If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Your favourite culchie one liners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

"Jaysus, if I had a bag of mickeys I wouldn't throw one at her!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭dilapidating

Feared of the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

It's to cut turf, not foot it :)

Footing turf is when you stack it to dry for a few weeks before taking it home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

'and a bag o' chips with coleslaw.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Head on ya like a burnt toilet brush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Ha, I'm from the country, I know what cutting and footing turf means! But I thought he was on about going to the toilet... Like i'm goin to cut turf! :D

Thats good, quite humorous and vulgar. I'm sick with myself that I never thought of it that way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Thick as a dubble ditch

Thich as two short planks covered in pig sh!t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

Thats good, quite humorous and vulgar. I'm sick with myself that I never thought of it that way :)

I thought that's what you meant in the first place :D

So we're all clear now....I KNOW what footing turf means! Was my first Summer job back in the day, got paid by the row. Hardship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Continued use of the word 'Minerals' for 7up etc
    They even had an isle in the Super Valu marked Minerals
    I'm sure if soft drinks aren't minerals, isles aren't aisles...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Gerry Asstrix

Some classics from working class Dublin

'If had garden full of mickeys she wouldnt get alook over the wall'

'Jaysus your ones so fat when ya ask for a blowjob she whips out a knife and fork and asks for seconds'

'Love your so hot Id give your sh*te a blowjob'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Sure if me auntie was bald she'd be me uncle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭poochierockz

was down in Annascaul for a trip, was in this pub and went out for a smoke and this guy comes up to me and says .. "whats yer p*ssy taste like? chinese food?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

How's she cuttin :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Gerry Asstrix

Ya could wear her arse as a hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

markesmith wrote: »
    "I wouldn't ride her into battle"

Also, "die dog or sh*te a license". Not sure what this really means, but heard it a few times in Offaly.

it means when the seargent used to land looking for the dog licence for the sheep dog the farmer would reply"now die dog or ****e the licence" as if the dog ate the licence:rolleyes:lol...i was 100 percent sure it was only dad that said that :eek:

a few of my own..."now she's sucking diesel"(when something begins to work after a slap with a hammer)...

"Stand round ya oul hure ya"(asking the heifer to stand still till you artificially inseminate her)

IF YOU EVER GO TO DONEGAL YOU WILL NEED THIS DICTIONARY.
    Donegal Dictionary

A......... I

Aul.......... Old

Aul Boy........... Father

Aul Doll........... Mother

Aye........... Yes

Bother......Hassle

Buck.......... Boy or Man

Canny.......... Cannot

Dinny ...........Don?t

Doll......... Girl or woman

Foundered............ Extremely cold

Fray............. From

Gan............. Going

Geesa.............. Give me a

Gon............ Please

Hanlin................ Trouble or Fight or Argument

Hi............. Used at the start and end of every sentence

Hay............ Have

Lock.............. Small amount of something

Mind............ To remember

Mon........... Come on

Naw........... No

Pure............ very

Purdies............. Potatoes

Rare............ strange or unusual

Saunter on......... walk on

Tight........... Cruel

Wee............ Small

Waynes............ Babies or children

Whats happenin?....... how are ya

Wheen............... Small amount of something

While............. Very or Terrible

Ya Boy....... hello there

Yes............. Hello

Yes Horse..........Hello to someone u like

Ker............Car

Yock.........woman,strimmer,lawnmower,c
    ar,van,lorry
    ,bike,quad,bus,boat,trike,digger,tracto
    r,trailer,towercrane,helicoter,plane, spaceship,submarine,and any other kind of machine.

Glack......(Gluck letterkenny only)..Good Luck.....Good by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Did ya wear a Johnny?.........."Not a'tall stop yer nonsense."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

bmw535d wrote: »
    it means when the seargent used to land looking for the dog licence for the sheep dog the farmer would reply"now die dog or ****e the licence" as if the dog ate the licence:rolleyes:lol...i was 100 percent sure it was only dad that said that :eek:

a few of my own..."now she's sucking diesel"(when something begins to work after a slap with a hammer)...

"Stand round ya oul hure ya"(asking the heifer to stand still till you artificially inseminate her)

IF YOU EVER GO TO DONEGAL YOU WILL NEED THIS DICTIONARY.
    Donegal Dictionary

A......... I

Aul.......... Old

Aul Boy........... Father

Aul Doll........... Mother

Aye........... Yes

Bother......Hassle

Buck.......... Boy or Man

Canny.......... Cannot

Dinny ...........Don?t

Doll......... Girl or woman

Foundered............ Extremely cold

Fray............. From

Gan............. Going

Geesa.............. Give me a

Gon............ Please

Hanlin................ Trouble or Fight or Argument

Hi............. Used at the start and end of every sentence

Hay............ Have

Lock.............. Small amount of something

Mind............ To remember

Mon........... Come on

Naw........... No

Pure............ very

Purdies............. Potatoes

Rare............ strange or unusual

Saunter on......... walk on

Tight........... Cruel

Wee............ Small

Waynes............ Babies or children

Whats happenin?....... how are ya

Wheen............... Small amount of something

While............. Very or Terrible

Ya Boy....... hello there

Yes............. Hello

Yes Horse..........Hello to someone u like

Ker............Car

Yock.........woman,strimmer,lawnmower,c
    ar,van,lorry
    ,bike,quad,bus,boat,trike,digger,tracto
    r,trailer,towercrane,helicoter,plane, spaceship,submarine,and any other kind of machine.

Glack......(Gluck letterkenny only)..Good Luck.....Good by

You forgot
    fair bit = small amount
    good bit = medium amount
    brave bit = a lot

Also the word wild; interchageable as tragic/great/a lot off
    Yoke is the same as yock depending on what side of the gap you're in.
    A word pronounced crater, donegal for creature and used when referring to someone in a pitying type way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

"It's a sad arse that can't rejoice" - for when you've farted

"Scratch my arse with a broken bottle" - f*ck off

"How's your arse for lovebites?" - I think you're nice

"How's your belly for a lodger?" - would you like to have sexual relations with me

"You're stuffed" - you are now with child

"Have you popped yet?" - have you given birth?

"You're some bollocks" - you're alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Leroy Lita

tis fierce close (when its warm outside)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭policarp

Could crack a flea on me belly. = Extremely full after a meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,923 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Settle.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭bowsie010

"I've no willy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

It's to cut turf, not foot it :)
    *Bzzzt* Either is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭judestynes

question......excuse me, could you tell me the way to ********* ?

answer... well I wouldn't start from here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

From a workmate years ago:

There are no flies on the Lamb of God = I performed brilliantly.
    We're only in the ar5e of the garden = we are lower level workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

"Ya can bate the wife but ya can't bate the craic"

"Them be fine birthen hips" - A woman with a nice arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I asked a Donegal man if a certain place was within walking distance & he told me it was 'ach a rare wee dander'.
    I'm still walking ..........

"Sure if I stuck the head in there, you wouldn't say no."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,042 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

mikom wrote: »
    Real country people say "Sure he's like a asses flute....he's big when he's out."

REAL country people say........he's like a donkey's cock....he's big when he's out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Is it yourself ?

How's she cutting ?

Tis a soft day