If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Freemasons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Absolam wrote: »
    Actually, in the interests of specificity I should say that the Masonic Order will only admit as a member a man who expresses a belief in a supreme being.

I'll take that as a yes again so.

I did answer the point above, but I take it from your quote that you're inferring that Masonic references to the building of Solomons Temple refer to his building of a 'high place for Chemosh'. This is not the case, the chapters relevant to Masonry are in 1 Kings 5 to 7, dealing with the building of the first Temple.

A good preamble to the story of Solomon. By no means the whole story. Are Solomon's wisdoms used as a moralistic guide or in more of a spiritual way.
    Is it that '' through masonry one can chisel away layers of oneself, similar to how one creates a beautiful statue out of rough stone'' Some kind of religious self improvement course?
    If you do choose to take a tour of Freemasons Hall in Molesworth St,

I genuinely thank you for the offer. I've been to two other lodges (work related). Not as grand a place as yours.

And yet the majority of Christians would not think of Solomon as an idolator, they would think of him as a wise temple builder. None of which has anything to do with Freemasonry, other than that the original Freemasons would have been aware of his most well known activities (building the Temple) and found him a useful example for illustrating a lesson.

His life is frequently the subject of debate. What lesson do you take from Solomon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

Well, there is nothing secret about Freemasonry; wander up to Molesworth Street and take a tour. Are there secrets in Freemasonry? Yes. If you want to know what they are (rather than think you know what they are) then become a Freemason. Them being secrets, we're hardly going to tell you what they are just because you say on the internet you're suspicious and interested. If you're really that interested, you can join and find out, if you're not then it won't bother you too much.

Ok surely you can see the contradiction in the above statement and you don’t need me to point it out to you it is so blaringly obvious. There are secrets in Freemasonry. Lots of secrecy shsssssh dont tell anyone.
    As I previously posted I've never heard of 'an oath of the hood'. Even so, if you are generously disturbed, whose concern is that?

I dont believe you no offence thats just my opinion now you can make of that what you will.
    Hmmm. Not sure if it's normal for a bowling club, since I'm not a member of one :). But by your argument, the people who would have questions and might be suspicious are the ones who've been asked to take an oath such as you've described. Because anyone who hasn't taken an oath like that doesn't actually know about it do they?

Sorry come again?
    Feel free. I'm not 'within the hood', have no knowledge of such an organisation, nor of their structures. If they're anything like your local bowling club, they sound pretty strange though :D

When I type hood it is short for the “brotherhood” save me typing brother and masons all the time does that mean you are not a member of the hood sorry freemasons then?

• Site Banned Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭Brown Bomber

So...

secretive
    exclusive
    occult rituals
    rooted in kaballah
    Masonic symbology everywhere.
    Italian linked lodges planting bombs in the 80's
    at least thousands of members worldwide - massive scope for courruption at local, national and international level.
    World leaders and those who have influenced them have been among its members for centuries.
    From the 18C at least they seem to be there or there abouts everytime a government/monarchy is overthrown.

Just like AA or a tiddlywinks club.

Lets face it, you'se are more suspicious than Al-Qaeda. Actually now that I think of it they're a great building family, the bin Ladens. Maybe you should honour them with a tomb or handshake or something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Di0genes

So...

secretive

Yeah so secretive we have at least three masons on this thread.
    exclusive

We've clearly seen how open the membership process is here.
    occult rituals
    rooted in kaballah

Source?
    Masonic symbology everywhere.

So?

We're told we need to let go of Sinn Fein's past in the 1970s and 1980. Why should the handful of members allegedly involvement in bombings taint the entire movement?
    at least thousands of members worldwide - massive scope for courruption at local, national and international level.

Do you have any evidence that this "courruption" has taken place?
    World leaders and those who have influenced them have been among its members for centuries.
    From the 18C at least they seem to be there or there abouts everytime a government/monarchy is overthrown.

Sources Please.
    Just like AA or a tiddlywinks club.

Lets face it, you'se are more suspicious than Al-Qaeda.[/n] Actually now that I think of it they're a great building family, the bin Ladens. Maybe you should honour them with a tomb or handshake or something.

