Scumbag sues Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

steve06 wrote: »
    have a read of this article... http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/garda-tried-to-kill-me-car-thief-tells-court-2368625.html

I can't believe this scumbag even got to bring this case to court.

now hold on fair enough the guy was a scumbag and I would love to knock lumps out of him personally for what he did, but to say that the supposedly professional police force were right in breaking the law by beating him up is a bit silly.

The police in this country are amongst the least transparent in Europe, there was numerous incidents of police brutality in this country with perfectly healthy teenagers aparantly killing themselves in police custody. Gaurda cannot beat a guy because they feel like it. Fair enough ramming him off the road was acceptable but acting like a law onto their own isnt acceptable or legal.

How the gaurds acted in this situation is no different from how a bunch of convicts would act if placed in a police uniform and the same situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭thebullkf

dvpower wrote: »
    I don't know.
    Even if the guard is guilty there may be mitigating factors. Its a stressful job and he may have just snapped and let loose. It may have been a once off, out of character, event.
    That's not to excuse it (if it did happen), its obviously unacceptable. But, I'll wait 'till the end of the trial to make that assesment.

but thats why i was asking if he was found guilty.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭NewHillel

goat2 wrote: »
    i happen to have a son, and for stealing a car off another and ramming down streets, looking for the police to follow, and when they would catch up with him
    i would hope that,
    they drove his front teeth into his stomach, as i would be dreadfully ashamed to have reared scum like that, especially scum who reoffend
    "happen" being the operative word. :rolleyes:

You really are such a great, big, brave ... wally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

K-9 wrote: »
    So I take it he'll have learnt his lesson then?
    Yep. He'll definitely be on the straight and narrow from now on. I think we can safely say that his criminal days are over with.

Stekelly wrote: »
    Yes, and presumably the doctor who subsequently treated him in the station without sending him to the hospital.

Personally I'd trust the medical opinion of the Gard and the doctor over the guy that was arrested.

so based on the copper who beat him ...and maybe a doctor??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

thebullkf wrote: »
    if he's guilty, i hope it does.(nobody's above the law,) otherwise there'll be a next time, and another.
    soon the threshold for said punishment becomes less and less.

The scummers will be laughing if the Garda gets convicted. Then they know they can continue committing crimes and they won't get a beating.

There will be ever more crimes than before if this Garda gets convicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Lily10

I find all of this very funny because they've have been doing this for years. I'm not saying the people they kick the crap out of deserve it or not. I'm just saying it's common knowledge that it's done. I've witnessed it first hand from a window in my home and seen the aftermath of it on peoples' faces. One man in particular was in his early sixties who was left black and blue for mouthing off at the gardai while in Store Street station for disorderly conduct (knowing him, I'm assuming he was drunk at the time). That was the only time I've ever felt sorry for someone getting a beating from the guards. Any other time I've heard of it, I felt like it has to be part of the risk they take. And no, I'm not some scumbag who has been in trouble with the police but you don't have to be that person to know it goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

so based on the copper who beat him ...and maybe a doctor??

The article clearly says a doctor came and treated him :confused:

CorkMan wrote: »
    The scummers will be laughing if the Garda gets convicted. Then they know they can continue committing crimes and they won't get a beating.

eh... i don't think so.

so whats your solution?-if the guy/girl has previous,is a junkie and is caught robbing -is a hiding warranted??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

The amount of people ignoring sensible posts / questions on this thread is laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Ther'll be one more detected crime.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yep. He'll definitely be on the straight and narrow from now on. I think we can safely say that his criminal days are over with.

Would he be more likely to be put on the straight and narrow by spending a couple of hours in court then being sent on his way?

At least this way , some sort of justice was handed out.

and maybe there will be a less accountable police force, if he isn't!

I think that would be the call of the sargent on duty in the station.

could be the same person:)
    and there isn't always a skipper on duty.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    The police in this country are amongst the least transparent in Europe, there was numerous incidents of police brutality in this country with perfectly healthy teenagers aparantly killing themselves in police custody. Gaurda cannot beat a guy because they feel like it. Fair enough ramming him off the road was acceptable but acting like a law onto their own isnt acceptable or legal.

Don't think so buddy. The police here are fair, there is virtually no corruption as they are well paid. They treat people who deserve to be treated right properly.

If you are a scumbag and they know you are one, they will threat you as one. I personally wouldn't like to say hello to the police in places like Serbia, Poland or Bosnia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

I don't know.
    Even if the guard is guilty there may be mitigating factors. Its a stressful job and he may have just snapped and let loose. It may have been a once off, out of character, event.

Typical. How many times have we heard "ah sure they'll bring out the 'he had a hard upbringing' excuse and the scumbag'll get off lightly"?
    ****ing AH, I really am sick of the hypocrisy and vengeful bloodlust. No doubt I'll have a line of posters itching to call me everything under the sun but I really just couldn't care less at this stage.

And you really are nothing but a bunch of hypocrites. Cowardly hypocrites hiding behind the safety of your keyboards and monitors, lacking the integrity to actually say these things where it might matter; where it might just come back and bite you in the ass.
    Oh no, you might just find out the silent majority is really just a bunch of beer-swilling malcontents who you'd be ashamed to be associated with in any other avenue of life.

Either you want to live in a society where everyone is accountable under the law or we just throw the whole thing out and live as mindless yahoos, wallowing in our own self-destructive anarchism and most basic instincts.

