Wikileaks - Leaked report on Shannon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Wompa1 wrote: »
    So far the Wikileaks have been very boring....

Well Sarkozy physically attacking the Russian Foreign Minister kinda brings life to it! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Not to mention the revelations concerning the Russians and the manufactured war with Georgia and the possible collusion of Obama and Clinton in the overthrow of the Honduras government (thats kinda a big deal, impeachment big).

There is so much information contained in these leaks that its hard to even register the importance of each before another bombshell is dropped, keep them coming Wikileaks:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Not to mention the revelations concerning the Russians and the manufactured war with Georgia and the possible collusion of Obama and Clinton in the overthrow of the Honduras government (thats kinda a big deal, impeachment big).
    Name one US Presidency that was impeached for overthrowing or tampering with a foreign government. Honestly. One.

It's interesting, but it's not "Impeachment Big". I would think sampling and cataloging DNA from UN diplomats in New York and mining their passwords would be a much bigger concern even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Overheal wrote: »
    Name one US Presidency that was impeached for overthrowing or tampering with a foreign government. Honestly. One.

It's interesting, but it's not "Impeachment Big". I would think sampling and cataloging DNA from UN diplomats in New York and mining their passwords would be a much bigger concern even.
    You know I can't because the US people and government have a nasty long established habit of overlooking illegal activity just as long as it serves their own interests.
    If true it is "Impeachment Big" (I like your use of capitals by the way:rolleyes:) if the rule of law was properly applied and the US people and government stopped thinking of the world as their own personal sandbox in which they can crap wherever they like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

PeakOutput wrote: »
    well why would they pay anything extra unless we asked them to? they are just flights passing through so they pay the same prices as everyone else. i think it would reflect badly on goverment (and bear with me here as this is going to sound ridicolous given the current state of affairs) if they were to accept extra money for this type of thing, it would imply our morals / beliefs / goverment decisions can be bought
    Well yes - that's why I expected it to be something done in secret.

The thing is the use of Shannon as a military base for the war in iraq never did represent our morals or beliefs. The majority of Irish people have been opposed to it all along.

Therefore I thought there must be more to it - ie: that we were getting some sort of bigger pay-off for it behind the scenes.

But this report seems like something that would detail that, if it were the case - and it doesn't. Hence my surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Also, Amazon have pulled the plug on their hosting of the main WikiLeaks website (which was through a datacenter here in Ireland I believe).

Quite a lot of people are calling for a boycott of Amazon over this; I won't be buying from them myself for the forseeable future (if ever again).
    Pretty bad time for them to pull a shít move like this too, coming up to Christmas.

You know I can't because the US people and government have a nasty long established habit of overlooking illegal activity just as long as it serves their own interests.
    Was it actually illegal? You would have to fill me in on how exactly they overthrew the government. Black Ops and Assassinations are one thing, giving support to an opposition party is another. The form of support is also important to note.

From what I can gather briefly, the US didn't give them money. didn't give them weapons, didn't assassinate or kidnap anybody, didn't step in. In fact where Honduras is concerned we didn't do anything. As the Cable in question points out in summary, the coup was illegal yet the constitution of Honduras did not appear to be equipped for impeaching the executive branch in a legal faction. Short version: Honduras was FUBAR either way: read the cable for specifics.

Eventually Hillary Clinton resigned to acknowledging the results of the subsequent elections, after the coup. Hardly Watergate or the Pentagon Papers.

Also, Amazon have pulled the plug on their hosting of the main WikiLeaks website (which was through a datacenter here in Ireland I believe).

Quite a lot of people are calling for a boycott of Amazon over this; I won't be buying from them myself for the forseeable future (if ever again).
    Pretty bad time for them to pull a shít move like this too, coming up to Christmas.
    Wikileaks isn't going to go down because amazon steps out. But Amazon is a US Based company and it does have to worry about being shut down itself, especially as you say, in the short term leading through christmas. Being offline for the most important parts of Q4 and Q1 would pretty much be the end of them: they rely on the revenue from the holidays to live.

in the longer term, Wikileaks could become bulletproof thanks to recent developments in the battle against Internet Piracy: ICANN is the organisation responsible for handling DNS domains (.org, .com, .ie, etc.) and they are part of the US Department of Commerce...

http://gizmodo.com/5702432/bittorrent+based-domains-could-make-sites-invincible-against-government-seizure

anywho, they've been shutting down the domain names of a laundry list of torrent sites lately and in response, Pirate Codemasters are going to try to implement a new Domain system based on BitTorrent protocol itself, which would make the websites effectively decentralized. You would have to imagine that instead of downloading a thread in After hours off of the main boards.ie server to read it, you'd download it from someone else in the bittorrent swarm*. I suppose the web address themselves would work like Trackers.

tl;dr - boycotting Amazon is silly, they have too much to lose and Wikileaks won't die from their absence.

*probably wouldn't work for a message-board site, but great for something Read-Only like Wikileaks, torrent indexes, etc.

Ya I've been keeping an eye on the DNS seizure thing myself; unfortunately the P2P DNS type thing has been tried before, and didn't work out too well due to the architecture of how DNS updating works.

I believe the total (uncompressed) size of the full DNS listings might consist of tens or hundreds of terabytes of data (can't find any official figures but it's what I estimate based on domain counts), so any P2P system is going to have large issues when it comes to responsiveness (DNS resolving needs to be very fast), in addition to architectural issues.

The issue with the Amazon pulling of the WikiLeaks domain, is that they didn't even give a hint of resistance to that, it was completely voluntary; there is no chance in hell that the US would shut down Amazon, even for a temporary period, because the ****storm they'd have to endure because of that alone would likely dwarf anything caused by WikiLeaks so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭SamHarris

Wompa1 wrote: »
    So far the Wikileaks have been very boring. It's like Reading my work e-mails for feck sake. It's a professional narrative tone the whole way not one reference to our pixie heads or ugly children...come on! Everything is so PC tell us what you really think!

Yeah, I was hoping Hillary would be requesting an invite to one of SIlvio's bunga bunga parties.

Basically this document shows the US was interested in keeping Shannon open for its troops, and talked with the Irish government to try and ensure it. Wow.

I'm starting to get a little bored of this drip drip, no real news stuff. If they got something big, hit us with it. The news cycle is ticking.

Doubt it will matter to Amazon much; the people of the US were ambiguous over the last 2 releases (sometihng like 60% tought it was a good thing) but this time, most see it as just damaging to US interests, without contributing to public discourse (75% see it as a bad thing, last I checked, and that was on a CNN poll).

Amazon, and any major company for that matter will care a hell of a lot more what the majority of Americans think of thier actions than what the Europeans think, and thats assuming most europeans will even give a sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

So the interesting bit I got from that.
    - Irish Government were somewhat scared of public viewpoint.
    - They did try to restrict in some cases items used for War which the US didn't like.
    - The US was pissed about the outcome of the trial of the Shannon 5, and thought to make the Irish taxpayers foot the bill because they didn't win the case.
    - Seems to hint at weapons from Russia to Venezuela sent via Ireland? (doesn't say what)

Hobbes wrote: »
    So the interesting bit I got from that.
    - Irish Government were somewhat scared of public viewpoint.
    - They did try to restrict in some cases items used for War which the US didn't like.
    - The US was pissed about the outcome of the trial of the Shannon 5, and thought to make the taxpayers foot the bill because they didn't win the case.
    - Seems to hint at weapons from Russia to Venezuela sent via Ireland? (doesn't say what)

Better way to put it is they considered civil litagation against the Shanonn five, but didnt bother.