Have the freemasons conspired to murder tens of thousands of people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Just want to take the opportunity to thank Absolam for giving us all an insight in to Freemasonry.

I'm not a Freemason but I am aware of some of the good works which the Freemasons have done (charitable work and the like).

I do know two Freemason from my business life and more ordinary fellas you could not wish to meet/know.

I suppose any secret society will naturally draw some suspicion but that is only to be expected I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,913 ✭✭✭Absolam

squod wrote: »
    I'll take that as a yes again so.
    I think we would consider it one of our positive aspects :)
    A good preamble to the story of Solomon. By no means the whole story. Are Solomon's wisdoms used as a moralistic guide or in more of a spiritual way.Is it that '' through masonry one can chisel away layers of oneself, similar to how one creates a beautiful statue out of rough stone'' Some kind of religious self improvement course?
    Actually, neither; as I was trying to say this part of the story of Solomon is only a backdrop to the masonic lesson, so 'Solomons wisdoms' are not offered as either moral or spiritual guidance, more as 'local colour' if you like. Masonry is absolutely not a religious self improvement course; Masonry in itself is not religious is any sense, although its' members may be.
    His life is frequently the subject of debate. What lesson do you take from Solomon?
    Personally I take no lesson from Solomon, although I'd have a passing interest in how the myth is presented from Judaism to Christianity to Islam, and how a character may be represented to suit the differing needs of varying faiths.
    WakeUp wrote: »
    Ok surely you can see the contradiction in the above statement and you don’t need me to point it out to you it is so blaringly obvious. There are secrets in Freemasonry. Lots of secrecy shsssssh dont tell anyone.
    There are government secrets, and yet the government is not secret. Businesses have secrets, but they are not secret businesses. And Freemasonry has secrets, but is not a secret society.
    I dont believe you no offence thats just my opinion now you can make of that what you will.
    I've no need to lie about it; I'm openly a Freemason both online and in the 'real world' and have no problem talking to people about it; I'm happy to help inform people about the Order, and if I don't want to tell you something I'll say it straight out.

Sorry come again?
    My point being that the only people who are 'suspicious' of what a Masonic oath may contain are those who think they know what's in it, but have never taken such an oath. If they're not going to take the oath, it's a purposeless suspicioun, if they do take the oath, they'll discover they don't have anything to be suspicious of.
    When I type hood it is short for the “brotherhood” save me typing brother and masons all the time does that mean you are not a member of the hood sorry freemasons then?
    I am a member of the Freemasons. I am not a member of the hood. When you type hood it means nothing to me; it is not in any way descriptive of the organisation I'm a member of.
    secretive
    No, with secrets yes. I hope I've made the distinction clear above.
    exclusive
    Yes like any private club, we have the right to exclude people from membership at our discretion. I don't see anything wrong with that.
    occult rituals
    No. Rituals, yes.
    rooted in kaballah
    No. Rooted in Christianity, probably to a large degree, more as a result of where and when the Order originated than any religious perspective.
    Masonic symbology everywhere
    Well, in lots of places. We've been around for a while.
    Discussed to death in other threads but in short, no Masonic Lodge has planted a bomb anywhere.
    at least thousands of members worldwide - massive scope for courruption at local, national and international level
    Like the Rotary, the Lions, the Red Cross, the Samaritans, and any other international organisation. Scope is not activity.
    World leaders and those who have influenced them have been among its members for centuries
    As above.
    From the 18C at least they seem to be there or there abouts everytime a government/monarchy is overthrown
    So was the Christian Church, but it doesn't mean they were responsible.
    Just like AA or a tiddlywinks club
    I hope not.
    Lets face it, you'se are more suspicious than Al-Qaeda. Actually now that I think of it they're a great building family, the bin Ladens. Maybe you should honour them with a tomb or handshake or something
    That's just childish polemic. Try putting forward a reasoned point instead?

I think we would consider it one of our positive aspects :)
    Actually, neither; as I was trying to say this part of the story of Solomon is only a backdrop to the masonic lesson,

I see, a masonic lesson then? Tell me is there an altar in the lodge? What's the purpose and the purpose of the good works I hear of, salvation through these good works perhaps?

