Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

C-J wrote: »
    Out of curiosity does anyone know when next gra conference is or is it an annual thing? They're the boys that know how to get answers!

They had a conference on the 21st of sep. David mc Williams spoke at it. I couldn't find any mention of it on their website though or any info on what was discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭dylmeister

What date is the next passing out ceremony, the 21st or the 28th? Fingers crossed there will be some light shed on the situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Rose Tinted

Lads we're all in the same boat regardless of whatever rumours anyone has heard, i can understand why people are being sensitive about the issue of the panel being scrapped but speaking as someone who has everything done, if it were a (hypothetical) case of us having to reapply for some godforsaken reason then surely it would be a doddle for those of us who know the application process inside out. I know that's not the point but i always say just take life as it comes. Out of curiosity does anyone know when next gra conference is or is it an annual thing? They're the boys that know how to get answers!
    Hi CJ, I ended up having to go through the whole process again (because of that stupid Push/ Pull machine) & I had the attitude that it was going to be a breeze because I had done the aptitude test and interview before, but I actually did worse in the test second time round. You just never know what will happen second time (A moratorium or something ridiculous like that might happen) .It’s been over three years since I have first applied and I too have passed my medical and fitness test and I am waiting like the rest of you. I know I haven’t posted before but I have been pretty much been following this forum for quite a while. We will get there eventually and I must say we will be the most committed and appreciated class to have ever stepped through the gates of Templemore. Did I forget to mention the most patient?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

dylmeister wrote: »
    What date is the next passing out ceremony, the 21st or the 28th? Fingers crossed there will be some light shed on the situation

Im 99% sure its the 28th,wish it was this Thursday though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

The passing out is Friday the 29th now guys! Was chatting to my mate last night (he's down there) and he went on ranting about some bank holiday thingy thats why they moved it to Friday the 29/10/10!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

The Commissioner is also due to retire towards the end of this year, so a new recruitment drive might be on the long finger until a new Commissioner is appointed.

more spec ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    The passing out is Friday the 29th now guys! Was chatting to my mate last night (he's down there) and he went on ranting about some bank holiday thingy thats why they moved it to Friday the 29/10/10!

thanks for agreeing with me on the friday dont think anybody read the past posts recently and kept rainting on about thursday dates :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Lenn Brennan

Have ye all seen whats happenin in the U.K. and N.I.?

The P.S.N.I. are putting pressure on the government for funding for frontline service due to the threat of dissident republicans. It looks very likely they will get it too.

The British army are being made cut left, right and centre. Including selling tanks and equipment.

Yet Biffo and all those clowns are letting the Irish army recruit and leave us all in the dark when clearly AGS need something done about numbers.

They really have their priorities straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Its clear that AGS are understaffed, but the people at the top dont care about this. At least not until it affects them directly. A friend of mine works in a computer warehouse which was held up at the weekend, thousands of equipment stolen. Gardai were called and said they wouldnt be able to send anyone out for about an hour, that they were understaffed that day. JOKE!!! You cannot afford to make cutbacks in a service that is dealing directly with the health and safety of the public. It will result in a higher crime rate and criminals will start to realise that they can get away with it. In a recession, crime rates naturally rise so to cut back on Garda numbers is just suicide. Wake the f7ck up Lenihen, Aherne and co.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Zkyire

Hey all,

I live in Clonmel, and I just went into the local Garda station, to ask about recruitment, where the officer told me that they had stopped recruiting until 2017.

I'm even doing a Bsc in Social Policy and Criminology aswell ( I am very serious about a career in law enforcement) but with this news I am positively gutted.

Is there any truth to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Zkyire wrote: »
    Hey all,

I live in Clonmel, and I just went into the local Garda station, to ask about recruitment, where the officer told me that they had stopped recruiting until 2017.

I'm even doing a Bsc in Social Policy and Criminology aswell ( I am very serious about a career in law enforcement) but with this news I am positively gutted.

Think he was pulling your leg.. every SO up and down the country must be sick to the teeth of being asked!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Steviewonder

Hey all,

Hi Zkyrie

Theres a lot of rumours going around at the moment as you can imagine.God only knows whats in store.

Your taking the right step doing a college course to pass away a few years.

How long is the course ? I m going to be startiing a pyscology in criminal behaviour one in 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Hey all,

think he was having a laugh!!! Any garda friend i know has both a pokerface and a dry sense of humour, bet he was just waiting for the look on your face!

I walked out looking quite sad actually. :P

eroo wrote: »
    Think he was pulling your leg.. every SO up and down the country must be sick to the teeth of being asked!!:D

Oh thank Christ, if that's true then he has a very twisted sense of humour but I am a bit relieved to be honest.

Hi Zkyrie

Theres a lot of rumours going around at the moment as you can imagine.God only knows whats in store.

Your taking the right step doing a college course to pass away a few years.

How long is the course ? I m going to be startiing a pyscology in criminal behaviour one in 2012.

I have 2 and a half years left to go. I'm doing it part time, so the plan was to join the Gardaí and continue studying in my spare time in the evenings.

Oh good call, I was thinking of getting into criminal psychology too once I've done this degree.

I have 2 and a half years left to go. I'm doing it part time, so the plan was to join the Gardaí and continue studying in my spare time in the evenings.

Oh good call, I was thinking of getting into criminal psychology too once I've done this degree.

