TV Licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

According to the poll, there are 94 'thieving subhumans' on boards! :) :eek:

gurramok wrote: »
    According to the poll, there are 94 'thieving subhumans' on boards! :) :eek:

And to think, all this time Larry Murphy was paying his licence by direct debit.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Of course I pay it.

It took me 4 tries to pass the test... I'm determined to keep it now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

kfallon wrote: »
    Erm not hiding and can't be arsed to answer the door anyway, I mean who is it gonna be?
    It could be the Daz doorstep challenge man, Jesus Mary and Joseph or any number of Disney characters you never know.
    rubadub wrote: »
    If you do not pay your licence you are a subhuman thieving cunt, end of story, you are stealing from me and anybody else who ends up paying your share.
    Stealing? Wouldn't they have to make use of the Irish services to be stealing them? The TV license is just a tax on British and American programming to most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

ScumLord wrote: »
    It could be the Daz doorstep challenge man

That fat twat Danny Baker??? The only reason I'd ever open the door to that cnut is so I could slam it in his face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

But, but, but...we get the RTÉ symphony orchestra :)

Reeling In The Years is the only decent programme RTE have ever made!

Btw I see between TV3 and it's bastard son 3e we've got nearly 3 hours of wall to wall coverage of The Apprentice tonight....what a load of bollix, thank God I'm off out playing football!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

I don't think many have actually heard themselves being called what they are, many might genuinely not even realise they are in effect thieves and that they are stealing from people. It might make them think twice about it -but then again many people would not care and have no shred of common decency & have no respect for fellow humans, just like burglars know they are scum and keep robbing.

Many talk about it almost like its a "victimless crime" or something, I think if the government still want to insist on their ridiculous system then the ads should be changed and be more like the current insurance claim ones, talking about others premiums increasing.

You get arsehole cunts saying they do it "on principle" -that would be like a shopkeeper fiddling the books to avoid paying his taxes on the principle that he did not vote for the current government and so doesn't want to pay their salaries, and lets everybody else's tax increase to cover his own shortfall.

Jesus H Christ will you give over, their refusing to pay for a third rate service provided by a second rate organization charged at first rate prices. They are voting with their wallets and just because you seem duty bound to stupidly pay for these mejia clowns cosseted away in Montrose doesn't give you the right to call people scum or c#nts.

It is you who is showing a complete lack of decency and respect for your fellow boardies and the people who refuse to be browbeaten by f@ckards (i.e the government) who think that they can give us sh!t and expect us to pay top dollar for it.

I would rather see EVERYONE boycott the shambles that is our national broadcaster and refuse to pay the telly tax just to see that wasteful incestuous pit of mediocrity and Twink go up in flames, hell I would even pay to see that but that never gonna happen because you'll always get the people who submit after being threatened into paying by the courts or people who bitch and moan that just because they had to pay everyone else should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah I pay it - I got away with not doing so for years, but once you're on the radar, you're on the radar, and there's no point whingeing about what bastards they are and how sh1te RTE is. It's a service you have to pay for - "I don't like having to pay for it because it's not good, even though I use it" isn't much of a defence. Better to pay it when you're on their radar (I'd fully endorse not doing so if you can get away with it though) than pay a heavy fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

No, I don't pay it.

I answer the door to everybody. When the TV licence inspector is there, I tell him to fúck off and slam the door in his face. I had to go to court over it, and told the judge RTE is shít and told him to fúck off with his TV licence shíte talk.

I pay it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

ScumLord wrote: »
    Stealing? Wouldn't they have to make use of the Irish services to be stealing them?
    No you do not have to make use of the services, it is not the service you are stealing that I am talking about (you seem to have the victimless crime mentality I was talking about), you are in effect stealing money from other people who have to pay your share, they might not make use of the service either but have respect for others and do not steal from them.