Personally I take no lesson from Solomon, although I'd have a passing interest in how the myth is presented from Judaism to Christianity to Islam, and how a character may be represented to suit the differing needs of varying faiths.

Odd, to me, if that is the case. A religious figure with so much connection to this fraternity. Yet you learn no lesson from him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Im curious as to how many of our current government would be masons!?

I see, a masonic lesson then? Tell me is there an altar in the lodge? What's the purpose and the purpose of the good works I hear of, salvation through these good works perhaps?
    Yes, as I said, a Masonic lesson.
    There is an altar in every Irish Masonic lodge, although the term altar is used figuratively as it serves no religous purpose; it is an elevated place for the display of Masonic symbols. And with that I'm sure I've opened up a whole slew of questions!
    Salvation through good works is a religious concept; Freemasonry is not a religion and does not preach any road to salvation, or concept of salvation. Good works are good in themselves, why would they need any other purpose?
    Odd, to me, if that is the case. A religious figure with so much connection to this fraternity. Yet you learn no lesson from him.
    Actually, you're the one saying that Solomon has so much connection to the fraternity, I only said that a part of his story is a backdrop to a Masonic lesson. And for Freemasons who are not Jewish, Christian or Muslim, Solomon is no more than a character in a story, so they're not likely to learn any lessons from him.
    maxxie wrote: »
    Im curious as to how many of our current government would be masons!?
    I doubt anyone knows. The Order does not categorise members by occupation, and a junior Minister from one part of the country would not neccasarily know that a backbencher from another part of the country is a fellow Mason. And since Masons are forbidden to discuss politics in their Lodge, there wouldn't be a lot of information floating around...

There is an altar in every Irish Masonic lodge, although the term altar is used figuratively as it serves no religous purpose; it is an elevated place for the display of Masonic symbols.

I'd use a shelf not an altar.
    Salvation through good works is a religious concept; Freemasonry is not a religion and does not preach any road to salvation, or concept of salvation. Good works are good in themselves, why would they need any other purpose?

As you say it's an order. A non religious order by your account. Organising good works within an order. I don't get it, I certainly don't need to join a fraternity to do good.
    And with that I'm sure I've opened up a whole slew of questions!

Dunno about that. Why would I believe these answers if indeed you are under oath to................ who are you under oath to?

I'd use a shelf not an altar.
    You're not a Freemason though.
    As you say it's an order. A non religious order by your account. Organising good works within an order. I don't get it, I certainly don't need to join a fraternity to do good.
    You don't get that a secular order would do good works? It's hardly the sole province of religious orders surely? I'm sure most people don't need to join a fraternity to do good, but it doesn't mean no one should.
    Dunno about that. Why would I believe these answers if indeed you are under oath to................ who are you under oath to?
    Why would I be under oath to anyone? Have you never made a promise to yourself?

Have you never made a promise to yourself?

Yes. But I've never sworn an oath.......... does your Bible make an appearance during these oath takings?
    oath solemn appeal to God as a witness OE.; trivial use of sacred names XII. OE. āð = OS. ēth (Du. eed), (O)HG. eid, ON. eiðr, Goth. aiþs :- Gmc. *aiþaz; cf. OIr. ōeth.

QUOTE=Di0genes;69099101]Yeah so secretive we have at least three masons on this thread. [/QUOTE]

How are you so sure? I'm aware there is a semantic difference between a secret and secretive but the masons seem tohave a lot of sworn to secrets making them secretive.

Di0genes wrote: »
    We've clearly seen how open the membership process is here.

"We've"? Are you a mason? And if not why aren't you as sceptical of their unsupported claims as you are of all CT's?

We''ve also seen how they illegally check criminal records of applicants.

