Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Half Marathon support Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

fungirl1 wrote: »
    I DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am soooo happy I just want to say thanks sooo much to everyone here for all the support - both the experienced for their advice when I was floundering and asking stupid questions and to my fellow firsttimers - especially to tipsy, yungwan and peanuthead..thanks for making me fell like I was not on my own (this sounds like an oscar speech doesnt it:D:D:D) ...well I feel like I won one.
    Happy with my time 2:18 given that 11 miles took me 2:19 about 3 weeks ago I reckon that's ok..just v glad it wasnt too hot today..am going to take to the sofa and chill for the rest of the afternoon and I reckon I deserve a glass or 2 of vino tonight - fingers crossed for everyone else - hope you are as happy as I am

Thanks again!

Well done! That is fab! I'm really delighted for you and admire that you went ahead with it! You should be so proud and you definitely deserve that vino!! :)

Maybe next year for me, who knows!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

Well i finsihed it too 2hrs 3 minutes...fecking delighted with myself...was so close to making the distance with the 2 hr pacers but i didnt have it in me in the end...thanks to everone here for there support...i know im not a big a/r/t poster but the advice and words of wisdom have been apprectiated..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

well done to everyone (including me!) who finished their first half marathon today. It was a nice race to do it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Sparky101

Just wanted to say thanks to all the pacers, it is really good of you to run at a slower pace than you normally would in a race to encourage the rest of us. Sorry for nearytripping you up to say hello, racoonqueen! I tried to keep up with the sub 2hr pacers but lost you around 5 miles and then decided to just enjoy the run, which I most definitely did :D. My ankle started to twinge around mile 7 and by the time I was running down the home straight it was definitely hurting, so I am hobbling around now like an auld one. Think it might be to do with the fact that I overpronate on that foot??

Anyway, it will be a taxi for me tonight down to the local restaurant and a taxi back. Congrats to everyone, it is some achievement, puts me in awe of those people attempting the marathon in a few weeks.

Thanks also to the organisers. I loved the motivational noticeboards dotted here and there, especially on the hills. Nice touch ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

well done all, we did it !! o my god got a scare on wed with a rotten throat, felt flat and could have cried, but 3 days rest and had my best race ever. It just shows, if the work is done you will be ok.
    Found it a wee bit easier than the 10!!!!!!! think it was the cooler air and soft rain.
    Loved the motivational boards, thank god what goes up does go down:):):):)
    I love the camaraderie at the finish, the whole atmosphere and fab attitudes, its what it is all about.:)
    1hr 58.48 i think, I could fly!!!
    Tell you what Dow 99 what is next WATERFORD here I come !!!!!!. Mrs B now off for some me time .HAVE A LOVELY EVENING ALL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭runrabbit

Congrats to all on their first half marathons! Enjoy the celebrations tonight!

WELL DONE TO YOU ALL. Went to see my wife and she had been ill for a few days so a little worried but done really well. Great event well organised. One thing A few port a loo at finish might would be a good idea.

Few photos below of a few of the stars of the event.

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]5001278939_b162bd6358.jpg[/EMAIL]">

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]5001877778_7926926441.jpg[/EMAIL]">

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]5001259777_6a148d1874.jpg[/EMAIL]">

[EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]5001135209_3df75bd9c0.jpg[/EMAIL]">

One of my favourites from today,
    Happiness is..........
    [EMAIL="%3Ca%20href="]5001329051_f7bd2dee99.jpg[/EMAIL]">

........Seeing the finish line:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Tec Diver

Congratulations to all who did their HM on Saturday. I did mine in Sydney today, here's how it went...
    Main goal: Sub 2hr, second goal: Beat my cousin :)

I was up at 04:00 with not a lot of sleep, had breakfast and got the train in. I was an hour early for the start (which was at 06:20), but I don't like rushing these things! I was hoping to run with one of the 1:50min pacers, but all the pacers bunched up at the start of our group, so I didn't get to them. A high point, was overtaking the 1:50min pacers at 4.5k though.
    At the 10k mark (sub-60min-ish) I did some maths and figured I needed to push the pace, so I did and kept it up.
    At the 16k mark I thought I "only" had to do a sub-30min 5k to get in under 2hrs, so I pushed the pace again.
    With 2k to go I really wanted to walk, just for a minute, but I knew I was really close to the time I wanted, so I kept running. I was really feeling it for every step and knew that if I stopped running I wouldn't start again. For the last 1k I was willing the line closer and was watching the seconds slipping away and then I made it!
    Just after I finished I got a txt message to say that my official time was 1:57:48 :eek:
    Not only had I achieved my sub-2hr goal, I also beat my cousin Salena :D
    My legs were complaining a lot and I daren't sit down, so I headed home after seeing the first person for the marathon finish in 2:24.
    I hobbled home and collapsed on the bed for a 90min "nana nap". I needed it!

