Scumbag sues Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭thebullkf

CorkMan wrote: »
    Well you asked for a solution for what happens if a garda catches a junkie robbing. I am laying out the scenarios.

I think if that happens, whether it be self-defence or not, a hiding is handed out.

at least you're honest. unwarranted hidings are ok in your book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Morkarleth wrote: »
    Either you want to live in a society where everyone is accountable under the law or we just throw the whole thing out and live as mindless yahoos, wallowing in our own self-destructive anarchism and most basic instincts.

Answer me this: if you were beaten to a bloody pulp because some thug had a bad day would you be so quick to defend him? After all, the Gardaí should be free to brutalise whoever they wish, with absolute impunity because, hey, it could never happen to you. Right?
    If I was beaten to a pulp I'd be pretty pissed off and I'd want bloody retribution.
    Luckily, we have a system instead where we have a trail, possibly a conviction and sentencing. As part of that, mitigating factors are considered. They should be considered for the guard as much as they would be considered for any other criminal.
    Arguably, if the guard is convicted, whatever sentence he gets (assault and assault causing harm - first offence presumably) will be minor in comparison to what I would expect to be the end of his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

NewHillel wrote: »
    "happen" being the operative word. rolleyes.gif

You really are such a great, big, brave ... wally.

i do say, people who put others lives at risk intentionally, i have no pity for, since as the papers say this individula has some record already, why was he not in jail, and stop wasting taxpayers money sueing the wrong person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

NewHillel wrote: »
    Who gave the Gardaí, or you for that matter, the right to decide who "deserves" to be treated properly. I, for one, don't want to live in a fascist dictatorship.

I believe that the majority of the Gardaí strive to do a good job. However, there is inbuilt prejudice against certain sectors of society, which I have witnessed first hand. Have you ever listen to Fr Peter Mcverry on the actions of some members of the force? (Or maybe you approve??)

I don't think anyone "deserves" to get a hiding. I'm just saying a certain sect of society seem to get the vast majority of "hidings". That certain sect gets many hidings every year, but it rarely comes to the fore. (PS for what that "human" did, I think he deserved it)

Your law-abiding citizen never gets a hiding, why is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

So if a person is pulled over for a speeding ticket the garda will hassle them?

Or if an non-offender is brought in for being drunk & disorderly in public, and he is co-operating, the police will beat him
    ? This doesn't happen in the vast majority of cases with law-abiding citizens.

Actually I wouldnt put it past them, sure according to some people the gaurda decide who they get to beat, whats stopping them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Ach, throw the lot of 'em on to Irelandseye, give them a sledge and beat away at the rocks. Would be a better job than our current justice system, gets them of the dole, tis the cheapest solution. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I don't think anyone "deserves" to get a hiding. I'm just saying a certain sect of society seem to get the vast majority of "hidings". That certain sect gets many hidings every year, but it rarely comes to the fore. (PS for what that "human" did, I think he deserved it)

because A :the thug gaurda that like to beat those on the lower echelons of society because theres more chance the will get away with it and B: a law abiding citizen wouldnt often come into contact with the gaurda.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Actually I wouldnt put it past them, sure according to some people the gaurda decide who they get to beat, whats stopping them?

Well I know if a Lawyers son, for example, got a hiding when he was brought in for having one too many it would be highlighted.

Aswell as that, they are not a bunch of blood-thirsty brutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 BotFly

Have we started spelling Garda the way TV3 news announcers, RTE types and D4 c*nts pronounce it now?
    Someone pm the memo to me.

depends on your opinion of law-abiding..the lines are blurred...

they do.... trust me. they do.usually in the back of maria's :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

Terry wrote: »
    Minus the riots. :)
    I remember the Summer of '92. The Gardaí chased a few of us at about 4am. When I say "chased", I mean that we ran for nothing when we saw them.

A couple of friends had just finished their JC and we were out celebrating and being loud in suburbia at mad hours of the morning.

We were running along some grass. I was way ahead of everyone until I stepped into a hole and fell.
    Got back up, and hid in the first garden I reached. The Gardaí saw me, followed me in and ran past me. I was hiding behind a small wall at the side of the house.
    A clever person would have ran back out at this point, but alcohol had gotten the better of me. I just assumed they would run out the other side of this detached house. A boot up the arse proved me wrong.

They draged me into the front garden, pinned me against the wall and told me to get my (slightly long, but not too long) hair out of my face.
    I did so, but it wasn't long enough to put behind my ears.
    I got a slap in the face and was told to get my hair of my face again. This happened four or five times.

Then one of them said "I'd ask you who was with you, but you probably wouldn't tell me, would you?" I said no.
    Had he just asked who was with me, without the get out clause, I would have ratted out every last one of them. I told my friends that too.
    They said they would have done the same thing. They were all hiding in different gardens in the same cul de sac and could hear the slaps I was given.

I didn't sue the state.

Ahh, memories.

Oh yeah. I seem to remember saying something about Rodney King to them. That was what prompted my needless story here.
    My friends had to stifle their laughter about that one, lest they be caught.

Battered half to death?
    Where did you pull that from?

My father was killed by a hit and run driver. I would have liked the Gardai to catch him that night and kick the crap out of him. Unfortunately he got away.
    Eight years later and I'm still very bitter about that. I can't see that changing any time soon.

I'm not bitter about the few slaps mentioned above. Nor am I bitter about the new recruits to Leixlip in 1993 who gave my friend a black eye and kicked me in the nuts twice.
    My friend didn't deserve the black eye, but I punched one of the Gardaí (I just saw someone hitting my friend. Didn't actually know he was a cop and acted on instinct.).

They called themselves the Death Squad.
    It's laughable now, but it kept me out of trouble until I lost my mind in 2002.

Point is, sometimes the Gardaí are actually right when they kick the crap out of someone.

Source?

I'm not a judge, but if I was I would definitely find him guilty.

Let's look at the facts.
    He admitted to this crime. He was arrested at the scene of the crime.
    That's enough for me.

The fear of that kept me from havng any dealings with the Gardaí until I was 15.
    I'd be up for bringing it back.

Refreshing post, and sorry to hear about your father. I grew up in an era where everyone could batter the head off ya, the fear of that and then ggetting one at home kept me on the straight and narrow. There was no harm in it at all, every beatng I got I put in for.

BotFly wrote: »
    Have we started spelling Garda the way TV3 news announcers, RTE types and D4 c*nts pronounce it now?

gorda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭NewHillel

Why indeed, there have been well publicized cases of "law abiding" citizens getting a beating. Many others go unreported...

I know of one case where the victim, a friend of mine, was the son of a sergeant. He was unfortunate to be picked up by two thugs in a Squad Car. When he went to take a case pressure was applied, via his father, to drop it.

However, that was a few years ago and I believe that standards have been tightened up substantially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

BotFly wrote: »

Which of your accounts would you like me to PM it to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Drake66

I remember my grandad telling me about his father, in his DMP days, striding into Montgomery Street and seeing all the little gougers scatter like cockroaches. Those were the days I tell you ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 BotFly

This one.
    The others are temp banned.
    (If there were others. Which there aren't)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

Don't think so buddy. The police here are fair, there is virtually no corruption as they are well paid. They treat people who deserve to be treated right properly.

If you are a scumbag and they know you are one, they will threat you as one. I personally wouldn't like to say hello to the police in places like Serbia, Poland or Bosnia.
    no coruption in this country ,yeah right next youl be telling me santas coming to me in a couple of months:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭NewHillel

the bolt wrote: »
    no coruption in this country ,yeah right next youl be telling me santas coming to me in a couple of months:rolleyes:
    I've my stocking up already. :D

the bolt wrote: »

Well not well-publicized corruption in the Gardaí (ie Garda being involved in big time drug dealing, demanding bribes for letting ya through customs, etc)

For other points, I never heard of a Garda beating up a "middle to upper class citizen" (Don't know the proper terminology in Ireland). It is bad if it happens, but it is certainly a fraction to the amount of scummers who get beat up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I would agree with that, but the problem is if you allow "hidings" it gets harder to prove the rare cases where the Guards go over board.

They get to decide who gets the beating. Considering Ireland doesn't have the most advanced systems of "policing the police" and the inherent nature of covering up in police forces, I don't think it's good idea.

Giving them that power also means the public will have more trust in them, making it harder for innocent cases. The same "kneejerkers" demanding extra powers, will be the first onto Joe Duffy, demanding the withdrawal of the powers after the first innocent case.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Drake66 wrote: »
    I remember my grandad telling me about his father, in his DMP days, striding into Montgomery Street and seeing all the little gougers scatter like cockroaches. Those were the days I tell you ;).

when the DMP had shoes to step on bare toes..... and kids had respect for their elders and authority.

bring back the christian brothers!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

PM..?

Einhard wrote: »
    Of course I look at it calmly, it didn't impact on me personally! Were I do get all het up about every criminal enterprise carried out in this country my blood pressure would pop my eyeballs out!!

Tell me though, do you truly believe that the gardai should have the unique perogative to ignore the law and act as vigilantes?

LOL, you've a short memory there bub. Not ten posts ago, you referred to people who think like me as bleating "neo-liberals". I, on the other hand, have yet to label you as anything.

First of all, it was more than ten posts prior to this one, secondly let me quote ur post " then that definitely puts yiu right smack in the middle of the neo-Fascist camp. Actually scratch that, the fascist camp will suffice. nothing new about those particular sentiments."

Sound pretty much like being called a fascist to me.

On the topic, I have a nephew who got a sever beating from a member of an Garda Siochana, I wasn't impressed, but then I saw my nephew in action starting a row for no reason in the course of which I got a broken nose trying to drag him away. I then understood why he might have gotten a beating off a Garda, especially seeing as he is very well known to them where he lives. I have never said Gardai should routinely beat people< I wouldn't be impressed if they gave me a hiding. But they don't because I am a law abiding citizen who does nothing to attract garda attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Well not well-publicized corruption in the Gardaí (ie Garda being involved in big time drug dealing, demanding bribes for letting ya through customs, etc)

Eh google McBrearty. See what ye come up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

For other points, I never heard of a Garda beating up a "middle to upper class citizen" (Don't know the proper terminology in Ireland). It is bad if it happens, but it is certainly a fraction to the amount of scummers who get beat up.
    funny that ,neither do i ,but "scum on the dole now thats a different thing "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Drake66

thebullkf wrote: »
    when the DMP had shoes to step on bare toes....

I wouldn't feel too much sympathy for the little rotters: you can trace the families of today's career criminals right back to them.

First of all, it was more than ten posts prior to this one, secondly let me quote ur post " then that definitely puts yiu right smack in the middle of the neo-Fascist camp. Actually scratch that, the fascist camp will suffice. nothing new about those particular sentiments."

Sound pretty much like being called a fascist to me.

Ah, nothing like selective quoting to prove a point. If you hadn't edited out the preceding few words, it would be quite apparent that I stated that if I was a neo-liberal or whatever it was you called me, then that would make you a neo-fascist. I wasn't calling you anything; indeed I was pointing out that absurdity of such labelling.

My comment was actually relating to a reply to a different poster, which u took to label yourself with. Your comment was directed towards me. Nothing like selective thought process on your part.

Eh google McBrearty. See what ye come up with.

Where can I download the tape? indymedia's link isn't working.

My comment was actually relating to a reply to a different poster, which u took to label yourself with. Your comment was directed towards me. Nothing like selective thought process on your part.

Sigh.

It was in response to a different poster, but used the terms "neo-liberals" and "bleats" to denote those of us on this thread who took the view that the gaurd was not justified in beating his alleged victim.

In order to avod turning this into a running argument, here's the relevent transcripts:

HarryPotter41
    They have to put up with the crap of the likes of him in the course of what is after all a job they do to earn a crust like everyone else and every neo liberal in the country bleats about how they should be dealing with these thugs.

My response:
    Well, if I'm a neo-liberal, then that definitely puts yiu right smack in the middle of the neo-Fascist camp.

Quite clearly, I state that if I'm a neo-liberal (which I'm not), then you would be a neo-fascist.