Scumbag sues Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

dvpower wrote: »
    As I understand it, the Guard hasn't yet given his side of the story, so I don't understand where you're plucking that from.

Oh I didn't realise that, my mistake:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Stekelly wrote: »
    Using a dictionary maybe that happened. But in the real world the guy got a few bumps and scrapes (evidenced by the fact the doctor came to see him and stuck a couple of bandages on him for wounds that could well have been associated with being dragged out through the car window, which is a legitimate reaction from the gards). Lets not go overboard and liken this to some sort of unprovoked beating to within an inch of some innocent mans life.
    I'm not disputing it could be a load of hot air, but initially it was presented as him being pounced on by several gardaí who beat seven shades of sh1te out of him and then denied him medical attention, the idea of which plenty of people here had no problem with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm not disputing it could be a load of hot air, but initially it was presented as him being pounced on by several gardaí who beat seven shades of sh1te out of him and then denied him medical attention, the idea of which plenty of people here had no problem with.

He wasnt denied medical attention. He was denied the nice trip to a hospital many career criminals like to get for a break and maybe even the chance to do a runner. The got him a doctor who looked after him at the station. He cant have been that badly hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

talla10 wrote: »
    the point many people are making is that with the guys history not to mention he was caught red handed Gardai may have had to use force to legally restrain and arrest him!!there is nothing on what injuries he sustained, no medical reports no expert medical advice its just his word against the Guards and his word is accepted so easily!!

How you can assert this is beyond belief. We don't know what medical evidence there is because the trial is ongoing.

Nor do we know what the word of Guard is because he hasn't yet given his evidence (and he may choose not to give evidence), so saying anyone is taking the word of the 'scumbag' over the Guard is, at the very least, premature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Ste - I think Dudess' main point is that fact that so many posters said well done on the report that the Gardaí had assaulted this guy. Many were calling for more beating yay!

I'd be in the same camp as that. Whether or not this happened as the suspect claims is really beside the point at this stage for me. I was just amazed at the amount of people who were delighted with the news.

Ste - I think Dudess' main point is that fact that so many posters said well done on the report that the Gardaí had assaulted this guy. Many were calling for more beating yay!

I'd be in the same camp as that. Whether or not this happened as the suspect claims is really beside the point at this stage for me. I was just amazed at the amount of people who were delighted with the news.

I'm one of the people delighted to see it happen.

Again, as I've said a couple of times already, spendign millions on this guy brining him in and out of court for years does absolutely nothing. People like this laugh at the gards and the courts. A beating is infinitely more usefull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Drake66

Mr Maughan said they then pulled him up and handcuffed before kicking him again and putting him in a garda van.

:D This was their mistake: always get them in the van before administering justice. Out of sight, out of mind.

Seems fishy that a young guard like this has been singled out. I hope it doesn't ruin his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭NewHillel

Einhard wrote: »
    I'd imagine they were.

I greatly fear that they were.
    Truly civilization is a thin veneer!

Again, as I've said a couple of times already, spendign millions on this guy brining him in and out of court for years does absolutely nothing. People like this laugh at the gards and the courts. A beating is infinitely more usefull.
    I don't see how the beating (if it happened) saves any money. If the Guard is convicted, the guy will surely sue the state for damages and we will all have to pay the price. Only the 'scumbag' wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

No you're clearly not following what's being said. Most of us are saying that the Garda should be brought to court because to go by what's being said on both side it seems clear that he did nothing wrong..

No. The majority of people here are stating that the gaurd was correct to beat the suspect. Quite a few posters applauded him. And they were not being facetious.

And excuse me, but the DPP is an independent office which decides on whether a case merits prosecution, and it does so based on all the facts. How on earth can you claim "he seems to have done nothing wrong" when you have the bare minimum of information on the case? You can twist what's been said all you like, but the fact remains that for the majority of posters in this thread, the gaurd was completely correct to beat the suspect. You may not think that, but you believe that the gaurd shouldn't be subject to the jurisdiction of the DPP like the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭dekbhoy

port is covered with cctv cameras , maybe the "scumbag" got hold of the evidence .

CorkMan wrote: »
    I'm just saying you have to use common sense instead of pure theory. I am sure he would have been known to the gardaí, and with the amount of convictions he had I am sure he assaulted someone before.

A law abiding citizen isn't going to be off their head on drugs, and drinking, robbing a person for the keys, etc. TBH though we are not sure what happened, the scummer could be lying all along still.

Saying that people with criminal records can be subject to assault by members of the police force without any check or reprimand isn't exactly common sense. until someone has been convited in a court of law, he or she has the exact same rights as everyone else. It's a pretty basic civil liberty.

I don't see how the beating (if it happened) saves any money. If the Guard is convicted, the guy will surely sue the state for damages and we will all have to pay the price. Only the 'scumbag' wins.

I'm advocating beatings being allowed. That or the Gards being more subtle.

No. The majority of people here are stating that the gaurd was correct to beat the suspect. Quite a few posters applauded him. And they were not being facetious.

And excuse me, but the DPP is an independent office which decides on whether a case merits prosecution, and it does so based on all the facts. How on earth can you claim "he seems to have done nothing wrong" when you have the bare minimum of information on the case. You can twist what's been said all you like, but the fact remains that for the majority of posters in this thread, the gaurd was completely correct to beat the suspect. You may not think that, but you believe that the gaurd shouldn't be subject to the jurisdiction of the DPP like the rest of us.

