If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Slight Dilemma

• 26-10-2010 03:03PM
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

So, went to visit my parents at the weekend.
    I'm sitting in the kitchen with my mother and daughter and we brushed on life after death (I tend to try and not discuss religion or life after death with her, don't want to burst her bubble at her age, 72) anyway this time she asked me straight out so I answered honestly that there isn't one and moved swiftly on to asking her if she believed in Evolution and Darwinism.
    Apparently she doesn't. She doesn't believe we came from monkeys.
    My daughter tells me the look of shock on my face was hilarious. She was further amused by the fact I was speechless.

So here's my dilemma, do I give her some books on evolution? Is it even my place to do so?
    My daughter thinks it would be the same as her giving me a book on religion.
    But this is an accepted, scientific theory, not a made up story, so I'm not sure I agree.
    So, do I leave the woman in her comfortable cocoon, or give her a book that explains evolution simply?
    I'm not sure she would read something as detailed as The Selfish Gene for instance, are there simpler ones?

Am between two minds on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,452 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

To be honest, it's not really going to make a difference, is it? If she's happy in what she believes and it isn't impacting negatively on her life, leave her at it. It's probably a mammoth task convincing a woman of 72 that the beliefs she's held - even loosely - all of her life are poppycock.

Better off giving the books to your daughter! :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Is your Mum a catholic?

If she is, then surely the RC Church's reluctant 'endorsement' of evolution should be evidence enough that it has to be taken seriously. The church would never have done this unless they knew the pressure of evidence was too weighty for them to ignore.

As for books to read, I think you'd want to know she was open to convincing before going down that route. Maybe a DVD on the subject from someone trustable for that generation like David Attenborough might be an option. :) Dawkins has the devil's rep at the moment.
    It's probably a mammoth task convincing a woman of 72 that the beliefs she's held - even loosely - all of her life are poppycock.
    I don't think Beruthiel is trying to rob her of God - only get her straight on evolution! 72 yr olds can learn too!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

It's probably a mammoth task convincing a woman of 72 that the beliefs she's held - even loosely - all of her life are poppycock.

No doubt, you're right.
    Think I'm still in shock is all. :)

My daughter is at the age where 'she knows more than I do' so I'd be preaching to the choir there.

Dades wrote: »
    Is your Mum a catholic?

Yes.
    As for books to read, I think you'd want to know she was open to convincing before going down that route. Maybe a DVD on the subject from someone trustable for that generation like David Attenborough might be an option. :) Dawkins has the devil's rep at the moment.

It would have to be David Attenborough, she has a set against Dawkins, don't know from where as she certainly hasn't read any of his books.
    I don't think Beruthiel is trying to rob her of God

Certainly not. I would consider it terribly cruel to take that away from her now.
    only get her straight on evolution!

That's it. Surely it's not cruel to inform her on that?
    72 yr olds can learn too!

She's not a fool at all. I just don't think she has read or seen anything to change the way she thinks and I don't believe she has put a lot of thought into it in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Can only speak for myself but I'd just leave it. I'm sure she knows where the library is if she wants to read up on evolution, it might seem a bit preachy if were to actually buy her a book and tell her to read it, ye know.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Beruthiel wrote: »
    do I leave the woman in her comfortable cocoon, or give her a book that explains evolution simply?
    Ask her if she's interested in getting something that describes humanity's current understanding of itself, and if she says no -- which I'll bet you 50p she'll say :) -- then drop the topic permanently.

If she says yes, then I can't really recommend anything since I haven't seen that many entry-level books on evolution. Amazon might help.

Are you sure you can stretch to a whole 50p robin?
    strobe wrote: »
    Can only speak for myself but I'd just leave it. I'm sure she knows where the library is if she wants to read up on evolution, it might seem a bit preachy if were to actually buy her a book and tell her to read it, ye know.

You know, you're dead right. It would be preachy. And yes, she does know where the library is if she's interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

My Mum accepts that "scientists" believe that evolution is the way it worked and understands the basics of evolution in that organisms appear to "adapt" to their environments.
    But then a few weeks back (over a few beers), I got the killer question - "If we came from monkeys, why are there still monkeys?", which illustrated to me that she doesn't actually understand the theory as much as she understands that it's scientific fact.

I imagine this is the primary reason why you'll find opposition to evolutionary theory. Exactly like Lisbon, people don't understand it, never read it, therefore don't accept it.

