Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banned in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Its a grey area. Theyre not illegal unless the title has been specifically banned by the film censor.

Tell that to this girl.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Doom wrote: »
    Buying drink in an off licence after 10pm, wtf is that about, cnuts!

Oops! Someone got that in already, ok I cannot believe the following is banned shooting politicians, bankers, scumbags, developers, auctioneers, loan sharks, managers, Bill Cullen, boy racers, girls in pj's, guys who wear Pink shirts, fox hunters, bouncers, tango-ed girls, people who drive hi-ace vans, range rover soccer mums, OMG girls, ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

chem wrote: »
    For instance, did you know metal detecting is banned here?

No it's not.

Metal Detecting on an approved archaeological site without prior permission is illegal.
    All other metal detecting is legal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

chucken1 wrote: »
    Theres a law still on the books that makes it illegal to impersonate a witch..Theres no law about being a witch,but you cant impersonate one,apparently!!

It is also against the law to dress up as a Garda or wear a irish army uniform. Party strippers are a dead give away at a party coming in wearing UK police uniforms :(

• Registered Users Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Insulting a moderator on boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

These are the things I want people to clear up! They might be banned from the tunnel, but at the time the government wanted to ban them off the roads, giving reasons such as low bridges etc.

Same as they wanted to ban all sunbeds. How many jobs does banning something cost?

God knows we NEED JOBS NOW!!

If there's a reason to ban something, jobs shouldn't come into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭jaysusake

is strong white cider banned in Ireland ??

You can buy it in Lidl in the UK but not here...

Do you mean the likes of Devils Bit?? Not that strong but strong enough...thats widely available.

dilallio wrote: »
    No it's not.

Metal Detecting on an approved archaeological site without prior permission is illegal.
    All other metal detecting is legal.

NO!metal detecting is only allowed on beaches here. Anywhere in land needs a cert from the OPW. With dates, times and area map supplied to OPW before hand. OPW= office of public works.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

xzanti wrote: »
    St. John's Wart :rolleyes: a simple homeopathic remedy for mild seasonal depression.. BANNED.. just why?

Indeed, when homeopathy itself isnt.

"I've got a degree in homeopathy!"
    "you've got a degree in baloney!"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭KillerShamrock

The Stupid religious laws that ban me from doing things i like! ie. if I want to drink 365 days a year in a licenced premises i should not be stopped by a law based on ANY religion! Its MY LIFE MY CHOICE I should be allowed to do as i please!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Richie6904 wrote: »
    The Stupid religious laws that ban me from doing things i like! ie. if I want to drink 365 days a year in a licenced premises i should not be stopped by a law based on ANY religion! Its MY LIFE MY CHOICE I should be allowed to do as i please!!!!!!!

"its only one day sure didnt Jaysus die fur our sins begorrah begosh,well holy god"

Mark200 wrote: »
    If there's a reason to ban something, jobs shouldn't come into it.
    Tell that to this girl.

As anono boy pointed out this girl has lost her job and faces a criminal record now. Just because she was at work. While it was stated, most of what she had on DVD could be seen on the net.

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

jaysusake wrote: »
    Do you mean the likes of Devils Bit?? Not that strong but strong enough...thats widely available.

the UK white ciders are about 7-8% IIRC

favourite drink of tramps and chavs

just never seen them here:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 81,295 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

An Irish citizen driving a car in Ireland which is foreign registered even if they are fully insured and the car is not owned by them or is a rental car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Prostitution

Technically its not illegal but only if one doesnt actually do it (or something like that)
    You can't advertise specifically for it. You can offer it along with other services, like massage, if someone asks. If a prostitute is attacked or whatever he or she has every right to go to the guards and prosecute the attacker.
    NO!metal detecting is only allowed on beaches here. Anywhere in land needs a cert from the OPW. With dates, times and area map supplied to OPW before hand. OPW= office of public works.
    This is correct, along with five year prison sentences, and with good reason. The country is creaking with valuable artifacts, you don't want every nimrod from around the EU jetting in with a metal detector and a mission, making off with our heritage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Sorry chem. Not true - Here's the relevant law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,021 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

An Irish citizen resident driving a car in Ireland which is foreign registered even if they are fully insured and the car is not owned by them or is a rental car.

FYP ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Amhran Nua wrote: »

This is correct, along with five year prison sentences, and with good reason. The country is creaking with valuable artifacts, you don't want every nimrod from around the EU jetting in with a metal detector and a mission, making off with our heritage.

Downside of this is that a lot of the stuff has most likely been destroyed in the past 20 years by machine reclaimation of land. Is it better to be found and taken or destroyed under a digger?

Amhran Nua wrote: »

Do you not think, if people who metal detect had to offer it for sale to the government at a good price, first, people would not rob historic items but sell them to the government?

Why drive past times and hobbies underground? Same as fireworks, everyone sees them every year but its illegal here (and in one other EU country) you know which one??