Oh jesus how many more times. No I do not believe he is in any way above the law.

What I believe, as you well know, is that he is innocent of the accusations being levelled at him. And if he is innocent as I believe then no he should have to go to trial.

And how do you know for sure he did beat the suspect? The guy was out of his mind on drugs, a fact he admitted himself. He's not exactly a reliable witness imo.

He wasnt denied medical attention. He was denied the nice trip to a hospital many career criminals like to get for a break and maybe even the chance to do a runner. The got him a doctor who looked after him at the station. He cant have been that badly hurt.

The extent of his injuries doesn't come into it. The fact that a gaurd is accused of assaulting a suspect is what matters, and it's entirely reasonable that such a complaint be investigated and if warranted, a prosecution brought.

Some posters here seem to think that the DPP is run from Wayne Dundon's living room in Limerick. If he brought the case, it's exeedingly likely that there was merit to the complaint. How therefore, can anyone complain when he is held to the same standard as all the rest of us?!

Ah Ste, you're making it up as you go along. The above post contradicts your previous post.

The extent of his injuries doesn't come into it.

Of course they do. The whole point is a trip to the hospital wasnt needed :confused:

So the gardai should be judge, jury, prosecution, and enforcer of the punishment they decide upon?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭i_love_toast

So?

so?

so he was was a full time f*cking sumbag that deserved everything coming to him.

Every night of the week a scumbag gang kick the living ****e out of some unsuspected innocent person. For once, this scumbag got it at the other end of the stick and feels what its like to be on the other end of the boot.

So the gardai should be judge, jury, prosecution, and enforcer of the punishment they decide upon?!

Yes, of course , thats what I'm saying.

look , in this case you dont need a judge or courts. The Gardai witnessed the whole thing.

I really dont care about scumbags getting a beating, I can safely say I'll never be on the end of a beating from the Gards so meh.

What I believe, as you well know, is that he is innocent of the accusations being levelled at him. And if he is innocent as I believe then no he should have to go to trial.

And how do you know for sure he did beat the suspect? The guy was out of his mind on drugs, a fact he admitted himself. He's not exactly a reliable witness imo.
    It hasn't yet been determined if the guard is innocent of the charges against him. That's because the trial us ongoing and the jury hasn't reached it's conclusions yet.

Also no one (here) knows if there was a beating. Thats also a fact to be determined by the jury.

But you should offer your services to the government as a kind of a Minority Report figure because you appear to have the unique ability to know the evidence before it's been presented.

Drake66 wrote: »
    Seems fishy that a young guard like this has been singled out. I hope it doesn't ruin his career.
    I would like to think that no young Gardaí would be guilty of the type of thuggish behavior alleged. If one is convicted of same it should end his/her career.

I look forward to reading your draft legislation.:rolleyes:

Of course they do. The whole point is a trip to the hospital wasnt needed :confused:

No they don't. The charges are assault and assault causing harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭i_love_toast

Why wouldnt people be happy that the scum got some slaps for once. I just dont your mentality for thinking the scum deserves the same respect as everyone else. There animals, they would stab you in the face for no reason and feel no remorse only that they got caught.

scum like him leave innocent people in life supports for no reason at all apart from being "drunk" or "off their face on drugs". THE DESERVE to get a beating from the guards who spend their whole time chasing these animals.

cop on to reality....normal everyday people have no sympathy for scum who get beatings like that when its completely overdue....

It hasn't yet been determined if the guard is innocent of the charges against him. That's because the trial us ongoing and the jury hasn't reached it's conclusions yet.

Also no one (here) knows if there was a beating. Thats also a fact to be determined by the jury.

But you should offer your services to the government as a kind of a Minority Report figure because you appear to have the unique ability to know the evidence before it's been presented.

Reread my post please. I didn't say I KNOW he's innocent. I said I BELIEVE he is. There's difference.

Of course it's up to the jury to decide, I merely gav e my opinion so less of condescending snide remarks please.

You seem to have decided yourself he's guilty without any evidence so I don't think the Minority Reporter here.

No they don't. The charges are assault and assault causing harm.

Are you reading what your replying too? Dudess made a comment about him being denied medical attention, which I replied too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Pardon the language here,I'm on the beer,haw haw.
    The stupid ****in eejit,pity they didn't kill him with the batons. How much will it cost us to put the piece of **** through court? Hope the guard gets off.

Why wouldnt people be happy that the scum got some slaps for once. I just dont your mentality for thinking the scum deserves the same respect as everyone else. There animals, they would stab you in the face for no reason and feel no remorse only that they got caught.

scum like him leave innocent people in life supports for no reason at all apart from being "drunk" or "off their face on drugs". THE DESERVE to get a beating from the guards who spend their hole time chasing these animals.

cop on to reality....normal everyday people have no sympathy for scum who get beatings like that when its completely overdue....

Uh . . . did you read my full post and/or previous ones?

I can safely say I'll never be on the end of a beating from the Gards so meh.
    Never say never!
    You never know when you might get short taken down an alley and get a Gardaí's boot up where the sun don't shine.
    I, for one, hope that day is sooner, rather than later. :eek: