Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Connacht Telegraph does a Daily mail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

The Connacht Telegraph is a rag. Its the only local paper for Mayo that I never buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

So what did the Daily Mail do? Have that status on their facebook page?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

You mean to tell me that the Connaught Telegraph had a headline that wasn't "Man Tells Gardaí to F*** Off"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I just poked them LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Sugarfree

biko wrote: »
    So what did the Daily Mail do? Have that status on their facebook page?

Plenty of Daily mail stories show them up for exactly what they are.

Famous stories

The Daily Mail's front page of 8 July 1934, featured the headline "Hurrah for the Blackshirts".[46] The Mail also referred to Hitler's "sturdy young Nazis".[47]
    On 7 January 1967, the Mail published a story, "The holes in our roads", about potholes, giving the examples of Blackburn where it said there were 4,000 holes. This detail was then immortalised by John Lennon in the Beatles song A Day in the Life along with an account of the death of Tara Browne which also appeared in the same issue.[48]
    On 16 July 1993 the Mail ran the headline "Abortion hope after 'gay genes' finding";[49] this headline has been widely criticised in subsequent years, for example as "perhaps the most infamous and disturbing headline of all" (of headlines from tabloid newspapers commenting on the Xq28 gene).[50]
    The Mail campaigned on the case of Stephen Lawrence, a black teenager who was murdered in a racially motivated attack in Eltham, London in April 1993. On 14 February 1997, the Mail led its front page with a picture of the five men accused of Lawrence's murder and the headline "MURDERERS", stating that it believed that the men had murdered Lawrence and adding "if we are wrong, let them sue us".[51] This attracted praise from Paul Foot and Peter Preston.[52]
    On October 9, 2009 the Mail ran the headline "Hunger striker's £7m Big Mac: Tamil who cost London a fortune in policing was sneaking in fast-food"[53] [54] The article stated that "Scotland Yard surveillance teams using specialist monitoring equipment had watched in disbelief" as Parameswaran Subramaniyan; a Tamil hunger striker protesting outside the Houses of Parliament covertly broke his fast by secretly eating McDonald's burgers. When a request for an apology and retraction of this story was refused, Mr Subramanyam issued proceedings against the paper.[55] In court, the newspaper's claim was shown to be entirely false, the Met superintendent in charge of the policing operation confirmed there had been no police surveillance team using the "specialist monitoring equipment". As a result, on 29 July 2010, Mr Subramanyam is understood to have accepted damages of £47,500 from the Daily Mail. The newspaper also paid his legal costs, withdrew the allegations and apologised "sincerely and unreservedly" for the distress that had been caused.[56]
    16 October 2009 Jan Moir article on the death of Stephen Gately,[57] which many people felt was inaccurate, insensitive, and 'homophobic', generated over 25,000 complaints, the highest number of complaints for a newspaper article in the history of the Press Complaints Commission.[58][59] Major advertisers such as Marks and Spencer responded to the criticism by asking for their own adverts to be removed from the Mail Online webpage around Moir's article. The Daily Mail removed all display ads from the webpage with the Gately column.[60]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Jaysus, what a non-story. It's a jokey Facebook status.

Christ.

ottostreet wrote: »

Christ.

Its a fairly xenophobic statement, and it doesnt say good things about the paper if they see fit to have this on their page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Sugarfree

Christ.

The official Connacht telegraph facebook page. What was the lad thinking putting it on there in fairness. It was at 11 O'Clock at night, maybe he had a drink or two and thought it was a great idea at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Christ.

It's lunacy for a newspaper to put that up through it's official channels. The person who did that really ought to be fired, if not for xenophobia then for being as thick as bottled pig****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Its a fairly xenophobic statement, and it doesnt say good things about the paper if they see fit to have this on their page.

lol at ur sig, btw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Christ.

it's not really though, the knuckle-headed simpleton fu_ckwits that repost this actually believe it.

The_B_Man wrote: »
    lol at ur sig, btw...

Hipster Hitler is the best.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

The Connacht Telegraph is a rag ...
    In fact OP and others seem unaware that that is not the name of the newspaper; it's The Connaught Telegraph. The name alone might indicate the likelihood of it being a West of Ireland Daily Mail. The website name is another hint www dot Con Telegraph dot ie. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

That's it, I'm never going to buy the Connaught Telegraph again. EVER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

If one is getting "housing benefit" as a result of having crossed the Irish border theyve obviously been crossing it in the opposite direction to what the post in question appears to be suggesting since "housing benefit" is only available in the UK.
    You mean to tell me that the Connaught Telegraph had a headline that wasn't "Man Tells Gardaí to F*** Off"

My all time favorite Connaught Terrible headline was Gang Warfare in Westport.

Basically group of teenagers from Castlebar travel in a minibus to a football match and a couple of them get into a minor skirmish with some local counterparts.

At the time this non-story was published (early-mid 1990's) the whole Crips V's Bloods thing was going down bigtime over in South Central LA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

PASS THE NORTH KOREAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, YOU GET 12YRS HARD LABOUR,
    YOU PASS THE AFGHAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, U GET SHOT,
    YOU PASS THE IRISH BORDER ILLEGALLY U GET A JOB,
    A DRIVER’S LICENSE, A PLACE TO LIVE, HOUSING BENEFIT, HEALTH CARE, EDUCATION, CHILD BENEFIT, NEED I CARRY ON?.THIS COUNTRY’S A JOKE!! PUT AS YOUR STATUS IF …YOU AGREE!!…NO WONDER WE ARE A COUNTRY IN DEBT

My own take on this is that for every one person loudly complaining about that there are an awful lot more people who are either in full agreement or who feel this is an area of concern that is not being addressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    If one is getting "housing benefit" as a result of having crossed the Irish border theyve obviously been crossing it in the opposite direction to what the post in question appears to be suggesting since "housing benefit" is only available in the UK.

My all time favorite Connaught Terrible headline was Gang Warfare in Westport.

Basically group of teenagers from Castlebar travel in a minibus to a football match and a couple of them get into a minor skirmish with some local counterparts.

At the time this non-story was published (early-mid 1990's) the whole Crips V's Bloods thing was going down bigtime over in South Central LA.

Or what about the Mayo GAA ultras?! Basically all it was a young lad posting a page on Bebo saying Mayo fans should meet behind the Albany end at McHale Park. Of course they ran a full story on it :D

Morlar wrote: »
    PASS THE NORTH KOREAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, YOU GET 12YRS HARD LABOUR.

This if true (probably not) is likely also referring to crossing in the outward direction too seeing how anyone going the other way would be highly insane or highly lost.

When it comes to illegal border crossing Stalinist dictatorships tend to be more preoccupied with the outward kind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

Sugarfree wrote: »
    Plenty of Daily mail stories show them up for exactly what they are.

Famous stories

The Daily Mail's front page of 8 July 1934, featured the headline "Hurrah for the Blackshirts".[46] The Mail also referred to Hitler's "sturdy young Nazis".[47]
    On 7 January 1967, the Mail published a story, "The holes in our roads", about potholes, giving the examples of Blackburn where it said there were 4,000 holes.

Jan Moir article on the death of Stephen Gately,[57] which many people felt was inaccurate, insensitive, and 'homophobic', generated over 25,000 complaints, the highest number of complaints for a newspaper article in the history of the Press Complaints Commission.[60]

Thats easily the worst story they've ever done. I am glad you put it in the list of the top ten worst Daily Mail headlines. If only I had known when I agreed with Jan Moir that time. Or the article on Hitler that time.

NEVER BUYING THAT RAG AGAIN!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭deereidy

Christ.

You think that's funny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Morlar wrote: »
    My own take on this is that for every one person loudly complaining about that there are an awful lot more people who are either in full agreement or who feel this is an area of concern that is not being addressed.

Yep, its amazing how otherwise well informed people can swallow that shite whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭St._Andalou

I'd say it was a young intern who made a stupid mistake. The paper should have been more careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Aswerty

I live in Connaught and I've never heard of this paper. Going from this thread though I'm thankful for that.

Aswerty wrote: »
    I live in Connaught and I've never heard of this paper. Going from this thread though I'm thankful for that.

It's based in Castlebar. When I was 14 I spent a week of work experience there, although I have to say I have never actually bought and read the paper.

Aswerty wrote: »

Its only sold in Mayo, not available in other counties of Connacht.

This one by the now-defunct Mayo Echo is worse.

It called gay men "drooling perverts" and published pictures of men who allegedly had outdoor sex, although I'm not sure where the proof was. They must have forgotten it with their sensationalism.

Wasnt the Echo single-handedly made by one man from Castlebar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Eh, how is it xenophobic exactly?

Why should we give money to people who broke the law to get here and continue to break the law by remaining here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

I thought this might be something interesting:D:D:D.
    For the information of you all, thet piece was circulated through th PS in an email and did a run by text as well about 18 months ago. Nothing new at all. And probably not without a grain of truth:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I'm not sure. It had a relatively high print run (18,000) so I'm not sure.

However, it wasn't signed up to the Press Council of Ireland's "Code of Conduct" which was the stinger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

deereidy wrote: »
    You think that's funny?

??????

kraggy wrote: »
    Eh, how is it xenophobic exactly?

Why should we give money to people who broke the law to get here and continue to break the law by remaining here?

As far as I'm aware we don't.

Another classic edition of the Connaught Terrible had a highly Joe-Duffyesque feature about drugs in Mayo and how awful it all was and how we should all be supporting the Gardai who are doing a great job and how awful it all is and how drugs are bad and did I mention how awful it all is......

On the facing page was an item about the ancient tradition (TM)of Poitin making and how the guards should lay off them and how it really should be legal because sure what harm are they doing........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Sugarfree wrote: »
    Morgan Kelly in the Irish times said this would happen.

Yup, he sure is brilliant at predicting something that has been happening for years will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

The Connacht Telegraph is a rag. Its the only local paper for Mayo that I never buy.

And you don't even live in Mayo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

A Banshee wouldn't blow her nose with the Connaught Telegraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

"PASS THE NORTH KOREAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, YOU GET 12YRS HARD LABOUR, YOU PASS THE AFGHAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, U GET SHOT, YOU PASS THE IRISH BORDER ILLEGALLY U GET A JOB, A DRIVER’S LICENSE, A PLACE TO LIVE, HOUSING BENEFIT, HEALTH CARE, EDUCATION, CHILD BENEFIT, NEED I CARRY ON?.THIS COUNTRY’S A JOKE!! PUT AS YOUR STATUS IF …YOU AGREE!!…NO WONDER WE ARE A COUNTRY IN DEBT"

Telling it like it is!

profitius wrote: »
    "PASS THE NORTH KOREAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, YOU GET 12YRS HARD LABOUR, YOU PASS THE AFGHAN BORDER ILLEGALLY, U GET SHOT, YOU PASS THE IRISH BORDER ILLEGALLY U GET A JOB, A DRIVER’S LICENSE, A PLACE TO LIVE, HOUSING BENEFIT, HEALTH CARE, EDUCATION, CHILD BENEFIT, NEED I CARRY ON?.THIS COUNTRY’S A JOKE!! PUT AS YOUR STATUS IF …YOU AGREE!!…NO WONDER WE ARE A COUNTRY IN DEBT"

Telling it like it is!

You don't get shot for crossing the Afghan border.

You don't get a job, a drivers licence, a place to live etc just by arriving here.

No, we are not a country in debt because of whatever abuse of the system does actually occur, we are in debt because of the decisions of a group of irish citizens, born and bred.

That would mean that its not "telling it like it is!" but rather 'talking through ones hole'.

And I might add that the message in question actually concerned America, when it first appeared......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

The Daily Mail likes this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Bryan4president

I think so, think he was a taxi man in Castlebar. He had a vendetta out on all boy racers in Castlebar. Remember once he wrote how they chased him out of the tesco car park when he tried to interview them, what a chancer.

And as for the Connaught Telegraph, for a Mayo newspaper it rarely has Mayo-wide news apart from sport and the local news. All the main news is always Castlebar related, which is probably why no one outside Castlebar actually reads it.

Nodin wrote: »
    You don't get shot for crossing the Afghan border.

You don't get a job, a drivers licence, a place to live etc just by arriving here.

No, we are not a country in debt because of whatever abuse of the system does actually occur, we are in debt because of the decisions of a group of irish citizens, born and bred.

That would mean that its not "telling it like it is!" but rather 'talking through ones hole'.

How about that African woman who refuses to go home and goes to every court possible? Yes the Irish are muppets for putting up with that.

I think so, think he was a taxi man in Castlebar. He had a vendetta out on all boy racers in Castlebar. Remember once he wrote how they chased him out of the tesco car park when he tried to interview them, what a chancer.

And as for the Connaught Telegraph, for a Mayo newspaper it rarely has Mayo-wide news apart from sport and the local news. All the main news is always Castlebar related, which is probably why no one outside Castlebar actually reads it.

The Mayo News is the same, all the articles are West Mayo focused. Even the Western People is very Ballina focused. Us East Mayo people are left with no paper to call our own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

The Mayo News is the same, all the articles are West Mayo focused. Even the Western People is very Ballina focused. Us East Mayo people are left with no paper to call our own.

Start your own:cool:

How about that African woman who refuses to go home and goes to every court possible? Yes the Irish are muppets for putting up with that.

So one woman going to court makes an e-mail about America suddenly true about Ireland in all its detail (even though 99% of those details are wrong...).....

Nodin wrote: »
    So one woman going to court makes an e-mail about America suddenly true about Ireland in all its detail (even though 99% of those details are wrong...).....

I was just using her as an example. Unfortunatly this is a common thing to happen.

Fair enough. Could you give me two other examples that mirror Pamela Izb.?

Bob Z wrote: »
    Start your own:cool:

Its a fairly crowded marketplace especially with the Sligo and Roscommon papers pushing in on our territory. Any suggestions for a name though?

That's a shame because the Western is one of the few decent local papers that serves the area.