If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Freemasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭Owen

squod wrote: »
    http://www.irish-freemasons.org/Pages_GL/Grand%20Lodge_History.html

Because it's possible they talk politics to each other.

If you read the rest of that article, you'll see some did try to change politics, but were slapped on the wrist by Grand Lodge, reminding them never to discuss either religion, or politics :
    notices were sent out reminding Lodges of the Grand Lodge Law forbidding quarrels of a religious or political nature to be brought within the doors of the Lodge

You guys are really looking for something that isn't there. I'd even beg you guys at this stage to put the CT away for an afternoon and go visit your local lodge for a tour. It's far from the evil places you're making it out to be.

The amount of charity work done is incredible, and is the motivation for the majority of people to join.

Anywho, bed time. Will pick this discussion up tomorrow night when I'm back from work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

You guys are really looking for something that isn't there. I'd even beg you guys at this stage to put the CT away for an afternoon and go visit your local lodge for a tour.

Been to a couple, North and South of the boarder and talked to a few masons over the years. I'm curious to know why you think that should change anything though.
    The amount of charity work done is incredible, and is the motivation for the majority of people to join.

I do some charity work myself and I don't see how that relates to this discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭joebucks

Thanks for your in depth answer
    Of course.

Of course, but common sense is also used. You wouldn't keep someone out for an overdue library book, or anything like that, but you would if they actually had a criminal record for anything at all. You'd also keep someone out if you heard through word of mouth if they were generally a bad egg - you know the sort, doesn't have a criminal record, but might slap the wife around, or is a bit of an ass with too much drink in them.

The objective in the excercise is to only allow people with good morals join.

What I am really querying here is that is there a charter within the lodge for enrolling new members or is it at the discretion of each individual member to make the judgement call?

There are large grey areas in Irish law. For example a man may be attacked and in defending himself may kill or wound his attacker.Under Irish law the man who was attacked can be convicted of manslaughter or GBH in this instance. The man attacked may be of strong moral fibre yet still have a criminal record. Can people in these circumstances be accomodated?

See, the problem with Moral's and Dogma, is that it is frequently misquoted out of context, over and over again. It's easy without being a Mason, to see negative words in it. But in the right context, with the right education, you can read it the way it's supposed to. It's very difficult to explain, but I suppose it's like someone with a Haynes manual assuming they know how the engine works. Until you strip and rebuild one, you don't know the inner workings of it.

Are my interpretations incorrect? Yes. Are Pikes, probably yes too. How can both be right? Well, there's lots and lots and lots of versions of Masonry - most people don't know that. Even in Ireland, we have various 'workings' which have different interpretations of Ritual. In Munster, we have Bristol workings due to our close shipping relations with Bristol, so a Lodge in Munster will actually do things differently to a Lodge in Dublin. But in my Province, my interpretations are bang on, and they would hold true for Ireland as a whole too.

Ok this explains alot for the inconsistencies on both sides. Your lodge and members may be operating in accordance with one set of rules and standards of behaviour, yet another lodge may have a different opinion of what it is to be a Freemason and act according to that different set of rules?
    Example being the P2 lodge in Italy, it was still considered a Freemason lodge but alot of Freemasons would not abide by the code and ethics of that particular lodge.

Would I be convinced of someone's conviction, and their strength of argument in quoting Pike anyway? Never. Just google 'albert pike misquotes', and it'll show you some of the problems that book has caused. In his desire to write a great book, Pike gave people the opportunity to be the most misquoted out of context author ever, and it hurt Masonry as a result in my opinion. Most importantly, in my opinion, anyone who does quote pike in an anti-masonic rant, is very very lazy, and hasn't bothered to research the fact that it has been debunked over and over and over again by putting the quotes back into context as per the google search above.

Yes I have read the link you posted about the misquoting of Pike but it is back to the old CT argument of evidence for claims. CT's make a claim and generally only back it up by linking to an unauthorized source. If they were to back up the claim with what is considered an authorized source then it would no longer remain a conspiracy theory as there would be mainstream acknowledgement of the conspiracy.

