TD's unanimously vote through pay/allowance increases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Dirty scum each and every member of the Dail!!! They should hang their heads in shame. The true Irish men of honour gave up their lives so these scum can bankrupt us.

I just read the following article and wondered where did it all go wrong.

"A LETTER has been uncovered showing a politician’s concern about his personal use of an election car. Surely some mistake? Well, it was almost 90 years ago; and it did involve Michael Collins.

The letter, written 18 days before his death at Béal na mBláth, records him offering to pay half of the bill for a car hired for canvassing during the June 1922 election because some of the journeys were personal trips.

The letter was written to Skibbereen solicitor Tom Healy who had acted as election agent for Collins and seven other candidates. He hired cars from local firm Johnson and Perrott for canvassing.

However, the Civil War erupted after the pro-treaty victory and Cork was in chaos. The solicitor was concerned about the outstanding bills from the election and wrote to the five Cork candidates who had been elected. Collins received the letter by hand on August 4th and replied the same day. “ . . . I can only say that I think it would not be fair to charge full expenses for the car which I had from Messrs. Johnson Perrot [sic] for about a week to the ELECTION FUND”, he wrote. “Some of the journeys were private journeys, and I would say if the bill were got from Messrs. Johnson Perrot that half of it would be Election expenses and I would pay the other half myself.”

He had the car for about five days.

Despite being commander- in-chief of the National Army in the midst of a Civil War, Collins had the grace to apologise for the oversight in not settling the matter when he was in Cork.

He wrote: “It is to be hoped however, that you will get the matter completed without much further trouble to yourself”.

He signed it Miceál Ó Coileáin, a signature he had probably used since first attending Gaelic League classes in London.

Someone later added “Michael Collins” under the signature, presumably to indicate that “Miceál Ó Coileáin” denoted “Michael Collins”.

The correspondence has been in the possession of Mr Healy’s daughter, Marcie Healy, since he died in October 1957.

It appears that the solicitor had no luck in contacting the other four elected TDs and he later applied for an extension on the invoices.

Collins’s scrupulousness in handling third-party money is commensurate with his earlier employment. He had previously worked in a stockbroking company, a bank and an accountancy firm."

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2010/1108/1224282866090.html?via=mr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

A different breed, eh?

I think the only way to really change is to change the people. But the deck is stacked against you. The state provides the parties €83,000+ per TD in public funds every year. Last year for example Fine Gael spent €90,000 of it on media training.

They raise the money for their posters etc, but being in one of the established parties gives you a big €€€ lift and that, really, is what makes new politicial parties and movements so difficult to organise.

Election posters alone would cost you north of €10k, let alone a proper campaign to get elected with direct mail, plenty of canvassing, public meetings.

The parties spend between €20 - €40k per candidate in just the 3 weeks of a GE. Let alone what they spend prior to that.

You lads got €100k+ to put 1 TD into office?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

*Eats block of cheese in a huff*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Ireland is basically a two party country FF and FG.
    Both are are as bad as each other. It will be a very,very long time before you see a Taoiseach running the country who isn't from one of those parties.
    edit- I always thought there were still some genuine and decent TD's left in the Dail but the fact that nobody even questioned this raise makes me feel sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

If you have selfish ignorant citizens, you're gonna get selfish ignorant leaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Shower of fcukers,they really are.

The sooner this lot are out of the Dail the better,hopefully the start of that process will be the by-election in Donegal this month

Cheating,corrupt cnuts :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭lion_bar

I was listening to the news this morning and they mentioned a letter which had come to public attention recently, it concerns a politician who was using a car for state business and some of it included personal trips. The politician became concerned at his private usage of this and in turn offered to pay the government for the private usage of this car, all from his own accord, he wasn’t accused of using it, he simply realised it wasn’t all state business. The politician in question was Michael Collins, 18 days before he was murdered. Thats how bad things have got in this country, any of our leaders who were ever worth something are dead and forgotten. This country is a joke, im ashamed of it unfortunately; they have ruined it and destroyed what those people achieved in the past.

No wonder FF shot him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Shower of fcukers,they really are.

The sooner this lot are out of the Dail the better,hopefully the start of that process will be the by-election in Donegal this month

Cheating,corrupt cnuts :mad:

The vote was unanimous so it looks me like it'll just be one shower of cheating corrupt cnuts swapping seats with another. This is exactly the type of thing the opposition could pounce on to show how they're different to FF and how they're willing to take the pain with the rest of us so the fact that the vote was unanimous really is depressing.

Not only depressing but stupid because even if they had voted against it it would have gone through anyway. But then I suppose they'd be pressured to follow through on it if* they win the election.

