Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TD's unanimously vote through pay/allowance increases

• 08-11-2010 9:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭

Proving once again that you and I are the infantry to be sent over the top and our politicians, of all parties, are the generals sitting a few miles back in a chalet, they unanimously voted through an estimate for the Oireachtas bill in 2011 that'll see certain allowances etc go up to ensure they don't take a hit in their own pockets.

The people working on the ground floor in the Oireachtas will take a hit.
    As the country faces economic meltdown, TDs and senators are planning to improve their already plush terms and conditions.

An official estimate of the money required to run the Dail in 2011 'sneaked' through the Dail last Thursday reveals that the recession stops at the gates of Leinster House.

In a touching scene, deputies across all parties suspended hostilities and agreed to the estimates without a single objection.

The estimates reveal that the cost of a Dail which serves fewer people than the population of cities such as greater Manchester, will in 2011 come to €112,983,000 -- which represents a drop of just €1.2m (or 1 per cent) on last year's spending.

But expenditure on the perks and services enjoyed by our TDs and senators will actually increase in certain areas next year.
    The cost of salaries for TDs, senators and secretarial assistants will increase, while salaries of staff like those in catering and behind the Dail bar will decrease.

The estimates for 2011 reveal that there will be an increase in the postal and telecommunications service, which allows TDs and senators to send out promotional literature to their constituents.

The budget for delegates to 'other parliamentary assemblies' has increased by 50 per cent and the 'grant in aid' for 'inter-parliamentary activities' has also increased by a whopping 40 per cent.

Even this, however, is dwarfed by the increase in the budget for allowances in respect of former members of the houses of the Oireachtas, which has been increased from €49,000 to €149,000.

At a time when pensioners fear losing entitlements such as free travel, the estimates also contain an increase of the 'grant in aid' to parliamentary pensioners from from €10,084,000 to €10,562,000, indicating that Dail and Seanad pension recipients will be unique within the country in actually securing an increase next year. The estimates also reveal that there will be a substantial increase in the Budget for televising Dail and Seanad proceedings, which provides TDs and Senators with much-desired coverage.

Though some minimalistic cuts are revealed in the anticipated expenses of TDs and senators, one source noted that "when the increases are taken in the round, TDs and senators will not be losing a penny in salaries and expenses next year''.

- John Drennan
    Sunday Independent

News they tried to bury with the trash of the 4 year plan and then free cheese on Friday.

Nothing gets TD's going faster than a proposed cut to their own pay or 'expenses' (non-vouched salary top ups, to you or me if the tax man ever came knocking).

Wish there was a (non crazy hard, hard left) alternative, but they're all the same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A leapord can't change its spots...

So its time to put it to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

This is just unbelievable.

Why should the Dáil not be stormed and gotten rid of? Not trying to entice crime but can someone answer me how we will ever get rid of this crap without overthrowing and torching the bastards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: grrrr aarrrrgh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

LOL.

Has anyone here recieved a golden handshake when they quit a job?

Does any company offer such high value unvouched expenses?

Does any company offer you an allowance for living a certain distance away from the office?

Someone call North Korea and ask them to use our country as a nuclear testing site because it would be less painful then having to look at the window lickers in the Dail take the piss out of us day in and day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

This was probably agreed a few years back during the Celtic Crap years and so cannot be reversed as it is an agreement and it would take serious legistation to anull it, meaning taking time out to deal with the more serious matters of our diminished but improving economic restructuring.

Rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Or, they're a bunch of greedy bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'm not an advocate of violence, but these cunts should be lined up against a wall & shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Just because it was agreed a few years ago doesn’t mean it cannot be undone now, id gladly have them spend the time reversing this, its an absolute disgrace if they take a cent extra next year, they should be taking at least a 50% pay cut, all of them. They are the most fuc*ing useless bunch of pric*s to ever be in power here.

I was listening to the news this morning and they mentioned a letter which had come to public attention recently, it concerns a politician who was using a car for state business and some of it included personal trips. The politician became concerned at his private usage of this and in turn offered to pay the government for the private usage of this car, all from his own accord, he wasn’t accused of using it, he simply realised it wasn’t all state business. The politician in question was Michael Collins, 18 days before he was murdered. Thats how bad things have got in this country, any of our leaders who were ever worth something are dead and forgotten. This country is a joke, im ashamed of it unfortunately; they have ruined it and destroyed what those people achieved in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I'm not an advocate of violence, but these cunts should be lined up against a wall & shot.

I too can make an exception under these circumstances. I'd prefer to knee cap them first and let them suffer. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Shzm

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Just so we are clear. This was all the parties that agreed to this right? Even Labour and FG who have just announced their own cost cutting plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I'm not an advocate of violence, but *advocates violence*

:P:D

You're right though, its sickening.

And the fact that the media don't seem to really be reacting to it either is a disgrace. Some little article buried away instead of all over the front page as a corruption story :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

k_mac wrote: »
    Just so we are clear. This was all the parties that agreed to this right? Even Labour and FG who have just announced their own cost cutting plans.
    Yep. I didn't see them out lighting their hair on fire about it talking to any media sources either, so they can hardly claim it was snuck past them in the Dail. Or else they're idiots as well as being greedy.

Any politician can hand back his salary of free will. Or any party leader command his men and women to do so.

