an apartment block, therefore I am anon to them and they make no effort because of it, that's the default.
    I wouldn't see them in order that we could strike up a relationship whereby I can bribe them to do their job.
    I also find the sorting/package holding offices pretty unhelpful.

The binman doesn't come into your apartment and empty the bins.
    The street cleaners may well clean outside your house/apartment.
    Chase them down and give them monies. :pac::P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...a waiter could be earning more than you or working less hours than you but you would still tip them for bringing you your meal!
    Aaa... no. Thats what they are paid in wages, to do!

I don't mind tipping those who go the extra mile occasionally but tipping the bin-men/postman/waiter/etc for doing their basic job every day is getting a bit much.
    On that applied further broad principle, every staff member then would (with every visit) have to be tipped, be it in a clothes shop, the local favourite chipper, the staff at Dunnes till counters and on and on... For aren't they just doing what they are being wage paid for too! ...But hell, lets tip them anyway!

Like I said, for those that go the EXTRA mile, no problem, they should be thanked occasionally, even in tips, but lets not run away with ourselves and start tipping folk that are just doing their basic job!
    Isn't that why part of the ordinary bill is such a charge, because their wages are also included in it?

Unless you tip up front or are a very regular customer of a place tipping after you've had your food in the hope they won't spit in your food is pointless.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Unless you tip up front or are a very regular customer of a place tipping after you've had your food in the hope they won't spit in your food is pointless.

I don't disagree. People tip upfront?

Biggins wrote: »
    On that principle, every staff member then would (with every visit) have to be tipped, be it the staff at Dunnes till counters and on and on...

eh nope!

i worked in dunnes they have a 'handy' "no handling cash on the shop floor" rule so you cannot accept tips!

i could have made a fortune but only for that rule! :(

The street cleaners may well clean outside your house/apartment.
    Chase them down and give them monies.

Damn you! :( the guilt of unfairly excluding them is now eating me alive!!! :(

now, how to find out if there is a street cleaner that works outside! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Tip the postman? The guy who's never bothered to bring a parcel? We've often caught him slipping the "collect your package at the depo" note and upon confronting him he'll come out with some bollocks like "no room in the van". In Galway that bloody depo is a bitch to get to if you don't have a car.

I don't get this argument of tipping a public service, I mean the guy down clearing the **** in sewers provides a vital service but I doubt many of you will be tracking him down to give him a score.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I don't tip at all.
    Now if the postman or binman was not being paid a salary and a guaranteed pension, maybe then I'd have a think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

As the Flutt might say, I'd give them the tip of my size 10 in the onion bag!:mad:

Its once a year. Its Christmas. For those who don't tip that's fine your entitled to not tip. For those of you who do, its a nice thing to do. It seems to me the people on here who do not tip, are implying that the rest of us are idiots. If it makes you feel better to think we are morons and throwing money away then good for you. I personally think displaying a little human kindness at Christmas time is nice. And before you all start jumping in with what about donating to charity. I donate to St.Vincent De Paul every year and always will do.I like my postman and bin men and want to tip them so I will. I will also tip the taximen i get over the Christmas period, and the waiter's and waitress'. I Work hard for my money and will spend it how I see fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i wont be tipping anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Biggins wrote: »
    Aaa... no. Thats what they are paid in wages, to do!

I don't mind tipping those who go the extra mile occasionally but tipping the bin-men/postman/waiter/etc for doing their basic job every day is getting a bit much.
    On that applied further broad principle, every staff member then would (with every visit) have to be tipped, be it in a clothes shop, the local favourite chipper, the staff at Dunnes till counters and on and on... For aren't they just doing what they are being wage paid for too! ...But hell, lets tip them anyway!

Like I said, for those that go the EXTRA mile, no problem, they should be thanked occasionally, even in tips, but lets not run away with ourselves and start tipping folk that are just doing their basic job!
    Isn't that why part of the ordinary bill is such a charge, because their wages are also included in it?

I agree. If a waiter goes above and beyond to make your dining experience a pleasure then it's right to tip him/her. It works both ways though. If the waiter is a miserable/incompetent/retarded/surly/ugly wanker then you should have the right to bate the head off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

We always leave €20 in an envelope for the bin men. They always come at around 8am, give or take 15 minutes, so at about 7.30am last year on the bin collection day before Christmas, my mam sellotaped the envelope to the back of the bin and put it against the wall so no one would see it while walking by (we live on a quiet country road anyway). When the binmen arrived, my mam ran out to make sure they got the envelope, and it was gone! Got in touch with some of the neighbours and the exact same thing happened. In the space of about half an hour, someone had pinched about 4 or 5 envelopes of cash from wheely bins! Bastids!

Another important point is that my local postman is ex foreign legion and also holds a black belt in some martial art (can't remember off the top of my head but there are stories of him escorting rowdy young lads out of the pub by they're little finger) the man is made out of awesome, bastard got enough as it is. If terrorists ever attack our town I expect he'll be the man to sort it all out.

We always leave €20 in an envelope for the bin men. They always come at around 8am, give or take 15 minutes, so at about 7.30am last year on the bin collection day before Christmas, my mam sellotaped the envelope to the back of the bin and put it against the wall so no one would see it while walking by (we live on a quiet country road anyway). When the binmen arrived, my mam ran out to make sure they got the envelope, and it was gone! Got in touch with some of the neighbours and the exact same thing happened. In the space of about half an hour, someone had pinched about 4 or 5 envelopes of cash from wheely bins! Bastids!

God that's shocking, where was this?

I sense handy money here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Id never eat out if i knew that someone had spunked into it

Pun intended :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

If he's half as good as you're making him out to be, he'll probably decline the tip.