The Connacht Telegraph does a Daily mail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

deereidy wrote: »
    You think that's funny?

??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

kraggy wrote: »
    Eh, how is it xenophobic exactly?

Why should we give money to people who broke the law to get here and continue to break the law by remaining here?

As far as I'm aware we don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭St._Andalou

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Another classic edition of the Connaught Terrible had a highly Joe-Duffyesque feature about drugs in Mayo and how awful it all was and how we should all be supporting the Gardai who are doing a great job and how awful it all is and how drugs are bad and did I mention how awful it all is......

On the facing page was an item about the ancient tradition (TM)of Poitin making and how the guards should lay off them and how it really should be legal because sure what harm are they doing........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Sugarfree wrote: »
    Morgan Kelly in the Irish times said this would happen.

Yup, he sure is brilliant at predicting something that has been happening for years will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

The Connacht Telegraph is a rag. Its the only local paper for Mayo that I never buy.

And you don't even live in Mayo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

A Banshee wouldn't blow her nose with the Connaught Telegraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

"PASS THE NORTH KOREAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, YOU GET 12YRS HARD LABOUR, YOU PASS THE AFGHAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, U GET SHOT, YOU PASS THE IRISH BORDER ILLEGALLY U GET A JOB, A DRIVER’S LICENSE, A PLACE TO LIVE, HOUSING BENEFIT, HEALTH CARE, EDUCATION, CHILD BENEFIT, NEED I CARRY ON?.THIS COUNTRY’S A JOKE!! PUT AS YOUR STATUS IF …YOU AGREE!!…NO WONDER WE ARE A COUNTRY IN DEBT"

Telling it like it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

profitius wrote: »
    "PASS THE NORTH KOREAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, YOU GET 12YRS HARD LABOUR, YOU PASS THE AFGHAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, U GET SHOT, YOU PASS THE IRISH BORDER ILLEGALLY U GET A JOB, A DRIVER’S LICENSE, A PLACE TO LIVE, HOUSING BENEFIT, HEALTH CARE, EDUCATION, CHILD BENEFIT, NEED I CARRY ON?.THIS COUNTRY’S A JOKE!! PUT AS YOUR STATUS IF …YOU AGREE!!…NO WONDER WE ARE A COUNTRY IN DEBT"

Telling it like it is!

You don't get shot for crossing the Afghan border.

You don't get a job, a drivers licence, a place to live etc just by arriving here.

No, we are not a country in debt because of whatever abuse of the system does actually occur, we are in debt because of the decisions of a group of irish citizens, born and bred.

That would mean that its not "telling it like it is!" but rather 'talking through ones hole'.

And I might add that the message in question actually concerned America, when it first appeared......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

The Daily Mail likes this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Bryan4president

Wasnt the Echo single-handedly made by one man from Castlebar?

I think so, think he was a taxi man in Castlebar. He had a vendetta out on all boy racers in Castlebar. Remember once he wrote how they chased him out of the tesco car park when he tried to interview them, what a chancer.

And as for the Connaught Telegraph, for a Mayo newspaper it rarely has Mayo-wide news apart from sport and the local news. All the main news is always Castlebar related, which is probably why no one outside Castlebar actually reads it.

Nodin wrote: »
    You don't get shot for crossing the Afghan border.

You don't get a job, a drivers licence, a place to live etc just by arriving here.

No, we are not a country in debt because of whatever abuse of the system does actually occur, we are in debt because of the decisions of a group of irish citizens, born and bred.

That would mean that its not "telling it like it is!" but rather 'talking through ones hole'.

How about that African woman who refuses to go home and goes to every court possible? Yes the Irish are muppets for putting up with that.

I think so, think he was a taxi man in Castlebar. He had a vendetta out on all boy racers in Castlebar. Remember once he wrote how they chased him out of the tesco car park when he tried to interview them, what a chancer.

And as for the Connaught Telegraph, for a Mayo newspaper it rarely has Mayo-wide news apart from sport and the local news. All the main news is always Castlebar related, which is probably why no one outside Castlebar actually reads it.

The Mayo News is the same, all the articles are West Mayo focused. Even the Western People is very Ballina focused. Us East Mayo people are left with no paper to call our own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

The Mayo News is the same, all the articles are West Mayo focused. Even the Western People is very Ballina focused. Us East Mayo people are left with no paper to call our own.

Start your own:cool:

How about that African woman who refuses to go home and goes to every court possible? Yes the Irish are muppets for putting up with that.

So one woman going to court makes an e-mail about America suddenly true about Ireland in all its detail (even though 99% of those details are wrong...).....

Nodin wrote: »
    So one woman going to court makes an e-mail about America suddenly true about Ireland in all its detail (even though 99% of those details are wrong...).....

I was just using her as an example. Unfortunatly this is a common thing to happen.

Fair enough. Could you give me two other examples that mirror Pamela Izb.?

Bob Z wrote: »
    Start your own:cool:

Its a fairly crowded marketplace especially with the Sligo and Roscommon papers pushing in on our territory. Any suggestions for a name though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭St._Andalou

That's a shame because the Western is one of the few decent local papers that serves the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

biko wrote: »
    So what did the Daily Mail do? Have that status on their facebook page?

several instances of alleged racisim aparantly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

racism is thriving with Bog Gombeen people..:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Connaught Telegraph is Irelands oldest paper. And a load of shíte, always factual and spelling mistakes. It's full of local small time court cases, it used to be terrifying being a young fella who was ever caught with a ten spot or caught knacker drinking too many times because they'd stick the story up. Wouldn't be named but people would know and gossip, smalltown bs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

charlemont wrote: »
    racism is thriving with Bog Gombeen people..:mad:
    The ironing is delicious.