Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Student Protest Kicks Off (see video only posts warning)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Denerick

Daddio wrote: »
    Ridiculous.

Why the anti-student sentiment? Do people want a drop in the number of skilled workers in the Ireland? Do they want a higher percentage of their taxes being directed towards the student grants authority? Do they want to have to contribute more money to their children's education? What's the alternative for people leaving education after secondary school? Tradespeople are hardly required - feck all building being done. Work in the local shop? Go on the dole? Leave the country? At least there is some group keep the Irish government on their toes. If they fear large scale protests like this in anticipation of further unfair cuts, perhaps they won't make as much stupid mistakes.

I don't know where you are getting 'anti student sentiment' from. I'm a recent graduate myself. Furthermore, none of your post has anything whatsoever to do with the engagement in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Daddio wrote: »
    Ridiculous.

Why the anti-student sentiment? Do people want a drop in the number of skilled workers in the Ireland? Do they want a higher percentage of their taxes being directed towards the student grants authority? Do they want to have to contribute more money to their children's education? What's the alternative for people leaving education after secondary school? Tradespeople are hardly required - feck all building being done. Work in the local shop? Go on the dole? Leave the country? At least there is some group keep the Irish government on their toes. If they fear large scale protests like this in anticipation of further unfair cuts, perhaps they won't make as much stupid mistakes.

As I've said before, its in Fianna Fail's best interests that people emigrate. Lenihan Snr, father of the current MoF, famously declared "we all can't live on a small island". Emigration as an exit of non - FF voters is accepted by the ruling class.

I'm afraid the rest of us aren't so blaze about a police riot.

They have been training and training and training for these protests for years. Unluckily the students were the guinea pigs and the punchbags for the POU to try and claim back some of the credibilty they lost on O'Connell St a few years ago.

Much easier to lay into a load of kids than a bunch of Republicans, innit...

I hardly think many of the Love Ulster rioters were Republicans, most were kids with a peripheral understanding of where Northern Ireland is on a map.

You may well be right, this may have been heavy handed by the Guards. On the other hand, actions have consequences. Its one of the first lessons of maturity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭mawk

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Wow, kinda glad I didn't go on the march in the end.... Hope no one is hurt.

too late, one protester carried away in an ambulance.

skulled by a bottle thrown by another protester.. rough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Fair play to them for protesting and making a stand. while i may not agree with some of what they have to say at least they are doing something.

put it this way... who are people going to be talkign about this evening... the quiet ones or the one's who made the most noise i.e. the ones in the DOF?

So the battle for the States scarce resources so be decided by who can shout the loudest? I don't think that's fair. Many groups, mentally disabled adults, as one example, may not have the organizations to make a racket. However there cause is no less important.

In any case, violence, however mild, is never an acceptable method of achieving political aims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

They just said on Newstalk that the students have gathered at Pearse St Garda Station. They're a bright lot aren't they. It was lovely to hear them all whinging on the radio in their loike D4 loike faux American accents loike claiming that they're the future! :D

It always worries me when profoundly stupid and unlikable people claim they are the future of this country. Troubling indeed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

mawk wrote: »
    too late, one protester carried away in an ambulance.

skulled by a bottle thrown by another protester.. rough.
    :D They don't teach them target practice in Tronity then do they? Loike...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

A protest which had at the heart of it a solid message thoroughly undermined by arseholes. Pretty much why I wasn't involved. Lot more than students out there and a lot of aggression. Of course, this provocation got a lot of innocent people hurt. To all responsible, you've completely undermined the democratic right to protest which you purport to represent. Also, to anyone drinking, way to increase the dignity of the whole affair. Big, fat kudos to you.

@OhNoYouDidn't and other anti-authority-for-the-sake-of-it people:
    RTE wrote:
    Student leaders have condemned the action of protestors who clashed with gardaí after a protest against plans to increase registration fees for third level students.
    There was disruption in the city centre this afternoon after protests outside the Department of Finance on Merrion Street and the Dáil on Kildare Street.
    The President of the Union of Students of Ireland Gary Redmond said he is saddened by the actions of a minority of protestors in Dublin city centre today.
    Mr Redmond said the occupation of the Department of Finance by a number of protestors is not representative of the USI.
    He said that many of the clashes with gardaí occurred during the USI address of protestors on Merrion Square.
    Gary Redmond said the actions of protestors engaged in a sit-down protest outside Leinster House is also not condoned by the USI.
    Gardaí say around 1,500 people were involved in this afternoon's protest.
    A garda spokesperson said 50 people entered the lobby of the Department of Finance on Merrion Row but were removed a short time later by gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

Denerick wrote: »
    It always worries me when profoundly stupid and unlikable people claim they are the future of this country. Troubling indeed :)

Sorry but arent you the present, of this country as a recently qualified graduate, why the mess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭paulaa

Bus loads of students came to Dublin today from all over the country not just D4. They ARE the future whether you like it or not.

This notion that all students are from privileged backgrounds annoys me so much. Many of us parents had to scrimp and save and do without to give our kids a good 3rd level education. And for what ? We prepared them for export .

The old have protested, now the young are out on the streets. When are the 30 to 60s going to get off our backsides and show our disgust with the shower of criminals who have destroyed our country ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

Some major chips on shoulders in here regarding students and it's probably the same attitude amongst the gardai that resulted in their over-reaction.

paulaa wrote: »

The old have protested, now the young are out on the streets. When are the 30 to 60s going to get off our backsides and show our disgust with the shower of criminals who have destroyed our country ?