Your well set.

I m in my final year of a B.A in history and english at the mo

Have you any prep courses done? Do u think first aid,driving and swimming will be compulsory requirements?

Your well set.
    I m in my final year of a B.A in history and english at the mo
    Have you any prep courses done? Do u think first aid,driving and swimming will be compulsory requirements?
    I'm doing the aptitude test thing with <snip> to prepare me for that.
    But actually, if the recruitment has been halted for a year or so, it could be a blessing in disguise.. give me long enough to do those extra courses you mentioned.

I'm doing the aptitude test thing with <snip> to prepare me for that.
    But actually, if the recruitment has been halted for a year or so, it could be a blessing in disguise.. give me long enough to do those extra courses you mentioned.
    Cool.Have u started it already? is that the online take home one ya?
    Yes I hope there s a bit of a delay too would be handy to cover a few more courses.

I want to get into the guards not in a big hurry because of the way things are atm and I know I will have to wait a few years. In my final year of a degree in English and history and thinking of doing a relavant masters along the lines of criminology or social policy in UCD to increase my chances of getting in, has anyone else tried this, what are the best masters to do for the guards?

Obviously I know they appreciate people who have worked their way up in the guards and are street smart as opposed to college graduates, but not sure what else to do...
    Hi chocopuppy

Im in the exact same boat as yourself.
    Im thinking of doing a pscology in criminal behaviour course in UCC after i graduate.

Cool.Have u started it already? is that the online take home one ya?

Yes I hope there s a bit of a delay too would be handy to cover a few more courses.

Starting it today actually. Yeah it's completely online, very handy.

Gonna ask my sister about some driving lessons.

Aye a short wait could be handy, but what the guy said.. 7 years.. hopefully he was joking but..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

ADVERTISING IS FORBIDDEN ON THIS FORUM AS PER THE FORUM CHARTER .
    # No advertising! You may not promote companies who offer recruitment training or any other service. We have had actual companies create accounts on boards.ie and give the impression they had used their own service as a customer. These are called shills. No shilling. These posts will be deleted. Low post counters will most likely be site-banned.
    THIS MEANS NO NAME DROPPING COURSES YOU HAVE OR MAY UNDERTAKE. IF YOU WANT A RECOMMENDATION FOR A COURSE PLEASE USE THE PM FUNCTION OF BOARDS.IE

PLEASE FAMILIARISE YOURSELF WITH THE FORUM CHARTER BEFORE POSTING

Blue Belle wrote: »
    ADVERTISING IS FORBIDDEN ON THIS FORUM AS PER THE FORUM CHARTER .

THIS MEANS NO NAME DROPPING COURSES YOU HAVE OR MAY UNDERTAKE. IF YOU WANT A RECOMMENDATION FOR A COURSE PLEASE USE THE PM FUNCTION OF BOARDS.IE

PLEASE FAMILIARISE YOURSELF WITH THE FORUM CHARTER BEFORE POSTING

"# Please refrain from using all CAPITAL LETTERS, this is the Internet equivalent of shouting and can make posts difficult to read."

:P

Yeah anyways, my bad, I kinda skimmed the charter the first time (read it properly this time :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

"# Please refrain from using all CAPITAL LETTERS, this is the Internet equivalent of shouting and can make posts difficult to read."

:P

Yeah anyways, my bad, I kinda skimmed the charter the first time (read it properly this time :P)

Obviously not.
    # Moderator actions are not to be discussed anywhere on the forum. PM the moderator in question, or take it to the Feedback forum.

Warning issued.
    BACK ON TOPIC PLEASE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Hey all,

I live in Clonmel, and I just went into the local Garda station, to ask about recruitment, where the officer told me that they had stopped recruiting until 2017...

ha ha, jesus i got a great kick out of that one, was he smiling at all when he said it. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

2017 is 7 years away - there would be thousands of retirements in this space of time which would pretty much make AGS non existent. Common sense is all that is needed to know that this is rubbish. Personally ive been waiting over 2 years now, if I dont hear anything constructive by January ill be out of this country for good - I was once proud to be Irish but not anymore, this is no place for anyone to live their life anymore with the people running the place - its only going to get worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

Hey all,

:D ha ha ha yeah, i'd say he got a good laugh out of telling you that...

Will not having a drivers license stop people being able to apply>

What are your thoughts on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

Will not having a drivers license stop people being able to apply>

What are your thoughts on this?

It is possible. Only a recommendation has been made at this stage. Will just have to wait and see if it is actually implemented.

If you are able it would be safer to try and do the test now while waiting for the recruitment drive. That way you need not worry about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭DustyMan

There has been a lot of talk here re people on a panel who are waiting for the call up et cetera. People who have passed the initial test, medical et cetera and have basically passed everything and are just waiting for the call. Someone even mentioned that AGS would'nt be putting people through another medical if they had allready previously passed a medical.
    However, surely there must be an expiry date on such medicals? I think AGS would be very foolish if they appointed someone who had passed a medical say 1-2 years ago. People can and do develop conditions even that they may not be aware of. Conditions which may deem a new entrant unfit for service. From a legal point of view AGS would be putting themselves on thin ice by appointing someone who did not pass a recent medical exam. If indeed AGS do keep the people on a 'wait list', I would imagine it's probable that AGS would put an expiry on medicals and require such persons to have repeat medicals.