EU ready to end drug prohibition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

why?
    Because the general public does not see drug use as a good thing, rightly so, and make their wishes known through the law and the guards. You drastically underestimate the "appetite for closure" that exists out there. If I need to explain the sequence of events thereafter I can only hope you haven't the money to invest in such a venture.

You need to talk to people on a level that makes sense. This is a picture that is a lot more understandable to most, then it becomes a question of the lesser of two evils really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Because the general public does not see drug use as a good thing, rightly so, and make their wishes known through the law and the guards. You drastically underestimate the "appetite for closure" that exists out there. If I need to explain the sequence of events thereafter I can only hope you haven't the money to invest in such a venture.

You need to talk to people on a level that makes sense. This is a picture that is a lot more understandable to most, then it becomes a question of the lesser of two evils really.

the photos of the coates brothers (the westies) would make great posters

"do you prefer people buying their drugs from these guys?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Elevator wrote: »
    surely the proprietor couldn't be expected to be checking what people are rolling up,
    I think they would, legally they're responsible for what happens on their premises and they have an obligation to not allow law breaking. I'm assuming that so I don't know for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

leave the smoke banned ,

ive got a tiler in the house at the moment who i can guess smokes and the dope addled dumbass is worse than useless.

I could fart the tiles on the wall and make it look better than this dude.

what is it with tilers ?

the last one was an alco of mega proportions ,

and this one is baked to the eye balls.

I think we need a tiler thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

hold on there a sec, can you not see due to drug probation scumbags like this can prosper and thrive in society

Auvers wrote: »
    hold on there a sec, can you not see due to drug probation scumbags like this can prosper and thrive in society
    Thats the point.

Auvers wrote: »

I think that was his point

we could use plenty of photos of those who have brought misery to Ireland with their criminal ways to keep control of their illegal drug trade

sense would prevail if the campaign was graphic enough!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

Thats the point.

sorry I misread your earlier post, had a Joe Duffy kneejerk there :)

alphabeat wrote: »
    leave the smoke banned ,

ive got a tiler in the house at the moment who i can guess smokes and the dope addled dumbass is worse than useless.

what is it with tilers ?

the last one was an alco of mega proportions ,

and this one is baked to the eye balls.

I think we need a tiler thread.

it's clear you need a new tiler that's for sure

not all stoners are bumbling idiots though and some would probably doa better job stoned as sober (taking serious pride in your work is the key)

the guy you have working for you at the moment is probably just a chancer who did a tiling course

it's clear you need a new tiler that's for sure

not all stoners are bumbling idiots though and some would probably doa better job stoned as sober (taking serious pride in your work is the key)

the guy you have working for you at the moment is probably just a chancer who did a tiling course
    It could also be what he's smoking that is causing that difference between obsessed stoner and good for nothing stoner.

Good quality weed gives you focus but poor quality soap does make you lazy in my experience.

roll on 2011

pun intended :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

In the wake of this report, the carry-on with the headshops earlier in the year and the potential for new business and economic stimulous, now could be the right time to start pushing this issue. Especially seeing as we have an election coming up and Ireland's whole political/economic/cultural position is constantly being debated at the moment.

Are there any other politicians with a strong pro-cannabis position, or cannabis advocates that might be interested in bringing this up in the next general election?

I see Amhrain Nua are open to it, I'm not sure what the position of the United Left Alliance is, and surely there are a few more cannabis advocate councilors like Luke "Ming" Flanagan around.

I'd really welcome a strong cannabis lobby in Ireland right now. It seems to be the right time.

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    In the wake of this report, the carry-on with the headshops earlier in the year and the potential for new business and economic stimulous, now could be the right time to start pushing this issue. Especially seeing as we have an election coming up and Ireland's whole political/economic/cultural position is constantly being debated at the moment.

What do we want? Ummmm
    When do we want it? Ahhhh

What do we want? I haven't heard any real proposals on how cannabis would be made legal and how it would be acquired and consumed.

Just demanding legalised weed won't get anyone anywhere, there needs to be a good plan put forward as to how it would be done to minimise any negatives.

If a good plan that would benefit everyone from the medical to the recreational user to the farmer looking for crop to the artist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

ScumLord wrote: »
    What do we want? Ummmm

What do we want? I haven't heard any real proposals on how cannabis would be made legal and how it would be acquired and consumed.

Just demanding legalised weed won't get anyone anywhere, there needs to be a good plan put forward as to how it would be done to minimise any negatives.

If a good plan that would benefit everyone from the medical to the recreational user to the farmer looking for crop to the artist.

I just want the right for everybody to be allowed to grow a plant or two, without fear of their door being caved in by a Garda battering ram.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

ScumLord wrote: »
    What do we want? Ummmm

Personally I'd like to a licensing system put into place, much like the medical marijuana system in California but with a view to recreational use instead of medical use.

For example: A personal license to grow up to four plants at a time for personal consumption. Such a license would come with a yearly license fee, and you'd be required to produce this license in order to purchase seeds and equipment. You could be vetted by the police in order to obtain this license.

There could also be a much more expensive commercial license, that would enable businesspeople to grow up to 100 plants in state-approved growing facilities. This could then be sold to the public in a limited quantity and taxed by the state.

Perhaps even a lesser license or "cannabis card" at a small cost for the casual user who would pay a small yearly fee to have this card renewed. He would then produce his car to purchase up to 25 grams or so of cannabis for personal use. This card may require approval or a reference from the gardai.

