Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

JustinDee wrote: »
    That's not what he meant when he said "where he comes from". He was referring to Hayes' experience.

Which was pretty obvious from the context of what he said.

This is descending into very much NOT a Munster team talk thread. We have more than enough threads on the Irish team already...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭conf101

Username37 wrote: »
    Whats rubbish that Kidney ultimately makes the calls (he does hes the manager in case you didn't notice :)) or that Smal stated Hayes was starting because of where he comes from (he did in an interview the other day)?

You've said 2 different things in your 2 posts. Smal did say that Hayes was picked because of where he came from. You assume that that refers to Munster.

Look, even IF Hayes is only getting selected because he's from Munster (which I refuse to believe) do you think Gert Smal is stupid enough to admit that in the national press?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Junior

It doesn't matter who his selection panal entails as he is the ultimately makes the calls. And by the way Smal himself said Hayes was picked because he plays for Munster.

Where did he say that ? Or where was he quoted ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,591 ✭✭✭✭phog

Junior wrote: »

Some guys will hear what they want to hear an see what they want to see :eek:

There must 3 or 4 threads now on how much Kidney never selects Leinster players, tbh, I find it more entertaining than the actual rugby matches but then again that wouldn't be hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

He didn't say it. People are just ridiculous sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Username37

He didn't say it. People are just ridiculous sometimes.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/autumn-internationals/hayes-still-the-man-2417423.html

The Ireland management are resisting calls to widen their tight-head options by having a look at Ross, who failed to make the match-day 22 tomorrow; Smal said that Hayes needs the game-time. "Mike is one of the props we're looking at," said Smal. "But John Hayes, where he comes from and with the amount of time we've invested in him over the past two years, I think we've just got too much (time put in).
    "We're very pleased with the way Mike Ross has developed over the past year. He is really making good progress but, for the moment, John needs that opportunity."

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/autumn-internationals/hayes-still-the-man-2417423.html

The Ireland management are resisting calls to widen their tight-head options by having a look at Ross, who failed to make the match-day 22 tomorrow; Smal said that Hayes needs the game-time. "Mike is one of the props we're looking at," said Smal. "But John Hayes, where he comes from and with the amount of time we've invested in him over the past two years, I think we've just got too much (time put in).
    "We're very pleased with the way Mike Ross has developed over the past year. He is really making good progress but, for the moment, John needs that opportunity."

Sweet mother of the devine God.

phog wrote: »
    Sweet mother of the devine God.

O.K agreed, I'll stop posting about that in here I just wanted to confirm that I wasn't making the quote up. Carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

O.K agreed, I'll stop posting about that in here I just wanted to confirm that I wasn't making the quote up. Carry on.
    You were just misinterpreting it.

I think the majority would agree with you but there's always one ;)

Fair enough if I am I just thought he was saying that where he comes from and time put in means that hes been under Kidney for years at Munster and at Ireland and hes been an ever loyal servant i.e they owe him loyalties.......

I won't post again and I'll admit I could be wrong....but seeing him selected over Mike Ross means there must be something in it.

If I'm wrong then isn't Smal basically saying "we've put a lot of time into John Hayes and even if theres a player playing much better we're sticking with him for better or for worse" essentially maybe not a Munster loyalty but a player loyalty which is just as bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Hate reverting to this nonsense but if Kidney's perceived bias were true surely Keith Earls would have seen more than 6 minutes of international rugby this season, ROG would have started against SA for 100th Cap, Johne Murphy might have had a game against Samoa, Varley would be ahead of Cronin etc. etc.

Fair enough if I am I just thought he was saying that where he comes from and time put in means that hes been under Kidney for years at Munster and at Ireland and hes been an ever loyal servant i.e they owe him loyalties.......

I won't post again and I'll admit I could be wrong....but seeing him selected over Mike Ross means there must be something in it.

If I'm wrong then isn't Smal basically saying "we've put a lot of time into John Hayes and even if theres a player playing much better we're sticking with him for better or for worse" essentially maybe not a Munster loyalty but a player loyalty which is just as bad.

It's a loyalty to Hayes as a player. His cap agaist Samoa was a reward for sticking it out with international rugby. That's fair enough IMO. It would be unfair to ask him not to retire and then not use him (like Jackman with Leinster)

That is nothing like a Munter bias, it's nowhere near as sinister and nowhere near as detrimental to Irish rugby as a Munster bias would be.

It's a loyalty to Hayes as a player. His cap agaist Samoa was a reward for sticking it out with international rugby. That's fair enough IMO. It would be unfair to ask him not to retire and then not use him (like Jackman with Leinster)

That is nothing like a Munter bias, it's nowhere near as sinister and nowhere near as detrimental to Irish rugby as a Munster bias would be.

So when he starts against New Zealand its going to be fair enough yeah?

We'll see if that happens.

How about when hes in the 22 and Healy or Court get injured and on comes Hayes....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭As i said before

How about when hes in the 22 and Healy or Court get injured and on comes Hayes....

Username 37 is absolutely correct; Hayes should not be anywhere near squad against the AB's. He is now a liability more than anything and shame on people defending the call to keep him for the RWC. It shows Kidneys true aspirations for the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Well with Buckley injured and Tom Court covering both sides it is very possible that Hayes will be on the bench. But what is the alternative? Mike Ross? fair enough give the guy a chance but Kidney has not looked beyond these 4 options for tight head so far this campaign so Hayes has a 75% chance of being in the squad next week.
    More so due to Buckley's injury than anything else. I don't really think that anyone here wants John in the Irish squad but if Kidney keeps picking him because he is a safe option compared to Ross that's hardly his fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

are Munster playing the All Blacks

no they are not

so why are you taking your ranting about the Irish squad selection into a Munster team thread :confused:

back on topic

really looking forward to seeing how Peter Borlase performs against Australia tomorrow night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

So based on the performance of the other night (i.e. the aggression and hunger shown by the players) how do ye feel about the up and coming talent in the squad?

Personally I reckon we have nothing to fear in the future. While the news lads e.g. Nagle, PO'M aren't there yet, they will get there.

The future is bright!

^^^ yeah the future is bright

Hopefully most of the lads will get a run again this week-end agaisnt the Scarlets, would like to see Barry Murphy get a bit more gametime in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

In an interview in the Indo, McGahan said it would be pretty much the same team starting this weekend against the scarlets. I presume we wont have Earls with us for this game?

some_dose wrote: »
    So based on the performance of the other night (i.e. the aggression and hunger shown by the players) how do ye feel about the up and coming talent in the squad?

Personally I reckon we have nothing to fear in the future. While the news lads e.g. Nagle, PO'M aren't there yet, they will get there.

The future is bright!

Important to keep the hunger that they obviously had for the Aus game. If a team can keep that, it adds so much to their game.

Want isn't good enough, you have to "need" to win games.

Fantastic aggression and dedication alright, hopefully keep the ball rolling with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭backrow67n8

If that lad Nagle can put on a bit more size without compromising his flexibility and speed he'll be an outstanding player, he was awesome the other night, looking forward to seeing more of him and POM. Hopefully Barry Murphy will get a run the weekend against the scarlets.

I thought George Hook was really harsh on Borlase, after only 23 mins he was saying how he couldn't scrummage and that basically he was a waste of money. I'd personally like to see more of him before casting judgement. George didn't take into account that it was his first game and that scrummaging is all about repetition and familiarity within your tight five. I thought Borlase had a decent game in the loose and not forgetting his lifting in the lineout.

I quite enjoyed Ralph Keyes comment at the end 'the best Australian on view here is Paul Warwick' that summed up the Aussies night perfectly. They were poor but I thought the criticism of them afterwards was a bit ott. That same Aussie side looked good against Leicester Tigers and would many of them have ever played in conditions like that before?

If that lad Nagle can put on a bit more size without compromising his flexibility and speed he'll be an outstanding player, he was awesome the other night, looking forward to seeing more of him and POM. Hopefully Barry Murphy will get a run the weekend against the scarlets.