Source? [/QUOTE]
    russel_boedeker.gif
    Russell R. Boedeker, 32° K.C.C.H., Portland Valley, Oregon and a member of Beaverton Masonic Lodge #100. Russell is an instructor in the Portland Scottish Rite University and has developed and taught classes from the 1st through 8th and the 31st degree. His Masonic specialty and interest is in the field of esoteric symbolism.
    n the 4th degree we are introduced to the Kabbalah[8] and the tree of life. Most students of the Kabbalah would recognize it as deriving from Jewish mysticism. However, there is also a Hermetic Kabbalah which is strongly connected to alchemy. Manley P. Hall states that the theories of the Kabbalah are inextricably interwoven with the tenets of alchemy, Hermeticism, Rosicruciansim and Freemasonry[9]. During the period of the open minded Renaissance Hermeticism and the Kabbalah became increasingly intertwined. However, much of today’s Hermitic Kabbalah was made popular during the late 19th and early 20th century by the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn. The many aspects of Hermetic Kabbalah are too detailed for the scope of this paper, so a short outline will be given. In Judaic Kabbalah, the 10 Sephiroth are understood to describe the 10 attributes of the Deity. In Hermetic Kabbalah the 10 Sephiroth also pertain to the attributes of Deity, but they utilize different symbols to describe them. The Hermetic system relates the 22 paths between the sephira to the 22 Hebrew letters, a color, a musical note (vibration), an odor and a Tarot card[10]. The Golden Dawn Hermetic system assigns astrological signs in the form of planets and specific meanings to each of the Sephiroth on the “body”. The concept of the Tree of Life is long rooted in Alchemy; an early Alchemistical tree of life is shown in Figure 1.

http://www.freemasons-freemasonry.com/alchemy_freemasonry.html
    We're told we need to let go of Sinn Fein's past in the 1970s and 1980. Why should the handful of members allegedly involvement in bombings taint the entire movement?

Yeah what's a few terrorist attacks between brothers?

Do you have any evidence that this "courruption" has taken place?

Allegedly the dunblane massacre was a masonic coverup.

Sources Please.

Are you being difficult intentionally or do you genuinely not know any of this?

From the grand lodge of British Columbia and Yukon:
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, Sans]While it is both simplistic and specious to lay the responsibility for the French Revolution at the door of Freemasonry, there is no question that freemasons, as individuals, were active in building, and rebuilding, a new society. Considering the large number of bodies claiming masonic authority,[FONT=Palatino, Times, Serif]1[/FONT].
    http://www.freemasonry.bcy.ca/texts/revolution.html
    [/FONT]

American Revolution
    http://books.google.se/books?id=gJSqvXNX5awC&printsec=frontcover&dq=American+revolution+freemasonry&source=bl&ots=Xm1Eg3Zsc5&sig=nd99HJ3vloBPWP5v_vmf0RXdsoQ&hl=sv&ei=1sPmTKmlF4zqOb2HlM0K&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=7&ved=0CFIQ6AEwBg#v=onepage&q&f=false

The Masonic Ritual Murder of Czar Nicholas II
    http://www.scribd.com/doc/36468047/Scarlet-and-the-Beast-20-The-Masonic-Ritual-Murder-of-Czar-Nicholas-II

second_veil.jpg

Trotsky

coodex_32.jpg

Lenin

trotsky_lenin.jpg

Have the freemasons conspired to murder tens of thousands of people?

Well considering freemasons were behind the assasination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand and therefore for the first World War I would yes and countless others.

1jm0.jpg

Pg 429 & 430 here: http://www.scribd.com/doc/13014581/2...John-Daniel-06

How are you so sure? I'm aware there is a semantic difference between a secret and secretive but the masons seem to have a lot of sworn to secrets making them secretive.

Presume this is to keep their ''craft'', guile or ruse going. Makes it difficult to examine the order properly by outsiders or independent third parties (where disputes arise).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

second_veil.jpg

Napoleon Bonaparte

napoleon_bonaparte_3.jpg
    From his accession into the imperial purple, Napoleon Bonaparte was always proclaimed and considered to be a genuine Freemason in his lifetime, as where his father, his brothers and his Marshals. In his book The Freemasonry of Bonaparte, Francois Collavery showed the continual role of Lodges in the diffusion of the great ideals of the French Revolution across Europe "I am a man of the Revolution" Emperor Bonaparte had declared. In 1986 the same author had assembled all of the proofs to Napoleon personally belonging to the Masonic Order in a second volume: Napoleon, Emperor, Freemason.

