Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eric Clapton

• 19-09-2010 12:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭

I see Eric Clapton is playing in the O2 next May.

Anyone been to see him before, what's the verdict?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭PMI

Its all about your forum name really... going to see the grand master :) for me hes the 1st player i learned from back in around 85 and I heard him live for the 1st time in Dire Straits at the Mandela Concert in wembley stadium when jacks 1st baby was born from my back garden so clapton filled in on rhythm geeeeeter.

have never seen him live but I would love to due to the story behind him and the fact he is a true icon in the guitar world.

and again, most important his sound is in his fingers and feel :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭manna452121

Booked my tickets yesterday so looking foward to gig.I also ordered his new CD and gift bundle from his web site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I have seen Clapton over two dozen times over the past 25 years. I have seen him in multiple settings with multiple bands/guests. I have seen him at his best and and not-so best. All I can say is that (lately) you never know what you are going to get with him.

If he is relaxed and in a talkative/good mood, he can be incredible. (He is also much better with Derek Trucks as his guitar player as opposed to Doyle Bramhall). If not .....well...... you would have to see for yourself.

I saw him at Malahide Castle last year and it was miserable. It was raining, there were sound issues and Clapton never once acknowledged any of it. Still annoyed by that. Saw him at the Crossroads Festival and he was amazing (again).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I saw him in the Point a few years ago and I was completely underwhelmed.

I'd like to buy tickets to this gig, but I'm just not confident I'll actually see a show worth paying big money for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I discovered a song of his called Old Love the other day. I really like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Old Love is a cracking tune.

Clapton live, well I've seen him a few times and I'm sorry to say he really is hit and miss. The fact he has Steve Gadd on Drums for this tour does raise my hope a lot tho.

Still a tough one to call, Mr Slowhand himself can be mind blowingly brilliant or utterly bored/boring, purely depends if he is arsed which makes buying tickets a bit of a shot in the dark.

Lazy and half assed middle-of-the-road versions of Layla are a little too safe for a man of Clapton's stature tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

I have seen Clapton over two dozen times over the past 25 years. I have seen him in multiple settings with multiple bands/guests. I have seen him at his best and and not-so best. All I can say is that (lately) you never know what you are going to get with him.

If he is relaxed and in a talkative/good mood, he can be incredible. (He is also much better with Derek Trucks as his guitar player as opposed to Doyle Bramhall). If not .....well...... you would have to see for yourself.

I saw him at Malahide Castle last year and it was miserable. It was raining, there were sound issues and Clapton never once acknowledged any of it. Still annoyed by that. Saw him at the Crossroads Festival and he was amazing (again).

Malhide castle was not good. I was kind of tempted cause i quite like the 02. But at 80+ euro. gah it's just too much. I'm assuming it's being run by aiken promotions as it's about 20 euro dearer than most 02 shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

It always makes me wonder why artists agree to do tours when they show up and act like they can't be arsed.

Surely it gets to the point where an artist has enough credibility and money where they could just release an album and do limited, or no touring at all. It's not like Clapton is some newbie that no-one has ever heard of who is trying to get a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

It always makes me wonder why artists agree to do tours when they show up and act like they can't be arsed.

Surely it gets to the point where an artist has enough credibility and money where they could just release an album and do limited, or no touring at all. It's not like Clapton is some newbie that no-one has ever heard of who is trying to get a break.
    Bob Dylan would be another culprit. He's been plodding through his live shows for years.

Was he any good at limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Was he any good at limerick?
    Didnt bother going.
    Last time I saw him in Dublin I was very underwhelmed.
    They say he can still put on a very good show sometimes but the chances of catching one are slim.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Seen him at the Point a few years ago, and at Malahide Castle last year.

The Malahide gig has put me off going to see him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭meolwan

Went with the family to see him in Malahide Castle we were in the pit so when the sound went we could still hear him . But to be honest I would not pay the money to see him again. Like others the ticket prices are too much and in Malahide at least he did not interact with the crowd ar all. Now my sons who are guitar freeeks want to go again and think he is the best thing since sliced bread want to go. So they better save up their money for this one as dad is not going..
    P.S.

I wonder will they change their mind about him after they see Santana this wed in the o2???

meolwan wrote: »
    Went with the family to see him in Malahide Castle we were in the pit so when the sound went we could still hear him . But to be honest I would not pay the money to see him again. Like others the ticket prices are too much and in Malahide at least he did not interact with the crowd ar all. Now my sons who are guitar freeeks want to go again and think he is the best thing since sliced bread want to go. So they better save up their money for this one as dad is not going..
    P.S.

I wonder will they change their mind about him after they see Santana this wed in the o2???