Give the Irish people some credit. We will only partake in an action if it leads to some sort of workable solution. Marching against reality (A big 20 billion euro piece of reality) will not make reality go away. Most of us are too busy working and trying to pay off our debts than to indulge far left delusions about how a peripheral European country with no worthwhile natural resources to speak about is supposed to run an economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

I hope someone does not get hurt or killed!:eek: By the heavy handed FF private army. Like Abbeylara!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

There is nothing at all wrong with a sit down protest tbh.

Regretting I missed it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

@OhNoYouDidn't and other anti-authority-for-the-sake-of-it people:

Post the whole article! Don't trim the allegations of a female getting bitten by a police dog, a cop stamping on a guys face and the arrests....

I'm not disputing that there was an element of hijack here. I'm talking about the subsequent reaction from Templemores finest.

Give the Irish people some credit. We will only partake in an action if it leads to some sort of workable solution. Marching against reality (A big 20 billion euro piece of reality) will not make reality go away. Most of us are too busy working and trying to pay off our debts than to indulge far left delusions about how a peripheral European country with no worthwhile natural resources to speak about is supposed to run an economy.

So it is an anti-protest as a concept rant...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Fair play to the students, hope they get stuck in.

Post the whole article! Don't trim the allegations of a female getting bitten by a police dog, a cop stamping on a guys face and the arrests....

I'm not disputing that there was an element of hijack here. I'm talking about the subsequent reaction from Templemores finest.

And I'm not disputing there was an element of police over-reaction either. On the other hand, if you're stupid enough to throw yourself into the front line like this and refuse to budge when asked, then you deserve to get bitten.

So it is an anti-protest as a concept rant...

No, idiots can protest all they like, I'd never dream of stopping them. But there is a reason why protests in this country are so timid, and I think it is because most Irish people have too much common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

And I'm not disputing there was an element of police over-reaction either. On the other hand, if you're stupid enough to throw yourself into the front line like this and refuse to budge when asked, then you deserve to get bitten.

Funny how the authoritarian side of the right, always comes out at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

jock101 wrote: »
    I hope someone does not get hurt or killed!:eek: By the heavy handed FF private army. Like Abbeylara!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

You couldn't know any less, judging by this post, about either what's going on, the role of a police force, or the subsequent international investigation into Abbeylara. It's rare that a post manages to get so much wrong in so few words.

Define and outline what you view as an appropriate response to the breadth of situations faced by Gardai today, with a view to facilitating peaceful protest, the ongoing commerce and business of the city and a timescale by which a peaceful dissolution of the protest will have been achieved. Today is an incredibly difficult time to be a Garda in Dublin, so since you're so quick to criticise widely, I'm sure you also have an appropriate alternative solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Denerick, when I compare the sentiments here with sentiments you have expressed in other threads with regards to protesting etc, you are showing yourself up to be quite hypocritical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I don't know where you are getting 'anti student sentiment' from. I'm a recent graduate myself. Furthermore, none of your post has anything whatsoever to do with the engagement in question.
    Well perhaps I singled out your post unfairly, but it is reaction to a general feeling of disdain for students across the forums. The relevance of my post is to do with the short-sightedness of many people who give out about the student protests without actually stopping to analyse the situation and think about how it might affect them, or perhaps their children, in the future. The country is well and truly fecked, that's true, and yes, cuts do indeed have to be made. A strong protest will ensure that the government will make cuts in the right places - if Biffo etc are worried about another protest perhaps they won't be so quick to greenlight any more farcical bonuses or idiotic projects without a bloody good reason.

20Cent wrote: »
    Funny how the authoritarian side of the right, always comes out at some stage.

Funny how the silly side of the left, always comes out at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭paulaa

Waffle!! You have plenty of time to post on forums during the working day.

Are you another one of those sheep who believe we should stay silent and not show or disgust with what that lot have done to us and the country, thereby giving them the impression that they have our approval.

I want them out and I want them charged with criminal negligence or whatever else they can be charged with

I want them to be made accountable for their actions

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Denerick, when I compare the sentiments here with sentiments you have expressed in other threads with regards to protesting etc, you are showing yourself up to be quite hypocritical.

How so? People have a right to protest, I wouldn't want to stop them. Simultaneously if you are willing to make a díck out of yourself be prepared to be treated as one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

ebbsy wrote: »
    Fair play to the students, hope they get stuck in.

damn right , i wish the students the best of luck...

Define and outline what you view as an appropriate response to the breadth of situations faced by Gardai today, with a view to facilitating peaceful protest, the ongoing commerce and business of the city and a timescale by which a peaceful dissolution of the protest will have been achieved. Today is an incredibly difficult time to be a Garda in Dublin, so since you're so quick to criticise widely, I'm sure you also have an appropriate alternative solution.

-Not kettling teenagers into a closed street by police on horse back
    -Not driving an armoured van up a street that protesters are sitting on
    -Not setting dogs on females
    -Not stamping on protestors faces
    -Not baton charging a peaceful demo

In general, basic levels of discipline and making some effort to distinguish between troublemakers and people lawfully protesting.

The Gardaí, yet again, make a situation far worse with kack handed, brutal tactics that are completely tactically unecessary. How many people occupied the Dept? 10? 15? The response to a small incident was appaling. You make it difficult on yourselves.