All of the documents with the very important witness of the archieves of the Grand Orient of France affirm that the Initiation of Napoleon Bonaparte took place in Egypt. To those we can add the documentation published by us in Number 1 of the magazine L'Initiation in 1979, an article which included the recall of a letter by Grand Master Constant Chevellion, dated November 10th 1934, confirming to Grand Master Fletcher of the USA that Napoleon Bonaparte had been received as a Mason in Cairo, which brought together Masonic members of the mission to Egypt and that Kleber presided, a Lodge carrying the name Isis. These where the Masons along with their successors who thereafter formally constituted the Rite of Memphis at Montauban in 1815.

http://lodgenapoleon.blogspot.com/2009/04/napoleon-bonaparte-freemason.html

Presume this is to keep their ''craft'', guile or ruse going. Makes it difficult to examine the order properly by outsiders or independent third parties (where disputes arise).

Yeah, thing is I just don't get the "why are you suspicious of my secret society?" attitude. Not that I think that the posters here who claim to be freemasons are hell bent on world domination, into black magic or ritually murdering kids or anything but I wouldn't be surprised if they got off a speeding ticket, or got a promotion/job/contract or planning permission or something like that. Not going to lose any sleep over that, gets a bit worse if it was mason civil servants handing out taxpayers money to fellow initiates through the granting of government contracts or whatever.

On the rituals/Oaths

0bbbb40.jpg
    In interviews two former members have described the oaths they took. They were taken to a compound, a Villa hidden in the Apennines in the region of Tuscany. A 12-foot wall seals the neatly manicured grounds from view. In the centre of the main courtyard stands a fountain shaped like a tree trunk. The cobra-like sculpture, with its inflated hood, watches over the compound in a protective posture, as if ready to strike. The cobra's head is twice the size of a human skull. It has a single eye, which is blue during daylight and red after nightfall, for inside the cobra's hood and behind its eye there is a closed-circuit camera that follows a visitor, invited or unwelcome, as the fountain rotates in the direction the intruder moves. The fountain-camera is controlled from a room within the villa where eight monitors, each with five stations, cover eight guest rooms, patio, pool, dining room, sitting room, and party room. Approximately ten cameras, including the one inside the cobra, have infrared lenses. All of the exterior cameras are camouflaged by the landscaping. The Villa's interior is magnificent. Every room has marble floors and is furnished with antiques. Observing the high ceilings, the finely crafted gold-leaf moldings, the portraits of Mussolini, Hitler, and Peron, the visitor experiences a feeling, a sort of living, breathing odor of danger and power that penetrates the soul and cell by cell contaminates the mind with fear. The year is 1964.64

One of the shocking secret rites taking place in the P-2 Lodge, as printed in the Italian press
    In this lodge were conducted hair-raising rituals:

In the meeting room, twelve members of P-2, dressed in satin ceremonial robes and wearing black hoods reminiscent of those worn by members of the Ku Klux Klan, sit in leather chairs at a red marble conference table. They are the elite members of the Wolf Pack, Gelli's disciples -- some say his execution squad. None of the black-clad disciples knows the identity of any of his eleven brothers. Grand Master Licio Gelli is the only one who bares his face. Two Masons stand post at the entrance to the meeting room. Their faces are also covered ... They are ... personal bodyguards, some say his death squad -- former Mussolini Fascists whose job is to protect the Grand Master and kill any of the twelve disciples who betray the cause "Il Momento di Passare all" (The Time for Real Action) ... Each bodyguard carries an axe; they also bear automatic weapons.65

In the admission ceremonies for the initiates to the P-2, which is organized like the Mafia, one could witness the lodge's merciless methods and political ideals:

