Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork Radio host jerks it on Aer Lingus flight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

gbee wrote: »
    Well, I vote that Neill is allowed back on the air.

Yes but should he be allowed back in the air?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭safetymanager

I think it would be very interesting to know if he has ever taken any kind of illegal drug. The rumours regarding his drug habit have been around for a long time along with a few other "extra curricular" activities that he is suspected of so it might be no harm at all if he could actually clear his name on one of two of those subjects. I don't feel sorry for him but I really feel for his family, particularly his kids. His wife made a choice to be with him and has obviously made that choice over and over after previous rumours but his kids are blameless, totally innocent and I hope all their friends and schoolmates remember this when they eventually return to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

gbee wrote: »
    Well, I vote that Neill is allowed back on the air.

have you considered what if he comes again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Yes but should he be allowed back in the air?

more to the point.. does he have the courage/nerve to go back on air?

I have heard NP's show hundreds of times over the years and as far as I can gauge he has a neck like a giraffe and will brazen it out and go back on air if he gets the opportunity. It will be interesting to see if his bosses are prepared to take a chance on him, after all as the saying goes "there's no such thing as bad publicity".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

It will be interesting to see if his bosses are prepared to take a chance on him, after all as the saying goes "there's no such thing as bad publicity".

very true, i think what he should do is...turn the whole thing on its head and make fun of the situation, make a guest appearance on a gift grub sketch or something like that just to clear the air

afterall at the end of the day he didn't kill anyone it was just an ol'****:cool:

I must say fryup I would agree with you except for the fact that he is such an opinionated, hypocritical, condescending and arrogant person who would quite literally decimate on air and in his newspaper column, anyone else who did anything like what he has done. He is despicable not only because of his "ol ****" but because of the way he has treated the people of Cork over the past fifteen years or however long he has been on the opinion line. He deserves the ridicule he is suffering at the moment and I hope his listeners are not going to forgive and forget too easily the horrible behaviour he inflicted on the Aer Lingus crew and passengers and more importantly the effect it has had on his poor kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Just heard on the radio now he has taken a drug test to prove he dont do cocaine or other drugs

....which, as the incident occurred all the way back on 15th October, will prove nada, save that hes been clean recently.

So drugs don't stay in the system for very long I take it?????

Some do, some don't. Hash/Grass stays in for a good while and builds up if you're a very regular user, I think, but coke would be 5-6 days max.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Tom Thumbb

It'll all end in Beers (3)!

The following script is purely fictional and has no basis in fact. Any
    similarities to persons living or dead is purely coincidental.

Mr Kay is in a Dublin Hotel with Connie.

Mr Kay:
    Calm down Connie! Your suicide statement was ingenious! I'm glad I thought of that.

Mr. Pein: Kay, it was too OTT. you’re so far up your own H**e you can’t see what’s going on here!!

Mr Kay: You’re an astute man Connie. You have it in hand… Sorry Connie! Slip of the lip. I mean do you have a better plan?

I’ve called Buttsie.
    Mr Kay:
    Buttsie?! He’s not an IMAGE PLAYER!!! I’M THE IMAGE PLAYER! For FUUk SNAKE!
    Mr Pein:
    Buttsie will make it all go away.
    Mr Kay: (Calls Buttsie): Hey Butsie! …Don’t call me a Langer!!! …..Wnat?.... Well… Wha!! TWICE YOUR USUAL FEE?
    Mr Butt: Well Now, were in business then!

It'll all end in Beers (4)!
    (Meanwhile back at the ranch….)
    Connie and Buttsie are having tea by the fire.
    Connie:
    So, what are we going to do?
    Mr. Butt:
    WE! Connie, you’ll have to sit tight boy. See what if any charges are made.
    I’ve spoken to the Big Don.
    Connie:
    And?
    Mr. Butt:
    Quite frankly Connie, the FAMILY are not impressed. If it were anything else…. I mean, why didn’t you do something semi reasonable. Try to hijack the plane… Dance around the isle singing to the cherry trees or something? But tiuggin’ the mutton dagger! For Fuuk sake Connie!
    Connie:
    But I don’t remember, see!
    Mr. Butt:
    Yea. But it was still you doing the tuggin’ and it was your own dagger! Jazus man, this is the biggest sex scandal to hit Cork since St Finbarr was a child and it’s the first sex scandal that I ever encountered where there was only one person involved for Sh1t sake!
    Connie:
    I told everyone that I’m sorry. All I want to do is to go back to work.
    Mr. Butt:
    Back to work!!! Are you for real!? Just imagine if it were someone else, eh Flynnie or Couvners or Allensie. You’d be after their electoral arses like a starving tiger! Pull yourself together Connie….. Oops! Sorry for the faux pas.
    Connie:
    So the Cork mafia is washing its hands of me?
    Mr. Butt:
    Look at it from their point of view. It happened once. It could happen again. One way or the other, it’s over Connie.
    Connie:
    Over!.... You mean I…. But I surely have some loyal listeners left…
    Mr. Butt:
    Maybe so Connie. But not enough to fill a lift in Paul St car park, boy.
    Connie:
    I could hold a Rally on Pana!
    Mr. Butt:
    You’ve done enough holdin’ Connie.
    Connie:
    A Rally, that’s it!!
    Mr. Butt:
    Yea right. You could have a Togger-a-thon in the jacks on Blackrock pier.
    Connie:
    I was thinking more like Daunt Square.
    Mr. Butt:
    Stay low for the time being Connie. I’m no Harry Potter but I’ll see what I can conjure up. I’ll be in touch in a few days. Thanks for the tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Tom Thumbb

It'll all end in Beers (Part 5)!

