Eric Clapton

• 19-09-2010 01:24AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭

I see Eric Clapton is playing in the O2 next May.

Anyone been to see him before, what's the verdict?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭PMI

Its all about your forum name really... going to see the grand master :) for me hes the 1st player i learned from back in around 85 and I heard him live for the 1st time in Dire Straits at the Mandela Concert in wembley stadium when jacks 1st baby was born from my back garden so clapton filled in on rhythm geeeeeter.

have never seen him live but I would love to due to the story behind him and the fact he is a true icon in the guitar world.

and again, most important his sound is in his fingers and feel :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭manna452121

Booked my tickets yesterday so looking foward to gig.I also ordered his new CD and gift bundle from his web site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I have seen Clapton over two dozen times over the past 25 years. I have seen him in multiple settings with multiple bands/guests. I have seen him at his best and and not-so best. All I can say is that (lately) you never know what you are going to get with him.

If he is relaxed and in a talkative/good mood, he can be incredible. (He is also much better with Derek Trucks as his guitar player as opposed to Doyle Bramhall). If not .....well...... you would have to see for yourself.

I saw him at Malahide Castle last year and it was miserable. It was raining, there were sound issues and Clapton never once acknowledged any of it. Still annoyed by that. Saw him at the Crossroads Festival and he was amazing (again).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I saw him in the Point a few years ago and I was completely underwhelmed.

I'd like to buy tickets to this gig, but I'm just not confident I'll actually see a show worth paying big money for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I discovered a song of his called Old Love the other day. I really like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Old Love is a cracking tune.

Clapton live, well I've seen him a few times and I'm sorry to say he really is hit and miss. The fact he has Steve Gadd on Drums for this tour does raise my hope a lot tho.

Still a tough one to call, Mr Slowhand himself can be mind blowingly brilliant or utterly bored/boring, purely depends if he is arsed which makes buying tickets a bit of a shot in the dark.

Lazy and half assed middle-of-the-road versions of Layla are a little too safe for a man of Clapton's stature tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

I have seen Clapton over two dozen times over the past 25 years. I have seen him in multiple settings with multiple bands/guests. I have seen him at his best and and not-so best. All I can say is that (lately) you never know what you are going to get with him.

If he is relaxed and in a talkative/good mood, he can be incredible. (He is also much better with Derek Trucks as his guitar player as opposed to Doyle Bramhall). If not .....well...... you would have to see for yourself.

I saw him at Malahide Castle last year and it was miserable. It was raining, there were sound issues and Clapton never once acknowledged any of it. Still annoyed by that. Saw him at the Crossroads Festival and he was amazing (again).

Malhide castle was not good. I was kind of tempted cause i quite like the 02. But at 80+ euro. gah it's just too much. I'm assuming it's being run by aiken promotions as it's about 20 euro dearer than most 02 shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

It always makes me wonder why artists agree to do tours when they show up and act like they can't be arsed.

Surely it gets to the point where an artist has enough credibility and money where they could just release an album and do limited, or no touring at all. It's not like Clapton is some newbie that no-one has ever heard of who is trying to get a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

It always makes me wonder why artists agree to do tours when they show up and act like they can't be arsed.

Surely it gets to the point where an artist has enough credibility and money where they could just release an album and do limited, or no touring at all. It's not like Clapton is some newbie that no-one has ever heard of who is trying to get a break.
    Bob Dylan would be another culprit. He's been plodding through his live shows for years.

Was he any good at limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Was he any good at limerick?
    Didnt bother going.
    Last time I saw him in Dublin I was very underwhelmed.
    They say he can still put on a very good show sometimes but the chances of catching one are slim.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,628 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Seen him at the Point a few years ago, and at Malahide Castle last year.

The Malahide gig has put me off going to see him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭meolwan

Went with the family to see him in Malahide Castle we were in the pit so when the sound went we could still hear him . But to be honest I would not pay the money to see him again. Like others the ticket prices are too much and in Malahide at least he did not interact with the crowd ar all. Now my sons who are guitar freeeks want to go again and think he is the best thing since sliced bread want to go. So they better save up their money for this one as dad is not going..
    P.S.

I wonder will they change their mind about him after they see Santana this wed in the o2???

meolwan wrote: »
    Went with the family to see him in Malahide Castle we were in the pit so when the sound went we could still hear him . But to be honest I would not pay the money to see him again. Like others the ticket prices are too much and in Malahide at least he did not interact with the crowd ar all. Now my sons who are guitar freeeks want to go again and think he is the best thing since sliced bread want to go. So they better save up their money for this one as dad is not going..
    P.S.

