Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student Protest Kicks Off (see video only posts warning)

• 03-11-2010 3:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭

Hearing stories that a second group has split off from the main march and occupied Finance and there is a sitdown protest on Kildare St. Cops have gone in on horseback and rumours of a Garda van driving into the crowd to shift them, but they sat firm.

More as it emerges, but it looks like we have our first riot of the 'austerity' phase!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Anarchists, WSM, SWP, Socialist Party, SF flags can be seen. "Seems like this is no longer about education":

- from the Twitter page http://twitter.com/UTprotest_live

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

More as it emerges, but it looks like we have our first riot of the 'austerity' phase!

Didn't we have a very similar one on the fringes of the 'Campaign Against Cuts' protest a few months ago. The famous Sky news 'Irish Parliament stormed by protesters' headline?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

Well the Gardaí have been training for it for a while now so it gives them a chance to test their skills.

- from the Twitter page Anarchists, WSM, SWP, Socialist Party, SF flags can be seen. "Seems like this is no longer about education"

Can they not see they do more harm than good??? I'm beginning to think they're being planted in there by the government

\puts on tinfoil hat

Papa Smut wrote: »
    Can they not see they do more harm than good??? I'm beginning to think they're being planted in there by the government

All these eejits do is play into the hands of the pro-govt media, just like that Harney paint thrower. Its then easier for them to write the usual "protestor = subversive" horsesh!te articles.

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Didn't we have a very similar one on the fringes of the 'Campaign Against Cuts' protest a few months ago. The famous Sky news 'Irish Parliament stormed by protesters' headline?

From the sounds of it, this is an enirely different league.

Apparently the cops are getting violent now...

This small group of idiots undermining the legitimate protest today
    http://twitter.com/GrahamButler1

another tweet

All these eejits do is play into the hands of the pro-govt media, just like that Harney paint thrower. Its then easier for them to write the usual "protestor = subversive" horsesh!te articles.

I get the feeling the headlines might be of the Gardaí going in well over the top. If RTE have footage of them driving a van up a street of sitdown protestors, thats what will be shown.

From all accounts they have been brutal.

Ah shur you can't blame the Guards can you. I've been tempted to give the odd student a good hiding from time to time too...:D They'll all be talking to Joe tomorrow whingin about the cops kickin their arses.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Irishrossoblu

Thats a shame. I hope the SF/SWP dont get roughed up. :p

I get the feeling the headlines might be of the Gardaí going in well over the top. If RTE have footage of them driving a van up a street of sitdown protestors, thats what will be shown.

From all accounts they have been brutal.

Either/or, I suppose. Maybe a bit of both. Whatever sells copy, at the end of the day.

Gardaí on horseback smashing up teenagers is the story here as far as I am concerned. If a fraction of the stories are true, the Garda press office will be busy for a few days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Wow, kinda glad I didn't go on the march in the end.... Hope no one is hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Expectable sadly, the guards were trained up to expect a riot for the last few months and today they were let loose.

I was in the area on my lunch break and the number of cops about was a sight to behold.

I even saw a muppet in a 4x4 pulled for talking on the mobile, they were so bored they were enforcing the law!!

Im hearing reports that there were, seen as that word is banned, unsavory characters there who tried to start a riot.

Gardaí on horseback smashing up teenagers is the story here as far as I am concerned. If a fraction of the stories are true, the Garda press office will be busy for a few days

The point I'm trying to make is that the Times, Indo, Sun, Star, Herald, RTE, Joe Duffy, whoever, do not care if people are killed, so long as it sells them copy and pushes up the ratings.

And if you think thats extremely cynical - you're right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Try to storm the department of finance = a bloody nose.

The little twits well deserved it too.

Denerick wrote: »

I believe they went into the lobby and stood there and wouldn't leave. Hardly storming. Are we in for round 2 of Denericks vitriol against student protesters?

So why are the Gardaí in riot gear baton charging the main body of the protest? Why are Gardaí on horses 'kettling' protestors?

I agree that if you occupy a building that you are wide open for a hiding. The issue here is that a huge number of Gardaí are cracking heads of peaceful protestors.

Do you think driving an armoured van into a sit down protest is a proportionate response?

So why are the Gardaí in riot gear baton charging the main body of the protest?

I agree that if you occupy a building that you are wide open for a hiding. The issue here is that a huge number of Gardaí are cracking heads of peaceful protestors.

Do you think driving an armoured van into a sit down protest is a proportionate response?