The following script is purely fictional and has no basis in fact. Any
    similarities to persons living or dead is purely coincidental.

(In Butsies office)
    Connie:
    Any news?
    Mr. Butt:
    You’re it boy! Will you listen to my advice and keep your trap shut. Joe public is not buying your drivel. They smell a rat.
    Connie:
    But I can’t tell them the truth! They’d never believe it!
    Mr. Butt:
    Try me Connie. I’ll listen.
    Connie:
    Now don’t laugh Butsie. You see I have this leprechaun living in my pocket. He’s called….
    Mr. Butt:
    Ah FFS! Connie stop right there!
    Connie:
    See I knew you wouldn’t believe me!
    Mr. Butt:
    Keep your gob shut and do as I say, for once.
    Connie:
    I’m not a fool Butsie!
    Mr. Butt:
    True. A Fool would have run up and down the isle of the plane with his tool out. A sensible man would have gone into the jacks and strangled the turkey. So I guess that makes you only half a fool.
    Connie:
    Whatever the case may be.
    Mr. Butt:
    Now I’ll see what I can do with the DPP. At this stage of the game you’re gonna have to get some rap for it. However, if it goes to court, then we’ll say it’s a witch hunt. I’ll do what I can to make the witnesses seem unreliable.
    Connie:
    It never occurred to me to run up and down the middle of the plane. Jazus Butsie how do you think of ‘em. I must remember that.
    Mr. Butt:
    What did I do to deserve this……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

expect some news tomorrow at 3pm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Just heard on the radio now he has taken a drug test to prove he dont do cocaine or other drugs

:rolleyes: Fcuking hell, who cares if he didn't do coke etc

His PR advisor is so crap, you can't polish a turd. What's done is done. The milk is .....er...well and truly spilt now.

He won't get any kudos for the amateurly executed pity party in the Sunday rags (I thought about suicide) and he won't get any prizes for not taking cocaine either. Millions of people manage to do that every day AND not get hammered and **** in public.

The best he can do is go away and try to make a fresh start elsewhere. He's finished here. The more he looks for pity the worse he is making it.

He's wanked in public now and there is no coming back from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Snowbat

Just picture it, he's doing a phone-in segment on clampers, criticises someone for parking in a handicap space and they just tell him to **** off and have a ****.

Call-in shows operate behind a profanity delay giving the host or producer a a small window (7 seconds is common) to dump anything they don't like before it gets aired. It's use is almost impossible to detect - an observant listener may notice the host talking a lot before taking the next call as the delay is re-established.

I watched the planning of a large raid (organized trolling attack) on a call-in radio show and listened to the result. Most of the calls they put on air were trolls (giving one of several predefined clues in their first sentence for those in the know) but the profanity and craziness was dumped and never made it to air. They seamlessly moved on to the next call, muting the caller at the end of their last acceptable comment. Listeners unaware of the raid wouldn't have noticed anything unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

Ryanair get in there with a kick - http://yfrog.com/f/6hdzlmj/

They don't miss a beat!

/snigger

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Nice one on Ryanairs part......lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,123 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

:rolleyes: Fcuking hell, who cares if he didn't do coke etc

His PR advisor is so crap, you can't polish a turd. What's done is done. The milk is .....er...well and truly spilt now.

He won't get any kudos for the amateurly executed pity party in the Sunday rags (I thought about suicide) and he won't get any prizes for not taking cocaine either. Millions of people manage to do that every day AND not get hammered and **** in public.

The best he can do is go away and try to make a fresh start elsewhere. He's finished here. The more he looks for pity the worse he is making it.

He's wanked in public now and there is no coming back from that.

Hillarious, YOU CAN'T POLISH TURD! Classic, LOL:D

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Probably but i suspect some late night format listening too and advising sad dysfunctional idiots like himself who have nothing better to do at the wee small hours.
    How is he dysfunctional? Seriously peeps, man drinks too much, possibly imbibes other substance(s), falls asleep, fiddles with his manhood in his stupor - it happens to lots of men, it could happen to any one of you guys. He seems an awful person (don't know why gbee is being so defensive of him, but then I remember gbee's posts which are equally as judgemental as the kind of stuff Prendeville says) but his life has been destroyed - he has been punished, and more. People who are really going to town on this look as bad as him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

Dudess wrote: »
    (don't know why gbee is being so defensive of him,

I wouldn't go that far, I've said my piece, he was my boss for a while, on a personal level I'd have nothing ontoward to say about him. But then again, I've had no business with him for five years or more, so I wouldn't be close or anything like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

People who are really going to town on this look as bad as him.

no they don't - no where near.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

If he is let back on the air will they do an ad campaign?

