Scumbag sues Garda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I just dont your mentality for thinking the scum deserves the same respect as everyone else.
    Not wanting a police force to have the right to administer excessive beatings isn't the same as believing he deserves the same respect as everyone else. He's a little sh1tbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

dvpower wrote: »
    No they don't. The charges are assault and assault causing harm.

For who? The Gardaí who supposedly struck the scummer or the scummer who stole the keys from a man and was in a car doing full speed down a quay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

NewHillel wrote: »
    Never say never!
    You never know when you might get short taken down an alley and get a Gardaí's boot up where the sun don't shine.
    I, for one, hope that day is sooner, rather than later. :eek:

No, I can honestly say that will never happen. I've had many interactions with the Gardai, it's never once gone beyond pleasantries, even when I'm in the wrong on motoring stuff where they could very easily have done me. You'd be amazed how far a nice attitude gets you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Oh jesus how many more times. No I do not believe he is in any way above the law.

What I believe, as you well know, is that he is innocent of the accusations being levelled at him. And if he is innocent as I believe then no he should have to go to trial.

But how on earth can you presume him to be innocent of the charges laid against him when the information you have on the case is minimal at best?! The reason you think he's innocent is because he's a gaurd and his accuser is a scumbag. That's nowhere near enough to be determining guilt or innocence. And the DPP agrees. Having looked at ALL the information, he decided that the gaurd has a case to answer. he was upholding the law as it stands, and wasn't influenced by the officers uniform as you seem to be.
    And how do you know for sure he did beat the suspect? The guy was out of his mind on drugs, a fact he admitted himself. He's not exactly a reliable witness imo.

I don't know if he was! I'm not baldly stating he's guilty as you are doing regarding his innocence!! All I'm saying is that it is right and correct that it's eminently reasonable that a gaurd should, at the disrection of the DPP, be able to be held accountable for alleged offences in a court of law. What on earth is so unreasonable about that? You on the otherhand are denying he's guilty for no other reason except his occupation and the identity of his alleged victim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Reread my post please. I didn't say I KNOW he's innocent. I said I BELIEVE he is. There's difference.

Of course it's up to the jury to decide, I merely gav e my opinion so less of condescending snide remarks please.

You seem to have decided yourself he's guilty without any evidence so I don't think the Minority Reporter here.
    You believe he is innocent without hearing all of the evidence.
    I don't know either way (whatever gave you the impression that I've decided anything?). I'll wait for all of the evidence and then I'll leave it to the jury to make a call.
    That's the great thing about jury trials; they are expected to listen to ALL of the evidence before making a final decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

So I take it he'll have learnt his lesson then?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

CorkMan wrote: »
    For who? The Gardaí who supposedly struck the scummer or the scummer who stole the keys from a man and was in a car doing full speed down a quay?

That's what the guard is charged with.
    I don't know what the scumbag is charged with; it doesn't form part of this trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Einhard wrote: »
    But how on earth can you presume him to be innocent of the charges laid against him when the information you have on the case is minimal at best?! The reason you think he's innocent is because he's a gaurd and his accuser is a scumbag. That's nowhere near enough to be determining guilt or innocence. And the DPP agrees. Having looked at ALL the information, he decided that the gaurd has a case to answer. he was upholding the law as it stands, and wasn't influenced by the officers uniform as you seem to be.

I don't know if he was! I'm not baldly stating he's guilty as you are doing regarding his innocence!! All I'm saying is that it is right and correct that it's eminently reasonable that a gaurd should, at the disrection of the DPP, be able to be held accountable for alleged offences in a court of law. What on earth is so unreasonable about that? You on the otherhand are denying he's guilty for no other reason except his occupation and the identity of his alleged victim.

Einhard I am not going continue this any further. You clearly have a chip on your shoulder about the Gardai and I wonder if maybe you have been in trouble with them.

You are continually misreading my posts and reading into them what isn't there.