Do we see them lining up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

all TDs voted for it and there was not a single objection from anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I'm still waiting for Cowen to jump out and shout:

"Surprise! We're only joking! haha lol eleventy111!!! We're doing brilliant, in fact last week we bought the USA!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

It's about time the government began to fear it's people. We need someone like this guy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TLD3Z6sJWA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Jesus lads, they have to get the money for your free cheese from somewhere. Cut them some slack, you wont be complaining when youre chowing down on a big hunk of nanemuscori

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Biggins wrote: »
    A leapord can't change its spots...

So its time to put it to sleep.

Are you suggesting we kill the government?

some_dose wrote: »
    It's about time the government began to fear it's people. We need someone like this guy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TLD3Z6sJWA

Fúck that, we need someone like this guy:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Where are the details of Labours and FGs cost cutting plans? I'd like to see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Is the increase in funding for Dail pensions not down to the fact that there are now more Dail pensioners (Cullen, McDaid, Gallagher) than before?

Where are the details of Labours and FGs cost cutting plans? I'd like to see that.

Have you checked the politics forum? Probably a better source of information than AH. No offense AH nerds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Someone call the students, get them outside the dail with their mars bars and cans of dutch gold again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

More of the same really. Glad so many people are leaving the disaster of a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

I'd like to give them all a raise- on the toe of me boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Just finished reading Ken Foxes book on John ODonoghue and co....totally sickening they way these chancers behave! Mary harney seems to have never lowered herself to stay in a hotel room costing less than €400 a night in the last 10 years,these wasters are no better than the thugs who carry out bank robberies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Daddio wrote: »
    I'm still waiting for Cowen to jump out and shout:

"Surprise! We're only joking! haha lol eleventy111!!! We're doing brilliant, in fact last week we bought the USA!"

Why would one debt-ridden kip buy another debt-ridden kip? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Guru Maith Agut

Ah lads this is getting ridiculous. What are we doing paying for these idiots when we could vote for none of the above?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Nijmegen wrote: »
    Wish there was a (non crazy hard, hard left) alternative, but they're all the same.
    There is, but we haven't attended the funerals, kissed babies, fixed potholes, and looked after the parish pump for the last few decades, and so are apparently not worth listening to. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Proof positive that all politicians are scumbags, no exceptions.

I suggesting that we need new replacements completely.
    How that should come about I'm open to suggestions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    LOL.

Has anyone here recieved a golden handshake when they quit a job?

I got both a golden hello and a golden handshake from my last job, they're not uncommon in the private sector either.

Works in Mexico!

I got both a golden hello and a golden handshake from my last job, they're not uncommon in the private sector either.

Usually you pay extra for those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Joshua Jones

I wonder what Brian Cowen thinks of it all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/divided-dail-unites-to-give-itself-a-pay-rise-2410792.html

Now normally I'm not one for rabble rousing. However in this case mainly I have to say: RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE

SER-I-OUS-LY
    The cost of salaries for TDs, senators and secretarial assistants will increase, while salaries of staff like those in catering and behind the Dail bar will decrease.
    The estimates for 2011 reveal that there will be an increase in the postal and telecommunications service, which allows TDs and senators to send out promotional literature to their constituents.
    The budget for delegates to 'other parliamentary assemblies' has increased by 50 per cent and the 'grant in aid' for 'inter-parliamentary activities' has also increased by a whopping 40 per cent.
    Even this, however, is dwarfed by the increase in the budget for allowances in respect of former members of the houses of the Oireachtas, which has been increased from €49,000 to €149,000.

this at the time they are supposedly saving 6billion in a year from things like pensions and health budgets.

Where's me pitchfork ???:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

That story is so like, earlier on today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Anyone surprised by this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

That story is so like, earlier on today.

Sure its the same story?

Maybe they decieded to give themselves another pay rise since the last story came out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Strange to see such consensus on an AH thread. But then we are talking about the biggest shower of cúnts in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I for one think this is a great idea. I'm going up to Leinster House right now to personally congratulate every last one of them (sharpens pitchfork ominously).

The most amazing/shocking part is:
    ...which has been increased from €49,000 to €149,000.

Yikes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This can not possibly be true, surely it's a bad joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Michael Collins, who in my opinion, was far more deserving of expenses than any of the present bunch of incumbants, actually offered to pay for the time his electioneering car was being used for private purposes.
    The present day shower of latchicos wouldn't be fit to lick his boots...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

orourkeda wrote: »

I wouldn't even give them the title of criminal. Due to their actions hundreds of thousands and on the dole. A system so messed up that people who have paid into it for 40 years will be given the same amount as some scumbag who hasn't done a ordinary days work in his life.

Before you all jump on the bandwagon and tell me how foolish I'm being, I've seen it.

I've worked in a dole office, and let me tell you how difficult it is too watch these people come in, rushing to sign and leave because they have to pick their child up from school or visit a sick relative. All the while having to deal with some junkie rocking forward and back, trying to keep his balance, just enough so he can sign and hopefully get that new tracksuit he wanted.

While these people stand in line praying that they can make a Christmas out of this and some ****ing cheese, TDs give themselves a bonus.

All we need are some random gun totting tribes running around and we will be no better than the Congo....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

Its all smoke and daggers with that lot!

Laughtable that a FG alone (but they are by far not the only culprits over all) bring out a document "Reinventing Government" going on about making cuts - yet quietly give themselves this extra dosh!

Say one thing to the public and do totally another behind the scenes quietly.