"The second cumming of Prenderville" perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,123 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

How is he dysfunctional? Seriously peeps, man drinks too much, possibly imbibes other substance(s), falls asleep, fiddles with his manhood in his stupor - it happens to lots of men, it could happen to any one of you guys. He seems an awful person (don't know why gbee is being so defensive of him, but then I remember gbee's posts which are equally as judgemental as the kind of stuff Prendeville says) but his life has been destroyed - he has been punished, and more. People who are really going to town on this look as bad as him.

Hmmm, perhaps your missing the point, is his behavior not slightly dysfunctional? I would have had some sympathy if

A. Knowing the news of his sordid behavior was going to break, he could have put his hands (well at least the spare one) up days before the news broke and took some sincere responsibility. Instead its apparent attempts were made to bury the story. It is strange to say the least he was not arrested at the airport.

B. Gerald Kean does not suddenly appear in cork, this clown was preparing to go on the defensive and i would humbly suggest he was fully aware of his actions way before the story broke.

C. The appalling interview in last weeks Sindo was also well rehearsed and appalling where he attempts to garner sympathy, there was even mention of suicide, it is also no coincidence Barry Ego and Gerald Kean are good Buddy's, "Do the maths"

D. I have not heard much of an apology, even the lame ones offered are qualified by "I don't recall anything"

This treacherous bollox as had years of freedom to breach the gospel according to him via the airways.

Had he taken responsibility, apologized, retreated to his luxury holiday home and shut the **** up, perhaps some sympathy would be justified, instead he digs himself a bigger hole as the days go on.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

He's being clumsy, yes, but I think a lot of people are being like vultures (not you, you seem to have a fairly balanced view of it). Just my opinion. Although sordid? If compos mentis, perhaps, but he hardly did it deliberately.
    MidlandsM wrote: »
    no they don't - no where near.:rolleyes:
    Well for some, moralising and judging is fun I suppose - Prendeville made a career out of it.

No way do people think what he did was that bad - they just love excessively badmouthing him.

Hmmm, perhaps your missing the point, is his behavior not slightly dysfunctional? I would have had some sympathy if

A. Knowing the news of his sordid behavior was going to break, he could have put his hands (well at least the spare one) up days before the news broke and took some sincere responsibility. Instead its apparent attempts were made to bury the story. It is strange to say the least he was not arrested at the airport.

B. Gerald Kean does not suddenly appear in cork, this clown was preparing to go on the defensive and i would humbly suggest he was fully aware of his actions way before the story broke.

C. The appalling interview in last weeks Sindo was also well rehearsed and appalling where he attempts to garner sympathy, there was even mention of suicide, it is also no coincidence Barry Ego and Gerald Kean are good Buddy's, "Do the maths"

D. I have not heard much of an apology, even the lame ones offered are qualified by "I don't recall anything"

This treacherous bollox as had years of freedom to breach the gospel according to him via the airways.

Had he taken responsibility, apologized, retreated to his luxury holiday home and shut the **** up, perhaps some sympathy would be justified, instead he digs himself a bigger hole as the days go on.

An interview with Barry Egan and hiding out with Gerard Keane are not the best ways to distance yourself from all notions of wankery in the public mind, to be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

Although sordid? If compos mentis, perhaps, but he hardly did it deliberately..

Well, he was on a media junket, that's akin to going out on the town with the victorious senior rugby team ~ some of their antics are legend and some of them went too far too. Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I liked how he could remember everything up to the point he 'dhropped' the hand.

You can bate the bishop but you can't bate the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,822 ✭✭✭phill106

Im just after taking 2 nurofen plus. I just realised though there may have been alcohol in my mouthwash this morning!
    God sakes people, help!

On a more serious note, I emailed the makers of nurofen plus, asking them to confirm whether or not this was a possible side affect.
    Wonder will they reply? :)

Yesterday, in an interview with a Cork newspaper, Mr Prendeville described the past few days as a "total nightmare".
    He now hopes that a special toxicology test will help him scotch damaging rumours that he was using cocaine at the time of the incident on the Aer Lingus flight.
    The test -- the results of which could be available next week -- is capable of determining any traces of specific substances in the human system dating back over the previous three months.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/i-wasnt-taking-cocaine-and-test-will-prove-it-says-disgraced-dj-2412537.html

You'll note the periods for detection here.....
    http://www.cocaine.org/cokestrut.html

Obviously we'll hear more on this Ubertest, which appears to have manifested itself out of the blue - like a langer on a plane, almost.

(It has to be said that the placing of that teacup and saucer in the photo is unfortunate......)