I wonder will they change their mind about him after they see Santana this wed in the o2???

That santana gig is an awful deal. Expensive and no support acts.

Who goes to a gig just for the support act??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 themucaro

Can't believe the cricitism here, I saw him at the O2 last year and it was a phenomenal gig, his band were on fire. Definitely go and catch him!

Savman wrote: »
    Who goes to a gig just for the support act??

I didn't mention Just for the support act. But if i'd payed that money and i was told there's no support i'd be annoyed.

themucaro wrote: »
    Can't believe the cricitism here, I saw him at the O2 last year and it was a phenomenal gig, his band were on fire. Definitely go and catch him!
    Well I've seen him three times, and 'phenomenal' could only be used to describe the first one which was the Reptile tour.

I'll probably end up going but with zero expectation, I should mention that his new LP is more of the delta blues stuff he seems to like these days, which does not make for a good gig in arenas.

Mod: No ticket advertising permitted.

Maybe my post could be put on a different forum,sorry for the mix up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

For anyone interested, seats in Block D Row 2 are available from Ticketmaster at the moment. Can't ask for much better than that!

(Gig is tonight btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭Omega28

anyone going tonight?

will Eric be on at 8pm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Yep :)

I'd guess closer to 20:30, as his recent setlists (from setlist.fm) don't look to be overly long

christeb wrote: »
    Yep :)

I'd guess closer to 20:30, as his recent setlists (from setlist.fm) don't look to be overly long

ah crap:( Last time I seen him he was class, I hope he isn't a let down this time, I'v been to see him 5 times and he's hit and miss I noticed!

Aiken Promotions are proud to present… Eric Clapton With Special Guests: Andy Fairweather-Low & The Low Riders Live at the O2, DublinThis Monday 9 May 2011 Live at the Odyssey, BelfastThis Tuesday 10 May 2011 Tickets on sale Now Running Times: Doors: 6.30pm ANDY FAIRWEATHER-LOW & THE LOW RIDERS: 7.30pm ERIC CLAPTON: 8.30pm Approx timings – may be subject to change Dublin Ticket Prices: €70.70, €81.25 Belfast Tickets: £60.00 Fully Seated. Book online at www.ticketmaster.ie booking line no. 0818 719 300. Eric Clapton ANNOUNCES INITIAL DATES OF 2011 TOURINGRELEASES 19th SOLO ALBUM..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    I'v been to see him 5 times and he's hit and miss I noticed!

Interesting, I would have thought Clapton would be solid out when it comes to live gigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

just back from the concert.

absolutely fantastic, as a big clapton fan i can say he's still got it. one of the best performances ive seen from him in a long time. mind was blown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

Great gig and his acoustic version of Still Got the Blues was a touch of class

I was sitting in the 2nd row for this:D it was an enjoyable night but to be honest, it wasn't a great gig folks, last time he was in the O2 it was a far better gig!

Eric comes on stage at 9.10pm, and played til 11.10pm, last time he played from 8.10pm-11pm.

Next, the crowd, the most boring crowd I'v ever withnessed in my life, last time I seen Eric people were up off their seats havin a great time, this time people were just sitting there on their phones, the only time I seen people get up was to go the jacks or when it finished!

Another thing I noticed was that Eric usually introduces the band at the end of the night, he didn't this time and also he would come back out and give a bow instead him and band literally ran off.

Even when Eric was signing "Cocaine" and usually it would finish off with the crowd singing "Cocaine" I think a handful of people sang back.

I did love his accoustic session and he def hasn't lost it regards singing etc This is my 6th time going to see him and it was an ok show, could of been better.

I thought he was going to bring back Andy at the end of the night and sing a few tracks with him!

lots and lots of empty seats, especially at the back, even in the 2nd row there was a few empty beside me, people obviously don't have the money these days and it shows I have to say, 85 euro is a bit steep for a concert ticket these days anyway thats a different matter

anyway I'm glad everyone had a good time :)

roll on Roger Waters:D

To be honest, I was pretty disappointed, it felt to me like Clapton and the band were going through the motions for the most part, and while his guitar playing (and singing) were good, I was more impressed the last time I saw him. I also really disliked Crossroads, I thought it was too laid back, and lost all of the energy of the Cream version (not saying there's no room for reinterpretations, I just thought it was bland, by-the-numbers electric blues). The acoustic set was probably the saving grace of the show imo.

Having said all that, does anybody know the names of the keyboard and organ players?
    Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    Another thing I noticed was that Eric usually introduces the band at the end of the night, he didn't this time and also he would come back out and give a bow instead him and band literally ran off.
    Yeah, felt a bit like "Done. Cash cheque, next gig."