Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From the geniuses that brought you last weeks riots!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

That will go well. Tho from what I've seen, I'd have some question marks about the actions of some guards on video..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

the six one news this evening had some interesting footage of the last one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Hopefully people keep marching till the goverment gets the point that the pubilc arent going to accept any more of it'd bullsh!t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I will be proud to attend.

OP, you degenerate twat, I think you may be one of those losers who believes everything they hear in the media. It will be peaceful and this time the activists will record every single bit of it if something does happen, but I doubt the Gardaí would dare make such a hiccup as they did in the last protest.

Already, subgroups of major political parties such as Labour Youth are supporting the protest. In these times awareness is needed to inform the people; awareness leads to activism and activism to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

Dwaegon wrote: »
    Protest against 'Garda brutality'

Any predictions to how this will end up?

Armed forces brutality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Dwaegon

It's a bit silly tbh!
    6pm = rush-hour traffic
    6pm = Darkness and cold
    6pm = Politicians at home
    6pm = A little late to get coverage in the 6one news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Protest against 'Garda brutality'

Any predictions to how this will end up?

Time for another tribunal, methinks...

OP, you degenerate twat, I think you may be one of those losers who believes everything they hear in the media. It will be peaceful and this time the activists will record every single bit of it if something does happen, but I doubt the Gardaí would dare make such a hiccup as they did in the last protest.

Already, subgroups of major political parties such as Labour Youth are supporting the protest. In these times awareness is need to inform the people; awareness leads to activism and activism to change.

Subgroups are what started all the problems in the first place last week!

Why would I believe everything i hear in the media? I was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

RTE should be paying these guys, it's the best entertainment I've seen this year!

Oh oh oh, can we get the trendy revolutionary in the beret to show up again? She made oi larf! Bonus points if she shouts 'smash the system!' whilst giving it her best Patty Hearst impression.

And of course, protocol insists that we have at least one half baked hippy who goes around trying to give flowers to the riot squad. Not clichéd at all. Nope...'Why, is that a camera? Oh, I might be on telly'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    That will go well. Tho from what I've seen, I'd have some question marks about the actions of some guards on video..

When you decide to unleash the hounds, then some people may get bitten.

It's the nature of the beast I'm afraid. Sometimes having a cup of tea with people who are violently opposed to your ideology doesn't work. That's why we have police and soldiers, and always have had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

flutered wrote: »
    the six one news this evening had some interesting footage of the last one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Hopefully people keep marching till the goverment gets the point that the pubilc arent going to accept any more of it'd bullsh!t

So no cuts and keep spending at current levels while borrowing to pay for it from people that know we have to keep borrowing and set the rates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Why would I believe everything i hear in the media? I was there.
    Did you break your baton on some students heads?

biko wrote: »
    Did you break your baton on some students heads?

No, I was passing by and i saw people chucking things at mounted gardai, saw a bunch of red flags and decided it wasn't for me. I saw a lot of **** that day, instigated by a bunch of angry hijackers that tried to convince me to protest at the DoF after the main march, during the actual march. I don't condone the gardai's reaction, but the fact is that if there had been nobody at the DoF, there would have been nobody hurt. I blame the political groups that came out with their own agendas to undermine our protest. They put innocent students in danger because they wanted the medias attention away from the core issues we marched for and on the violence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

Some of them entered goverment buildings illegally last week ffs.
    In some countries that would be seen as an attempted coup d'etat and they'd be lucky to get away with their lives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

They just want a day off lectures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

RTE should be paying these guys, it's the best entertainment I've seen this year!

Oh oh oh, can we get the trendy revolutionary in the beret to show up again? She made oi larf! Bonus points if she shouts 'smash the system!' whilst giving it her best Patty Hearst impression.

And of course, protocol insists that we have at least one half baked hippy who goes around trying to give flowers to the riot squad. Not clichéd at all. Nope...'Why, is that a camera? Oh, I might be on telly'...
    Give it a few months and it'll be more than the trendy revolutionary out marching. There wont be much marching either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Brendog wrote: »

Capital work there from our porcine guardians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

They just want a day off lectures
    They dont need a protest to take a day off lectures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

Those people obviously aren't students. There isn't an academic gown or straw boater in sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Diapason wrote: »
    Those people obviously aren't students. There isn't an academic gown or straw boater in sight.

Plus I detected a few "common" accents amonst the agitators. I hope they aren't encouraging riff-raff into higher education these days? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Already, subgroups of major political parties such as Labour Youth are supporting the protest. In these times awareness is needed to inform the people; awareness leads to activism and activism to change.