That santana gig is an awful deal. Expensive and no support acts.

Who goes to a gig just for the support act??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 themucaro

Can't believe the cricitism here, I saw him at the O2 last year and it was a phenomenal gig, his band were on fire. Definitely go and catch him!

Savman wrote: »
    Who goes to a gig just for the support act??

I didn't mention Just for the support act. But if i'd payed that money and i was told there's no support i'd be annoyed.

themucaro wrote: »
    Can't believe the cricitism here, I saw him at the O2 last year and it was a phenomenal gig, his band were on fire. Definitely go and catch him!
    Well I've seen him three times, and 'phenomenal' could only be used to describe the first one which was the Reptile tour.

I'll probably end up going but with zero expectation, I should mention that his new LP is more of the delta blues stuff he seems to like these days, which does not make for a good gig in arenas.

Mod: No ticket advertising permitted.

Maybe my post could be put on a different forum,sorry for the mix up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

For anyone interested, seats in Block D Row 2 are available from Ticketmaster at the moment. Can't ask for much better than that!

(Gig is tonight btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Omega28

anyone going tonight?

will Eric be on at 8pm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Yep :)

I'd guess closer to 20:30, as his recent setlists (from setlist.fm) don't look to be overly long

christeb wrote: »
    Yep :)

I'd guess closer to 20:30, as his recent setlists (from setlist.fm) don't look to be overly long

ah crap:( Last time I seen him he was class, I hope he isn't a let down this time, I'v been to see him 5 times and he's hit and miss I noticed!

Aiken Promotions are proud to present… Eric Clapton With Special Guests: Andy Fairweather-Low & The Low Riders Live at the O2, DublinThis Monday 9 May 2011 Live at the Odyssey, BelfastThis Tuesday 10 May 2011 Tickets on sale Now Running Times: Doors: 6.30pm ANDY FAIRWEATHER-LOW & THE LOW RIDERS: 7.30pm ERIC CLAPTON: 8.30pm Approx timings – may be subject to change Dublin Ticket Prices: €70.70, €81.25 Belfast Tickets: £60.00 Fully Seated. Book online at www.ticketmaster.ie booking line no. 0818 719 300. Eric Clapton ANNOUNCES INITIAL DATES OF 2011 TOURINGRELEASES 19th SOLO ALBUM..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    I'v been to see him 5 times and he's hit and miss I noticed!

Interesting, I would have thought Clapton would be solid out when it comes to live gigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

just back from the concert.

absolutely fantastic, as a big clapton fan i can say he's still got it. one of the best performances ive seen from him in a long time. mind was blown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

Great gig and his acoustic version of Still Got the Blues was a touch of class

I was sitting in the 2nd row for this:D it was an enjoyable night but to be honest, it wasn't a great gig folks, last time he was in the O2 it was a far better gig!

Eric comes on stage at 9.10pm, and played til 11.10pm, last time he played from 8.10pm-11pm.

Next, the crowd, the most boring crowd I'v ever withnessed in my life, last time I seen Eric people were up off their seats havin a great time, this time people were just sitting there on their phones, the only time I seen people get up was to go the jacks or when it finished!

Another thing I noticed was that Eric usually introduces the band at the end of the night, he didn't this time and also he would come back out and give a bow instead him and band literally ran off.

Even when Eric was signing "Cocaine" and usually it would finish off with the crowd singing "Cocaine" I think a handful of people sang back.

I did love his accoustic session and he def hasn't lost it regards singing etc This is my 6th time going to see him and it was an ok show, could of been better.

I thought he was going to bring back Andy at the end of the night and sing a few tracks with him!

lots and lots of empty seats, especially at the back, even in the 2nd row there was a few empty beside me, people obviously don't have the money these days and it shows I have to say, 85 euro is a bit steep for a concert ticket these days anyway thats a different matter

anyway I'm glad everyone had a good time :)

roll on Roger Waters:D

To be honest, I was pretty disappointed, it felt to me like Clapton and the band were going through the motions for the most part, and while his guitar playing (and singing) were good, I was more impressed the last time I saw him. I also really disliked Crossroads, I thought it was too laid back, and lost all of the energy of the Cream version (not saying there's no room for reinterpretations, I just thought it was bland, by-the-numbers electric blues). The acoustic set was probably the saving grace of the show imo.

Having said all that, does anybody know the names of the keyboard and organ players?
    Another thing I noticed was that Eric usually introduces the band at the end of the night, he didn't this time and also he would come back out and give a bow instead him and band literally ran off.
    Yeah, felt a bit like "Done. Cash cheque, next gig."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Deplasterer

Sinfonia wrote: »
    I also really disliked Crossroads, I thought it was too laid back, and lost all of the energy of the Cream version (not saying there's no room for reinterpretations, I just thought it was bland, by-the-numbers electric blues).

