Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

For what its worth, this is roughly how the last few recruitment campaigns were announced...

1) In the weeks preceeding the campaign, advertisments were placed in national and local newspapers around the country advertising positions for trainees and where to register (publicjobs). As per all public jobs in ireland, the positions must be advertised fairly. Since the next campaign will be a big one then expect there to be national interest in the end of th moratorium so TV and radios might cover the announcement of a new campaign.

2) The application date opens and all those who have registered on public jobs recieve an email inviting you to apply for the competition. This stays open for a few weeks.

3) you log onto publicjobs asap and apply by filling in a quick 1/2 page questionnaire/application form on the website that take your details like name, addres, DOB, PPS number, qualifications, etc....

4) Once you do no. 3 then an automated email arrives a few days later, or instantaneously (cant remember which) with a phone number to invite you to ring up and book a time and date for your stage 1 apptitude test. First come first served.

This is just an indication of the way previous campaigns have been announced and initiated so bare in mind they could possibly change it. For instance, they previously just gave you a date for apptitude test after applying and you only had to call up if it didnt suit. Be prepared for changes and read all instructions carefully.
    So unless your head is buried in the sand or you have no contact with the outside world then you wont miss the announcement for the new campaign. Be prepared for fierce competition in the...... competiton!

For what its worth, this is how the next few recruitment campaigns will be announced

1) In the weeks (by weeks we really mean months or years) preceeding the campaign, advertisments will be placed in national and local newspapers around the country advertising positions for trainees and where to register (publicjobs). You will not hear another thing for about a year. Pull up a seat. We like to tease you with campaigns by putting up advertisements, then taking them down suddenly, and then popping them back up again. It what we get paid for.

2) The application date opens (when you are old and grey) and all those who have registered on public jobs recieve an email inviting you to apply for the competition. By this time you will be well p!ssed off waiting. This stays open for a few weeks.

3) you log onto publicjobs asap and apply by filling in a quick 1/2 page questionnaire/application form on the website that take your details like name, addres, DOB, PPS number, qualifications, etc....You start to get excited about joining AGS but if only you knew that you would be sat at home waiting for the phone to ring for the next 2 years..

4) Once you do no. 3 then an automated email arrives a few days later, (or years later) or instantaneously (cant remember which) with a phone number to invite you to ring up and book a time and date for your stage 1 apptitude test. First come first served. The apptitude test will likely take place 18 months after you booked it. Or never. Who knows.

5) You join boards.ie to see why the hell you havnt heard anything and vent your anger at everyone in the same boat as you. You wont understand why the Minister for Justice ignores every question he is asked and continues to make outlandish statements of no significance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Paudie223

Devil08 wrote: »
    For what its worth, this is how the next few recruitment campaigns will be announced

1) In the weeks (by weeks we really mean months or years) preceeding the campaign, advertisments will be placed in national and local newspapers around the country advertising positions for trainees and where to register (publicjobs). You will not hear another thing for about a year. Pull up a seat. We like to tease you with campaigns by putting up advertisements, then taking them down suddenly, and then popping them back up again. It what we get paid for.

2) The application date opens (when you are old and grey) and all those who have registered on public jobs recieve an email inviting you to apply for the competition. By this time you will be well p!ssed off waiting. This stays open for a few weeks.

3) you log onto publicjobs asap and apply by filling in a quick 1/2 page questionnaire/application form on the website that take your details like name, addres, DOB, PPS number, qualifications, etc....You start to get excited about joining AGS but if only you knew that you would be sat at home waiting for the phone to ring for the next 2 years..

4) Once you do no. 3 then an automated email arrives a few days later, (or years later) or instantaneously (cant remember which) with a phone number to invite you to ring up and book a time and date for your stage 1 apptitude test. First come first served. The apptitude test will likely take place 18 months after you booked it. Or never. Who knows.

5) You join boards.ie to see why the hell you havnt heard anything and vent your anger at everyone in the same boat as you. You wont understand why the Minister for Justice ignores every question he is asked and continues to make outlandish statements of no significance.