I did leaving cert biology and I have to admit that I didn't properly understand the concept up to a couple of years ago. Evolution make biology easier because it provides a tie through which you can compare and understand the biologies of different creatures. Yet most books are page or two covering the history of evolution and the familiar diagram of a cell changing into a fish, to a monkey and then a man.

I can imagine that anyone who finished school before 1990 probably had nothing but the briefest introduction to the concept (if they were taught at all).

I'd really only offer her more information if she asked for it.

seamus wrote: »
    "If we came from monkeys, why are there still monkeys?"

Yup. She said the exact same thing to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

I would personally leave her alone on it if it was my mother.

Do not get me wrong, I do not subscribe to the “She is old, leave her with her comfortable fantasy” line of argument you might get from some people. I have more respect for older people than to wrap them in cotton wool and tip toe around them in case I hurt their feelings. They have seen and done more than I ever have, they are not delicate bits of china, they can handle the truth. They can probably handle what life throws at them better than I myself can given the experience and wisdom they have to draw on.

However, the line of argument I would use is that it simply does not matter. Personal faith kept personal is A-OK with me and I have never been out to convert people just for the sake of making them think like me. People can believe what they want I simply do not care.

Religion for me is fine until it is used as part of a discourse on another topic. Telling science what it can or can not research, attempting to influence what we teach our children in schools, commenting on the morality of certain sexual alignments, dictating morality and ethics, setting government policy… whatever it may be if “god” is used to influence these things then by all means question and combat the person saying it and point out that if they want to use “god” in their arguments then the onus is on them to establish this entity actually exists.

But a person of personal faith… why bother unless they personally express interest in your input... or their faith, or in this case scientific ignorance, is somehow negatively impacting on their lives?

Her ignorance of evolutionary concepts impacts or affects no one. It simply does not matter. Meanwhile there are people like our very own Minister of Science who go around attempting to launch anti-evolution books and what a Science minister thinks about science actually DOES have impact on people.

The fact that her own religion accepts evolution moves this topic out of the realm of God and Heaven and whatnot - and turns it simply into something she can know without it being a threat.

Knowing that - I'd find it hard to let it drop myself!

Dades wrote: »
    surely the RC Church's reluctant 'endorsement' of evolution should be evidence enough that it has to be taken seriously. The church would never have done this unless they knew the pressure of evidence was too weighty for them to ignore.
    <cough> condoms <cough>
    I got the killer question - "If we came from monkeys, why are there still monkeys?"
    Standard response -- if christians came from England to America, why are there still christians in England?

robindch wrote: »
    <cough> condoms <cough>
    I hope you're not choking on one. :p

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

I had written a long reply but my wireless connection dropped...

Anyhoo, I have a good friend, and former work colleague,old time Catholic, in his 60s who has similar views. For the most part it's harmless. I tried explaining evolution to him before and its importance in the context of the research being performed in the University research institution were we worked. But I fell on deaf hears. It just sounded too silly to him.

The only time where I got annoyed was when he claimed that the Magdalene Laundries were a great thing and should be brought back. Needless to say I took the bait.

I think its difficult to shift someone of that age from a philosophical position no matter how daft. Even my own parents, still relatively young, have some homophobic and racist views that can seep out in conversations. I'm finding that getting annoyed doesn't help.

I don't think letting it go is a good option either so it is a troublesome dilemma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Human instinct by Robert Winston is very user friendly and he's religious himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,856 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

I'm sitting in the kitchen with my mother and daughter and we brushed on life after death (I tend to try and not discuss religion or life after death with her, don't want to burst her bubble at her age, 72) anyway this time she asked me straight out so I answered honestly that there isn't one and moved swiftly on to asking her if she believed in Evolution and Darwinism.
    My daughter tells me the look of shock on my face was hilarious. She was further amused by the fact I was speechless.

So here's my dilemma, do I give her some books on evolution? Is it even my place to do so?
    But this is an accepted, scientific theory, not a made up story, so I'm not sure I agree.
    So, do I leave the woman in her comfortable cocoon, or give her a book that explains evolution simply?
    I'm not sure she would read something as detailed as The Selfish Gene for instance, are there simpler ones?

I dont see the problem. Giving her a book is not the same as forcing her to read it, and its not as if evolution being true would in of itself contradict the idea of an afterlife.
    I'm not sure what book though, I haven't read any (all I know about evoluiton has been garnered here on boards or from sites like wikipedia or youtube). I cant remember if "A Short History of Nearly Everything" by deals a lot with evolution, its a great scientific book, though, and real easy to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,856 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

seamus wrote:
    "If we came from monkeys, why are there still monkeys?"
    Yup. She said the exact same thing to me.

Maybe you could "con" her into reading up on it. If this comes up again, simply ask her where she heard that and get her to show you (dont contradict it at first, unless she says something like "Oh, Isn't that evolution?").
    If she isn't interested in defending her position, then there is probably little you could do anyway. If she is, then simply encouraging her to read up to explain where she heard that ol' goat may get her to the right sources of information (if she does actually have a source, then chances are its creationist, and they are very easy to debunk).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

If Attenborough is her cup of tea then the short series 'Charles Darwin and the Tree of Life' would probably be ideal. It was on last year around Darwin's anniversary - not on the BBC player anymore but no doubt it's obtainable somewhere. Other than that I'd keep stressing that evolution is not incompatible with catholicism and leave her to it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

I would leave your mum as she is to be honest. I think if she wanted to know about this stuff she would have already looked into it. She sounds a little in denial, I think people choose to reject evolution out of comfort of religion rather than genuine ignorance, i doubt she doesn't believe in electricity even though she probably can explain how that works.

But she is getting on a bit and perhaps she is happier. She isn't filling your daughters head with Creationist nonsense, she isn't trying to get school boards closed down etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

I got the killer question - "If we came from monkeys, why are there still monkeys?"
    That is, it makes you want to kill yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭rational

To be honest, it's not really going to make a difference, is it? If she's happy in what she believes and it isn't impacting negatively on her life, leave her at it. It's probably a mammoth task convincing a woman of 72 that the beliefs she's held - even loosely - all of her life are poppycock.

No, You have got it all wrong shes 72 there is still plenty of time for her to understand the truth. Dawkins and lashings of tomorrows world DVDs should do the trick. Burst her bubble. No use living a lie I say.

http://www.ralphmag.org/FM/why.html

There one for yea lads. One of my favourites. If you read the end of The stranger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭rational

Common Sense!! I've just fell off my chair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

rational wrote: »
    Common Sense!! I've just fell off my chair.

Chairs are tricky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Bookworm85

If Attenborough is her cup of tea then the short series 'Charles Darwin and the Tree of Life' would probably be ideal. It was on last year around Darwin's anniversary - not on the BBC player anymore but no doubt it's obtainable somewhere. Other than that I'd keep stressing that evolution is not incompatible with catholicism and leave her to it!

+1 on this.

Attenborough's 'Life on Earth' series is a pretty good one too.

Chairs are tricky.
    Tell that to any Banksie :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

She's 72. I thought the answer was pretty damn obvious for God's sake.

Infect her with Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus and then ask her if she wants the antibiotics they have evolved resistance to or if she wants the newer ones that still work.

Tick tock moma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

If evolution is true, why can't I fly?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

By strange coincidence it is on Network Two this (Wednesday) evening @7pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭keppler

Man its good to hear someone else is having the same problem as myself!!
    I met my parents couple of weeks ago and they were talking about why there are not too many priests around anymore...well I would've thought that the answer was obvious i said....que child rape, sexism, condoms, aids and the general fact that the RCC is nothing but a scurge on mankind.......This didnt go down well with my father,

cut long story short the row ended when he tried to tell me that the problemwith the RCC, jewish muslim and islamic religions is that their full of and ran by bad people ..............when i tried to tell him that muslim and islam are the same he told me i didnt know what i was talking about and stormed out of the room...........:(

Now i know i took my argument further than you but bear in mind my father is only 55, fairly intelligent(i thought) and has not gone to mass in approx 20yrs bar the odd funeral and such........if thats what his reaction was to me preaching to him then I wouldnt like to see your 72yr old mum if you choose to take it any further

Also if you have any other siblings try to be wary of them too....... if they dont think along your lines you could inadvertently end up falling out with them????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I think it depends on the kind of relationship you have with your mother, B. Would she appreciate a book, or discussion or DVD about it or would that just really annoy or irritate her? I'm all for opening the lines of communication on such topics and triggering some vigorous debate but not at the expense of a close relationship.