A better version of Crossroads?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgMoOAn9A8E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭PWR

my 6th or 7th EC gig, first saw him in National Stadium in 1978 (I was 14), last night was superb. No rhythm guitar/sideman, so he had to be upfront for the whole set. His musicality (dynamics, knowing when NOT to play a note), understanding of pacing, as a pure creative talent is wonderful. When he hits the perfect emotional high in the solo's (like in Old Love and Queen of Spades), it can be sublime. I was blown away. Electric blues is not a complex form, but well played it can be absolutely the most wrenching musical experience (for me anyway :)). Hard to know is he better acoustic or electric, just a total musician (when on form, which is a risk with him, Malahide 2 years ago was very poor).

I brought my 13 year old son, who is a big music fan, he has now already had one of the musical highlights of his life!

Sinfonia wrote: »
    To be honest, I was pretty disappointed, it felt to me like Clapton and the band were going through the motions for the most part, and while his guitar playing (and singing) were good, I was more impressed the last time I saw him. I also really disliked Crossroads, I thought it was too laid back, and lost all of the energy of the Cream version (not saying there's no room for reinterpretations, I just thought it was bland, by-the-numbers electric blues). The acoustic set was probably the saving grace of the show imo.

Having said all that, does anybody know the names of the keyboard and organ players?

Yeah, felt a bit like "Done. Cash cheque, next gig."

thats the way clapton plays crossroads now. he doesnt play it the older way, because well...i guess he plsayed it that way a thousand times.

clapton is notoriously stage shy, doesnt really chat up the crowd, but i dont care about that at all. he was phenominal. i saw him in malahide 2 years ago. it left a bitter taste in my mouth because it was lashing rain, and tha PA system kept cutting out.

this was justice. best ive seen him perform, outstanding. he had a great setlist, gave a solid 2 hour performance with non-stop hits. great acoustic playing, fantastic solo's and a brilliant atomosphere. anyone who says otherwise wasnt at the same concert :pac:

geetar wrote: »
    thats the way clapton plays crossroads now. he doesnt play it the older way, because well...i guess he plsayed it that way a thousand times.

clapton is notoriously stage shy, doesnt really chat up the crowd, but i dont care about that at all. he was phenominal. i saw him in malahide 2 years ago. it left a bitter taste in my mouth because it was lashing rain, and tha PA system kept cutting out.

this was justice. best ive seen him perform, outstanding. he had a great setlist, gave a solid 2 hour performance with non-stop hits. great acoustic playing, fantastic solo's and a brilliant atomosphere. anyone who says otherwise wasnt at the same concert :pac:

I was at Malahide myself and I felt the bad weather was the contributing factor.

U obviously didn't seem him last yr in the O2 cause if u did u would see last nights performace wasn't half as good.

I was at Malahide myself and I felt the bad weather was the contributing factor.

U obviously didn't seem him last yr in the O2 cause if u did u would see last nights performace wasn't half as good.

yeah the weather was awful.

really, wow i would have loved to have been there then! i still really enjoyed last night, and if he can do better then that... then ill be going to his next one! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

just didn't feel he was "there" at all. You could have been sat in any large American arena and been at the exact same gig. It doesn't take much to say "Hello Dublin" and give a couple of anecdotes. We just want to feel loved !

Don't get me wrong, I thought it was good, but not great. I loved Badge in particular. It was nothing like, say, an L. Cohen musical experience. Clapton is a different beast though, I get that.

Free VIP tickets helped a lot too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭beglee

Next, the crowd, the most boring crowd I'v ever withnessed in my life
    There was a guy sitting a few seats down from us, who was reprimanded by the O2 staff 3 times for being too loud and boisterous!

...his biggest crime was shouting "Eric" 4 or 5 times in between songs.

WTF like? He was enjoying the show, he wasn't standing up in anyones way, he wasnt being drunk and disorderly, he wasnt disrupting anybody's enjoyment of the show at all, and there were plenty of people around me shouting louder than him but just saying "WOOOO" not "ERIC", but the staff picked on this guy. Didnt make any sense to me at all :confused:

Enjoyed the gig, even though I'm not a big fan (as in i've never really listened to his music a lot. not that i dislike him), but you just have to appreciate the way he plays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭PWR

whats with the free VIP tickets, how did that happen (so I know how to act the next time!)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I thought it was an excellent gig, brilliant set list. I really enjoyed Andy Fairweather Low as the support, though it would've been great if he was in Eric's lineup too. Having only one guitar did mean that the electric Layla was out of the question, but it was nice hearing the unplugged version live.

so... Belfast tonight anyone?!:D

I thought the crowd were dead and yes I feel he should of made comment about something got to do with Ireland like Andy did.