I liked that post. Boards.ie should have a like function. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Noel Coonan (Tipperary North, Fine Gael)
    Question 339: To ask the Minister for Justice and Law Reform the Government’s policy regarding recruitment to the Garda Síochána; the number of students currently undergoing training in Templemore Garda College; the number of students expected to commence training by the end of 2010 and the number expected for 2011; to outline any changes made to the Garda training programme; the number of applications received under the present programme of recruitment; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [35724/10]

22.jpgDermot Ahern (Minister, Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform; Louth, Fianna Fail) The general moratorium on recruitment and appointments in the Public Service continues to apply to An Garda Síochána. The purpose of initiating a Garda recruitment campaign at this time is to establish a panel of approved candidates who will be available to meet future Garda recruitment needs in line with Government policy. I was happy to obtain the approval of my colleague the Minister for Finance for this. This forward planning is necessary given the lead time involved both in establishing such a panel and in training recruits to the point of attestation. The Garda recruitment process is managed by the Public Appointments Service on behalf of the Commissioner and I have no function in that matter.
    I am informed by the Garda authorities that, on the latest date for which figures are readily available, there were 7 students undergoing training in Templemore Garda College. The recent review on Training in An Garda Síochána found significant strengths in the wide diversity of training provided in the Garda Síochána, both to student Gardaí and to serving members and civilian staff. It also identified areas where the organisation, management and delivery of training could be further enhanced, with considerable benefits for the Garda Síochána and the public it serves. The Commissioner will progressively implement these significant and wide-ranging improvements in Garda training, and he will have my full backing and support in that process.

Quality absolutely quality post from Devil08!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Noel Coonan (Tipperary North, Fine Gael)
    Question 339: To ask the Minister for Justice and Law Reform the Government’s policy regarding recruitment to the Garda Síochána; the number of students currently undergoing training in Templemore Garda College; the number of students expected to commence training by the end of 2010 and the number expected for 2011; to outline any changes made to the Garda training programme; the number of applications received under the present programme of recruitment; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [35724/10]

22.jpgDermot Ahern (Minister, Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform; Louth, Fianna Fail) The general moratorium on recruitment and appointments in the Public Service continues to apply to An Garda Síochána. The purpose of initiating a Garda recruitment campaign at this time is to establish a panel of approved candidates who will be available to meet future Garda recruitment needs in line with Government policy. I was happy to obtain the approval of my colleague the Minister for Finance for this. This forward planning is necessary given the lead time involved both in establishing such a panel and in training recruits to the point of attestation. The Garda recruitment process is managed by the Public Appointments Service on behalf of the Commissioner and I have no function in that matter.
    I am informed by the Garda authorities that, on the latest date for which figures are readily available, there were 7 students undergoing training in Templemore Garda College. The recent review on Training in An Garda Síochána found significant strengths in the wide diversity of training provided in the Garda Síochána, both to student Gardaí and to serving members and civilian staff. It also identified areas where the organisation, management and delivery of training could be further enhanced, with considerable benefits for the Garda Síochána and the public it serves. The Commissioner will progressively implement these significant and wide-ranging improvements in Garda training, and he will have my full backing and support in that process.

any idea when this is from Ruairi?

It was from the 13th of this month (13/10/10) only 2 days ago. I can pm you the link if you want?
    As usual the justice minister runs of on a rant that as dosen't answer or tell us what we realy need to hear.
    The jist I get from this is that they want to bring in a panel along side the current panel thats already waiting there.
    "approved canidates who will be available to meet future recruitment needs"..Spare us please there is a panel of almost 200 waiting to start. Don't think this current gov know's what they are at. We live in hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

It was from the 13th of this month (13/10/10) only 2 days ago. I can pm you the link if you want?
    As usual the justice minister runs of on a rant that as dosen't answer or tell us what we realy need to hear.
    The jist I get from this is that they want to bring in a panel along side the current panel thats already waiting there.
    "approved canidates who will be available to meet future recruitment needs"..Spare us please there is a panel of almost 200 waiting to start. Don't think this current gov know's what they are at. We live in hope.

yeah that'd be great if you did please.
    from talking to a member of the force yesterday, now its only his word and nothing concrete, but he reckons that the next recruitment drive will be a big one, he also told me a few very interesting things that I couldn't possibly repeat here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2010-10-14.833.0&s=garda

No new info for those waiting to apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

You would think he'd get sick of answering the same questions over and over again! Why wont he tell us something more concrete?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Enough of this.

If you want a PM from someone on the forum, send them a PM asking for it directly. The whole forum doesn't need to see an entire page of nonsensical "me too" posts in this thread.

Back on topic please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 xxXchocolate puppyXxx

I want to get into the guards not in a big hurry because of the way things are atm and I know I will have to wait a few years. In my final year of a degree in English and history and thinking of doing a relavant masters along the lines of criminology or social policy in UCD to increase my chances of getting in, has anyone else tried this, what are the best masters to do for the guards?

Obviously I know they appreciate people who have worked their way up in the guards and are street smart as opposed to college graduates, but not sure what else to do...

Chocpuppy, Of course AGS appreciate hard work but a masters shows discipline. I was chatting to the Garda Superintendent who is the director of youth diversion in Ireland. She happens to be a lady and her educational accomplishments are fantastic so I think it's a bit of both. Hard working and educated is always a good combination.

And regarding a college masters do something you want to do not something your doing for the sake of doing. Im doing Social Care and I love it. I want to go into the field of Liaison thats why I'm doing it. Have a reason to do it as I said and don't do it for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

She happens to be a lady

Really?:pac:

Realy wealy!... She went on to say why the recruitment hasn't started but that it will defnately start this side of the year. I'll say one thing it doesn't look promising for the people in the backlog though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

what doesnt look promising for people in the backlog???:rolleyes:

If you can remember back to end of 2007 the PAS scrapped a panel of canidates waiting to start in the prison service! and early 08 they launched a fresh campaign for new officers.

The PAS and AGS argue that there is a much better canidate out there now. This is the delay. They (pas) have done it before. And Im not saying what Ive been told is gospel but it is of a good source and a Senior source!

PAS= Public Appointments Service!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,766 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I wouldn't be hugely surprised myself if the backlog was cleared with the argument being put forward that it is too long since the last intake to rely on those that applied a number of years back & the backlog was only intended to be effective when intakes were systematically occuring et cetera et cetera.

May not be fair or correct reasoning, but it would not surprise me if that occurred . . .

good point..but i must also tell you that the panel that was scrapped for the prison service had no medicals or physicals completed where as the panel of 160 that are currently there for the gardai have this completed and commissioner facthna murphy and minister dermot ahern wont go back on there word..as we are in recession and need massive savings in all departments why go spend more money on new recruits to do there physicals medicals interviews and exams when there is already a panel established. it would be a waste of public finances if they did so and there fore is bad practice and managment.

As for the better recruit i cant agree with you there because im sure from the 9 thousand that applied that 160 of them that are on this panel with everything completed are of the right mental and physical requirements to be gardai. these people who also applied wanted to be gardai from the start im sure that half of the 20000 odd who will apply this time around will only apply as they see it as a way out of the recession.

also most of the panel only did there medicals physicals this time last year.

People are in the backlog because they have shown that they have the skill and competency to be a member of AGS. to turn round and say hard luck lads and lady's thanks for all your effort but you can piss off now is an absolute disgrace. Obviously it would be good for fresh apllicants such as myself but it's about whats fair and fair is these people should not be kicked to the curb!

As i said they done it before will they do it again?. Interesting couple of weeks ahead thats for sure.

If it's one thing this government do good it's wasting tax payers money!.
    Have you been watching the news? Car and driver expenses come to mind?

They wont worry about waste thats for sure.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,766 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

podsieboy wrote: »
    these people who also applied wanted to be gardai from the start im sure that half of the 20000 odd who will apply this time around will only apply as they see it as a way out of the recession.

Well everyone who applies should have a fair hearing no matter what the current economic circumstances are . . . but the sooner this recession ends the better it is for all applicants, as I am pretty confident that you would see large numbers of people currently attempting to become Gardai shelving their plans once the nations fortunes improve.

End recession! :(

If it's one thing this government do good it's wasting tax payers money!.
    Have you been watching the news? Car and driver expenses come to mind?

They wont worry about waste thats for sure.

yes its all coming out whats happened before we got in this mess every department is being audited and watched constantly now. the waste is slowly being stopped.

Podsieboy, I agree totally that waste is being eradicated from most depts accross the board. But waste isn't just confined to cut back here and there. It could also mean people how many people are just filling in the numbers accross the board Gardai, HSE Blah blah.

Also said that there will be an increase in numbers looking for retirement by year end. That has to be welcomed. Almost 900 retirements last year and it's 400 this year. Lot of Gardai gone.

There is the final passing out parade in Templemore this Thursday 21/10/10 I suggest we all keep an eye on it. It could prove interesting.

As I said before folks, wait until 28th October. Something will be announced then.

Podsieboy, I agree totally that waste is being eradicated from most depts accross the board. But waste isn't just confined to cut back here and there. It could also mean people how many people are just filling in the numbers accross the board Gardai, HSE Blah blah.

Also said that there will be an increase in numbers looking for retirement by year end. That has to be welcomed. Almost 900 retirements last year and it's 400 this year. Lot of Gardai gone.

There is the final passing out parade in Templemore this Thursday 21/10/10 I suggest we all keep an eye on it. It could prove interesting.

It's actually the 28th, and there is another phase passing out in January.

the fianl passing out parade is not this year there is one more class to pass out my friend is in it

2 mates are passing out they said.. well she said 21st? Why am I getting that? Im not doubting you or anything.

well i have a mate passing out in this one and on who still hasnt passed out and he started a couple of months after the guy who is passing out?

A friend is passing out.. he told me 28th. Unless it has changed.