So given that Freemasonry involves secret rituals etc it will always be shrouded in controversy as there is no way of proving that there is or isn't a conspiracy unless all the secrets are open to the general public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Here are some images of a Freemason monument near the resort town of Eilat in Israel. It's on the main road coming from Egypt, just to remind visitors who actually created Israel.

eilat-mason-temple.jpg
    PicMasonic%20AlterIsrael.jpg

Here's the IMAX cinema in Eilat. A strange building to have in a Jewish country, considering the Hebrews were supposedly enslaved to build these pyramids in Egypt.

4229094073_ed52be2cb4.jpg

Here's a picture of the Supreme Court of Israel, build by David Rockefeller. Notice the massive pyramid in the left hand side of the building.

supremecourt88.jpg

Here's a closeup of the pyramid from inside the building.

supreme-court-israel-pyramid.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

This is what I don't understand. Freemasons meet up and have a nice cup of tea and a good natter, they they do some charity work, fine. Why the need for these extravagant buildings and symbols:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

The one thing, for me, which stands out about the masons is the specific provision in Irish legislation. The 1920 Government of Ireland Act prohibits unlawful assembly, but it provides a special exemption for the Freemasons. Bear in mind this legislation was enacted during a time of uprising, independence and civil war.....

Why were the masons given such a special exemption if they were merely a charitable group?

No I'm not, but then again, I'm sure you believe everything you link to on anti-Masonic sites is true. As opposed to say, someone like me, who's actually had, and given degrees. You get funnier, and funnier. Not only was your Albert Pike screw up hilarious, but you link David Icke as a source of wisdom.

Anyway, despite you many many mistakes being pointed out to you at length, you still go on linking to anti-masonic sites, still believe everything you read online is true, and still have done *absolutely no research on your own* apart from a bit of googling.

Why don't you join the masons, and see first hand what it's about? You're perfectly entitled to leave after your first meeting if you don't like it. Then, you'd actually have some real knowledge, and some real evidence rather then the made up nonsense you're putting out here. Don't want to join? Fine, that's perfectly normal for some people to, but go to an open day, or have a tour of one of the Lodges and meet real people and ask real questions - but be open to the answers. Your inability to accept that you may be wrong is the entire reason people here are frustrated with you - the only reason you're posting in this thread is to have others agree with you, and if they don't, you go off on a copying/pasting rant which ends up being quite tiresome.

PaintDoctor,

If freemasons know more about the inner workings of the freemasons than non-members, then surely it is reasonable to say that someone higher up the ladder has more knowledge than a 1st degree apprentice?

yekahs wrote: »
    Still waiting to hear back. Apparently, it can take quite a bit of time to establish whether or not I'm a good guy, and then all the members of the lodge need to vote on it. The lodge generally only meets once a month, so it takes a month for each stage to happen. Hopefully I'll get the good or bad news within a month or so.
    We don't have some sort of intelligence network to investigate anyone. What happens is that the name of the person applying is called out in a meeting, and left with no decision made for the month. Then, if anyone knows anything bad about that person - like they have a criminal record, or if they're a bad person in society, then can be refused membership.

Like I've pointed out before, if you have any sort of wrong doing in your past, you're not allowed join. And if you are an existing member, and break any laws, or do anything to undermine the state you live in, or your workplace, you're out too.

How do they find out this information?

Criminal records can only be verified by the Gardai or the courts service.....(but it may take time to get this and other background info which probably explains why yekahs is still waiting! :D)

And what constitutes "any sort of wrongdoing"? Is it behaviour less than criminal?

Freemasonry.

To join, you firstly need to have an interest in Freemasonry, and be proposed by a lodge member. This application goes in front of the committee, and then the members. If approved, you will be instructed by your proposer as to taking your first step. To become a freemason, you need to demonstrate and believe in the following criteria -

1 - Do you believe in god?
    2 - Are you a moral, law-abiding citizen?
    3 - Do you believe in helping others?

There's no hidden agenda that I have seen in my ten years or so as a mason. There are a series of rituals that are informative, interesting and entertaining that entrants go through.

There are indeed plenty of masonic symbols in Dublin, some of the best in Bewleys Hotel in Ballsbridge as it was a school built by freemasons. There are lodges in many towns across Ireland.

Freemasonry is open to men from all walks of life, and you stand equal to your fellow man inside the lodge. Freemasonry takes no note of religious divides, colour or creed, and should not be confused with Orange Lodges in Northern Ireland that are only open to protestants. Freemasonry in my opinion is criticised by those who do not know it or understand it, and sometimes that is unjust, unfair and usually wildly inaccurate.

