Support for Fianna Fail has "collapsed to an unprecedented low"

• 23-10-2010 06:08PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭

in the latest Sunday Business Post poll conducted by RedC.

Fianna Fail 18 (-6)
    Fine Gael 32 (+1)
    Labour 27 (+4)
    Greens 4 (+1)
    Sinn Fein 9 (-1)
    Independents 10 (+1)

"Just 38 per cent of those who voted for Fianna Fail in the 2007 election now say they will vote for the party." says the paper's political editor, Pat Leahy.
    If these figures were replicated in a general election, Fianna Fail would lose half it's seats.

In tomorrows SB Post.

WOOHOOO!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Ireland needs to get out if this fecking recession.
    I'm getting pissed off with these government, recession, housing and dole threads.

It almost makes me want to go to the Politics forum and read about it all properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ValJester

Only problem is that there's still constituencies where they're the strongest with no real competitions, meaning that they'll take those seats with no real difficulty, whilst FG and Labour are strong in the same areas, meaning they'd eat into each other's support.
    Hence FF will still take 33-40% of the seats in the Dail in 2011/2.

I've said it before and will say it again.Democracy dosn't work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

gerrymandering in the next election?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

What amazes me most is there are still people out there who would actually still vote for Fianna "full of" Fail. Unreal. You were that dumb last time, but you still haven't worked things out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ValJester

JohnathanM wrote: »
    What amazes me most is there are still people out there who would actually still vote for Fianna "full of" Fail. Unreal. You were that dumb last time, but you still haven't worked things out?

Thing is people vote by candidate in Ireland.And whilst their TD may have voted for NAMA and thus condemned us to have to sell our children to salt mines, "he's still a good man" because he went to the relevant funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Thing is we are seriously lacking in this country when it comes to choices, I always vote but I am really not sure who to vote for next time,I have heard nothing from anyone that would make me vote for them :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

still too high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

orourkeda wrote: »
    still too high

They all are imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Labours support rose at expense of FF support, thats the public sector switching allegiance due to Bertie abandoning them! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Gerry Mandering in the next election?..

He'll get my vote! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

He'll get my vote! :D
    there was always someone in school who blamed the norths problems on poor old gerry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Sonderval

So, people of ireland, now you see that evil will always triumph because good is dumb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭DJP

ValJester wrote: »
    Only problem is that there's still constituencies where they're the strongest with no real competitions, meaning that they'll take those seats with no real difficulty, whilst FG and Labour are strong in the same areas, meaning they'd eat into each other's support.
    Hence FF will still take 33-40% of the seats in the Dail in 2011/2.

I've said it before and will say it again.Democracy dosn't work.

No they won't. It looks like they are going to lose seats all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Excellent!

Now we only need the Blueshirts to fall to a similar level and we can actually start rebuilding this country in the way in which people originally intended back when they were fighting the Brits with hurleys and killing Protestant landowners :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭sonic85

i dont believe any of these stupid fcuking polls. wont know a fcuking thing until after the next election

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

What I want to know is, who are the 18% who still give them their support ? :eek::eek::eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm disappointed.
    18% ???

Its not low enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

To the 18% who still support the party that ruined my and my childrens future.

Fucccccckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk you!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

CoalBucket wrote: »
    What I want to know is, who are the 18% who still give them their support ? :eek::eek::eek:

It wasn't me anyway :p

I got a call the other night, I was just sitting watching TV so had a bit of sympathy for the call centre guy...

It was RED SEA for that poll quoted above...

It took ages and the questions were very detailed...

The poor guy asking the questions couldn't prounounce any of the Irish named political parties....

Shin Feen ... Feena Fail.... Fine Gale ... say what you see :D

foxinsox wrote: »
    Shin Feen ... Feena Fail.... Fine Gale ... say what you see :D

Credit to the fella. He got one of them right. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I am shocked that anyone would even consider voting for the FF corruption party./ Right now, their only answer to try and fix what they ****ed up is to rob from the poorer in society to preserve the lifestyles of their richer friends.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Is there anything about Fianna Fail that doesn't involve the word "unprecedented"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Is there anything about Fianna Fail that doesn't involve the word "unprecedented"?

Or, In the context of...........:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

I think people will cop on soon enough and realise FF are the only party worth voting for. The other parties have done nothing of note to challenge FF, they're incapable of running the country. FF will get this country back on its feet.

flash1080 wrote: »
    I think people will cop on soon enough and realise FF are the only party worth voting for. The other parties have done nothing of note to challenge FF, they're incapable of running the country. FF will get this country back on its feet.

Just a pity we won't be able to afford any shoes. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭sonic85

troll of the highest order. either that or you are seriously deluded

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

sonic85 wrote: »
    troll of the highest order. either that or you are seriously deluded

FG and Labour have been sitting quietly doing nothing, they have no solution to the problems and are watching FF take charge of the situation. They're just hoping to slip into government for a term with people blaming FF for having to make the tough decisions.

Tough decisions like bankrupting the country for a bank that could have been simply dropped, and cost us nothing? Or perhaps you mean the tough decisions of a science minister launching a book on creationism, a former Taoiseach being allowed to break the law with impunity and still serve himself in the Dail, or a current Taoiseach spending taxpayer cash on the piss before embarrassing us internationally the following morning?

Which tough decision do you admire the most?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

...... with people blaming FF for having to make the tough decisions.

That's actually what FF are hoping for........the more time passes, the more this can be falsely trotted out as the reason for FF's demise, when in actual fact the reason most neutrals hate them is because they led us head-first into this mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

It's nice they asked 5 year olds.