*And the most depressing thing about this whole recession for me is that I have to say "if" and not "when" they win the election because I think there is a significant chance that FF will be voted back in by the gobsh!tes in this country. I'm looking into buying a house at the moment but am holding off partly because if FF get voted back in I'd seriously consider leaving this country to wallow in the mess it created for itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

DonJose wrote: »
    Collins’s scrupulousness in handling third-party money is commensurate with his earlier employment. He had previously worked in a stockbroking company, a bank and an accountancy firm."
    I'd say rather than his previous employment, the character of Mr Collins had everything to do with it, a character found in most people to one degree or another but sadly lacking in two breeds, career criminals and the self anointed dynastic parasites we have leeching off the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Magnet wrote: »
    Well after the "outrage" over Harney`s paintballing, from all sides of the fence, it`s everyman for himself really cos they`s sure as hell gonna be no uprising..:mad:
    The government`s only role is to raise taxes.
    Stop paying taxes = No government
    Simples
    This is possibly the greatest misunderstanding of how taxation and government works I have seen in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭sonic85

orourkeda wrote: »
    Anyone surprised by this?

im surprised they havent given themselves more

Two threads on the same topic :eek:

Don't be so wasteful, don't you know we're in a recession!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Threads merged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Nijmegen wrote: »
    "The estimates for 2011 reveal that there will be an increase in the postal and telecommunications service, which allows TDs and senators to send out promotional literature to their constituents."
    so that facebook course was a waste of money then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Biggins wrote: »
    I suggesting that we need new replacements completely.
    How that should come about I'm open to suggestions.

Biggins for Taoiseach!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Biggins for Taoiseach!!!!

Great - my first official function will be to have a free round of drinks for everyone in the country, at the Dail bar.

Now one at a time please! No pushing... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

The system is heading down the road of being corrupt beyond use.. Even if they came out and could justify these costs it would go some way towards easing the animosity towards politicians. It is the sneaky, underhanded way that they conduct business that is the knife in the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

so that facebook course was another waste of money then!

FYP:D

Noreen

It has to be said - the stage is set for a new party to emerge should some honourable people step up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

What Would John Hume Do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Now I'm in no way a fan of Fianna Fail, but I think this proves that the alternatives in this country really are just more of the same. When the next general election comes round and we vote in Fine Gael or Labour or whatever interchangeable party you want to name, not one thing will change and this sh1t will just continue for ever and ever and ever and ever etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    The vote was unanimous so it looks me like it'll just be one shower of cheating corrupt cnuts swapping seats with another. This is exactly the type of thing the opposition could pounce on to show how they're different to FF and how they're willing to take the pain with the rest of us so the fact that the vote was unanimous really is depressing.

My thoughts exactly. If any of us were under the illusions that someone somewhere in the Dail still had the good of the country at heart, that illusion is now well and truly shattered. Not one of them questioned why there would be a rise in their allowances, when the rest of the country is facing a very steep drop in social benefits etc.. They are all happy to keep lining their own pockets, which goes to show that if an opposing party were in power tomorrow, they would milk the country dry like their predecessors. A sad thing to say but an intervention from the EU authorities/powers that be is needed now more than ever.

A sad thing to say but an intervention from the EU authorities/powers that be is needed now more than ever.

Maybe someone higher than those in the Dail might look at this and decide that they are taking the piss and maybe do something about it. If the leaders in the EU could see that it is the leaders of the country that have made this mess and not the ordinary people would they have any power to do something about it, maybe prosecute individuals in government? That would send out the message to present and future politicians here that they can't get away with topping up their salaries just because they feel like it. They need to be made more accountable for their actions because at the minute they are just p*ssing on us from above and laughing.

Why is it people are thinking that those in the EU aren't just the same ?
    Why is it you think they would have a problem with the government giving themselves extra cash ?
    They couldn't give a toss so long as there is 6billion saving made somewhere. They don't care if the government is robbing Peter to pay Paul themselves

Yea ok they are probably just the same, but the fact that we are such a small country that chances are doesn't mean a thing to them, yet we are costing them money through debts we can't pay, means that they could decide to make an example of certain politicians here, which would be a very good thing to happen imo.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

I feel sick, pass me the bucket. In fact lets all puke into buckets and throw them at the dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

I cannot believe this , I am literally raging!!!!
    We need new politicians badly, I cant believe they ALL voted for it.
    they are all as bad as each other.
    If anyone knows of any new politicians coming up in the south county dublin area will they please post about them so I can vote for someone other than those *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I won't be voting for anyone presently in the Dail. I don't want anyone who voted for this representing me. If it comes to it, I'll spoil my vote.