(1) "Freemasonry is open to men from all walks of life"... except atheists

(2) "and you stand equal to your fellow man inside the lodge."....... so, why is there a hierarchical structure within the freemasons? Clearly, some freemasons have a higher rank than others.

(3) "Freemasonry takes no note of religious divides".... yet it doesn't allow atheists?

yekahs wrote: »
    Eh? Skull and Bones aren't a masonic order?

What makes you so sure that your interpretation of symbols are correct? You have no first hand knowledge of masonry. Paintdoctor does. I'm going to take his word sooner than some anti-mason site that resorts to misquotes, and misinformation about "Captain Morgan" for the truth.

Likewise, it could be argued that someone at the very base of the freemasons' hierarchy does not have the same knowledge as a member who is further up that hierarchy...

Of course.

Of course, but common sense is also used. You wouldn't keep someone out for an overdue library book, or anything like that, (1) but you would if they actually had a criminal record for anything at all. You'd also keep someone out if you heard through word of mouth if they were generally a bad egg - you know the sort, doesn't have a criminal record, but might slap the wife around, or is a bit of an ass with too much drink in them.

The objective in the excercise is to only allow people with good morals join.

Again, how do the masons get access to this info?

Here's the IMAX cinema in Eilat. A strange building to have in a Jewish country, considering the Hebrews were supposedly enslaved to build these pyramids in Egypt.

4229094073_ed52be2cb4.jpg

I wonder did the Freemasons build the Square in Tallaght too? :eek::D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Di0genes

Again, how do the masons get access to this info?

I would imagine a quick check on google would suffice.

Di0genes wrote: »
    I would imagine a quick check on google would suffice.

Did you actually read my post?

You can't discover whether or not a person has a criminal record by searching google (unless of course the conviction was reported by the press, which in the vast majority of cases, it's not). As I said before, the only way to verify a person's criminal record is via the Gardai/courts service.

Did you actually read my post?

You can't discover whether or not a person has a criminal record by searching google (unless of course the conviction was reported by the press, which in the vast majority of cases, it's not). As I said before, the only way to verify a person's criminal record is via the Gardai/courts service.

Unless of course if a lodge member happens to know the person and this fact from day to day life.

/Sigh/

There are thousands of criminal cases in District Courts everyday around the country. Some result in convictions, whereas others are dismissed, struck out or have the Probation Act applied. Obviously, the vast majority of the convictions are not reported in the media. It simply wouldn't be feasible to do so.

Likewise, even if you know someone in everyday life, you may not know whether they have a criminal record. They are hardly going to broadcast it to all and sundry. Besides, just because another freemason suspects that a person has a criminal record would not be sufficient proof of there actually being a criminal record in place.

So, assuming a criminal conviction was not reported in the local newspaper, and assuming another lodge member is unable to officially confirm whether a person has a criminal record, how does the organisation verify this confidential information?

Btw, are you a member Diogenes?

/Sigh/

There are thousands of criminal cases in District Courts everyday around the country. Some result in convictions, whereas others are dismissed, struck out or have the Probation Act applied. Obviously, the vast majority of the convictions are not reported in the media. It simply wouldn't be feasible to do so.

Likewise, even if you know someone in everyday life, you may not know whether they have a criminal record. They are hardly going to broadcast it to all and sundry. Besides, just because another freemason suspects that a person has a criminal record would not be sufficient proof of there actually being a criminal record in place.

So, assuming a criminal conviction was not reported in the local newspaper, and assuming another lodge member is unable to officially confirm whether a person has a criminal record, how does the organisation verify this confidential information?

No but as I understand it, a concern that the potential freemason has a criminal record could be enough to have the application rejected.

It's a fraternal organisation.
    Btw, are you a member Diogenes?

No.

''Again, how do the masons get access to this info?''

This sort of information can be obtained through a freemason that's a member of the Gardai or some other member of the courts. Its most likely illegal. I think the simpsons episode of the stone cutters pretty much sums up what being a freemason is all about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT0WEFs2S90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

This sort of information can be obtained through a freemason that's a member of the Gardai or some other member of the courts. Its most likely illegal.