The ceremony begins. There is an uneven series of knocks at the door. "Your Worshipful," a disciple announces, "a pagan wishes to enter." The Grand Master strikes the table with one blow with his axe. Immediately the oversized door swings open and slams against the inner wall. Two guards escort the initiate to the center of the room where he faces the twelve Masons with his back to the grand master's throne. The Pagan, as he is called, is wearing a plain black hood and a blindfold. His identity is known to Grand Master Licio Gelli, but to no one else. He is asked one question by each of the disciples, but the Pagan does not answer, instead, one of the guards speaks for him. Once all the ritual questions about purpose and belief and reason for wanting to become a member of Propaganda Due are answered, the Pagan is turned to face the Grand Master, who asks, "Pagan, are you prepared to die in order to preserve the secrets of Propaganda Due?" The initiate now answers for himself: "I am." "Do you have the necessary quality of contempt for danger?" "I do." "Do you have the necessary quality of courage?" "I am courageous ..." "And Pagan, are you prepared to fight and perhaps face shame, even death, so that we who may become your Brothers may destroy this Government and form a Presidency?" "I am." Then the blindfold is removed. It takes a moment for the initiate's vision to clear, because this is the first time since entering the compound that he has been allowed to see light. The blindfold serves a purpose other than security. It also represents the power of P-2: "Without membership one is blind; with the help of the order, however, the way is clear."66
    http://www.american-buddha.com/darkhistory3.htm

I could be wrong but I think it represents the hidden hand. i.e. the real power behind the power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

I just saw the very strange video on Youtube about Randy Quaid. It fits into the Freemasonry thing as the Illuminati's main goal was to infiltrate various secret societies and use them for their own agenda.

So was the Christian Church, but it doesn't mean they were responsible.

Sorry for not responding to your other posts, it merged all your points together so I couldn't make any sense of it, especially the points you were responding to weren't visible. But the above is the key one I wanted to address. I find it hard to believe you can compare the Catholic Church to Freemasons in the major revolutions, especially in the French and Russian revolutions where the church was a target and freemasons played such a prominent and subversive role , Lafayette being a prime example.

Also, do you dispute that P2 were freemasons or were involved in terrorism or both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Ah now, Paint Doctor already told us that they don't carry out illegal background checks. Unlike their Scottish brothers, the Irish Freemasons don't have access to a 'database' so they "can't really" verify a person's criminal background history. They have to resort to google, and local knowledge! :D

This is peculiar because previously we were told that a criminal conviction for "anything at all" would preclude membership to the Freemasons!

Hmmm, they do mostly come out at night don't they? Mostly.

So, let me see....
    Yes. But I've never sworn an oath.......... does your Bible make an appearance during these oath takings?
    In my post #383 I did point out that there is not a Masonic Bible.
    Your definition of an an oath is curiously religious; I prefer a more secular definition:
    A commitment to tell the truth (especially in a court of law); to lie under oath is to become subject to prosecution for perjury.
    I'm not saying people don't ever take oaths in a religous context, just that an oath is not necessarily religious.
    How are you so sure? I'm aware there is a semantic difference between a secret and secretive but the masons seem tohave a lot of sworn to secrets making them secretive.
    Again, having secrets, or even being secretive, is not being secret.
    "We've"? Are you a mason? And if not why aren't you as sceptical of their unsupported claims as you are of all CT's?.
    I think the unsupported claims being made here are by the CTers.. Masons have been defending themselves against the claims.
    No, we've seen the accusation made but no evidence provided.

I presume your reference to R Boedeker is to back up your claim that Freemasonry is rooted in Kaballah. Perhaps you should read the title and beginning of his article.

Lots of pics of people with their hands inside their jackets. Some in cold weather. We should just move on, you're just embarrasing yourself here.
    Well considering freemasons were behind the assasination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand and therefore for the first World War I would yes and countless others..
    Amazing how few history books that made it into. Let me guess; the history teacher conspiritors joined forces with the Masonic conspiritors and jointly overwhelmed the educational establishment?
    That one makes me curious. What disputes could arise that would cause a private body, such as the Freemasons, desire to be examined by outsiders or independant third parties?
    Yeah, thing is I just don't get the "why are you suspicious of my secret society?" attitude.
    Mostly it's because you keep saying secret society. It can be frustrating when people deliberately misinform others to make their argument look more realistic, so on my part, I offer to help correct misinformation, and present a realistic view. I understand CTers are suspicious of anything they don't understand, that can't be helped.