Eoin

Well done tec driver!!!! Pretty solid time too.Your experience sounds like a copy of mine. I had run 2.04 ! in the bath half marathon ( my first ) Fantastic race cannot recommend it enough. For my first half I abandoned hubbie with three kids and went to the uk felf no one would know me so what if i make a bags of it. Delighted, ran the omagh half three weeks later, 1.59.47 wahoo!!!! it hurt fab race difficult course for me.
    Yesterday, had been hoping for similar,but thought about a hill or two so 2hrs was hoping, cannot explain but felt great up th 10 miles, on many occasions was tempted to push a wee bit harder, my head kept reminding me of the last 2-3 miles. So glad i didnt, mile 11-12 started to take its toll,hillier than I expected, and as you say, I was willing the finish line:):)On my watch 1.58.48, ecstatic:):):):):)
    AM I SORE THIS MORNIN?? family dog feels sympathy, get the picture?
    Did I post waterford half next ? Why is this pain so addictive?? rest today back on board again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Tipsygypsy

Well done one and all, so many of you had a fantastic day and really great times, all the hard work paid off!
    My day didnt go so well, I got up at 5:30 and headed up on the train, got to the pheonix park in plenty of time, dropped off bag, queued for toilets (nearly 20 minutes:eek: thats madness). I was psyched up, really looking forward to it, knew I wouldnt be breaking any records with my knee but hoped to run 5, walk 3 run 5, that was my master plan - not a hope. Knee started giving trouble by fourth mile, nothing serious but a taste of what was to come, I would stop every 5 minutes and massage it a bit and stretch out but by the 6th mile there was no more starting up again, it was just too painful to run on. I was very close to packing the whole thing in, I was cold, disheartened, pissed off and not looking forward to another 7 miles of walking, decided at that point to keep walking until I got to the top of Kyber pass and then call it quits (that was the fastest way back to baggage), I even rang my husband (on verge of tears) to say I was quiting and to be ready to come and get me. I was so emotional by then, and it really would have been very easy to throw in the towel, but Im nothing if not stubborn and the thoughts of people asking me today and having to say I didnt finish it sickened me, and anyway, I really wanted that t-shirt. So once I stopped feeling sorry for myself I sucked it up, rang Mr Gypsy back and told him I would be contiuing walking after all.... Funnily enough I really enjoyed the rest of the time, ended up tagging on to two other wimmin and they kept me going (Many many thanks mollymay and die trying), enjoyed the park, enjoyed the chat and the craic with the marshalls and the folks passing us on their way home having finished! ended up crossing the line somewhere in the region of three hours, but never did think to look at the clock and had turned off my imapmyrun - that would be well and good but my chip time is missing from the results page - not sure if they just havent gotten them all up yet, I had heard there were 8000 running and theres less than 6000 results up, or if there was something wrong with my chip - I really would like to know my official time, as it will still be a PB for me ;). Will check the paper tomorrow and if its not there Ill email them.
    So back to the drawing board. Will head to physio on Friday, and aim for the Waterford half in December for a retrial! Hopefully that will give me time to heal up. I have a shiney new treadmill and it needs to be put to good use!

Tipsygypsy wrote: »
    Well done one and all, so many of you had a fantastic day and really great times, all the hard work paid off!
    My day didnt go so well, I got up at 5:30 and headed up on the train, got to the pheonix park in plenty of time, dropped off bag, queued for toilets (nearly 20 minutes:eek: thats madness). I was psyched up, I was very close to packing the whole thing in, I was cold, I really wanted that t-shirt..... Funnily enough I really enjoyed the rest of the time, ended up tagging on to two other wimmin and they kept me going (Many many thanks mollymay and die trying), enjoyed the park, enjoyed the chat and the craic with the marshalls and the folks passing us on their way home having finished! ended up crossing the line somewhere in the region of three hours,
    So back to the drawing board. Will head to physio on Friday, and aim for the Waterford half in December for a retrial! Hopefully that will give me time to heal up. I have a shiney new treadmill and it needs to be put to good use!