Okay let's imagine for a moment that a Garda runs a search on a person and finds them to have a criminal record. They then won't be allowed into the Freemasons. So this would mean dodgy people wouldn't get in.

meglome wrote: »
    Okay let's imagine for a moment that a Garda runs a search on a person and finds them to have a criminal record. They then won't be allowed into the Freemasons. So this would mean dodgy people wouldn't get in.

Not exactly, Its the cute Fu*kers that have not been caught yet.

This sort of information can be obtained through a freemason that's a member of the Gardai or some other member of the courts. Its most likely illegal. I think the simpsons episode of the stone cutters pretty much sums up what being a freemason is all about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT0WEFs2S90

You do understand that the Simpsons episode is a parody of every daft Freemason conspiracy theory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

Like alot of groups and families upholding the name is very important.Hence the world domination and on the webpage charitous works lol

You do understand that the Simpsons episode is a parody of every daft Freemason conspiracy theory?

I do indeed, and I would say its quite accurate.

Daft? says you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Daft? says you

.ie! says I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭paddymacsporran

As a freemason, I laughed heartily at the Simpons stone-cutters episode. Especially the song. It's peat briquettes to the conspiracy theorists.

http://www.leoslyrics.com/listlyrics.php?hid=qqdg9Am3%2Fls%3D

Regarding information about a candidate and any criminal record, I can only refer to my experience of my own lodge and it's workings. My mother lodge is in Scotland, but the essentials are the same. And to non-masons, you can pick that apart as you wish.

In passing a candidate, we of course would refer to the local justiciary, local religious leaders, local police, army and councillors to ascertain the suitability and moral fibre of any candidate. Any rumour on conjecture would of course result in a blackballing....

Well, that's what you WANT to hear, isn't it? Now this bit may disappoint you, but the slightly boring fact is every members vote is confidential. If a candidate is refused, no-one knows who didn't think said person was suitable for whatever reason. And that's the end of the matter.

And referring to my earlier post, the points I made are the basics of freemasonry the world over - Anyone not complying honestly to said points would not benefit freemasonry, and perhaps more importantly, nor would freemasonry benefit them. And before the vultures swoop on that statement, I mean benefit in a moral sense other than a material one.

Freemasonry will give much more to any man than it will take from him. Any fellow mason will agree with that statement I'm sure. And to anyone considering joining, I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

I await the vultures tearing over my every word and picking out the scraps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

As a freemason, I laughed heartily at the Simpons stone-cutters episode. Especially the song. It's peat briquettes to the conspiracy theorists.

http://www.leoslyrics.com/listlyrics.php?hid=qqdg9Am3%2Fls%3D

Regarding information about a candidate and any criminal record, I can only refer to my experience of my own lodge and it's workings. My mother lodge is in Scotland, but the essentials are the same. And to non-masons, you can pick that apart as you wish.

In passing a candidate, we of course would refer to the local justiciary, local religious leaders, local police, army and councillors to ascertain the suitability and moral fibre of any candidate. Any rumour on conjecture would of course result in a blackballing....

Well, that's what you WANT to hear, isn't it? Now this bit may disappoint you, but the slightly boring fact is every members vote is confidential. If a candidate is refused, no-one knows who didn't think said person was suitable for whatever reason. And that's the end of the matter.

And referring to my earlier post, the points I made are the basics of freemasonry the world over - Anyone not complying honestly to said points would not benefit freemasonry, and perhaps more importantly, nor would freemasonry benefit them. And before the vultures swoop on that statement, I mean benefit in a moral sense other than a material one.

Freemasonry will give much more to any man than it will take from him. Any fellow mason will agree with that statement I'm sure. And to anyone considering joining, I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

I await the vultures tearing over my every word and picking out the scraps.
    Masonic police officer convicted of murder; juror dismissed for allegedly flashing him Masonic hand gestures

A Virgin Islands man was removed as a juror in a murder trial jury for allegedly flashing Masonic hand gestures to the defendant and others in the courtroom, including witnesses.

William Curtis, chief investigator for the V.I. Justice Department, said two prosecutors asked him on Wednesday to come to court and keep an eye on the suspect juror. Curtis said he is familiar with Masonic signals and did not recognize any of the juror's movements and gestures as having significance, but prosecutors asked [the judge] to remove the man from the jury.

