Funny headlines, signs, etc.

• 11-10-2010 01:01AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭

Come across any? There's a sign outside a jewellers shop that says: 'Ears pierced while you wait.' My favourite headline though so far is from 'the People Paper', a few years back now, it read: 'Public Toilets ruined by arson fire.' :D

From the same paper, in a report on a wedding: 'the bride wore a long white dress which fell to the ground.'

Also I saw a wooden sign by the roadside with an arrow and the words 'Dave's Tackle'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

BBC News Headlines read, "Cheques to be phased out by 2018."
    Fúcking hell, not again.

Hitler tried that in 1939.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I nearly forgot this one, also from a newspaper:
    'Soldier flies back to front.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Hitler tried to phase out cheques by 2018? Damn he was in it for the long haul :D

I'm sorry I'll leave :o

'Iraqi head seeks arms.'

'Grandmother of eight makes hole in one.'

'Milk drinkers are turning to powder.'

'Police begin campaign to run down jaywalkers.'

'Queen Mary having bottom scraped.'

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Jack and the Behan's talk.

Hot Press head line above pic of J. Charlton and Brendan Behan's family at some get-to-do in the early 90's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Scottish Football Result;

East Fife 4 Forfar 5

'Prostitutes appeal to Pope.'

'Man found dead in graveyard.'

'Dead Garda in force for fifteen years.'

'Joint Committee Investigates Marijuana Use.'

A ye olde but neh goldie

Super Cali go ballistic, Celtic are atrocious.

(Inverness Calidonian 1- Celtic 0)

humberklog wrote: »
    A ye olde but neh goldie

Super Cali go ballistic, Celtic are atrocious.

(Inverness Calidonian 1- Celtic 0)
    Julie Andrews, when asked by a waiter if she enjoyed her meal: Super cauliflower cheese but eggs were quite atrocious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

when Stephen Gately Died, either The Sun or The Star, went wit " Stephen Gately Dies After All Night Bender"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭rochie16

Beleaguered Benayoun bemoans black n blue bound Benitez

Robber's description: 'Man, Possibly A Woman, Definitely Ugly.'

'Lack Of Brains Hinders Research.'

'Protestors Tried To Spoil Play But Actors Succeeded.'

'Ban On Boxing After Death.'

Johro wrote: »
    Robber's description: 'Man, Possibly A Woman, Definitely Ugly.'

'

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

The garage in Ashbourne a few years back:

'8Euro Handjobs 8Euro'. I took a forty minute detour just to get a picture beside it!

'Kicking Baby Considered To Be Healthy.'

(Meat Product) - 'Oven ready half-wild rabbit.'

'Hooker Named Lay Person of the Year.'

'Kids Make Nutritious Snacks.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

A few years back, there was a guy in my estate caught robbing knickers off his next door neighbours clothes line.

Headline in the paper was: Knicker nicker gets nicked.

A few weeks ago, when that guy drove the truck to the gates of the dail. the headline was, Truckie ar la.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

i'm sitting here in the college library trying to stifle my laughs, getting wierd looks from others haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭maiden

A shop years ago in Tullamore advertising a sale in underwear:

'Nows your chance, knickers are down!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭optogirl

Article in a tabloid some years ago about a spate of beastiality arrests in Donegal. The picture accompanying the story was of a sheep in a hotel room with its eyes blacked out to protect its identity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

When Kevin Phillips scored an injury time header to equalise for Birmingham against Arsenal last season.

"Phillips Head Screws Arsenal"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Ledger wrote: »
    i'm sitting here in the college library trying to stifle my laughs, getting wierd looks from others haha

Your parents didnt pay your third level fee's for you to be slacking off online in the library, now get back to work.

There are a few Chinese take aways that are called ....soon fatt....that always makes me smile..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

Your parents didnt pay your third level fee's for you to be slacking off online in the library, now get back to work.

in a min :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

on a beach in kerry there was a pic of a dog 'doing his business' followed by the slogan...

"when your dog is finished doing his business, do yours" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

'Man held after rape'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

I always get a laugh when someone sticks a T on signs for Ramps...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

The Dail Mail Headline Generator asks could the metric system make your pension obese?

http://www.qwghlm.co.uk/toys/dailymail/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Sign in a school bus in the States:

"All Children Must Be Belted"

(I'd oblige)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭bodun

There is a STOP sign near UCD and someone has written "Hammertime" underneath it. :D