Answer me this: if you were beaten to a bloody pulp because some thug had a bad day would you be so quick to defend him? After all, the Gardaí should be free to brutalise whoever they wish, with absolute impunity because, hey, it could never happen to you. Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I can understand how in the heat of the moment I too would have loved to beat the snot out of these guys, had I been one of those officers. But with that said they are Officers, and they have a standard to uphold: they never are to resort to that base impulse.

Im not even suggesting the Suspect should be held any less accountable for the actions of the night, but you can bet your ass that the Gardai in this situation - if ever found and prosecuted - have their own sh*t to answer for, and Justly so.
    Don't think so buddy. The police here are fair, there is virtually no corruption as they are well paid. They treat people who deserve to be treated right properly.
    I have a higher opinion of the AGS than most people would, and even I find it hard to believe that claim.

If you are a scumbag and they know you are one, they will threat you as one. I personally wouldn't like to say hello to the police in places like Serbia, Poland or Bosnia.

Have a conversation with the metropoliton police and get back to me on that.

Overheal wrote: »
    I can understand how in the heat of the moment I too would have loved to beat the snot out of these guys, had I been one of those officers. But with that said they are Officers, and they have a standard to uphold: they never are to resort to that base impulse.

Im not even suggesting the Suspect should be held any less accountable for the actions of the night, but you can bet your ass that the Gardai in this situation - if ever found and prosecuted - have their own sh*t to answer for, and Justly so.I have a higher opinion of the AGS than most people would, and even I find it hard to believe that claim.

Yea its bs

eh... i don't think so.

so whats your solution?-if the guy/girl has previous,is a junkie and is caught robbing -is a hiding warranted??

Well if they are caught red-handed robbing, I think within that context a garda would have to give a hiding as the scummer won't drop the loot and hand himself in most of the time.

The scummer could come at them with a hatchet/knife/machete. The scummer doesn't give a fu*k, he'll chop you up like a 1/4lb of mince beef.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

really. ? don't think so buddy.;)

:D Missed that part. America better than Ireland! :D
    dvpower wrote:

:D We all now giving these guys a good thumping works! ;) Achieves loads!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Well if they are caught red-handed robbing, I think within that context a garda would have to give a hiding as the scummer won't drop the loot and hand himself in most of the time.

The scummer could come at them with a hatchet/knife/machete. The scummer doesn't give a fu*k, he'll chop you up like a 1/4lb of mince beef.

oh ffs.. ;):rolleyes:

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Have a conversation with the metropoliton police and get back to me on that.

So if a person is pulled over for a speeding ticket the garda will hassle them?

Or if an non-offender is brought in for being drunk & disorderly in public, and he is co-operating, the police will beat him? This doesn't happen in the vast majority of cases with law-abiding citizens.

K-9 wrote: »
    :D Missed that part. America better than Ireland! :D

:D We all now giving these guys a good thumping works! ;) Achieves loads!

i know... i mean.. Q.E.D.- http://www.presstv.ir/detail/145375.html

oh ffs.. ;):rolleyes:

What? I'm being true as to what a "scumbag" is, and why police have to give out hidings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 BotFly

Roaster wrote: »
    They should be given a medal!

Scum like that should have no rights whatsoever.
    But who gets to decide who is scum and who isn't?
    I have a pretty tight set of rules for people who are scum - e.g. 3rd generation dolers, junkies, thieves, dubs, labour voters, etc - but I'm not the person who decides.
    The scum have the right to be treated as fairly as you or I, as much as that might be abhorrent to you.
    There are reasons the gardaí have to follow rules. The law is supposed to be blind - unless you play rugby, in which case you can kick someone to death, drink drive, kill people and generally do what you like.

What? I'm being true as to what a "scumbag" is, and why police have to give out hidings.

you're assuming an awful lot....

what you're suggesting is self defence. i'm talkin about copper knockin the bollix outta someone with previous convictions.

Who gave the Gardaí, or you for that matter, the right to decide who "deserves" to be treated properly. I, for one, don't want to live in a fascist dictatorship.

I believe that the majority of the Gardaí strive to do a good job. However, there is inbuilt prejudice against certain sectors of society, which I have witnessed first hand. Have you ever listen to Fr Peter Mcverry on the actions of some members of the force? (Or maybe you approve??)

you're assuming an awful lot....

what you're suggesting is self defence. i'm talkin about copper knockin the bollix outta someone with previous convictions.

Well you asked for a solution for what happens if a garda catches a junkie robbing. I am laying out the scenarios.

I think if that happens, whether it be self-defence or not, a hiding is handed out.

Morkarleth wrote: »
    Typical. How many times have we heard "ah sure they'll bring out the 'he had a hard upbringing' excuse and the scumbag'll get off lightly"?
    ****ing AH, I really am sick of the hypocrisy and vengeful bloodlust. No doubt I'll have a line of posters itching to call me everything under the sun but I really just couldn't care less at this stage.

And you really are nothing but a bunch of hypocrites. Cowardly hypocrites hiding behind the safety of your keyboards and monitors, lacking the integrity to actually say these things where it might matter; where it might just come back and bite you in the ass.
    Oh no, you might just find out the silent majority is really just a bunch of beer-swilling malcontents who you'd be ashamed to be associated with in any other avenue of life.

Either you want to live in a society where everyone is accountable under the law or we just throw the whole thing out and live as mindless yahoos, wallowing in our own self-destructive anarchism and most basic instincts.

Answer me this: if you were beaten to a bloody pulp because some thug had a bad day would you be so quick to defend him? After all, the Gardaí should be free to brutalise whoever they wish, with absolute impunity because, hey, it could never happen to you. Right?

Very well said, people are forgetting the fact that if the gaurda decide that your a scumbag then in their minds beating you would be an acceptable option.