Later in the trial, Elvet Carty was called as a character witness for former police detective Joel Dowdye, charged with murdering his ex-girlfriend and trying to murder her companion in a downtown hotel room.

http://burningtaper.blogspot.com/2007/03/masonic-police-officer-convicted-of.html

Yet another police officer and a Mason is convicted of a serious criminal offence. It seems the Freemasons are somewhat lacking in their background checks these days.

Here's an interesting read from an anarchist forum regarding various Freemasons who have been convicted of pedophilia.

http://flag.blackened.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=75234&start=120

That Simpson's episode is scarily accurate. I broke my ass laughing the whole way through it. Lots to catch up on in this thread since I was away!

How do we check if someone has a criminal record? Well, we can't really. We don't have access to any sort of database, but we have newspapers on Google, and of course, word of mouth around places where people live. It's not foolproof though, but has worked 99% of the time.

Why all the symbolism and big buildings if we just meet up for chats and coffee? Why not. The local GAA hall down by me is ridiculously big, has rooms and rooms full of crests and trophys. Same thing really. Its just fun more than anything to have a weird building that people ask about. Only thing is though that in Ireland and the UK we don't have such mental buildings. The American ones are off the wall. The one in Manhattan is beautiful, a 14 storey building, and their ballroom for functions is a copy of the Titanic's ballroom - open to the public for tours - highly recommend it. I guess a building has the potential to have Masonic symbolism in it if the Architect is a Mason, same way if the guy was into Georgian stuff, the building might have a georgian feel to it. Kinda like a Ferrari owner kitting out a room at home or his office with Ferrari stuff - if you're into something, most normal people have a tendancy to display that interest publically in some way, if it's a GAA shirt, a flash watch for someone who collects watches, or someone obsessed with cats having a house with little statues of cats/cats on plates/mugs with cats ...

The 'showing who built Israel' monument? Eh no. Masonry can only trace its roots to the 16th century or so, before that, no one has a clue where it came from. There's dozens of theories, but as far as we can tell, it sprung up around that time. By my reckoning, Israel was around long before that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

The background checks don't look into the future.

+1 Humanji. People are humans, and humans by their own nature are fragile. A person could be normal at 20, and a serial killer at 40.

So ... got any links from an actual source which isn't a blog? I can make a blog tomorrow called Panchovilla, the child rapist, serial killer, kleptomaniac and unwashed. Wouldn't mean it was true though.

As regards your attempt at linking Paedophilia and Masonry, Paedophiles are in every walk of life. Just as you linked to the 'anarchist forum', I could link to an actual newspaper where Paedophile teachers have been convicted, or paedophile golfers, or paedophile doctors have been convicted. Doesn't mean that by becoming a teacher/doctor/golfer they suddenly became child rapists though, does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

http://burningtaper.blogspot.com/2007/03/masonic-police-officer-convicted-of.html

Yet another police officer and a Mason is convicted of a serious criminal offence. It seems the Freemasons are somewhat lacking in their background checks these days.

Here's an interesting read from an anarchist forum regarding various Freemasons who have been convicted of pedophilia.

http://flag.blackened.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=75234&start=120

John Stalker hinted at Masonry links in the 80's. Highly respected Chief Constable from England appointed to investigate the RUC and the Security Agencies Shoot to Kill policy in NI in the early 80's.

He suffered a terrible campaign to discredit him that went to ridiculous lengths, use of cars, that type of nonsense.

He strongly hinted at Masonry links to the slur campaign. Now that was the mid 80's and there was other political issues at play, agency battles, NI politics etc. but I'd hope that type of stuff would be gone these days.

My suspicion is, it is like politics these days. It is harder to prove political favours these days because of legislation. Doesn't mean the nod, nod, wink, wink, scratch my back............. culture doesn't exist.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Masonry can only trace its roots to the 16th century or so, be

You're saying the rituals reference only stuff that took place between now and 1600AD? All that pillars, ladder and chalkboards stuff, all 17th century.

Pretty much, I'd have to look up the dates, but it only goes back a few centuries despite the rituals being about Solomon's time, etc. And you know what, it's a pain in the ass not knowing. Would be very very cool if we knew where/when it started and why.

Why would you have rituals about Solomons time? Whats the significance (if any) of Solomon to Masonry