Nope.

But I suspect all of us know what happened: a small core of hotheads rushed to the front and all hell broke loose. A few students lost the run of themselves, as did the Guards. C'est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Fair play to them for protesting and making a stand. while i may not agree with some of what they have to say at least they are doing something.

put it this way... who are people going to be talkign about this evening... the quiet ones or the one's who made the most noise i.e. the ones in the DOF?

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I believe they went into the lobby and stood there and wouldn't leave. Hardly storming. Are we in for round 2 of Denericks vitriol against student protesters?

OK, storming is a strong term to use. But refusing to leave after being asked to is essentially violence by any other name. If I stood in your front hallway refusing to leave, would you be within your rights to push me out your front door?

DrumSteve wrote: »

put it this way... who are people going to be talkign about this evening... the quiet ones or the one's who made the most noise i.e. the ones in the DOF?

Funny enough, we talk much more about the loud Germans between 1933-1945.

Godwins Law. Get in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Funny enough, we talk much more about the loud Germans between 1933-1945.

Godwins Law. Get in there.

it was only a metter of time really...

perhaps our own Kristallnacht will be coming soon.... without all the anti-semtism obviously.

Nope.

But I suspect all of us know what happened: a small core of hotheads rushed to the front and all hell broke loose. A few students lost the run of themselves, as did the Guards. C'est la vie.

I'm afraid the rest of us aren't so blaze about a police riot.

They have been training and training and training for these protests for years. Unluckily the students were the guinea pigs and the punchbags for the POU to try and claim back some of the credibilty they lost on O'Connell St a few years ago.

Much easier to lay into a load of kids than a bunch of Republicans, innit...

OK, storming is a strong term to use. But refusing to leave after being asked to is essentially violence by any other name. If I stood in your front hallway refusing to leave, would you be within your rights to push me out your front door?
    No I wouldnt actually! haha

Was the response proportionate is the question tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Ridiculous.

Why the anti-student sentiment? Do people want a drop in the number of skilled workers in the Ireland? Do they want a higher percentage of their taxes being directed towards the student grants authority? Do they want to have to contribute more money to their children's education? What's the alternative for people leaving education after secondary school? Tradespeople are hardly required - feck all building being done. Work in the local shop? Go on the dole? Leave the country? At least there is some group keep the Irish government on their toes. If they fear large scale protests like this in anticipation of further unfair cuts, perhaps they won't make as much stupid mistakes.

Daddio wrote: »
    Ridiculous.

Why the anti-student sentiment? Do people want a drop in the number of skilled workers in the Ireland? Do they want a higher percentage of their taxes being directed towards the student grants authority? Do they want to have to contribute more money to their children's education? What's the alternative for people leaving education after secondary school? Tradespeople are hardly required - feck all building being done. Work in the local shop? Go on the dole? Leave the country? At least there is some group keep the Irish government on their toes. If they fear large scale protests like this in anticipation of further unfair cuts, perhaps they won't make as much stupid mistakes.

I don't know where you are getting 'anti student sentiment' from. I'm a recent graduate myself. Furthermore, none of your post has anything whatsoever to do with the engagement in question.

Daddio wrote: »
    Ridiculous.

As I've said before, its in Fianna Fail's best interests that people emigrate. Lenihan Snr, father of the current MoF, famously declared "we all can't live on a small island". Emigration as an exit of non - FF voters is accepted by the ruling class.

I'm afraid the rest of us aren't so blaze about a police riot.

They have been training and training and training for these protests for years. Unluckily the students were the guinea pigs and the punchbags for the POU to try and claim back some of the credibilty they lost on O'Connell St a few years ago.

Much easier to lay into a load of kids than a bunch of Republicans, innit...

I hardly think many of the Love Ulster rioters were Republicans, most were kids with a peripheral understanding of where Northern Ireland is on a map.

You may well be right, this may have been heavy handed by the Guards. On the other hand, actions have consequences. Its one of the first lessons of maturity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Wow, kinda glad I didn't go on the march in the end.... Hope no one is hurt.

too late, one protester carried away in an ambulance.

skulled by a bottle thrown by another protester.. rough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Fair play to them for protesting and making a stand. while i may not agree with some of what they have to say at least they are doing something.

So the battle for the States scarce resources so be decided by who can shout the loudest? I don't think that's fair. Many groups, mentally disabled adults, as one example, may not have the organizations to make a racket. However there cause is no less important.