I have not once said the Garda IS DEFINITLY innocent only that I BELIEVE based on the details we have been given that he is. The accuser was out of it on drink and drugs by his own admission so to me is not a reliable witness.

If I am wrong I will be the first to admit it.

If the Garda had been an ordinary punter who confronted the joyrider I would say the same thing. His occupation has nothing to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

Another scum parasite draining Ireland's already struggling economy. Its a pity the guards stopped beating the piece of ****. Should have done everybody a favour by finishing him off with a quick boot to the temple.

what type of idiotic country slams the police force for using a bit of physical force against potential murderous little rodents. If it was America they'd have a bullet in his head before he could say " relaaax bud"! Thats why America's the greatest country in the world and Ireland's a **** little pauper nation of pseudo philosophers

You believe he is innocent without hearing all of the evidence.
    I don't know either way (whatever gave you the impression that I've decided anything?). I'll wait for all of the evidence and then I'll leave it to the jury to make a call.
    That's the great thing about jury trials; they are expected to listen to ALL of the evidence before making a final decision.

Am I not allowed to give an opinion just like everyone else here is?

I admit I made an assumption that you think him guilty based on how you are reacting to suggestions he is innocent. If I'm wrong I apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

The real question here is why was that young lad not behind bars BEFORE this happened?

Surely somebody with "A long list of convictions" including mugging and carrying a knife, and (I'm guessing) drug possession/use, shouldn't have been free to get boozed & drugged up and go on a rampage anyway.

Anyways, that's OT, so to go back on OT: I don't think it's right for a garda to be able to do as they please, nor do I agree with him doing it in this situation _IF_ he did do it. I'm sceptical as to whether this is true or not, he could have sustained minor injuries in the crash, and I doubt he just put his hands out calmly and told them to "relax."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

You clearly have a chip on your shoulder about the Gardai and I wonder if maybe you have been in trouble with them.

The contradiction is at an amazingly high level by the end of line two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭NewHillel

Stekelly wrote: »
    I've had many interactions with the Gardai, it's never once gone beyond pleasantries, even when I'm in the wrong on motoring stuff where they could very easily have done me. You'd be amazed how far a nice attitude gets you.
    My experience has been the same. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Einhard I am not going continue this any further. You clearly have a chip on your shoulder about the Gardai and I wonder if maybe you have been in trouble with them.

The first assertion, and the second cheap slander have no basis in fact or reality. Please provide me with evidence from this thread to sustain your allegation that I have something against the gardai? I suppose the fact that you resort to such cheap and baseless jibes should come as no surprise, when you've spent the past few posts proclaiming the innocence of a man based entirely on the uniform her wears. I'm asking that the law be applied equally, and we all be held to the same standard. You seem to have some issue with that, and I'd humbly suggest that it is you, therefore, who is supporting a chip.

I have not once said the Garda IS DEFINITLY innocent only that I BELIEVE based on the details we have been given that he is. The accuser was out of it on drink and drugs by his own admission so to me is not a reliable witness.

You not only believe him innocent, but you believe it should not even have been brought to trial. There is a massive difference. And both opinions are based on NO evidence. I'm sorry if I accept the DPP's decision over yours.
    If I am wrong I will be the first to admit it.

But you have argued that he should never have been brought before the court. If that were so, how on earth could you have been proved wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

In line one you tell the poster they have been in trouble with the Gardaí, even though they never mention it.

In line two you give out about the same poster reading in too much to your posts and spouting out stuff that wasn't actually there.

PS. you still haven't answered my question about ten guards restraining this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭thebullkf

I'm one of the people delighted to see it happen.