I find all the gobshites pitiful excuses/justifications hilarious, you're a bunch of worthless fucking cunts now get over it.
    They are voting with their wallets
    They are stealing from my wallet
    you seem duty bound to stupidly pay for these mejia clowns cosseted away in Montrose doesn't give you the right to call people scum or c#nts.
    I am duty bound to obey the law and my own morals have me prefer not steal from others, I would be a scumbag not to.
    I would rather see EVERYONE boycott the shambles that is our national broadcaster and refuse to pay the telly tax
    I would too in one respect, as they would just include it in normal taxation which would stop this crazy situation we have. Or just have a subscription service for those who do want the service.

Instead of not paying it and robbing off others people should complain to their local TD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Mind you, if any of the inspectors were even a fraction as smug as the pricks in the ads, I'd slam the door in their faces too.

Dudess wrote: »
    Mind you, if any of the inspectors were even a fraction as smug as the pricks in the ads, I'd slam the door in their faces too.

That's the spirit :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

I have never paid and never will. RTE is an embarrassment. As has been said above "Reeling in the Years" is the only decent show they have ever made.

I don't see it as stealing off anyone. Wether I pay or not will not affect anybody else. The TV license will cost them the same.

RTE is full of the same pool of talentless, exorbitantly paid idiots. Why should I contribute to Pat the Plank getting close to a million euro per annum?

Fcuk that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I pay it because I don't want the embarrassment and cost of being taken to court - not because I think it's reasonable or well-spent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Dudess wrote: »
    Yeah I pay it - I got away with not doing so for years, but once you're on the radar, you're on the radar, and there's no point whingeing about what bastards they are and how sh1te RTE is. It's a service you have to pay for - "I don't like having to pay for it because it's not good, even though I use it" isn't much of a defence. Better to pay it when you're on their radar (I'd fully endorse not doing so if you can get away with it though) than pay a heavy fine.
    But many people don't use it. RTE and Irish broadcasting in general is the absolute pits, I would have no problem paying if they provided any sort of decent service but they stubbornly refuse to do so. They seem to be completely oblivious to the fact (or think any old sh!te will do) that the vast majority of their productions are abysmal, many of their shows being nothing more that ripoffs of successful foreign TV formats that come off as bad parodies of their source material. RTE also spend a fortune on really good programming that many of us never get to see since its scheduled at some ungodly hour while the primetime slots are populated by complete dross.

They seem incapable of providing programming that appeals to me (male, late 20's) and festoon their schedule with crap(IMO, girls seem to lap this stuff up) like Grey's Anatomy/Desperate Housewives/the show with the fugly one with the braces and think that sticking on a bit of footie now and then will discharge their responsibility to their male viewers.

*end rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 gaytony

Don't pay because I can get away with not paying , I get a really ****ty signal and cant get rte on free to air either so wont bother.

Can RTE get our ip addresses ?

ha_ha.jpg?1260432923

you're a bunch of worthless fucking cunts now get over it.

So much anger.
    €160 euros worth, I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,478 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I would see it as stealing if they didn't provide a decent reception for rural areas.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

I'll pay it when they get Colette Fitzpatrick over from TV3 to do her own night time show like those 900s channels on sky.

Edit: Oh she's pregnant now... Never mind :rolleyes:

ebixa82 wrote: »
    I don't see it as stealing off anyone. Wether I pay or not will not affect anybody else. The TV license will cost them the same.
    This is the same logic people use when they try and justify swindling insurance companies. Everybody moans about the crazy wages, as do I, but what about the cleaning woman in RTE, if you do not pay your fair share where does the €160 come from to pay her missing wage?

If they do not increase the licence to cover non-payers then they will get it from other funds, i.e. general taxation -where it should come from in the first place. There is no free money knocking about, if you do not pay somebody else has to, if it comes from tax then you are partially paying it, but others who already do pay the €160 are also stung again.
    RTE is full of the same pool of talentless, exorbitantly paid idiots. Why should I contribute to Pat the Plank getting close to a million euro per annum?
    I hate the setup as much as the next guy, I would hate myself even more if I forced my neighbour to pay my share -whether he or I even avail of the service.