In any case, violence, however mild, is never an acceptable method of achieving political aims.

They just said on Newstalk that the students have gathered at Pearse St Garda Station. They're a bright lot aren't they. It was lovely to hear them all whinging on the radio in their loike D4 loike faux American accents loike claiming that they're the future! :D

It always worries me when profoundly stupid and unlikable people claim they are the future of this country. Troubling indeed :)

mawk wrote: »
    too late, one protester carried away in an ambulance.

skulled by a bottle thrown by another protester.. rough.
    :D They don't teach them target practice in Tronity then do they? Loike...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

A protest which had at the heart of it a solid message thoroughly undermined by arseholes. Pretty much why I wasn't involved. Lot more than students out there and a lot of aggression. Of course, this provocation got a lot of innocent people hurt. To all responsible, you've completely undermined the democratic right to protest which you purport to represent. Also, to anyone drinking, way to increase the dignity of the whole affair. Big, fat kudos to you.

@OhNoYouDidn't and other anti-authority-for-the-sake-of-it people:
    RTE wrote:
    Student leaders have condemned the action of protestors who clashed with gardaí after a protest against plans to increase registration fees for third level students.
    There was disruption in the city centre this afternoon after protests outside the Department of Finance on Merrion Street and the Dáil on Kildare Street.
    The President of the Union of Students of Ireland Gary Redmond said he is saddened by the actions of a minority of protestors in Dublin city centre today.
    Mr Redmond said the occupation of the Department of Finance by a number of protestors is not representative of the USI.
    He said that many of the clashes with gardaí occurred during the USI address of protestors on Merrion Square.
    Gary Redmond said the actions of protestors engaged in a sit-down protest outside Leinster House is also not condoned by the USI.
    Gardaí say around 1,500 people were involved in this afternoon's protest.
    A garda spokesperson said 50 people entered the lobby of the Department of Finance on Merrion Row but were removed a short time later by gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

It always worries me when profoundly stupid and unlikable people claim they are the future of this country. Troubling indeed :)

Sorry but arent you the present, of this country as a recently qualified graduate, why the mess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭paulaa

Bus loads of students came to Dublin today from all over the country not just D4. They ARE the future whether you like it or not.

This notion that all students are from privileged backgrounds annoys me so much. Many of us parents had to scrimp and save and do without to give our kids a good 3rd level education. And for what ? We prepared them for export .

The old have protested, now the young are out on the streets. When are the 30 to 60s going to get off our backsides and show our disgust with the shower of criminals who have destroyed our country ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

Some major chips on shoulders in here regarding students and it's probably the same attitude amongst the gardai that resulted in their over-reaction.

paulaa wrote: »

The old have protested, now the young are out on the streets. When are the 30 to 60s going to get off our backsides and show our disgust with the shower of criminals who have destroyed our country ?

Give the Irish people some credit. We will only partake in an action if it leads to some sort of workable solution. Marching against reality (A big 20 billion euro piece of reality) will not make reality go away. Most of us are too busy working and trying to pay off our debts than to indulge far left delusions about how a peripheral European country with no worthwhile natural resources to speak about is supposed to run an economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

I hope someone does not get hurt or killed!:eek: By the heavy handed FF private army. Like Abbeylara!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

There is nothing at all wrong with a sit down protest tbh.

Regretting I missed it now.

@OhNoYouDidn't and other anti-authority-for-the-sake-of-it people:

Post the whole article! Don't trim the allegations of a female getting bitten by a police dog, a cop stamping on a guys face and the arrests....

I'm not disputing that there was an element of hijack here. I'm talking about the subsequent reaction from Templemores finest.

Give the Irish people some credit. We will only partake in an action if it leads to some sort of workable solution. Marching against reality (A big 20 billion euro piece of reality) will not make reality go away. Most of us are too busy working and trying to pay off our debts than to indulge far left delusions about how a peripheral European country with no worthwhile natural resources to speak about is supposed to run an economy.

So it is an anti-protest as a concept rant...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Fair play to the students, hope they get stuck in.

Post the whole article! Don't trim the allegations of a female getting bitten by a police dog, a cop stamping on a guys face and the arrests....

I'm not disputing that there was an element of hijack here. I'm talking about the subsequent reaction from Templemores finest.

And I'm not disputing there was an element of police over-reaction either. On the other hand, if you're stupid enough to throw yourself into the front line like this and refuse to budge when asked, then you deserve to get bitten.