Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Well it's this month anyway. You hear anyting Eroo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

yes there is a passing out cermony this month but just sayin that there is still one more class to pass out after this crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

podsieboy wrote: »
    good point..but i must also tell you that the panel that was scrapped for the prison service had no medicals or physicals completed where as the panel of 160 that are currently there for the gardai have this completed and commissioner facthna murphy and minister dermot ahern wont go back on there word..as we are in recession and need massive savings in all departments why go spend more money on new recruits to do there physicals medicals interviews and exams when there is already a panel established. it would be a waste of public finances if they did so and there fore is bad practice and managment.

Well said podsieboy,Dermot Ahern said as recent as the seventh of this month that we will be kept-Applicants who are currently on a panel and have gone through the medical, physical and character vetting procedures, and are available, will be offered positions as Garda Trainees, in strict order of where they were placed on the panel, upon the resumption of recruitment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Well it's this month anyway. You hear anyting Eroo?

I've heard a lot of things :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

I've been patient until now but i'm really starting to get angry with the whole process, they're taking us for a gang of eejits like the majority of us are college educated assets to the economy as well as assets to ags, and ahern has us dangling like his puppets hanging on his every word. Really getting frustrated with the whole thing, was debating packing up my house & moving with my bf and daughter to boston. Give it another 6 months and i'm outta here!

good point..but i must also tell you that the panel that was scrapped for the prison service had no medicals or physicals completed where as the panel of 160 that are currently there for the gardai have this completed and commissioner facthna murphy and minister dermot ahern wont go back on there word..as we are in recession and need massive savings in all departments why go spend more money on new recruits to do there physicals medicals interviews and exams when there is already a panel established. it would be a waste of public finances if they did so and there fore is bad practice and managment.

Well said podsieboy,Dermot Ahern said as recent as the seventh of this month that we will be kept-Applicants who are currently on a panel and have gone through the medical, physical and character vetting procedures, and are available, will be offered positions as Garda Trainees, in strict order of where they were placed on the panel, upon the resumption of recruitment

never said we werent going to be offered postitions i said that we have our medicals done and i doubt they(ahern/murphy)will go back on the promise they have given..sorry if you have taken up the post wrong i was trying to say that the panel will not be scrapped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Looking back to the last graduation ceremony, we were all expecting to hear something, but heard absolutely nothing so lets see what happens this time round....

the graduation is on a friday cause of the bank holiday weekend thats what my mate told me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

A lot of stuff being said here again with no real sources being touted, seems we missed whatever started this rumour.
    Anyway the current panel with everything done is being kept, as quotes posted by Podsie from minister and commissioner.
    However, you just don't know what will happen to others but from what i was told from HR that if a bigger intake is sanctioned they will be calling those others for med and pct.
    If we have an intake this year, people with everything done will go in, then if they were to wait for the new panel to be established it could take over a year to get it ready, so IMO I cant see the panel of people waiting for med and pct being scrapped. Ahern also said we will be called strictly i order by our positioning on the panel, which puts everybody waiting ahead of anybody wanting to apply.
    Its a strange rumour to start getting people worried.

Roll on the graduation ceremony(we hope)

never said we werent going to be offered postitions i said that we have our medicals done and i doubt they(ahern/murphy)will go back on the promise they have given..sorry if you have taken up the post wrong i was trying to say that the panel will not be scrapped

Yeah I knew you were saying panel wouldn't be scrapped,I'm on your side!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Paudie223

itsallgood wrote: »
    as quotes posted by Podsie from minister and commissioner.

I'm just wondering when did the Commissioner say the panel would be kept. I don't ever remember him saying this.

Thank you.

Paudie223 wrote: »
    I'm just wondering when did the Commissioner say the panel would be kept. I don't ever remember him saying this.

Thank you.