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/5/20101117/tuk-boy-three-strikes-gold-with-metal-de-45dbed5.html

• Registered Users Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

xzanti wrote: »
    St. John's Wart :rolleyes: a simple homeopathic remedy for mild seasonal depression.. BANNED.. just why?

Not homeopathic, but herbal.

In other words, it works.

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

Not homeopathic, but herbal.

In other words, it works.

they'd rather have people on the real drugs...shuts them up :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

The Passion of St. Tibulus film

Down with this sort of thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Why would you pay for a DVD when you have a world of porn right at your fingertips?

A most apt username for that post me thinks.

7.—(1) A member of the Garda Síochána may without warrant seize and detain—

( a ) a detection device found in, at the site of, or in the vicinity of, a monument referred to in section 2 (1) ( a ) (i) or (iv) (inserted by the National Monuments (Amendment) Act, 1994) of the Act of 1987, or found in, or in the vicinity of, the areas referred to in section 2 (1) ( a ) (ii) or (iii) of the Act of 1987 unless the person in possession of the said device is in possession of a consent in respect of that device issued under section 2 (2) ( a ) of the Act of 1987

Its up to you to prove you weren't prospecting for archaeological finds, and good luck with that. There's a sticky in the archaeology forum about it.
    chem wrote:
    Do you not think, if people who metal detect had to offer it for sale to the government at a good price, first, people would not rob historic items but sell them to the government?
    Possibly. I think archaeology in Ireland is criminally underfunded as it is, but keep in mind that even if you do find something you are legally obliged to hand it over, "good price" or not. Be that as it may, the law is in place for a reason.

Downside of this is that a lot of the stuff has most likely been destroyed in the past 20 years by machine reclaimation of land. Is it better to be found and taken or destroyed under a digger?
    I'm fairly sure that archaeological examination is a required precursor of any excavation in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,021 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Watch foreign television without paying an annual tax/protection money to a state owned broadcaster one has little/no interest in watching.

Read this in relation to above:

http://forum.treasurenet.com/index.php?topic=102268.new

Have to add all martial arts equipment is banned here. Even pea sooters are banned

2. It is hereby directed that section 12 of the Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act, 1990 (No. 12 of 1990), shall apply to the following descriptions of weapons:

( a ) a flick-knife, that is to say—

(i) a knife which opens when hand pressure is applied to a button, spring, lever or other device in or attached to the handle, or

(ii) a knife which has a blade which is released from the handle or sheath by the force of gravity or the application of centrifugal force and when released is locked in an open position by means of a button, spring, lever or other device;

( b ) a knuckleduster, that is to say—

(i) a band of metal or other hard material worn on one or more fingers, and designed to cause injury, or

(ii) any weapon incorporating a knuckleduster;

( c ) a swordstick or dagger cane, that is, a hollow walking-stick or cane containing a blade which may be used as a sword or dagger;

( d ) a sword umbrella, that is an umbrella containing a blade which may be used as a sword;

( e ) any weapon from which one or more sharp spikes protrude which is worn attached to the foot, ankle, hand or wrist (sometimes known when intended to be attached to the foot, as a footclaw and, when intended to be attached to the hand, as a handclaw);

( f ) the weapon sometimes known as a belt buckle knife, being a buckle which incorporates or conceals a knife;

( g ) the weapon sometimes known as a push dagger, being a knife the handle of which fits within a clenched fist and the blade of which protrudes from between two fingers;

( h ) the weapon sometimes known as a hollow kubotan, being a cylindrical container containing a number of sharp spikes;

( i ) the weapon sometimes known as a shuriken, shaken or death star, being a hard non-flexible plate having three or more sharp radiating points and designed to be thrown;

( j ) the weapon sometimes known as a balisong or butterfly knife, being a blade enclosed by its handle, which is designed to split down the middle, without the operation of a spring or other mechanical means, to reveal the blade;

( k ) the weapon sometimes known as a telescopic truncheon or telescopic billy, being a truncheon which extends automatically by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to its handle;( l ) The Gardai use these??

the weapon sometimes known as a blowpipe or blow gun, being a hollow tube out of which hard pellets or darts are shot by the use of human breath;( m ) the weapon sometimes known as a kusari gama, being a length of rope, cord, wire or chain fastened at one end to a sickle;

( n ) the weapon sometimes known as a kyoketsu shoge, being a length of rope, cord, wire or chain fastened at one end to a hooked knife;

( o ) the weapon sometimes known as a manrikigusari or kusari, being a length of rope, cord, wire or chain fastened at each end to a hard weight or hand grip;

( p ) the weapon sometimes known as a sap glove, being a glove into which metal or some other hard material has been inserted or to which metal or such material has been attached;

( q ) the broad knife known as a machete or matchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

the UK white ciders are about 7-8% IIRC

favourite drink of tramps and chavs

just never seen them here:confused:

White Lightning as the like? Haven't seen it around in a few years meself.

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

100w lightbulb its their way of dragging Ireland back to the dark ages.