The key to this would be to keep the regulation cheap enough as to avoid creating a black market, but high enough to benefit the state through taxes and licensing fees.

you baked , Elevator ?

Morse code for "S"
    Smoking I bet. ;)

haha cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭seensensee

Well we need to update the big picture for the general public. It certainly is not beyond the realm of possibilities to produce some video evidence from European countries which have successfully decriminalised, you know, ordinary people having a relaxed and civilised time while imbibing, perhaps statements from some officials in cannabis friendly countries....

the edits above were made cos I don't think it should be public knowledge just yet,

and yes I am also stoned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Does Boards have a private stoner forum? If not, it needs one.

Sidenote: I love being so close to the Netherlands. Just got 3.5 grams of Purple Haze for 20 euro. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

The key to this would be to keep the regulation cheap enough as to avoid creating a black market, but high enough to benefit the state through taxes and licensing fees.

..and hence in this country would be doomed to certain failure.

TBH I don't see anything that "positive" in this report...it means that Netherlands and Portugal and the rest who have relaxed stances on drugs can carry on without fear of EU "federal" involvement in local law policy.
    I don't see it as a catalyst to undermine the drug policy of countries like Ireland or even a suggestion that decriminalisation or legalisation would be a good move for the EU as a whole. Not that prohibition has been any good for it up until now either mind...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭seensensee

then after that...well, we can but hope

....we can hope that we realise that real work is involved, commitment and sacrifice too ? :)

The whole project is worthy of being taken seriously enough to ensure that efforts are coordinated and supported. I would like to subscribe to a movement which relies on cash donations (much) for the purpose of dealing with the real world, you know, having the ability to pay for legal advice, court costs, premises... we can't expect Elevator to fund the 1st coffeeshop all by himself ect...

There are many examples where people spend €€€'s in large numbers just for a few hours of sport, music, recreation so WE must appeal to the cannabists to get the finger out and get real.

mikom wrote: »
    I just want the right for everybody to be allowed to grow a plant or two, without fear of their door being caved in by a Garda battering ram.
    You can do thins in a few countries Spain being one of them. Good for people willing to put in the time and effort but it won't stop[ black market sales if anything I'd say it would increase them. It would be good for the end user as it' may cause a drop in price if supply outstrips demand. I could see criminals just taking advantage by making a load of people grow it within the law and then hand it over to them when it's ready to be sold. While it's simple, straight forward and fair to real cannabis enthusiasts it's open to abuse which will be ammo for he anti drugs side, if it's the only option for getting cannabis legally, within a larger framework that allows people that don't have the means to grow their own to legally buy some it's fine.
    Personally I'd like to a licensing system put into place, much like the medical marijuana system in California but with a view to recreational use instead of medical use.

For example: A personal license to grow up to four plants at a time for personal consumption. Such a license would come with a yearly license fee, and you'd be required to produce this license in order to purchase seeds and equipment. You could be vetted by the police in order to obtain this license.
    A license fee would be music to the governments hears but it's a lot of work (work which we already know the government can't do very well) and people may not be too keen to put their names on a government database which means more policing, which I suppose is no worse than it is now. But needing a license to purchase equipment for growing isn't necessary as your talking about standard growing equipment.

I think the major problems with cannabis legalisation with regards to public opinion are focused on buying and selling more than anything. Producing cannabis isn't any more harmful than producing any other crop.

The other main concern will be people becoming dependant on it in seclusion, but people will still want to keep it out of the public eye.

It'll need to be a somewhat hidden social outlet for people, I think making it something that's easier to do in a social setting would be better for everyone involved, Ireland is already turning into a stay at home culture.

Membership clubs that must provide certain social activities on site like communal art centres where people can learn music for example, have things to do at the place so your not just sitting around getting stoned. Making it a membership club also keeps the tourism market low without making it impossible and keeps children out of the mix under a double restriction of not being old enough to buy or use legally and not being old enough to enter the club in the first place.

seensensee wrote: »
    Well we need to update the big picture for the general public. It certainly is not beyond the realm of possibilities to produce some video evidence from European countries which have successfully decriminalised, you know, ordinary people having a relaxed and civilised time while imbibing, perhaps statements from some officials in cannabis friendly countries....
    Sorry, just to clear up any confusion on this one, I'm not in favour of peddling drugs to anyone legally or otherwise, nor of trying to paint an idyllic picture of drug use of any sort. Quite the opposite, if legalisation were to take place it would have to be accompanied by a widespread public education program on the dangers of drug use, at a minimum.

I am a lot less in favour of handing millions or tens of millions of euros every year to organised crime to buy machine guns and armoured humvees though, spreading misery and terror on our streets.

so it's official then?

I'm opening smoker friendly cafe in Galway in 2011

ok, cool, we will have to fundraise a bit and find a suitable space in town I suppose

I can try run some gigs down here and call in the local bands for their support

sports days etc are original, maybe some tablequizes too? movie nights playing classics

any other ideas?

so it's official then?

I'm opening smoker friendly cafe in Galway in 2011

ok, cool, we will have to fundraise a bit and find a suitable space in town I suppose

I can try run some gigs down here and call in the local bands for their support

sports days etc are original, maybe some tablequizes too? movie nights playing classics

any other ideas?

Howard Marks was in the Roisin about a week or two ago, but will be due back in the new year.
    You could get him to cut the length of rips rolling paper ribbon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

alphabeat wrote: »

Which begs the question, why didn't you just do it yourself...