Few things from your post, by the way its Mrs LeoB who does the running, I mind the kids and try and get a few decent photos.

5.30 is an early start and if your not used to that and coming out on a cold morning would not be an ideal start to the day even if you were injury free. It was quite cold and when its cold in the morning it can get right into you if your not 100% right. The toilets were a joke, there were plenty around the start area but there should have been a few down at the finish. Also met 2 elderly ladies looking for a cup of tea and another looking for a cup of coffee. There may have been nearly 8,000 doing the race so there was another 5-7,000 watching. Its a chance to make a few €uro for organisers. €1.50 for a cup of tea/coffee and a biscuit.

I have not read all the posts here but did you carry an injury into yesterday? If you did dont be too hard on yourself a half marathon is quite a challange to people who are in fairly good nick.

Not sure If I like treadmills, I think if you want to do road races thats where you train, on the roads. Not much point going from the comfort of a gym or garage where you have a treadmill out into wind, rain or cold conditions. That in itself is quite a challenge, quite a few do a bit of gym work and thats fine. My Gaelic football team do a lot of Gym work but we always do some time on the field with the ball. So I would look at a slower build up to Waterford and apart from the physio you have lined up a bit of swimming and exercising in the pool is great depending on the type of injury you have. You will have a good store of fitness if you were looking at running this race today so I would say if you focus on Waterford you will do it. Might be worth having a chat with an athletics coach in some club or even email one of them.
    The t-shirt is nice and well may you wear it, Actually wear it to Waterford and we will say hello:)
    You hit a few important points which helped make this event such a success there which my wife had remarked on, the friendlieness of the marshalls, fellow competitors and people watching. This could well become one of the biggest events in the Irish sporting calendar, behing the G.A.A of course;);)

LeoB wrote: »
    Few things from your post, by the way its Mrs LeoB who does the running, I mind the kids and try and get a few decent photos.

5.30 is an early start and if your not used to that and coming out on a cold morning would not be an ideal start to the day even if you were injury free. It was quite cold and when its cold in the morning it can get right into you if your not 100% right. The toilets were a joke, there were plenty around the start area but there should have been a few down at the finish. Also met 2 elderly ladies looking for a cup of tea and another looking for a cup of coffee. There may have been nearly 8,000 doing the race so there was another 5-7,000 watching. Its a chance to make a few €uro for organisers. €1.50 for a cup of tea/coffee and a biscuit.

I have not read all the posts here but did you carry an injury into yesterday? If you did dont be too hard on yourself a half marathon is quite a challange to people who are in fairly good nick.

Yep, the knee thing surfaced after the ten mile in the race series, my training in the last couple of weeks before it went a bit astray and I did myself a mischeif during it.... had considered not doing the half but theres something wrong with my brain that doesnt let me ever give up on stuff:D

Not sure If I like treadmills, I think if you want to do road races thats where you train, on the roads. Not much point going from the comfort of a gym or garage where you have a treadmill out into wind, rain or cold conditions. That in itself is quite a challenge, quite a few do a bit of gym work and thats fine. My Gaelic football team do a lot of Gym work but we always do some time on the field with the ball.

Actually just got the treadmill last week, have been training on road since I started with the c25k back in January, followed it and 2 Hal Higdon plans to a T on the roads up till 3 weeks before aforementioned ten miler. I agree treadmill is not ideal but during winter it will be my only option sometimes, I wont run on my own in the dark - just aint safe for a lady!- and my 3 kids wont run with me during the day! I do a fair amount of yoga also, and alittle bit of strength work (not as much as I should), all at home, the recession took my gym membership and wont give it back, but I have a crosstrainer, a treadmill and a pretty good knowlegde of yoga com ined with a few Davina exercise dvds so I have to work with that!
    So I would look at a slower build up to Waterford and apart from the physio you have lined up a bit of swimming and exercising in the pool is great depending on the type of injury you have. You will have a good store of fitness if you were looking at running this race today so I would say if you focus on Waterford you will do it. Might be worth having a chat with an athletics coach in some club or even email one of them.
    The t-shirt is nice and well may you wear it, Actually wear it to Waterford and we will say hello:)

Will do, looking forward to the next challenge and improving in fitness and mental state. And of course to putting a face on more of the people I so often read all about.
    You hit a few important points which helped make this event such a success there which my wife had remarked on, the friendlieness of the marshalls, fellow competitors and people watching. This could well become one of the biggest events in the Irish sporting calendar, behing the G.A.A of course;);)

I agree, regardless of my having a hard time, I have to say it was a brilliant day, so well organised and a good atmosphere. I will certainly be back there next year to kicks that race in the .............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I agree, regardless of my having a hard time, I have to say it was a brilliant day, so well organised and a good atmosphere. I will certainly be back there next year to kicks that race in the .............
    Revenge will be sweet, whether it's in Waterford or elsewhere! :)

Sorry to hear about your knee, hopefully that gets sorted soon. Fair play to you for finishing even with all of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

My chip time is n/a.

Anyone know why or how to get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭fungirl1

My day didnt go so well, I got up at 5:30 and headed up on the train, got to the pheonix park in plenty of time, dropped off bag, queued for toilets (nearly 20 minutes:eek: thats madness). I was psyched up, really looking forward to it, knew I wouldnt be breaking any records with my knee but hoped to run 5, walk 3 run 5, that was my master plan - not a hope. Knee started giving trouble by fourth mile, nothing serious but a taste of what was to come, I would stop every 5 minutes and massage it a bit and stretch out but by the 6th mile there was no more starting up again, it was just too painful to run on. I was very close to packing the whole thing in, I was cold, disheartened, pissed off and not looking forward to another 7 miles of walking, decided at that point to keep walking until I got to the top of Kyber pass and then call it quits (that was the fastest way back to baggage), I even rang my husband (on verge of tears) to say I was quiting and to be ready to come and get me. I was so emotional by then, and it really would have been very easy to throw in the towel, but Im nothing if not stubborn and the thoughts of people asking me today and having to say I didnt finish it sickened me, and anyway, I really wanted that t-shirt. So once I stopped feeling sorry for myself I sucked it up, rang Mr Gypsy back and told him I would be contiuing walking after all.... Funnily enough I really enjoyed the rest of the time, ended up tagging on to two other wimmin and they kept me going (Many many thanks mollymay and die trying), enjoyed the park, enjoyed the chat and the craic with the marshalls and the folks passing us on their way home having finished! ended up crossing the line somewhere in the region of three hours, but never did think to look at the clock and had turned off my imapmyrun - that would be well and good but my chip time is missing from the results page - not sure if they just havent gotten them all up yet, I had heard there were 8000 running and theres less than 6000 results up, or if there was something wrong with my chip - I really would like to know my official time, as it will still be a PB for me ;). Will check the paper tomorrow and if its not there Ill email them.

Tipsy..sorry to hear the day didnt go according to plan for you...good luck with the physio later this week and take it easy in your build up to Waterford..and WELL DONE for sticking with it when it wasnt going according to plan....;)

My chip time is n/a.

Anyone know why or how to get it?

No listing for me either, I'm waiting til tomorrow and if still nothing I'll get in touch with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Tipsy well done for finishing!

Look after yourself for the next few weeks.

Anyone thinking of doing the Half for the first time in Waterford.....Hal's 12 week program begins tomorrow :D

http://www.halhigdon.com/halfmarathon/novice.htm

I'll be it starting tomorrow! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭daithi09

did a gd bit of running last year but around the 15km mark hurt my leg and stopped, started cycling a few days ago, commuting and doing 25km each way a day.. Would like to do the half marathon.. Going to start hal Higdon, hopefully i'l be able to do that and bike without wrecking myself.. Info on Waterford half marathon?

Cross is just biking, swimming or the likes yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

dolliemix wrote: »
    Tipsy well done for finishing!

Look after yourself for the next few weeks.

Anyone thinking of doing the Half for the first time in Waterford.....Hal's 12 week program begins tomorrow :D

http://www.halhigdon.com/halfmarathon/novice.htm

I'll be it starting tomorrow! :)

Dollie - best of luck with the next 12 weeks...Hal rocks!

I all feeling good today legs slightly sore but didnt stop me doing brisk 5km walk this evening...but when should I run again? Was thinking of 5m on Tuesday? and leaving a LSR until the weekend and doing may be 10m then.is that sensible or not? Should I just listen to my legs? Want to give legs enough time to recover but dont want to loose fitness...the HM was my goal for the year so not aiming for a marathon or anything...

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭daithi09

I find after a while of training on my own I end up skipping one night, two nights and then it's ah fu*k it! So if there is anybody about the leixlip area is planning on doing a bit of training and getting there fitness lvls up i would be happy to do the 'hal higdons' programme with them!

Don't worry, pretty soon your knee will have healed and it will be a distant memory. Focus on getting better and back to running.
    Not many people have the chance of knocking 30min or more off their half PB!

Eoin

fungirl1 wrote: »
    I all feeling good today legs slightly sore but didnt stop me doing brisk 5km walk this evening...but when should I run again? Was thinking of 5m on Tuesday? and leaving a LSR until the weekend and doing may be 10m then.is that sensible or not? Should I just listen to my legs? Want to give legs enough time to recover but dont want to loose fitness...the HM was my goal for the year so not aiming for a marathon or anything...

Thanks!
    Try to do a relaxed 30 min run on Tuesday and then 60min on Friday and a long one Sunday. You should be back on track then. If in doubt, listen to the legs.

Eoin

I'm planning on the Waterford half too. Anyone know if it's particularly hilly or not?
    I have a full marathon booked for the end of Oct in Auckland, but after the amount of energy I had to put in to the half yesterday I'm having my doubts...

Eoin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

A massive congrats to all of you who completed your first HM on Saturday!

I am delgihted for you all, especially fungirl and typsygypsy!!

Im sorry to hear yours didnt go as planned Typsy (not unlike my own!) but do as I have and use it as experience and as a motivation to improve for the Waterford HM.

Dolliemix, I am going to start the HM preparation this week for Waterford too. I was panicking as I thought I had left it too late to start the 12 weeks preparation, so thanks for that! I will be loosly following the Hal Hidgeon Intermediate plan. So here we go again!! haha get ready to pull each other along during the **** weather!!

Fungirl, I agree with you on the dark running etc. How do you find the treadmill vrs road? I really want to buy one or join the gym ( i cant really afford it though but I wont be able to run in the evenings soon) but i have never used one before. I would then still do my LSRs on road if the weather is fine at weekends. I imagine it would be slightly easier on the joints though, for us who have niggly knees!

Well done again everyone! Your amazing times have inspired me to push myself more during my runs!! :D

Tec Diver wrote: »
    Don't worry, pretty soon your knee will have healed and it will be a distant memory. Focus on getting better and back to running.
    Not many people have the chance of knocking 30min or more off their half PB!

Eoin

Haha, this is true, nomatter how slow I run Waterford it will still whoop my previous PB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Thinking about having a crack at Waterford myself, got a nice reminder on Saturday of how much I like the HM distance and I'm thinking I'd prefer to try and use the post-DCM fitness to get a good half in rather than having a crack at a 5k or 10k PB.

Sub-1:55?

yungwan wrote: »
    A massive congrats to all of you who completed your first HM on Saturday!

I am delgihted for you all, especially fungirl and typsygypsy!!

Im sorry to hear yours didnt go as planned Typsy (not unlike my own!) but do as I have and use it as experience and as a motivation to improve for the Waterford HM.

Dolliemix, I am going to start the HM preparation this week for Waterford too. I was panicking as I thought I had left it too late to start the 12 weeks preparation, so thanks for that! I will be loosly following the Hal Hidgeon Intermediate plan. So here we go again!! haha get ready to pull each other along during the **** weather!!

Fungirl, I agree with you on the dark running etc. How do you find the treadmill vrs road? I really want to buy one or join the gym ( i cant really afford it though but I wont be able to run in the evenings soon) but i have never used one before. I would then still do my LSRs on road if the weather is fine at weekends. I imagine it would be slightly easier on the joints though, for us who have niggly knees!

Well done again everyone! Your amazing times have inspired me to push myself more during my runs!! :D

Can someone tell me how to get the multiquote working??

Yungwan I am not a great treadmill fan (but not a fan of rain either to be honest;)) I am in a gym but almost never use it except for swimming from about May to October. Last winter I slacked off big time on the running and was doing 5kms twice a week - it took me ages to build up my fitness this year and I am determined not to slide back so much this year. Agree about the running in the dark so I think I am probably going to try joining a club...I did a post on that a while back and got the contact details for sume of the clubs in Dublin - can give them to you if you are interested - but I am not sure if you are Dublin based.
    I reckon the treadmill is much better than no running for sure but for me its a boredom thing and I just get sooooo bered on the treadmill. We have a small gym where I work and there are tvs on the treadmill and even with a tv I just find I get bored.

There is a little monster at the back of my brain today going "Waterford HM, Waterford HM, Waterford HM"...can anyone tell me how to switch him off?? :eek::eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I look forward to seeing you all in Waterford!