On the rituals/Oaths
    In short, these are not Masonic rituals, these are not Masonic oaths, P2 was not a Masonic Lodge. That's about as straightforward as it is possible to be on the subject I think.
    I could be wrong but I think it represents the hidden hand. i.e. the real power behind the power.
    Or... you could be just making that up because it's two pictures of people that look like they're hiding their hands?
    I just saw the very strange video on Youtube about Randy Quaid. It fits into the Freemasonry thing as the Illuminati's main goal was to infiltrate various secret societies and use them for their own agenda.
    Wow... you know what the Illuminatis main goal was but have been unable to penetrate the secrets of the societies they infiltrated? How did that happen?
    Sorry for not responding to your other posts, it merged all your points together so I couldn't make any sense of it, especially the points you were responding to weren't visible. But the above is the key one I wanted to address. I find it hard to believe you can compare the Catholic Church to Freemasons in the major revolutions, especially in the French and Russian revolutions where the church was a target and freemasons played such a prominent and subversive role , Lafayette being a prime example. Also, do you dispute that P2 were freemasons or were involved in terrorism or both?
    Do you deny that the Christian Church is there or thereabouts everytime a government/monarchy is overthrown? Thats the accusation you made against Freemasons, hoping to imply responsibility. If that is the case, then the Christian Church is equally responsible, even where the Church was a target, because that's how silly your argument is.
    Also, do you dispute that P2 were freemasons or were involved in terrorism or both?
    I categorcally dispute that P2 (as referred to) were Freemasons. A Propoganda Due Lodge operating under the Grand Orient of Italy existed from 1877, but the P2 Lodge founded by Gelli in 1966 had its warrant rescinded by GOI in 1974. The fact that he continued to use the name did not mean that he was a Freemason or that the lodge was Masonic; the Masonic Lodge was gone, and Gelli had been expelled from the Order.

I would also say that, presuming the terrorism you refer to is the Bologna massacre in 1980, that the terrrorist act was at the time believed to be carried out by Nuclei Armati Rivoluzionari, and that two members of P2 were convicted of slandering the investigation (not of participation in the act); and those convictions were later overturned. So whilst there's no doubt in my mind that P2 (non Masonic Lodge) was a fascist reactionary organisation, I don't think anyone has presented any evidence that they ever carried out any terrorist acts.
    Ah now, Paint Doctor already told us that they don't carry out illegal background checks. Unlike their Scottish brothers, the Irish Freemasons don't have access to a 'database' so they "can't really" verify a person's criminal background history. They have to resort to google, and local knowledge! :D

This is peculiar because previously we were told that a criminal conviction for "anything at all" would preclude membership to the Freemasons!
    Obviously the members would need to know of a criminal conviction before it could preclude membership. It doesn't mean a Lodge will act criminally to assure itself a potential member doesn't have a criminal record, and that means that sometimes someone may make it in that shouldn't.

In my post #383 I did point out that there is not a Masonic Bible.

Fair point let me re-phrase so; Does the Bible make an appearance during these oath takings?
    Your definition of an an oath is curiously religious; I prefer a more secular definition:
    I'm not saying people don't ever take oaths in a religous context, just that an oath is not necessarily religious.

It's not my definition (or yours). It's just avoiding a question.
    removing God from an oath is like removing the water from a swimming pool: all that is left is an empty shell. The Court in Cole v. Richardson[1] correctly noted that the oath had been reduced from a solemn and weighty act of eternal consequence to a mere "amenity''

It's not a secular amenity, it's an oath. As I said.......
    oath solemn appeal to God as a witness OE.; trivial use of sacred names XII. OE. āð = OS. ēth (Du. eed), (O)HG. eid, ON. eiðr, Goth. aiþs :- Gmc. *aiþaz; cf. OIr. ōeth.

So, to whom are you taking your oath?