I thought George Hook was really harsh on Borlase, after only 23 mins he was saying how he couldn't scrummage and that basically he was a waste of money. I'd personally like to see more of him before casting judgement. George didn't take into account that it was his first game and that scrummaging is all about repetition and familiarity within your tight five. I thought Borlase had a decent game in the loose and not forgetting his lifting in the lineout.

I quite enjoyed Ralph Keyes comment at the end 'the best Australian on view here is Paul Warwick' that summed up the Aussies night perfectly. They were poor but I thought the criticism of them afterwards was a bit ott. That same Aussie side looked good against Leicester Tigers and would many of them have ever played in conditions like that before?

Will people stop listening to George Hook, he is a paid analyst that seems to crave attention and ensures he's the centre of attention by being controversial and loud. He freely admitted he didn't watch the ML but once RTE were willing to pay him he pops up every now again.

I take what George says with a pinch of salt, after all he said or at least inferred that Tommy Bowe wouldnt make a winger :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭backrow67n8

phog wrote: »
    Will people stop listening to George Hook, he is a paid analyst that seems to crave attention and ensures he's the centre of attention by being controversial and loud. He freely admitted he didn't watch the ML but once RTE were willing to pay him he pops up every now again.

I take what George says with a pinch of salt, after all he said or at least inferred that Tommy Bowe wouldnt make a winger :D

I take what he says with a Large pinch of salt, I think hes a comedy act but the problem is hes allowed spout his nonsense on our national broadcaster to a large enough audience. He should remember that the next time he criticises someone after only seeing them play for 20 odd minutes. For people who wouldn't know Rugby all that well they have probably gone away from the game the other night thinking Borlase is complete and utter rubbish which isn't fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Theres alot of talent coming through in Munster. The difference between themselves and Leinster is the time it takes to bring through young players. Munsters young players are not hitting the gym as early. POM, Sherry and Nagle are future internationals. They both have the talent but they just need to bulk up a bit. That should be no problem though. POM is about 16st now and can easily put on another stone and I presume Nagle is about 15.5/16 st. He has the same build as POC. By the looks of it Munsters players take their time adding on weight and maybe theres a good reason for that.

I wasn't that impressed with Duncan Williams' passing although the weather was very bad for it. He looks to have a better brain than TOL.

I'd like to see McGahan give the younger players more chances from now on but it won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Nagle is 22, 6'6" and 95kg (15st 1lbs) according to the Munster site. Needs to bulk uo quick to compete with modern International players of 18 -19 stone. Adding 26 to 40 lbs of muscle quickly isn't easy to do legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

jacothelad wrote: »
    Nagle is 22, 6'6" and 95kg (15st 1lbs) according to the Munster site. Needs to bulk uo quick to compete with modern International players of 18 -19 stone. Adding 26 to 40 lbs of muscle quickly isn't easy to do legally.

Thats not up to date data. POM is the same weight for about 2 years according to it.

I'd say Nagle will never be 18 - 19st. He's more of an athletic lock. I think having a powerful lock to play alongside is the way to go. Most of the top teams have at least 1 heavyweight lock to add bulk to the team. Brian Hayes in Munster could be like that although he's not too tall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

This will hopefully be a great year for the development of the squad; With it being a WC year all the young lads will hopefully get their chance.

Nagle and POM look like great prospects and both should be looking to be starting in ML games this year. Borlase looks like he could be a very good player and is still young, pity that he won't get a lookin for the big games with Kidney ensuring that Buckley and Hayes will be in the squad. Williams wasn't great with the passing against Aus but a lot can be blamed on the conditions, Murray on the other hand looks like Stringer with the build of TOL; He is definately one to watch.

The backrow for the next few years looks promising with TOD and POM taking Wallace's and Quinlan's places when they retire. Leamy should have a good few years left in the tank too.

Lastly its great to see B.Murphy back in the team and hopefully all will go well for him on the weekend.