Did you watch the footage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

What a completely idiotic thing to protest over.
    A few students who have grown up completely oblivious as to how to deal with he Gardaí got a few slaps.
    Aww. God love them.

I saw all the videos and in each one the protestors started the trouble.

The original student protest was great and I admire those who participated. The breakaway one was a few drunken idiots, the SWP, SF and others causing trouble.

They tried to push through the barrier created by the riot squad and then complained when they were given a slap or two.

Bunch of whiny little bitches looking for attention. That's all they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

garda brutality?

thay have nothing on their continental colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Of course you will get people on your side with the personal abuse :rolleyes:

Surprised you didn't get a warning or ban for that.

So how are you informing the people about activism? Of course by calling them twats and losers. Nice!

Terry wrote: »
    What a completely idiotic thing to protest over.
    A few students who have grown up completely oblivious as to how to deal with he Gardaí got a few slaps.
    Aww. God love them.

I saw all the videos and in each one the protestors started the trouble.

The original student protest was great and I admire those who participated. The breakaway one was a few drunken idiots, the SWP, SF and others causing trouble.

They tried to push through the barrier created by the riot squad and then complained when they were given a slap or two.

Bunch of whiny little bitches looking for attention. That's all they are.
    What about the one where the students were sitting and were hit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

If the timeline in the video on the previous page is true, then it looks like the 'friendly' protestors were throwing things at the garda and initiated the conflict.
    No sympathy from me whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Jezzzz that guy with the ginger hair and beard is on every fecking video.
    Some of the cops were pr1cks, but i wonder what would happen if I decided to throw a wooden sign or a bottle at a cop in the street Hmmmm i wonder.

Do these protests really do anything? The cops didn't cause this, I mean why not hold protests outside the politicans homes?

Of course you will get people on your side with the personal abuse :rolleyes:

Surprised you didn't get a warning or ban for that.

So how are you informing the people about activism? Of course by calling them twats and losers. Nice!

He did. Red card on his post.

What does that mean?
    ive never seen it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

About the action towards the group sitting down,they were obstructing the road,were asked to move on and failed to do so,therefore the Gardai were well within their rights to take action.Any after a few slaps officers were snatching those they thought as ring leaders,a very selective and non-brutal method of dealing with the situation if you ask me.

And as already pointed out,when you try to breach a line of public order officers who have big sticks,what do you expect to happen?!

About the action towards the group sitting down,they were obstructing the road,were asked to move on and failed to do so,therefore the Gardai were well within their rights to take action.Any after a few slaps officers were snatching those they thought as ring leaders,a very selective and non-brutal method of dealing with the situation if you ask me.

And as already pointed out,when you try to breach a line of public order officers who have big sticks,what do you expect to happen?!
    I not sure but i think all thy can do about the people sitting down is carry them away

Sharkey 10 wrote: »
    What does that mean?
    ive never seen it before

I think he has been banned from this thread for 10 days, but i'm not sure if that's all. A mod would know. He got it for his personal attack on me.

What about the one where the students were sitting and were hit?
    Watch all the clips.
    The majority of those sitting were the same ones throwing abuse at the Gardaí in the earlier clips.

Here's a tip. Watch something unrelated go out live on the telly. Then watch it again after the edits have been made.
    After that, watch the youtube clips which show the Gardaí as the baddies.

Draw your own conclusions after that.

I not sure but i think all thy can do about the people sitting down is carry them away

Well after giving out a few slaps they did just that. And all this was after they were pelted with bottles,signs and any other item to hand.

Seems absurd that many of these people are complaining of Gardai brutality after they so blatantly flout the law.

Good job by the Gardai imo. Once we go down the road of destroying our own towns and cities and attacking our own citizens,be they members of the force or not then the fight is already long lost and we are no better than those thieves in the Dail.

Caliden wrote: »
    If the timeline in the video on the previous page is true, then it looks like the 'friendly' protestors were throwing things at the garda and initiated the conflict.
    No sympathy from me whatsoever.
    They were hardly throwing bricks. A few idiots threw some plastic bottles and about five minutes later you have gardai dragging one poor bastard, who was sitting down, by the hair.

Stekelly wrote: »
    So no cuts and keep spending at current levels while borrowing to pay for it from people that know we have to keep borrowing and set the rates?

So lets not complain that Fianna Fail budget cuts are largely because they've bailed out a bank 30billion euro on the back of the tax payers and their children and their children pay for it yet we're still gonna be screwed up the @ss with high interest rate when we want a loan on what effectively is our money?