Again, as I've said a couple of times already, spendign millions on this guy brining him in and out of court for years does absolutely nothing. People like this laugh at the gards and the courts. A beating is infinitely more usefull.

lets beat the bankers so...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭NewHillel

Carlos_Ray wrote: »
    Another scum parasite draining Ireland's already struggling economy. Its a pity the guards stopped beating the piece of ****. Should have done everybody a favour by finishing him off with a quick boot to the temple.

what type of idiotic country slams the police force for using a bit of physical force against potential murderous little rodents. If it was America they'd have a bullet in his head before he could say " relaaax bud"! Thats why America's the greatest country in the world and Ireland's a **** little pauper nation of pseudo philosophers

I suspect that you are from the Samuel Johnson school of Philosophy. (He who considered [FONT=verdana,helvetica,arial][SIZE=-1]"striking his foot with mighty force against a large stone" an adequate rebuttal of a[/SIZE][/FONT] treatise by Bishop Berkeley on the "nonexistence of matter".)

Drake66 wrote: »
    :D This was their mistake: always get them in the van before administering justice. Out of sight, out of mind.

Seems fishy that a young guard like this has been singled out. I hope it doesn't ruin his career.

if he's guilty, i hope it does.(nobody's above the law,) otherwise there'll be a next time, and another.
    soon the threshold for said punishment becomes less and less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

Hmm, I don't think you'd have the same attitude if it was your son who got his face knocked in by a couple of guards who caught him pissing down a back alley on a Saturday night after a bellyful of beer.

i happen to have a son, and for stealing a car off another and ramming down streets, looking for the police to follow, and when they would catch up with him
    i would hope that,
    they drove his front teeth into his stomach, as i would be dreadfully ashamed to have reared scum like that, especially scum who reoffend

I don't see how the beating (if it happened) saves any money. If the Guard is convicted, the guy will surely sue the state for damages and we will all have to pay the price. Only the 'scumbag' wins.

if the garda's found guilty he's a scumbag in my eyes.

do you not agree. ?

Am I not allowed to give an opinion just like everyone else here is?
    Yes you are. And I'm entitled to ask you to back up you opinion with some reasoning.

At this point in time all we have is:
    1. The DPP makes a decision to prosecute. I think its fair to assume they feel they have a prima facie case.
    2. Some evidence from the prosecution side.
    3. Some cross examination from the defence.

We don't yet know what other prosecution evidence is to be introduced. There may be medical evidence. There may also be some witness evidence. It would be difficult to envisage the DPP bringing a case if all they had was the word of a scumbag.
    We also don't know what, if any, evidence will be produced by the defence.

I can't see how anyone at this point could make a reasoned conclusion.

There isn't some karmic balancing going on where the innocence of the guard is an inverse to the guilt of the scumbag.

Of course they do. The whole point is a trip to the hospital wasnt needed :confused:

in who's opinion?... the guy who gave the beating?

Yes, of course , thats what I'm saying.

look , in this case you dont need a judge or courts. The Gardai witnessed the whole thing.

I really dont care about scumbags getting a beating, I can safely say I'll never be on the end of a beating from the Gards so meh.

you hope......

No, I can honestly say that will never happen. I've had many interactions with the Gardai, it's never once gone beyond pleasantries, even when I'm in the wrong on motoring stuff where they could very easily have done me. You'd be amazed how far a nice attitude gets you.

you'd be amazed @ the attitude of some Garda.

thebullkf wrote: »
    if the garda's found guilty he's a scumbag in my eyes.

do you not agree. ?
    I don't know.
    Even if the guard is guilty there may be mitigating factors. Its a stressful job and he may have just snapped and let loose. It may have been a once off, out of character, event.
    That's not to excuse it (if it did happen), its obviously unacceptable. But, I'll wait 'till the end of the trial to make that assesment.

Carlos_Ray wrote: »

really. ? don't think so buddy.;)

I think that would be the call of the sargent on duty in the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭i_love_toast

you hope......

yes because the guards do go around smashing decent peoples car windows, dragging them out and beating them on their morning commute to the office.... :rolleyes:

cop on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yes, and presumably the doctor who subsequently treated him in the station without sending him to the hospital.

Personally I'd trust the medical opinion of the Gard and the doctor over the guy that was arrested.