Also interesting, it mentions that this is one of the only tangible benefits for the US in its good relations with Ireland. Eep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

PeakOutput wrote: »
    extraordinary rendition is the extrajudicial transfer of a person from one nation to another.

there is nothing in that document which suggests it was happening at shannon, just because they were talking about prisoners does not mean it was extraordinary rendition.

im not saying it definitely didnt happen im just saying that this secret document does not refer to it at all and that from that document it appears we were told exactly what was happening after all, now if another document shows up that says they were illegally kidnapping terrorists and illegally transporting them to countries that use torture through shannon then fair enough

The document would indicate that prisoners went through there, as highlighted previously. Planes involved in rendition undeniably did.
    In the cases of four men, Abu Omar, Khaled al Maqtari, Khaled el Masri and Binyam Mohamed CIA agents used Shannon Airport as a launching pad for rendition ...
    http://www.amnesty.ie/our-work/end-use-shannon-torture-flight

EU: The European Parliament is expected to censure the Government strongly for allegedly failing to respond adequately to the rendition of terrorist suspects by the CIA. The Government rejects a report from the parliament as "political point scoring".
    The parliament will also urge the Government to set up a parliamentary inquiry to investigate the use of Irish airports by the CIA as part of its rendition circuit in a final report due to be published next month.
    MEPs investigating the illegal transfer and detention of suspects by the CIA in Europe, voted yesterday to strengthen the draft report's criticism of the Government, and specifically, the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Dermot Ahern. The report now notes that Mr Ahern "failed to answer all the questions in relation to the concerns that Irish airports may have been used by CIA aircraft travelling to or from extraordinary rendition".
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/world/2007/0124/1169426831962.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Since this little nation has already abdicated it's sovereignty to the ECB/IMF, I couldn't care less about the Shannon stop over issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Nodin wrote: »
    The document would indicate that prisoners went through there, as highlighted previously. Planes involved in rendition undeniably did.

There's a difference between prisoner transfer and extraordinary rendition.

A lot of good stuff mentioned on WikiLeaks from here, as well as brief mention in support of an Amazon boycott at the end:
    http://www.salon.com/news/opinion/glenn_greenwald/2010/12/01/lieberman/index.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

Since this little nation has already abdicated it's sovereignty to the ECB/IMF, I couldn't care less about the Shannon stop over issue.

Did you before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Here's an example of the type of "prisoner transfers"
    that (according to amnesty international) Ireland has been facilitating through Shannon Airport.

likewise, the german government have been coerced to sweeping this case under the rug for unspecified "diplomatic benifets".

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Nope. Ye wouldn't think a relatively inexperienced young fella would be allowed near the like of it in such a way.

Inexperience has very little to do with it. It doesn't take much experience to know that downloading and distributing classified materials is going to land you in jail. He obviously knew it, hence the Lady GaGa CD subterfuge.

It's the old problem of security vs usefulness. Information is useless unless it gets to the people who need to know it., which means it needs to be accessible. The problem is that the more people who have access, the less secure it's going to be. The 'opening up' of the information from the various departments was a result of 9/11, when it was determined after the fact that the US had all the information, just the people who needed to know it to put the facts together didn't have access due to security policies.
    The only thing that surprises me is how little money we've been getting for it. I thought there would have been a substantial payment somewhere. From what this says, the only money coming to us normal revenue from services.

I guess you could get some relative good-will from the US in future dealings, but ultimately, Shannon's running a business, and the charter airlines are using it for the business benefits. Note that two of the carriers moved to Leipzig for cost reasons, you want to add more cost on top of what Shannon already charge?
    it looks like there was 'Don't tell, don't ask' going on with regards to that same issue
    Would the phrasing 'transitioning renditioned prisoners' meet with your approval

You're misreading it. The "Failure" (Ref B) was of a normal military prisoner transfer, not an 'extraordinary rendition'. The reason it's in quotes is that there was a perception of it having been a civil prisoner which should have been notified. What had happened, if you don't recall, was a cleaning crew went onto the airplane, saw a man in shackles, went breathlessly to the media it was reported nationally as a case of extraordinary rendition passing through Shannon. It was actually a serviceman who was being sent to the US after breaking military law.
    Planes involved in rendition undeniably did.

If there was nobody and nothing undeclared and unlawful at the time the aircraft was in Shannon, there's not much to complain about.
    If I might make an analogy, a known bank robber drives up to a Garda checkpoint. The Garda knows who he is, but he's got a good driver's license, the car has its tax, insurance and NCT disks, and there's no shotgun in the back seat. The Garda must let him on his way.
    there is no chance in hell that the US would shut down Amazon, even for a temporary period, because the ****storm they'd have to endure because of that alone would likely dwarf anything caused by WikiLeaks so far.

Oh, they'd do it, even if only pour encourager les autres.

Could be most anything. The Venezuelans have gone on a massive arms shopping spree from the Russians in the last couple of years, if it'll fit in an airplane, it may have gone through Shannon. Ever since the Cold War kicked off, Shannon has been 'transit central' for military shipments going from North America to Europe, and Russia to Latin America, the current situation is simply a continuation of very long-standing policy. Some things may not be transitted through Shannon, some may with notification and approval, and some don't need notification. As long as Ireland continues to apply the same rules for everyone, it's business as usual. The US mention of Venezuela is a concern that Ireland may not be acting in a neutral/even-handed manner, and may be stricter on the US than Russia.

NTM

Inexperience has very little to do with it. It doesn't take much experience to know that downloading and distributing classified materials is going to land you in jail. He obviously knew it, hence the Lady GaGa CD subterfuge.

Thats not what I'm getting at. He's a fresh faced lad with access to reams of sensitive data. One would have thought access would be limited to a more seasoned, more vetted person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

Thats not what I'm getting at. He's a fresh faced lad with access to reams of sensitive data. One would have thought access would be limited to a more seasoned, more vetted person.

I wonder could Obama pardon him? Would be great to see considering some of the outright criminals Bush pardoned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

karma_ wrote: »
    I wonder could Obama pardon him? Would be great to see considering some of the outright criminals Bush pardoned.

I doubt he'd be intrested. the Obama admin have been more secretive, in some cases worse than the Bush admin. For exmple they have done little to reverse the so called 'patriot act' with regards wiretapping and monitoring their own citizens and broad, descretionary powers given to the office of president.

Republicians/Democrats are the same as FF/FG. they are supposed to be in opposition, but are both on the payroll of the same intrest groups. even this cable refers to FG as being in favour of continued use of Shannon and there being nothing to worry about during the 2007 election.

Spacedog wrote: »
    I doubt he'd be intrested. the Obama admin have been more secretive, in some cases worse than the Bush admin. For exmple they have done little to reverse the so called 'patriot act' with regards wiretapping and monitoring their own citizens and broad, descretionary powers given to the office of president.

Republicians/Democrats are the same as FF/FG. they are supposed to be in opposition, but are both on the payroll of the same intrest groups. even this cable refers to FG as being in favour of continued use of Shannon and there being nothing to worry about during the 2007 election.

I agree, but just FYI alot of the Patriot act has been repealed by the supreme court.

Only interesting thing today/ thing that could cause embarrasment is http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2010/dec/02/wikileaks-cables-afghan-british-military

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I doubt he'd be intrested. the Obama admin have been more secretive, in some cases worse than the Bush admin.

He's not going to be interested, simply because it was a blatant security violation. An open-and-shut case of criminality if ever there was one.

NTM

I wonder could Obama pardon him? .

Could, maybe. Would - nope. While Obama might sell a nicer brand of ice cream, he's still an ice cream salesman at the end of the day. Hes going down for a long time. Maybe in 20 or 30 years somebody might take pity on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Why, oh why, would he pardon him?

He's going down for a long time and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Banji wrote: »
    Why are they called cables?
    Originally from them being transmitted by wire, way back when. The name stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭zeris

orourkeda wrote: »
    Was Julian Assange a hacker at one point in his life.

Assange is technically adept. He has submitted code to various open source projects.

He did research for the book Underground and it is widely reported that he is the person known as Mendax from the book.

However, Wikileaks is given its data.