Lets not protest that our goverment gave FÁS 39million on a graduate programme that got nobody employed ("jobs for the boys")

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kfkfojidauid/rss2/

Lets not protest that Fianna Fail failed to secure 500 jobs because their good friends Airlingus didn't like it ("Keep the boys in the jobs")

http://breakingnews.iol.ie/news/ireland/ryanair-govt-has-failed-to-secure-hangar-6-jobs-449294.html

I could go on with endless stories of Fianna Fail failures, corruption and negligence but I'd be here all night.

Also It's attitutes like yours that when YOU get Fu.cked over by this goverment nobody is going to STAND up for YOU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

Hope they have a protest in donnybrook and the police fight them and we can then say there was a big donnybrook in donnybrook HA HA HA :o

Also It's attitutes like yours that when YOU get Fu.cked over by this goverment nobody is going to STAND up for YOU.

Exactly! They're gonna sit down!:D

So lets not complain that Fianna Fail budget cuts are largely because they've bailed out a bank 30billion euro on the back of the tax payers and their children and their children pay for it yet we're still gonna be screwed up the @ss with high interest rate when we want a loan on what effectively is our money?

Lets not protest that our goverment gave FÁS 39million on a graduate programme that got nobody employed ("jobs for the boys")

Lets not protest that Fianna Fail failed to secure 500 jobs because their good friends Airlingus didn't like it ("Keep the boys in the jobs")

http://breakingnews.iol.ie/news/ireland/ryanair-govt-has-failed-to-secure-hangar-6-jobs-449294.html

I could go on with endless stories of Fianna Fail failures, corruption and negligence but I'd be here all night.

Shock! Thanks for telling me, now I support you muppets attacking Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Brendog wrote: »
    Absolutely nothing wrong there from the Gardai, I think they handled it all with a lot of restraint to be honest.
    The students need to police themselves better, the idiots causing hassle got a few slaps and to be honest they well deserved it. But why didn't anyone tell them to F off that they were ruining the "peaceful" protest against education cutbacks ?
    I listened to the head of the student body talking to "Joe" on RTE and he was crying about the student message getting lost in the violence.
    Yet when Joe asked him would they try and restrict future protests he said no ,all are welcome! So if you change nothing..how do you expect change?, future "protests" will be the exact same and it will be a wasted effort.

Next time I hope the Gardai hit harder because it seems these trouble makers are welcomed with open arms to the student protests and the only way they will learn is at the end of a baton to their thick skulls.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Well after giving out a few slaps they did just that. And all this was after they were pelted with bottles,signs and any other item to hand.

Seems absurd that many of these people are complaining of Gardai brutality after they so blatantly flout the law.

Good job by the Gardai imo. Once we go down the road of destroying our own towns and cities and attacking our own citizens,be they members of the force or not then the fight is already long lost and we are no better than those thieves in the Dail.
    It was hardly a riot. There was a few rowdy people who plastic bottles at guardai who were on ****ing horseback. Dont think that warrants people getting their heads busted.

Shock! Thanks for telling me, now I support you muppets attacking Gardai.

Have you got comprehension difficulties? where does it say attack Gardaí, I said we should protest against this goverment -

Oh, sorry, I was following your lead by posting unrelated obvious points that everyone knows already. Thought it was a trend, my bad

It was hardly a riot. There was a few rowdy people who plastic bottles at guardai who were on ****ing horseback. Dont think that warrants people getting their heads busted.

Eh,so the Gardai should stand by and not take action until it becomes a riot?!

Proactive measures is what is needed to stop situations like such from boiling over to something uncontrollable.

And dont forget the DoF building was stormed. It was the protesters who escalated the situation by their actions here,and the Gardai responded.

But we did that last week! :mad:

A mass protest about all of those things would be great, but giving the Gardaí grief at these protests will not achieve anything.

The government is the enemy. Just remember that.

A few mouthy students getting a slap does not mean that the Gardaí are a fascist organisation. It means that the students were dicks. Clueless dicks at that.

Eh,so the Gardai should stand by and not take action until it becomes a riot?!

Proactive measures is what is needed to stop situations like such from boiling over to something uncontrollable.

And dont forget the DoF building was stormed. It was the protesters who escalated the situation by their actions here,and the Gardai responded.
    If thats how they react against a bunch of students because of a tiny rowdy minority, I cant wait to see what happens when the real protests start.

But we did that last week! :mad:

And we should keep doing it until anyone of those Fat fu.ckers comes out and say that they have a plan to change things for the better

If thats how they react against a bunch of students because of a tiny rowdy minority, I cant wait to see what happens when the real protests start.

I dunno...that one was pretty big! How many people does a 'real protest' need?