There was an article someone posted up here where he stated it should be kept....Commissioner said it would not be fair to scrap the panel as we are at an advanced stage. Ahern also refers to agreements and opinions from the Commissioner and Minister of Finance before he answers his question

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=67910649

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Itsallgood it was actually I who posted first about the panel being scrapped!. I'm not on boards.ie to p**s people off. It was a genuine post and I have and will back it up with substance. If you would like I can PM you and fill you in! I'm for keeping the panel also and I think the majority off US here are. It's in the interest of fairness because if they'll do it once they'll do it again.

From what I heard it looks like it would be scrapped. And trust me Im Garda enthusiastic as the next person here is, I'm monitoring site after site day in day out looking for relevant information but the information I got came from a senior member of AGS!.

Itsallgood it was actually I who posted first about the panel being scrapped!. I'm not on boards.ie to p**s people off. It was a genuine post and I have and will back it up with substance. If you would like I can PM you and fill you in! I'm for keeping the panel also and I think the majority off US here are. It's in the interest of fairness because if they'll do it once they'll do it again.

From what I heard it looks like it would be scrapped. And trust me Im Garda enthusiastic as the next person here is, I'm monitoring site after site day in day out looking for relevant information but the information I got came from a senior member of AGS!.

If you read back over the posts it just comes in at a random stage. Maybe the prior posts were deleted by the mod when he was deleting posts.
    I would appreciate it if you could Pm me.
    There was nothing about yor source up at all.
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭dylmeister

Not a hope in hell are the current panel going to be scrapped, your source is going by hear say, dermot ahern confirmed that people on the panel "will" be offered a place in Garda siochanna, end of story

Its nothing to worry about:D
    some people are hell bent on there opinions that panel should be scrapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

Guys,

I'm not sure if you've looked around ye lately but the economy is quite poor and a few promises that the government made will have to be broken.

Now, I have no information about whether the panel will be kept or not, but I do know the government does not have any commitment to those people yet (other than giving them their word).

I genuinely hope that the panel will not be scrapped as this would be unfair for those waiting over two yars, but a few posters appear to be denial that such a thing could happen. It is possible and has happened in the past as another poster said.

Just sit tight for the time being and hope for the best, but bear in mind that you have no entitlements yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭dylmeister

Why would the goverment scrap panel and waste more money, and you ask us to look around at the economy?

dylmeister wrote: »
    Why would the goverment scrap panel and waste more money, and you ask us to look around at the economy?

We'll from what I understand most of the medical and PT tests have now expired and will have to be redone so that money is already wasted. I'm not saying they should do it at all, but just bear in mind that it is a possibility. If it doesn't happen, which is more than likely, then all the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

dylmeister wrote: »
    Not a hope in hell are the current panel going to be scrapped, your source is going by hear say, dermot ahern confirmed that people on the panel "will" be offered a place in Garda siochanna, end of story

Exactly, spot on.

What people have to understand is that a lot of talk on here is mere speculation. Until it is confirmed by the powers to be, i choose to ignore it.
    A lot of here say, and rumours etc. are posted, but i would take it with a pinch of salt.

You say people are in denial? Seems to me more like people are in dreamland. The panel won't be scrapped, thats coming from ahern and the commissioner. Medicals and physicals won't be redone. Thats coming direct from hq. All we have here is a rumour that someone started which is very unbelievable from what they say, and a few others who are yet to apply hoping they can get in somehow quicker. I don't understand why you pick on a panel when you haven't even applied. You will not see templemore before those waiting. But hey, keep the selfish thoughts going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

You say people are in denial? Seems to me more like people are in dreamland. The panel won't be scrapped, thats coming from ahern and the commissioner. Medicals and physicals won't be redone. Thats coming direct from hq. All we have here is a rumour that someone started which is very unbelievable from what they say, and a few others who are yet to apply hoping they can get in somehow quicker. I don't understand why you pick on a panel when you haven't even applied. You will not see templemore before those waiting. But hey, keep the selfish thoughts going.