Fair point let me re-phrase so; Does the Bible make an appearance during these oath takings?
    If a Christian chooses to take his oath on a Bible, then it 'makes an appearance'. If a Muslim chooses to take his oath on the Quran, then that book 'makes an appearance'. The Torah, and other such books, are all available as may be required. So; yes, sometimes, depending on the person taking the oath.
    It's not my definition (or yours). It's just avoiding a question.
    Absolutely not; I'm pointing out that you're narrowly defining a broad term. As you continue to do below.
    removing God from an oath is like removing the water from a swimming pool: all that is left is an empty shell. The Court in Cole v. Richardson[1] correctly noted that the oath had been reduced from a solemn and weighty act of eternal consequence to a mere "amenity''. It's not a secular amenity, it's an oath. As I said........
    An amusing quote, taken from a Christian website? The Court in Cole V Richardson, if you review their findings, ruled on whether an oath of loyalty was constitutional with regard to three specific clauses. The full text of the oath was:
    "I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will uphold and defend the Constitution of the United States of America and the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and that I will oppose the overthrow of the government of the United States of America or of this Commonwealth by force, violence or by any illegal or unconstitutional method."
    You may note the lack of any reference to a deity.
    Neither the District nor Supreme Courts gave findings as to whether a deity was required, nor is there one mentioned in the text of the oath required. An oath is an oath, in and of itself. Oaths existed before Christianity, and exist outside of Christianity. Buddhists take oaths, agnostics take oaths, athiests take oaths. An oath, in the case of Cole V Richardson, is quite specifically a secular amenity.
    So, to whom are you taking your oath?
    When you ask to whom are you taking your oath, are you implying it is an oath of fealty? An oath of fealty would be taken to somebody; the person/deity receiving fealty. A Masonic oath is not an oath of fealty.
    Or do you mean "Whom are you taking the oath before?"; ie who are you asking to witness the oath? In that case, in a Masonic oath, you take your oath before the deity of your choice, or before the people around you, or whatever supreme being you believe in. Whatever is binding on your conscience.

If a Christian chooses to take his oath on a Bible, then it 'makes an appearance'..

pledge

Pronunciation:/plɛdʒ/
    noun
    1 a solemn promise or undertaking

Is the Bible regarded more as furniture then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Di0genes

Have you ever testified in court?

No serious question, have you ever been on the witness stand and sworn in. I have, 7 or 8 times. Before I went up, I was convinced I was going to insist on not swearing in on a bible. Nope, I even had a copy of Necrinomion in my bag that I was going to insist on using for my oath, if I was feeling ballsy, if I wasn't I had a copy of our constitution.

It was a big principle for me.

But y'know what I didn't do it I got into the court, and the journalists, and the barristers and solicitors and the judge. The accused, his family members, his colleagues, and I just thought, no ****ing wayThis is not the time or the place to bring my own politics or personal bee in my bonnet, I had a job to do, give my evidence and get out.

I would certainly hope the Christians regard it as more than furniture, but the furniture of the lodge (that with which the lodge is furnished) generally includes a bible, a torah, and a quran.

Yes, insofar as Freemasonry does not favour or promote any religion at all, but encourages members to be diligent in their religious duties as the member sees them.
    So serious question, cause I'd prefer to learn rather than regurgitate nonsense I've bought wholesale from the internet:
    What's the deal with Atheists joining? I had heard that belief in a higher power is necessary, but have also heard that anything could count as a "higher power" so there was no issue with atheists joining.

King Mob wrote: »
    So serious question, cause I'd prefer to learn rather than regurgitate nonsense I've bought wholesale from the internet:

And you do this by asking an anonymous poster on the internet?

I was hoping he might also have a reliable source for his answer. Kinda an alien concept for some.....

King Mob wrote: »
    What's the deal with Atheists joining? I had heard that belief in a higher power is necessary, but have also heard that anything could count as a "higher power" so there was no issue with atheists joining.

A candidate must profess a belief in a supreme being. So an athiest can't join, but an agnostic can. There are breakaway Masonically styled groups, like the Grand Orient in France, who permit athiests to join (and women I think). But 'regular' Freemasonry doesn't. All that said, the argument is often put forward that this could include Satanists, people who believe in the Lizard Overlords, their pet rocks, or anything else they care to define as a 'Supreme Being'. Which is pretty much true; you have to believe in something, but what the something is is up to you.

So reliable source. The official website of the Grand Lodge of Ireland:http://www.irish-freemasons.org/Pages_GL/Want_to_join.html
    says "A committee (of perhaps two or three) will talk to you to ascertain that you are a man of good character and that you believe in God (Atheism and Freemasonry are incompatible). " I think that's the most reliable source in the circumstances.