I thought Andy would of been in Eric's line up as well, pity.

Good show but not great.

Looking at amount of ppl there last night do u reckon he'll be back or is that it for him? I'd say he might return in 2/3 yrs but for a smaller venue

christeb wrote: »
    just didn't feel he was "there" at all. You could have been sat in any large American arena and been at the exact same gig. It doesn't take much to say "Hello Dublin" and give a couple of anecdotes. We just want to feel loved !

Don't get me wrong, I thought it was good, but not great. I loved Badge in particular. It was nothing like, say, an L. Cohen musical experience. Clapton is a different beast though, I get that.

Free VIP tickets helped a lot too ;)

Leonard is a 3 hr marathon, now that man knows how put on a show! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭musicmania

Leonard is a 3 hr marathon, now that man knows how put on a show! :)

You speak my language ;) Try 3 hour 50 minutes of a marathon at the tour finale in December, ah the memories........ :)

Anyway as much as I'd like to and could talk about Leonard back to last night. Musically I thought he was absolutely amazing and I loved the acoustic version of Layla. I had known in advance there wouldn't be much crowd interaction so I didn't mind that and in fairness who wants to hear the boring "I love you Dublin" cliche crap anyway though I would have liked if he introduced the band. I thought the ending was somewhat of an anti-climax. One song of an encore and then run off the stage :confused: However i went to see him for his sublime guitar playing and that was top notch and exactly what I what I was hoping for in that accord!

musicmania wrote: »
    You speak my language ;) Try 3 hour 50 minutes of a marathon at the tour finale in December, ah the memories........ :)

Anyway as much as I'd like to and could talk about Leonard back to last night. Musically I thought he was absolutely amazing and I loved the acoustic version of Layla. I had known in advance there wouldn't be much crowd interaction so I didn't mind that and in fairness who wants to hear the boring "I love you Dublin" cliche crap anyway though I would have liked if he introduced the band. I thought the ending was somewhat of an anti-climax. One song of an encore and then run off the stage :confused: However i went to see him for his sublime guitar playing and that was top notch and exactly what I what I was hoping for in that accord!

Where u at Sligo too sir?:)

Yeah as I said last time he came back out, introduced the band, they all took a bow. Very rushed last night, a bit of a get in and out job, bit disappointing.

Where u at Sligo too sir?:)

Yeah as I said last time he came back out, introduced the band, they all took a bow. Very rushed last night, a bit of a get in and out job, bit disappointing.

Of course!!! Leonard in Lissadell is my all time favourite concert!! BTW I'm not a "sir" ;)

Yeah the ending was rushed. Maybe he was heading to Belfast last night as he is playing there tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭poundhound

I'd a passing interest in seeing Clapton, I'd never seen him before but wasn't willing to pay €80 for the privilege. However when a friend couldn't go and gave me 2 tickets free, I snapped them up.
    Being totally open minded, I have to say I really enjoyed it. Sound quality and the musicianship was first class.
    Some people on this site seem to be disappointed because he wasn't what they expected or hoped he'd be. I really enjoyed it as I had no pre notion of the show other than the desire to be entertained and I was.

On the issue of the lack of passion from the crowd, Andy fair-weather lows set was very very laid back and although enjoyable, was hardly going to get the crowd going before Claptons arrival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭TheoBoone

Saw Clapton at Malahide Castle. It was one of the worst gigs I've ever been to, BUT I'm not going to blame Clapton entirely for that. The weather was F**king terrible and the sound blew out in the middle of Layla. Also, I love blues and all, and I'm fully aware that Clapton is, at the back of it all, a blues guitarist, but he kinda took the p*ss with the amount of slow and dreary blues songs he played. He only played about five of his classic hits throughout the whole show.
    Overall, it was a really depressing atmosphere to see him(or anyone) perform in, but he didn't even try to make it better for the crowd. He might as will have been standing out in the rain with us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Randy Shafter

Was at the gig myself and I thought it was fantastic! I've never seen Clapton live before. Andy Fairweather and the low riders were just as good! In case you didn't see him, Seasick Steve was in the audience! He was 3 rows ahead of me. All in all, a great gig, laid back and very enjoyable IMO.

My review of the concert

http://www.drop-d.ie/eric-clapton-the-o2/16213

The video of Layla at the bottom of the review I made with a recording of the song from the night and the photos I took on the night.

musicmania wrote: »
    My review of the concert

http://www.drop-d.ie/eric-clapton-the-o2/16213

The video of Layla at the bottom of the review I made with a recording of the song from the night and the photos I took on the night.

nice video:)