Banned in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭bluefinger

recommending a kick in the face as a solution to most everyday problems

banned
    why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

chem wrote: »
    Good god, if I there was ever a reason to ban widespread metal detection, that thread provides it.
    chancers wrote:
    I'll be staying in Bellmullet, Galway and I really want to try to detect in Clew Bay. I figure with Grace O'Malley being based there, there must be something to find
    ~Sue, Bronx, NY

a lone detectorist who uncovers some lost artifact and gets a chill up their spine at the history and craftsmanship, I feel has as much right to ownership of that object as anyone.
    ~Able_walker, unknown

ireland is so full of ancient history and finds of a life time, there is more gold and silver in the ground than that of which has been uncovered, still there still waiting to be unearthed,
    ~Tallpaul, England

but if a King went out riding one day and lost his favorite ring well then it's finders keepers in my book.
    ~Able_walker, unknown
    Shower of muppets salivating over pulling up "gold and silver" and doing who knows how much damage to Ireland's historical record and national treasures in the process of enriching themselves. Do not tell me these characters are going to drop whatever they find off at the nearest museum. Look forward to thousands of euros in fines and a few years in prison, lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

Flamethrowers. Think of the hours of good clean fun you could have with one. It's political correctness gone mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

the weapon sometimes known as a blowpipe or blow gun, being a hollow tube out of which hard pellets or darts are shot by the use of human breath;

Cheap pen with the refill/top removed ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

Imitation cigarettes made of chocolate.

WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Cheap pen with the refill/top removed ?
    Short length of pipe? If that law was seriously enforced, plumbers would be f***ed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭BornToBe?

I can't believe it's been 70 posts and no ones said it??
    Do I have to be "That Guy"?

WEED!!

then again, our very own Mafia (Vintners Ass) are very much in control of this country, more so than FF or the GAA if you ask me, yet, its all grand sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

xzanti wrote: »
    St. John's Wart :rolleyes: a simple homeopathic remedy for mild seasonal depression.. BANNED.. just why?

Because homeopathy is a big load of bollocks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Inverse to the power of one!

Drugs are specifically banned on HoverCraft!

Killjoys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

AAAAAAAHHH wrote: »
    Because homeopathy is a big load of bollocks?

Try reading the whole thread next time.
    St John's Wort is herbal not homeopathic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭happypants

penguin88 wrote: »
    St John's Wort is not banned. It is a prescription only medicine and so can be prescribed for a person with mild depression. Another one of the reasons it was changed to prescription only is that depression can be a serious medical condition and so should be managed under medical supervision, not self-diagnosed and self-treated.

Also to add, I read it can interfere with the effectiveness of the contraceptive pill. So prob for the best that it isn't too easily available, at least your doc will warn you about that as with antibiotics etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I think they get around that with local authority bye-laws or something.

Or maybe it's by making them private clubs. One or the other.

I think you're right about the private club thing. I know someone who was/is opening one in Waterford and they can serve alcohol but can't charge for it. they also wouldn't be subject to the same licensing laws as pubs/clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

happypants wrote: »
    Also to add, I read it can interfere with the effectiveness of the contraceptive pill. So prob for the best that it isn't too easily available, at least your doc will warn you about that as with antibiotics etc
    Just cum on her tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

1. Embedding pics in AH threads.
    2. Threatening to sue boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭irish1967

It's illegal to serve alcohol to a person in a pub who is drunk !! Is that not like banning fat people from being served in a restaurant ??

(Also an offence to buy alcohol from a person who is drunk in a licensed premises)

Also an offence to serve someone half a pint of draught beer etc in a pint glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

speeding on the motorways,germany allows it and there roads are just as safe if not safer than ours,what the hells the point in having a car that can go 240km/h if your only allowed utilise half that speed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

manhunt 2, or at least it was until they took plastic bag deaths out of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭WildBoots

St. John's Wart :rolleyes: a simple homeopathic remedy for mild seasonal depression.. BANNED.. just why?

1. It's St. John's Wort.
    2. It's a herbal medicine.
    3. It was banned for over the counter sale as it sometimes blocks the effect of other drugs when taken together. It is still given to people by herbalists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Good god, if I there was ever a reason to ban widespread metal detection, that thread provides it.

Shower of muppets salivating over pulling up "gold and silver" and doing who knows how much damage to Ireland's historical record and national treasures in the process of enriching themselves. Do not tell me these characters are going to drop whatever they find off at the nearest museum. Look forward to thousands of euros in fines and a few years in prison, lads.

How long do you think it will be before funding is available for a govt. dept. to go out and search for these treasures for the good of the nation? It hasn't happened till now and it won't happen for decades yet. So are you saying they are better left in the ground until then?
    Remember the saxon hoarde found in England by a metal detector a few years ago - most of the artefacts were already mangled by tractors and ploughs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

It's not banned, it's prescription only.

Why? Because it interferes with other medication you might take. It can for example render the contraceptive pill quite useless, there have been several cases of women taking it thinking "it's only natural, what harm can it do?" and ending up involuntarily pregnant.

Also, the homeopathic version of it is most certainly freely available, but you can just as well simply drink some tab water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

krudler wrote: »
    Indeed, when homeopathy itself isnt.

"I've got a degree in homeopathy!"
    "you've got a degree in baloney!"

To pass a homeopathic exam do you take what you know and dilute it by a factor of several hundreds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Can't buy drink after 10pm - Thank you for that as we know little punks who want to drink will just go home and go bed so they can get an early rise for school thus they can bag those points for Trinity College!

Necrophilia - So I like to crack open a cold one, what's the big deal? I've got a stiffy............they are a stiffy................2 negatives make a positive, no?

Having a shìt in a Gardaì's hat :pac:

Snuff movies - C'mon, lighten up...........it's not like they hurt anyone :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

driving on a public road at 121 kph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

For instance, did you know metal detecting is banned here?

Not true, you just need a licence.

Also laws that ban things like super trucks.

No such thing.

No true, prescription only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

ch750536 wrote: »
    chem wrote:
    Also laws that ban things like super trucks.
    No such thing.

Oh yea? Well then, Mr. Smart-arse, how come they won't let Optimus Prime into the country? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Oh yea? Well then, Mr. Smart-arse, how come they won't let Optimus Prime into the country? :pac:

emission regulations?
    he spews out more shit than Bertie and Cowen combined

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Driving faster than 50Km/h on certain dual carriageways even when said roads are surrounded by empty fields.

Going through the education system without studying a betamax hobby language.

Purchasing alcohol on a random friday in springtime (except on a train for some reason)

Thats actually a bye-law (only applies in some areas)

Does that mean it's gone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    I'm fairly sure that archaeological examination is a required precursor of any excavation in Ireland.

Is it bollocks!!!
    I have several uncles who have farms in the bog. Never once did they have to contact anyone before they had "Francie down the road" come over with the JCB to tear up huge trenches in order to build new slurry pits/septic tanks/foundations for silage pits/whatever.

These farms could have been sites for many a community 1000's of years ago since they are on fertile land with many streams running through them.