Its bizarre that they allow people to not pay so easily, imagine they did the same with other taxes, which is what the licence in effect is. "do you pay income tax?" -"no I hide behind the curtain when the taxman calls, I don't agree with the politicians I am paying for, shower of eejits, I haven't paid income tax in 20 years, it doesn't affect anybody else, they get taxed the same"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

This is the same logic people use when they try and justify swindling insurance companies. Everybody moans about the crazy wages, as do I, but what about the cleaning woman in RTE, if you do not pay your fair share where does the €160 come from to pay her missing wage?

If they do not increase the licence to cover non-payers then they will get it from other funds, i.e. general taxation -where it should come from in the first place. There is no free money knocking about, if you do not pay somebody else has to, if it comes from tax then you are partially paying it, but others who already do pay the €160 are also stung again.

I hate the setup as much as the next guy, I would hate myself even more if I forced my neighbour to pay my share -whether he or I even avail of the service.

But I have no problem paying my taxes. They are an essential part of a functioning society. RTE are not.

Granted not all the license fee goes towards personality wages alone. You mention the cleaning ladies etc.

Why not reduce The Plank's or Tubridy's wages to, let's say, a mere half a million? This would free up around half a million between them. That would pay the wages of around 25 cleaning ladies..

If we were getting shows like Friday Night with Jonathon Ross or Later with Jools Holland or half decent radio stations I might consider it. But what do we have? Killina****inskully and that cnut Brendan O'Connor attempting to interview a few Z list celebrities...

But I have no problem paying my taxes. They are an essential part of a functioning society. RTE are not.
    As I said I would like it scrapped and have a subscription service, no doubt they are scared senseless to do this as I expect very few people would sign up, I certainly wouldn't. Ben Dunne was on TV3 saying it operated far more efficiently than RTE, which squander money.

If your taxes were broken down like the TV licence then you might object to some of them. Like if an inspector called to your house and asked you to chip in €5 for Brian Cowens booze up the other night -non essential.

If people in rural areas who never visit Dublin got a bill in the door for the M50 or Luas development they might also not like it.

I hate having to pay the licence, I still do the decent thing and cough up, and will complain again to the next politican who crosses my path and asks me if I have any issues.
    Why not reduce The Plank's or Tubridy's wages to, let's say, a mere half a million? This would free up around half a million between them. That would pay the wages of around 25 cleaning ladies.
    I would like to see the "celebs" sacked and see what salary they can really command in the real world. The cleaning lady would probably be more entertaining than half of them. Its mad when they pay qualified meteorologists wages for a face to read out the weather -on TV3, the lad who does interviews & sport might also do the weather.

Have many RTE celebs been "poached" by higher paying rival companies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

gurramok wrote: »
    Spot the RTE employee :D
    I just lost my job in the afternoon show! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I had a TV licence guy call to me last night. I lied through my teeth at the front door. He said he'd call back in 4 - 5 weeks. He was ok about it not like that bastard off the the ad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Apparently if you can come up with a new excuse they haven't heard before then you don't have to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,798 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

There are ways and means to avoid paying for Sky TV etc. If you even hinted at how on the Satellite forums you would be banned. This is an extract from their Charter:

What are we NOT allowed to talk about here?
    To simplify things, you cannot talk about anything illegal, or anything that can get Boards.ie Ltd into trouble.
    This includes:

"Hacking" or "Patching" or illegally obtained decoders not for public pay TV use of any kind, to enable free reception of any encrypted or scrambled signal whatsoever.
    Cloning of viewing cards.
    Sharing of viewing cards.
    Forum trading of any sort.
    Illegal firmware downloads

Here ways and means are suggested to avoid paying the TV Licence and illegality is being encouraged but this is OK ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

I think most people who claim they don't pay it are just acting up and trying to be cool dudes on tinternet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I have three signs up ten metres apart on my lane,

1) Trespassers will be shot

2) Survivors will be shot again

3) I f*n mean it

Haven't had a traveller problem in years.