Here here :D this chat would drive you too drink some times, i for one am waiting two years since my interview , i dont believe for one minute that the current panel waiting will be scrapped.. if this was a facts page then im be gutted so thank god for rumours.There's some of us here the last 2 or 3 years still not knowing anything.. I for one am going too remain positive and hope that some day soon my phone will ring with some good news..At the end of the day everyone here is entitled too their opinion

and im sure if they were scrapping the panel they would of told people by now..

Hey guys,

I decided to reply as it seems my intentions or motives were not clear in my earlier posts.

Firstly, as I've said before, I've no knowledge nor have I claimed to have heard a rumour of any sort that the panel would be scrapped. The ministers and commissioners comments are as much as I have heard and they are good news. I do accept your point re medicals. If you say they won't be redone then I believe ya.

I did not mean to pick on anyone or any group of people. My comments were about setting expectations. I did say that it was extremely unlikely that the panel would be scrapped, however it is possible. That was all I was trying to say. Every week we here about how much worse the economy is than expected and how many extra cuts will need to be made. With that in mind promises made in the past may have to be broken. Even if the commissioner and minister for justice want to have a intake, Finance may not give the money. Although this circumstance is more likely to prolong the wait as opposed to scrap the panel.

Yes, it is true I have not yet applied and as such I am a stage or two behind you all in the procedure, but I never attempted, insinuated or tried to make any argument for leapfrogging you on the panel. I agree this would be completely unfair. Also, my comments were in no way meant to have any selfish tones pr meaning. Yes, I want to join to AGS, but when the opportunity arises and not at candidates already on the panels expense.

It was been over two years since I registered my interest on Publicjobs.ie and I have been anxiously waiting ever since, so I do fully understand where you are coming from and I wish you all the best with your garda training, which hopefully won't be far away.

Regards,

Geansai.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,766 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

There was an article someone posted up here where he stated it should be kept....Commissioner said it would not be fair to scrap the panel as we are at an advanced stage. Ahern also refers to agreements and opinions from the Commissioner and Minister of Finance before he answers his question

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=67910649

The Commissioner is also due to retire towards the end of this year, so a new recruitment drive might be on the long finger until a new Commissioner is appointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

The Commissioner is also due to retire towards the end of this year, so a new recruitment drive might be on the long finger until a new Commissioner is appointed.

afaik the commissioners retirement has been put back till the new year,not sure why but read somewhere that a visit by the queen may have something to do with it and them wanting continuity in security leadership.open to correction of course :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Lads we're all in the same boat regardless of whatever rumours anyone has heard, i can understand why people are being sensitive about the issue of the panel being scrapped but speaking as someone who has everything done, if it were a (hypothetical) case of us having to reapply for some godforsaken reason then surely it would be a doddle for those of us who know the application process inside out. I know that's not the point but i always say just take life as it comes. Out of curiosity does anyone know when next gra conference is or is it an annual thing? They're the boys that know how to get answers!

shakin wrote: »
    afaik the commissioners retirement has been put back till the new year,not sure why but read somewhere that a visit by the queen may have something to do with it and them wanting continuity in security leadership.open to correction of course :-)

Yeah,you are right Shakin,read a quote from him in a national newspaper that he is staying on to oversee Queen's visit.

C-J wrote: »
    Lads we're all in the same boat regardless of whatever rumours anyone has heard, i can understand why people are being sensitive about the issue of the panel being scrapped but speaking as someone who has everything done, if it were a (hypothetical) case of us having to reapply for some godforsaken reason then surely it would be a doddle for those of us who know the application process inside out. I know that's not the point but i always say just take life as it comes. Out of curiosity does anyone know when next gra conference is or is it an annual thing? They're the boys that know how to get answers!

Pretty sure its just the AGM C-J,I think I'll give them a call tomorrow see if they have any info..rang the offices of a few opposition td's never got back to me like they promised!:mad: