From the geniuses that brought you last weeks riots!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

That will go well. Tho from what I've seen, I'd have some question marks about the actions of some guards on video..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

the six one news this evening had some interesting footage of the last one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Hopefully people keep marching till the goverment gets the point that the pubilc arent going to accept any more of it'd bullsh!t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I will be proud to attend.

OP, you degenerate twat, I think you may be one of those losers who believes everything they hear in the media. It will be peaceful and this time the activists will record every single bit of it if something does happen, but I doubt the Gardaí would dare make such a hiccup as they did in the last protest.

Already, subgroups of major political parties such as Labour Youth are supporting the protest. In these times awareness is needed to inform the people; awareness leads to activism and activism to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

Dwaegon wrote: »
    Protest against 'Garda brutality'

Any predictions to how this will end up?

Armed forces brutality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Dwaegon

It's a bit silly tbh!
    6pm = rush-hour traffic
    6pm = Darkness and cold
    6pm = Politicians at home
    6pm = A little late to get coverage in the 6one news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Protest against 'Garda brutality'

Any predictions to how this will end up?

Time for another tribunal, methinks...

OP, you degenerate twat, I think you may be one of those losers who believes everything they hear in the media. It will be peaceful and this time the activists will record every single bit of it if something does happen, but I doubt the Gardaí would dare make such a hiccup as they did in the last protest.

Already, subgroups of major political parties such as Labour Youth are supporting the protest. In these times awareness is need to inform the people; awareness leads to activism and activism to change.

Subgroups are what started all the problems in the first place last week!

Why would I believe everything i hear in the media? I was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

RTE should be paying these guys, it's the best entertainment I've seen this year!

Oh oh oh, can we get the trendy revolutionary in the beret to show up again? She made oi larf! Bonus points if she shouts 'smash the system!' whilst giving it her best Patty Hearst impression.

And of course, protocol insists that we have at least one half baked hippy who goes around trying to give flowers to the riot squad. Not clichéd at all. Nope...'Why, is that a camera? Oh, I might be on telly'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    That will go well. Tho from what I've seen, I'd have some question marks about the actions of some guards on video..

When you decide to unleash the hounds, then some people may get bitten.

It's the nature of the beast I'm afraid. Sometimes having a cup of tea with people who are violently opposed to your ideology doesn't work. That's why we have police and soldiers, and always have had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

flutered wrote: »
    the six one news this evening had some interesting footage of the last one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Hopefully people keep marching till the goverment gets the point that the pubilc arent going to accept any more of it'd bullsh!t

So no cuts and keep spending at current levels while borrowing to pay for it from people that know we have to keep borrowing and set the rates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Why would I believe everything i hear in the media? I was there.
    Did you break your baton on some students heads?

biko wrote: »
    Did you break your baton on some students heads?

No, I was passing by and i saw people chucking things at mounted gardai, saw a bunch of red flags and decided it wasn't for me. I saw a lot of **** that day, instigated by a bunch of angry hijackers that tried to convince me to protest at the DoF after the main march, during the actual march. I don't condone the gardai's reaction, but the fact is that if there had been nobody at the DoF, there would have been nobody hurt. I blame the political groups that came out with their own agendas to undermine our protest. They put innocent students in danger because they wanted the medias attention away from the core issues we marched for and on the violence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭who what when

Some of them entered goverment buildings illegally last week ffs.
    In some countries that would be seen as an attempted coup d'etat and they'd be lucky to get away with their lives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

They just want a day off lectures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

RTE should be paying these guys, it's the best entertainment I've seen this year!

Oh oh oh, can we get the trendy revolutionary in the beret to show up again? She made oi larf! Bonus points if she shouts 'smash the system!' whilst giving it her best Patty Hearst impression.

And of course, protocol insists that we have at least one half baked hippy who goes around trying to give flowers to the riot squad. Not clichéd at all. Nope...'Why, is that a camera? Oh, I might be on telly'...
    Give it a few months and it'll be more than the trendy revolutionary out marching. There wont be much marching either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Brendog wrote: »

Capital work there from our porcine guardians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

They just want a day off lectures
    They dont need a protest to take a day off lectures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

Those people obviously aren't students. There isn't an academic gown or straw boater in sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Diapason wrote: »
    Those people obviously aren't students. There isn't an academic gown or straw boater in sight.

Plus I detected a few "common" accents amonst the agitators. I hope they aren't encouraging riff-raff into higher education these days? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Already, subgroups of major political parties such as Labour Youth are supporting the protest. In these times awareness is needed to inform the people; awareness leads to activism and activism to change.

Did you watch the footage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

What a completely idiotic thing to protest over.
    A few students who have grown up completely oblivious as to how to deal with he Gardaí got a few slaps.
    Aww. God love them.

I saw all the videos and in each one the protestors started the trouble.

The original student protest was great and I admire those who participated. The breakaway one was a few drunken idiots, the SWP, SF and others causing trouble.

They tried to push through the barrier created by the riot squad and then complained when they were given a slap or two.

Bunch of whiny little bitches looking for attention. That's all they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

garda brutality?

thay have nothing on their continental colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Of course you will get people on your side with the personal abuse :rolleyes:

Surprised you didn't get a warning or ban for that.

So how are you informing the people about activism? Of course by calling them twats and losers. Nice!

Terry wrote: »
    What a completely idiotic thing to protest over.
    A few students who have grown up completely oblivious as to how to deal with he Gardaí got a few slaps.
    Aww. God love them.

I saw all the videos and in each one the protestors started the trouble.

The original student protest was great and I admire those who participated. The breakaway one was a few drunken idiots, the SWP, SF and others causing trouble.

They tried to push through the barrier created by the riot squad and then complained when they were given a slap or two.

Bunch of whiny little bitches looking for attention. That's all they are.
    What about the one where the students were sitting and were hit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

If the timeline in the video on the previous page is true, then it looks like the 'friendly' protestors were throwing things at the garda and initiated the conflict.
    No sympathy from me whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,045 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Jezzzz that guy with the ginger hair and beard is on every fecking video.
    Some of the cops were pr1cks, but i wonder what would happen if I decided to throw a wooden sign or a bottle at a cop in the street Hmmmm i wonder.

Do these protests really do anything? The cops didn't cause this, I mean why not hold protests outside the politicans homes?

Of course you will get people on your side with the personal abuse :rolleyes:

Surprised you didn't get a warning or ban for that.

So how are you informing the people about activism? Of course by calling them twats and losers. Nice!

He did. Red card on his post.

What does that mean?
    ive never seen it before